No. 8–Wage Recovery Appeals Direct Filing with the Canada Industrial Relations Board

Rules of Prodedure


This document describes the procedures that must be followed by an applicant (employee, employer or director) who wishes to file an application to appeal a review decision with the Canada Industrial Relations Board (the CIRB or the Board) under Part III (Standard Hours, Wages, Vacations and Holidays) of the Canada Labour Code (the Code).

It also describes the procedures to be followed by a respondent (employer, employee or director, if applicable) following receipt of the Board’s notice of the appeal.

To ensure the timely processing of the application, it is important that these rules be reviewed carefully.

Should you have any questions concerning the Board’s procedure, you can contact a Board officer at 1-800-575-9696.

General

Pursuant to sections 251.11(1) and (1.2) of the Code, a person (employee, employer or director) affected by a review decision made under Part III of the Code may file an application to appeal with the CIRB, but only on a question of law or jurisdiction.

Please note that a person may not file an appeal of a payment order, a notice of unfounded complaint or a notice of voluntary compliance directly with the CIRB.  If a person affected by a payment order, a notice of unfounded complaint or a notice of voluntary compliance disagrees with the order or notice, they may request the Minister to conduct a formal review of the order or notice. For more information about filing a request for review, please contact the Labour Program of Employment and Social Development Canada (ESDC).

After the Minister issues his or her review decision, a person affected by the review decision may file an application to appeal the review decision, pursuant to sections 251.11(1) and (1.2) of the Code, with the CIRB.

Section 251.12(4) of the Code provides that the Board may, in an appeal, make any order, including an order to confirm, rescind or vary, in whole or in part, the decision being appealed, and direct payment to any person of amounts that are held in trust pending the outcome of the appeal.

For further information about wage recovery appeals, please consult the Board’s Information Circular No. 18 –Wage Recovery Appeals.

For copies of the Code and the Canada Industrial Relations Board Regulations, 2012 (the Regulations), rules of procedure, forms and information circulars, please visit the Board’s website.

Public Process

The information provided and any documents submitted to the Board are collected solely for the purpose of administering the Code and will be used to deal with and adjudicate matters that come before the Board. Parties that engage the Board’s services should be aware that this is a public process. Documents filed with the Board will be placed on the public record, with the exception of documents that the Board declares to be confidential pursuant to section 22 of the Regulations. The Board provides public access to case files and posts key decisions on its website. The final decision may identify parties and witnesses by name and may include information about them that is relevant and necessary to the determination of the dispute. For sensitive information, a request can be made to the Board for a Confidentiality Order. See Information Circular No. 12 for the Board’s Policy on Openness and Privacy.

Filing an Application to Appeal a Review Decision with the CIRB

An employee, employer or director affected by a review decision may file an application to appeal within 15 days after the day the decision is served (delivered/received), but only on a question of law or jurisdiction. An application to appeal must be in writing and include reasons for the appeal. The application may be denied if reasons are not provided.

The application must submit the following information and documents with the Board when filing the application to appeal:

  1. a completed Wage Recovery Appeal Form;
  2. a copy of the review decision being appealed; and
  3. in an application to appeal a review decision concerning a payment order by an employer or director, a copy of any document showing that the required payment and administrative fees (or acceptable security) have been provided to the Minister.

If any of this information or documentation is not available, a written explanation must be provided by the applicant when filing the application to appeal.

It is strongly recommended that an applicant use the Wage Recovery Appeal Form. It asks for the necessary information that the Board needs in order to consider and determine the appeal. Not completing this form may cause delays in the application to appeal process.

The Board has an e-filing Web Portal (Portal) service, which allows an applicant to file their Portable Document Format (PDF) documents in the Board’s centralized document filing system. If the applicant chooses to file their document electronically using the Portal, they should not forward a hard copy of the same document to the Board. The electronic version will be considered the original copy.

