Artists and Producers - Status of the Artist Act

The CIRB deals with applications and complaints involving the acquisition and termination of collective bargaining rights for artists’ associations to represent self-employed artists, unfair labour practices and other matters brought forward by artists, artists’ associations or producers in federal jurisdiction.

Who Can Benefit from the CIRB’s Expertise?


  • Producers and producers' associations

    Producers in federal jurisdiction include all broadcasting undertakings under the jurisdiction of the Canadian Radio-television and Telecommunications Commission, federal government departments and the majority of federal government agencies and crown corporations (such as the Canadian Broadcasting Corporation, the Department of Canadian Heritage, Canada Post Corporation, the National Gallery of Canada, the National Film Board, the National Arts Centre, etc.).

    Producers, pursuant to section 24 of the Status of the Artist Act, may also form producers' associations for the purpose of bargaining and entering into scale agreements under the Act. After filing the necessary information with the Tribunal, a producers' association has the exclusive right to bargain on behalf of its members.

The Status of the Artist Act does not apply to employer-employee relationships, as they are covered by other legislation, such as the Canada Labour Code and the Public Service Staff Relations Act.

Date modified:

Artistes et producteurs – Loi sur le statut de l'artiste

Le CCRI traite les demandes et les plaintes qui  concernent l’acquisition et la révocation des droits des associations d’artistes de représenter les artistes autonomes lors de négociations collectives, les pratiques déloyales de travail, ainsi que d’autres demandes présentées par les artistes, les associations d’artistes ou les producteurs relevant de la compétence fédérale.

Qui peut bénéficier de l'expertise du CCRI?


  • Les producteurs et associations de producteurs relevant de la compétence fédérale.

    Les producteurs dans la sphère de compétence fédérale comprennent les entreprises de radiodiffusion assujetties à la compétence du Conseil de la radiodiffusion et des télécommunications canadiennes, tous les ministères fédéraux et la plupart des institutions gouvernementales fédérales, les organismes et sociétés de 'État (par exemple, la Société Radio-Canada, le ministère du Patrimoine canadien, la Société canadienne des postes, le Musée des beaux-arts du Canada, l'Office national du film, le Centre national des Arts, etc.).

    Les producteurs, en vertu de l'article 24 de la Loi sur le statut de l'artiste, peuvent également se regrouper en association en vue de négocier et de conclure des accord-cadres. Après avoir déposé auprès du Tribunal l'information pertinente à cet effet, une association de producteurs peut obtenir le droit exclusif de négocier au nom des producteurs membres de l'association.

La Loi ne s'applique pas aux relations employeur-employé, celles-ci étant couvertes par d'autres lois telles que le Code canadien du travail et la Loi sur les relations de travail dans la fonction publique.

Date de modification :