No. 7–Wage Recovery Appeals (Referral by Minister)

Rules of Procedure


This document describes the procedures that must be followed by the parties (employee, employer or director) in a referral by the Minister to the Canada Industrial Relations Board (the CIRB or the Board), pursuant to section 251.101(7) of the Canada Labour Code (the Code).

To ensure the timely processing of the appeal, it is important that these rules be reviewed carefully.

Should you have any questions concerning the Board’s procedure, you can contact a Board officer at 1-800-575-9696.

General

In most circumstances, a person affected by a review decision made under Part III of the Code (Standard Hours, Wages, Vacations and Holidays) may file a direct appeal with the CIRB. However, a person may not file an appeal of a payment order, a notice of unfounded complaint or a notice of voluntary compliance directly with the CIRB. If a person affected by a payment order, a notice of unfounded complaint or a notice of voluntary compliance disagrees with the order or notice, they may request the Minister to conduct a formal review of the order or notice.

Pursuant to section 251.101(7) of the Code, the Minister can treat a request for review with respect to a decision or order made under Part III of the Code (notice of unfounded complaint, payment order or notice of voluntary compliance) as an appeal of the decision or order and refer the matter to the CIRB, without first undertaking a review. In such cases, the CIRB shall be considered to have an appeal before it.

Section 251.12(4) of the Code provides that the Board may, in an appeal, make any order, including an order to confirm, rescind or vary, in whole or in part, the decision being appealed, and direct payment to any person of amounts that are held in trust pending the outcome of the appeal.

For further information about wage recovery appeals, please consult the Board’s Information Circular No.18 –Wage Recovery Appeals.

For copies of the Code and the Canada Industrial Relations Board Regulations, 2012 (the Regulations), rules of procedure, forms and information circulars, please visit the Board’s website.

Public Process

The information provided and any documents submitted to the Board are collected solely for the purpose of administering the Code and will be used to deal with and adjudicate the appeal. Parties that engage the Board’s services should be aware that this is a public process. Documents filed with the Board will be placed on the public record, with the exception of documents that the Board declares to be confidential pursuant to section 22 of the Regulations. The Board provides public access to case files and posts key decisions on its website. The final decision may identify parties and witnesses by name and may include information about them that is relevant and necessary to the determination of the dispute. For sensitive information, a request can be made to the Board for a Confidentiality Order. See Information Circular No. 12 for the Board’s Policy on Openness and Privacy.

Notice of the Referral by the Board

In a referral from the Minister, pursuant to section 251.101(7) of the Code, the referral to the CIRB would include the request for review, in writing and with reasons, and a copy of any document that the Minister and/or the Inspector relied on for the purpose of making the decision or issuing the order or notice being appealed. There is also confirmation that the employer or director has paid to the Minister the amount indicated on the payment order and any required administrative fee or given security, in a form satisfactory to the Minister.

After the CIRB receives the referral from the Minister, it will send a letter to the parties (employee, employer or director, if applicable), with a copy to the Minister, acknowledging receipt of the referral and enclosing a copy of all relevant documents.

The letter will also inform the parties of the name and contact information of the CIRB Industrial Relations Officer (IRO) appointed to the file. The IRO is responsible for managing the file and assisting the parties in reaching a settlement. For more information on the role of the IRO, please consult the Board’s Information Circular No. 1–The Role of the Board’s Industrial Relations Officers.

Shortly after sending the Board’s acknowledgment letter, the IRO will contact the parties to explain the Board’s processes, answer any questions that they might have and discuss any issues that could arise during the conduct of the file.

Filing of Further Documents or Submissions

Pursuant to sections 9 and 12 of the Regulations, if a party wishes to file any further documents/submissions, that party must do so within 15 days from the receipt of the Board’s letter. Upon receipt of any further documents/submissions, the other party will have 10 days to file a submission, if any, only with respect to the documents submitted by the other party.