The application to appeal may also be filed by courier, mail, registered mail or in person at one of the Board’s locations in Vancouver, Toronto, Montreal, Dartmouth or Ottawa. In accordance with the Board’s Regulations, the application to appeal will be considered filed as of the date the Board receives it or, when registered mail is used, the date it was mailed to the Board.

Request File and Confirmation of Payment from the Minister

After the CIRB receives the application to appeal, it will inform the Minister in writing that an application to appeal has been filed, provide a copy of the application to the Minister, request from the Minister a copy of any document that the Minister relied on for the purpose of making the decision being appealed and obtain confirmation that an employer or director has paid the amount on the payment order or in the review decision of the payment order and provided any required administrative fee or security within the required time limit.

With respect to an application to appeal a review decision concerning a payment order, the appeal request will only be processed by the CIRB upon receiving confirmation that the required payment or security was given to the Minister within the required time limit.

Notice of the Appeal by the Board

When the CIRB receives the relevant documents and the confirmation of the required payment or security from the Minister, it will send the applicant and respondent an acknowledgment letter acknowledging receipt of the application to appeal and will include a copy of relevant documents. The letter will also inform the applicant and the respondent of the name and contact information of the CIRB Industrial Relations Officer (IRO) appointed to the file. The IRO is responsible for managing the file and assisting the parties in reaching a settlement. For more information on the role of the IRO, please consult the Board’s Information Circular No. 1–The Role of the Board’s Industrial Relations Officers, which can be found on the Board’s website.

Shortly after sending the Board’s acknowledgment letter, the IRO will contact the applicant and respondent to explain the Board’s processes, answer any questions that they might have and discuss any issues that could arise during the conduct of the file.

Filing of Further Documents or Submissions

Pursuant to sections 9 and 12 of the Regulations, if a party wishes to file any further documents/submissions, that party must do so within 15 days from the receipt of the Board’s letter. Upon receipt of any further documents/submissions, the other party will have 10 days to file a submission, if any, only with respect to the documents submitted by the other party.

Request for Oral Hearing

In accordance with section 10(g) of the Regulations, any request for an oral hearing must include the reasons for the request. Please note that, in any event, the Board is empowered under section 16.1 of the Code to decide any matter before it without holding an oral hearing. In such a case, the Board would determine the application appeal based on the written submissions of the parties (employee, employer). It is therefore in the parties’ best interests to file complete, accurate and detailed submissions and include all relevant information and documents in support of their respective positions.

Time Limits

The CIRB may refuse to consider any further documents or submissions received after the prescribed time limit.

Extension of the Time Limits

To ensure the timely processing of matters before the Board, and in furtherance of the objectives of the Code, the Board’s practice is not to grant extensions of the time limits for filing further documents or submissions, except in exceptional circumstances. If you must request an extension of time limits, you must first contact the other parties and obtain their agreement, before making a request to the Board.

Exchange of Documents

Pursuant to section 23 of the Regulations, parties must deliver to the other party/parties a copy of any response, reply or other document filed with the Board and advise the Board in writing of the time and manner of this delivery, which is called service. The manner of service includes delivery by fax, by courier or in person. You may also deliver the document by mail or registered mail, but these may lead to delays in processing the application to appeal.

Representations by Minister

Pursuant to section 251.111(5) of the Code, the Minister may, in an appeal under Part III of the Code, present evidence and make representations to the Board. If the Minister wishes to do so, he or she will be requested to file any documents/submissions within 15 days from receipt of the Board’s letter and provide a copy to the other parties. If the Minister makes representations in writing to the Board, the other parties will have 10 days from the receipt of the Minister’s representations to file a reply.

Request for Production or Disclosure of Documents

Pursuant to section 21(1) of the Regulations, if a party seeks to have another party disclose documents that are relevant to the matter before the Board, the request must first be made in writing to the other party, before applying to the Board for an order requiring disclosure.

Mediation Meeting

The IRO will communicate with the parties in order to arrange a mediation meeting to assist the parties in attempting to resolve the dispute. This mediation meeting is voluntary and the information acquired by the officer in the mediation process shall remain confidential and shall not be divulged to the Board.

