COVID-19–Instructions and Interim Measures

Filing of Documents

To ensure a prompt response, we strongly recommend that all documents be filed with the Board by using our e-filing service. This method is easy to use and very similar to transmitting an email. You may also send in your documents by fax at our regular fax numbers.

As of September 8, 2020, our Ottawa office will be able to receive mail and accept courier delivery, but only for matters that are managed by that office. Correspondence destined for the Vancouver, Toronto, Montreal or Dartmouth offices should continue to be sent using the e-filing service, unless other arrangements have been made with the industrial relations officer assigned to the file.

If there are any concerns or problems using these methods of filing, please contact one of our regional offices to make alternative arrangements. We ask that individuals not present themselves in person at our offices.

Established timelines for submissions are maintained; however, the Board understands that parties may need to request extensions. These requests will be dealt with on a case-by-case basis. For the purpose of the Board’s Regulations, service on other people/parties can be made by email.

Certifications, Revocations and Representation Votes

Applications for certification or revocations must be filed using the Board’s e-filing service or by faxing the application to one of the Board’s fax numbers. The applications must be accompanied by photocopies of the membership evidence or the confidential employee statements. The applicant must keep the originals. The Board may request the production of all or part of the original membership evidence or employee statements during its investigation. For questions regarding these applications, please contact one of our regional offices.

All representation votes will be conducted electronically, offering both web-based and telephone options for casting a ballot.

Hearings, Pre-Hearing Conferences, Meetings and Mediations

For the past months, the Board has been holding hearings, pre-hearing conferences, meetings and mediations via teleconference or videoconference. The Board also continues, as per its established practice, to dispose of a significant number of applications and complaints based solely on the written submissions of the parties.

For the foreseeable future, the presumption will continue to be that oral hearings will proceed by video or teleconference, unless an in-person hearing is specifically directed by the Board. Parties may be invited to make representations to the Board on the format of the hearing. For a thoughtful analysis of proceedings being conducted via videoconference in contrast to “in-person” hearings, please see Ontario Labour Relations Board (OLRB) Case No: 2788-17-U (Labourers International Union of North America, Local 183 v. Innovative Civil Constructors Inc., et al.)

Similarly, mediation sessions will presumptively be conducted by teleconference or videoconference, except in very limited circumstances.

The following protocols have been developed to guide the Board and the parties when participating in a virtual or in-person proceeding:

Office Closures

Visit our website often for more information on the next steps to be taken as the COVID-19 situation evolves, or call our toll-free number at 1-800-575-9696 for more information.

Date modified:

COVID-19 – Instructions et mesures provisoires

Dépôt de documents

Afin que votre demande soit traitée rapidement, nous vous encourageons fortement à transmettre tous les documents par l’entremise du Dépôt électronique des documents. Cette méthode est très facile à utiliser et s’apparente à l’envoi d’un courriel. Vous pouvez aussi transmettre vos documents par télécopieur à l’un de nos numéros de télécopieur habituels.

Veuillez noter qu’en date du 8 septembre 2020, notre bureau d’Ottawa sera en mesure d’accepter la correspondance par la poste ou par messagerie, mais seulement pour les affaires qui sont traitées par ce bureau. La correspondance destinée aux bureaux de Vancouver, Toronto, Montréal ou Dartmouth doit encore être transmise par l’entremise de notre service de dépôt électronique des documents, sauf si d’autres dispositions ont été prises avec l’agent des relations industrielles chargé du dossier.

Si vous éprouvez des problèmes ou avez des préoccupations au sujet de ces méthodes de transmission, veuillez communiquer avec l’un de nos bureaux régionaux pour prendre d’autres dispositions. Nous demandons aux gens de ne pas se présenter en personne à nos bureaux.

Les délais de présentation des documents sont maintenus; toutefois, le Conseil est conscient que les parties pourraient avoir à demander une prolongation des délais. Ces demandes seront traitées au cas par cas. Aux fins de l’application du Règlement du Conseil, les documents peuvent être signifiés aux autres personnes ou parties par courriel.

Accréditations, révocations et scrutins de représentation

Les demandes d’accréditation ou de révocation doivent être présentées par l’entremise de notre service de Dépôt électronique des documents ou par télécopieur à l’un des numéros de télécopieur du Conseil. Les demandes doivent être accompagnées de copies de la preuve d’adhésion syndicale ou des déclarations confidentielles des employés. Le requérant doit s’assurer de garder les versions originales de ces documents, car le Conseil pourrait, dans le cadre de son enquête, demander qu’ils lui soient fournis en tout ou en partie. Pour toute question au sujet de ces demandes, veuillez contacter l’un de nos bureaux régionaux.

Tous les scrutins de représentation se tiendront électroniquement; le vote pouvant se tenir en ligne ou par téléphone.

Audiences, conférences préparatoires, rencontres et médiations

Au cours des derniers mois, le Conseil a tenu des audiences, conférences préparatoires, rencontres et médiations par téléconférence ou vidéoconférence. Conformément à sa pratique habituelle, le Conseil continue de trancher un nombre considérable de demandes et de plaintes en se fondant uniquement sur les observations écrites des parties.

Nous prévoyons, dans un avenir prévisible, que les audiences continueront d’être tenues par téléconférence ou vidéoconférence, à moins que le Conseil ordonne expressément la tenue d’une audience en personne. Les parties pourraient être invitées à présenter leurs observations selon le format de l’audience. Vous pouvez consulter une analyse réfléchie qu’a effectuée la Commission des relations de travail de l’Ontario (CRTO) au sujet des audiences par vidéoconférence par opposition aux audiences « en personne » dans l’affaire no 2788-17-U (Labourers International Union of North America, Local 183 v. Innovative Civil Constructors Inc., et al.)

De même, nous prévoyons que les séances de médiation se tiendront par téléconférence ou vidéoconférence, sauf dans de rares cas bien précis.

Les directives suivantes ont été établies dans le but de guider le Conseil et les parties qui participent à des instances en personne ou virtuelles :

Fermeture de bureaux

Surveillez notre site Web pour connaître les étapes à suivre au fur et à mesure que la situation entourant la COVID-19 évolue, ou composez notre numéro sans frais 1-800-575-9696 pour obtenir plus d’information.

Date de modification :