Pre-Hearing Conference

Pursuant to section 16(a.1) of the Code, the Board has the power to schedule and hold pre-hearing conferences with the parties to discuss both preliminary and substantive issues relating to the appeal. The pre-hearing conferences are normally conducted via teleconference, although videoconferences and in-person meetings are also used in some cases.

The pre-hearing conference is considered an integral part of the hearing process.  Parties are expected to attend the pre-hearing conference prepared to discuss and address both preliminary and substantive aspects of the matter before the Board. Any Board decisions or rulings made at the pre-hearing conference are binding on all the parties.

If the Board decides to schedule a pre-hearing conference, the parties will be advised of the date, time, location and other information (e.g., teleconference dial-in procedures) for the pre-hearing conference as soon as possible.

Pursuant to section 47(2) of the Regulations, if a party does not attend a pre-hearing conference after having been given notice, the Board may proceed and decide the matter in the party’s absence.

Oral Hearing

If the Board finds it necessary to schedule an oral hearing, the parties will be advised of the time and place of the hearing as soon as possible. Although a hearing may be scheduled, this does not preclude a settlement by the parties at any time.

Request for Adjournment or Postponement

The logistical difficulties caused by the Board's heavy caseload and its geographically widespread and bilingual community render it very difficult to reschedule dates in an orderly and timely fashion. The Board is therefore very reluctant to accede to requests for postponement of its proceedings.

If a party requires a rescheduling of a hearing, that party must first consult with the other party/parties as described in the Board’s Information Circular No. 4–Board Hearings, which is available on the CIRB website.

External Adjudicators

The Chairperson of the Board may appoint a member of the CIRB or an external adjudicator to hear and determine a wage recovery appeal. Members of the CIRB and external adjudicators have all the powers, duties and functions conferred on the CIRB by the Code regarding any matter to which they have been appointed, and their orders and decisions are considered to be the Board’s orders and decisions.

Decision of the Board

The Board will notify the parties in writing of its decision, with reasons. A copy of the Board’s decision will also be provided to the Minister. All key decisions of the CIRB are published on its website.

Date modified:

No 8 – Appels relatifs au recouvrement du salaire dépôt direct au Conseil canadien des relations industrielles

Règles de procédure


Le présent document décrit la procédure qu’un requérant (employé, employeur ou administrateur) doit suivre pour présenter une demande d’appel d’une décision rendue en révision auprès du Conseil canadien des relations industrielles (CCRI ou le Conseil) en vertu de la partie III (Durée normale du travail, salaire, congés et jours fériés) du Code canadien du travail (le Code).

Il décrit aussi la procédure que doit suivre un intimé (employeur, employé ou administrateur, s’il y a lieu) après réception de l’avis d’appel du Conseil.

Afin d’assurer le traitement rapide de la demande, il est important que les présentes règles soient examinées attentivement.

Si vous avez des questions concernant cette procédure du Conseil, veuillez communiquer avec un agent du Conseil au 1-800-575-9696.

Généralités

Les paragraphes 251.11(1) et (1.2) du Code prévoient qu’une personne (employé, employeur ou administrateur) concernée par une décision rendue en révision en vertu de la partie III du Code peut présenter une demande d’appel auprès du CCRI, mais uniquement sur une question de droit ou de compétence.

Veuillez prendre note qu’une personne ne peut pas interjeter appel d’un ordre de paiement, d’un avis de plainte non fondée ou d’un avis de conformité volontaire directement auprès du CCRI. Si une personne concernée par un ordre de paiement, un avis de plainte non fondée ou un avis de conformité volontaire n’est pas d’accord avec l’ordre ou l’avis, elle peut demander au ministre de procéder à une révision officielle de l’ordre ou de l’avis. Pour en savoir plus sur la présentation d’une demande de révision, veuillez communiquer avec le Programme du travail d’Emploi et Développement social Canada (EDSC).

Après que le ministre a rendu sa décision prise en révision, une personne concernée par cette décision peut présenter une demande d’appel de celle-ci, en vertu des paragraphes 251.11(1) et (1.2) du Code, auprès du CCRI.

Le paragraphe 251.12(4) du Code indique que le Conseil peut, lorsqu’il est saisi d’un appel, rendre une ordonnance pour confirmer, infirmer ou modifier – en totalité ou en partie – la décision faisant l’objet de l’appel et ordonner le versement, à la personne qu’il désigne, de la somme détenue en fiducie en attendant l’issue de l’appel.

Pour de plus amples renseignements sur les appels relatifs au recouvrement du salaire, veuillez consulter la Circulaire d’information no 18 − Appels relatifs au recouvrement du salaire.

Le Code et le Règlement de 2012 sur le Conseil canadien des relations industrielles (le Règlement), les règles de procédure, les formulaires et les circulaires d’information peuvent être obtenus ou consultés à partir du site Web du Conseil au www.cirb-ccri.gc.ca.

Processus public

L’renseignements et les documents présentés au Conseil sont recueillis uniquement aux fins de l’administration du Code et seront utilisés pour traiter et évaluer les questions présentées au Conseil. Les parties qui ont recours aux services du Conseil doivent savoir qu’il s’agit d’un processus public. Les documents déposés au Conseil seront versés au dossier public, à l’exception des documents que le Conseil déclare confidentiels en vertu de l’article 22 du Règlement. Le Conseil donne au public accès aux dossiers et affiche les décisions clés en version électronique sur son site Web. Les décisions du Conseil indiquent le nom des parties et des témoins et fournissent toute information à leur sujet qui est pertinente et nécessaire pour régler le différend. Lorsqu’il s’agit de renseignements de nature délicate, une partie peut demander au Conseil une ordonnance de confidentialité. La Circulaire d’information no 12 décrit la politique du Conseil sur la transparence et la protection de la vie privée.

Présenter une demande d’appel auprès du CCRI d’une décision rendue en révision

Un employé, un employeur ou un administrateur concerné par une décision rendue en révision peut présenter une demande d’appel de la décision dans les 15 jours suivant sa signification (distribution), mais uniquement sur une question de droit ou de compétence. Une demande d’appel doit être présentée par écrit et doit indiquer les motifs d’appel. La demande d’appel pourrait être rejetée si les motifs ne sont pas fournis.

Le requérant doit présenter les renseignements et documents suivants au Conseil lorsqu’il présente une demande d’appel :

  1. un formulaire d’appel relatif au recouvrement du salaire dûment rempli; 
  2. une copie de la décision rendue en révision qui fait l’objet de l’appel;
  3. dans le cadre d’une demande d’appel d’une décision rendue en révision concernant un ordre de paiement par un employeur ou un administrateur, une copie de tout document montrant que le paiement et les frais administratifs requis (ou une garantie acceptable) a été fournie au ministre.

Si certains de ces renseignements ou documents ne sont pas disponibles, le requérant doit fournir une explication écrite au moment de la présentation de la demande d’appel.

Il est fortement recommandé que le requérant utilise le formulaire d’appel relatif au recouvrement de salaire. Les renseignements dont le Conseil a besoin pour examiner et trancher la demande d’appel y sont demandés. Le fait de ne pas utiliser ce formulaire peut retarder le processus d’appel.

Le Conseil a un portail Web (le portail) pour le dépôt de documents par voie électronique, qui permet au requérant de déposer ses documents PDF dans le système centralisé de dépôt des documents du Conseil. Si le requérant choisit de déposer son document par voie électronique à l’aide du portail, il ne doit pas envoyer la version papier du même document au Conseil. La version électronique sera considérée comme la version originale.

La demande d’appel peut aussi être transmise par messagerie, par courrier, par courrier recommandé ou en personne à l’un des bureaux du Conseil à Vancouver, Toronto, Montréal, Dartmouth ou Ottawa. Conformément au Règlement du Conseil, la demande d’appel est réputée avoir été présentée à la date de sa réception par le Conseil. Si la demande d’appel est envoyée par courrier recommandé, il est considéré que la demande est déposée le jour où la lettre recommandée est mise à la poste.

Dépôt d’une demande et confirmation de paiement par le ministre

Une fois que le CCRI aura reçu la demande d’appel, il informera le ministre par écrit qu’une demande d’ appel a été présenté, lui fournira une copie de la demande d’appel, demandera au ministre une copie de tout document sur lequel il s’est fondé pour prendre la décision faisant l’objet de l’appel et obtiendra confirmation que l’employeur ou l’administrateur a payé le montant fixé dans l’ordre de paiement ou dans la décision de révision de l’ordre de paiement et qu’il a acquitté les frais administratifs exigés et fourni la garantie requise dans le délai prescrit.

Lorsqu’il s’agit d’une demande d’appel d’une décision rendue en révision concernant un ordre de paiement, le CCRI ne traitera la demande d’appel qu’après avoir reçu confirmation que le paiement requis ou la garantie a été donnée au ministre dans le délai prescrit.

Avis d’appel par le Conseil

Après avoir reçu du ministre les documents pertinents et la confirmation du paiement requis ou de la garantie, le CCRI envoie au requérant et à l’intimé une lettre accusant réception de la demande d’appel et y joint une copie des documents pertinents. Dans la lettre, le CCRI informera également le requérant et l’intimé du nom et des coordonnées de l’agent des relations industrielles (ARI) du CCRI affecté au dossier. L’ARI est chargé de gérer le dossier et d’aider les parties à en arriver à un règlement. Pour en savoir plus au sujet du rôle de l’ARI, veuillez consulter la Circulaire d’information no 1 – Le rôle des agents des relations industrielles, qui peut être consultée sur le site Web du Conseil.

Peu après avoir envoyé l’accusé de réception du Conseil, l’ARI communiquera avec le requérant et l’intimé afin de leur expliquer les procédures du Conseil, répondre à leurs questions éventuelles et discuter de tout problème qui pourrait survenir pendant le traitement du dossier.

Dépôt de documents et d’observations supplémentaires

En vertu des articles 9 et 12 du Règlement, si une partie souhaite déposer des documents ou des observations supplémentaires, elle doit le faire dans les 15 jours suivant la réception de la lettre du Conseil. Après la réception de documents ou d’observations supplémentaires, l’autre partie disposera de 10 jours pour présenter des observations, le cas échéant, uniquement en ce qui concerne les documents présentés par l’autre partie.

Demande d’audience

Conformément à l’alinéa 10g) du Règlement, toute demande d’audience doit être accompagnée des motifs en justifiant la tenue. Veuillez prendre note que quoi qu’il advienne, le Conseil peut, en vertu de l’article 16.1 du Code, trancher toute affaire ou question dont il est saisi sans tenir d’audience. Dans de tels cas, le Conseil tranchera la demande d’appel en se fondant sur les observations écrites des parties (employé, employeur). Il est donc dans l’intérêt des parties de présenter des observations complètes, exactes et détaillées et d’inclure tous les renseignements et documents pertinents à l’appui de leurs positions respectives.

Délais

Le CCRI peut refuser d’examiner les documents ou observations supplémentaires reçus après le délai prescrit.

Prorogation des délais

Afin d’assurer le traitement rapide des affaires dont le Conseil est saisi et de favoriser la réalisation des objectifs du Code, le Conseil a pour pratique de ne pas accorder de prorogation des délais pour le dépôt de documents ou d’observations supplémentaires, sauf dans des circonstances exceptionnelles.

Si vous devez demander une prorogation des délais, vous devez d’abord obtenir l’accord des autres parties et avant de présenter une demande au Conseil.

Échange de documents

En vertu de l’article 23 du Règlement, chaque partie doit remettre à l’autre partie ou aux autres parties une copie de chaque réponse, réplique ou autre document présentés Conseil et informer celui-ci par écrit du moment et du mode de livraison, (ce qu’on appelle la signification). La signification peut se faire par messagerie ou en personne. Vous pouvez aussi envoyer les documents par la poste ou par courrier recommandé, mais cela risque de retarder le traitement de la demande d’appel.

Observations du ministre

En vertu du paragraphe 251.111(5) du Code, le ministre peut, dans le cadre de tout appel interjeté en vertu de la partie III du Code, présenter au Conseil ses observations et des éléments de preuve. À sa discrétion, le ministre peut déposer tout document ou toute observation dans les 15 jours suivant la réception de la lettre du Conseil, et en fournir une copie aux autres parties. Si le ministre présente des observations écrites au Conseil, les autres parties disposeront de 10 jours pour présenter une réplique à compter de la réception des observations du ministre.

Demande de production ou de communication de documents

En vertu du paragraphe 21(1) du Règlement, si une partie souhaite qu’une autre partie communique des documents pertinents au dossier dont est saisi le Conseil, elle doit d’abord en faire la demande par écrit aux autres parties avant de demander au Conseil d’en ordonner la communication.

Rencontre de médiation

L’ARI communiquera avec les parties pour fixer une rencontre de médiation afin de les aider à régler la plainte. La rencontre de médiation est volontaire et les renseignements recueillis par l’agent durant la médiation sont confidentiels et ne seront pas communiqués au Conseil.

Conférence préparatoire

En vertu de l’alinéa 16 a.1) du Code, le Conseil peut fixer et tenir des conférences préparatoires avec les parties pour discuter de questions préliminaires et de questions de fond concernant l’appel. Ces conférences préparatoires sont normalement tenues par téléconférence, bien que dans certains cas des vidéoconférences et des rencontres en personne soient aussi utilisées.

La conférence préparatoire est réputée faire partie intégrante du processus d’audience. On s’attend à ce que les parties assistent à la conférence préparatoire et qu’elles soient prêtes à discuter des aspects préliminaires et de fond de l’affaire dont est saisi le Conseil. Toutes les décisions du Conseil prises au cours de la conférence préparatoire sont exécutoires et lient toutes les parties.

Si le Conseil décide d’organiser une conférence préparatoire, les parties seront informées de la date, de l’heure et du lieu, ainsi que de tout autre renseignement (p. ex. procédures pour participer à la téléconférence) concernant la conférence préparatoire, dès que possible.

Selon le paragraphe 47(2) du Règlement, si une partie ne se présente pas à une conférence préparatoire après avoir reçu un avis à cet effet, le Conseil peut statuer sur l’affaire en l’absence de cette partie.

Audience

Si le Conseil estime que la tenue d’une audience est nécessaire, les parties seront informées de la date et l’heure et de l’endroit de l’audience le plus tôt possible. Même si une date d’audience est fixée, cela n’empêche pas les parties de régler l’instance à n’importe quel moment.

Demande de d’ajournement ou de remise

Étant donné les problèmes pratiques que posent la lourde charge de travail du Conseil, la dissémination de sa clientèle et les différentes exigences linguistiques de cette dernière, il est très difficile de modifier les dates prévues des différentes procédures de façon ordonnée, et en temps opportun. Le Conseil hésite donc fortement à accéder aux demandes de remise de ses intances.

Si une partie demande de reporter une audience, elle doit d’abord consulter l’autre partie ou les autres parties, comme le prévoit la Circulaire d’information no 4 – Audiences du Conseil, disponible sur le site Web du CCRI.

Arbitres externes

Le président du Conseil peut nommer un membre du CCRI ou un arbitre externe pour instruire et trancher un appel relatif au recouvrement du salaire. Les membres du CCRI et les arbitres externes exercent toutes les attributions que le Code confère au CCRI quant aux questions pour lesquelles ils sont nommés, et les ordonnances et décisions qu’ils rendent sont réputées être des ordonnances et des décisions du Conseil.

Décision du Conseil

Le Conseil informera par écrit les parties de sa décision et de ses motifs. Une copie de la décision du Conseil sera également remise au ministre. Toutes les décisions clés du CCRI sont publiées sur son site Web.

Date de modification :