Request for Oral Hearing

In accordance with section 10(g) of the Regulations, any request for an oral hearing must include the reasons for the request. Please note that, in any event, the Board is empowered under section 16.1 of the Code to decide any matter before it without holding an oral hearing. In such a case, the Board would determine the appeal based on the written submissions of the parties (employee, employer). It is therefore in the parties’ best interests to file complete, accurate and detailed submissions and include all relevant information and documents in support of their respective positions.

Time Limits

The CIRB may refuse to consider any further documents or submissions received after the prescribed time limit.

Extension of the Time Limits

To ensure the timely processing of matters before the Board, and in furtherance of the objectives of the Code, the Board’s practice is not to grant extensions of the time limits for filing further documents or submissions, except in exceptional circumstances.

If you must request an extension of time limits, you must first contact the other parties and obtain their agreement, before making a request to the Board.

Exchange of Documents

Pursuant to section 23 of the Regulations, parties must deliver to the other party/parties a copy of any response, reply or other document filed with the Board and advise the Board in writing of the time and manner of this delivery, which is called service. The manner of service includes delivery by fax, by courier, or in person. You may also deliver the document by mail or registered mail, but these may lead to delays in processing the appeal.

Representations by Minister

Pursuant to section 251.111(5) of the Code, the Minister may, in an appeal under Part III of the Code, present evidence and make representations to the Board. If the Minister wishes to do so, he or she will be requested to file any documents/submissions within 15 days from receipt of the Board’s letter and provide a copy to the other parties. If the Minister makes representations in writing to the Board, the other parties will have 10 days from the receipt of the Minister’s representations to file a reply.

Request for Production or Disclosure of Documents

Pursuant to section 21(1) of the Regulations, if a party seeks to have another party disclose documents that are relevant to the matter before the Board, the request must first be made in writing to the other party, before applying to the Board for an order requiring disclosure.

Mediation Meeting

The IRO will communicate with the parties in order to arrange a mediation meeting to assist the parties in attempting to resolve the dispute. This mediation meeting is voluntary and the information acquired by the officer in the mediation process shall remain confidential and shall not be divulged to the Board.

Pre-Hearing Conference

Pursuant to section 16(a.1) of the Code, the Board has the power to schedule and hold pre-hearing conferences with the parties to discuss both preliminary and substantive issues relating to the appeal. The pre-hearing conferences are normally conducted via teleconference, although videoconferences and in-person meetings are also used in some cases.

The pre-hearing conference is considered an integral part of the hearing process. Parties are expected to attend the pre-hearing conference prepared to discuss and address both preliminary and substantive aspects of the matter before the Board. Any Board decisions or rulings made at the pre-hearing conference are binding on all the parties.

If the Board decides to schedule a pre-hearing conference, the parties will be advised of the date, time, location and other information (e.g., teleconference dial-in procedures) for the pre-hearing conference as soon as possible.

Pursuant to section 47(2) of the Regulations, if a party does not attend a pre-hearing conference after having been given notice, the Board may proceed and decide the matter in the party’s absence.

Oral Hearing

If the Board finds it necessary to schedule an oral hearing, the parties will be advised of the time and place of the hearing as soon as possible. Although a hearing may be scheduled, this does not preclude a settlement by the parties at any time.

Request for Adjournment or Postponement

The logistical difficulties caused by the Board’s heavy caseload and its geographically widespread and bilingual community render it very difficult to reschedule dates in an orderly and timely fashion. The Board is therefore very reluctant to accede to requests for postponement of its proceedings.

If a party requires a rescheduling of a hearing, that party must first consult with the other party/parties as described in the Board’s Information Circular No. 4–Board Hearings, which is available on the CIRB website.

External Adjudicators

The Chairperson of the Board may appoint a member of the CIRB or an external adjudicator to hear and determine a wage recovery appeal. Members of the CIRB and external adjudicators have all the powers, duties and functions conferred on the CIRB by the Code regarding any matter to which they have been appointed, and their orders and decisions are considered to be the Board’s orders and decisions.

Decision of the Board

The Board will notify the parties in writing of its decision, with reasons. A copy of the Board’s decision will also be provided to the Minister. All key decisions of the CIRB are published on its website.

July 2019

Date modified:

No 7 – Appels relatifs au recouvrement du salaire (renvoi par le ministre)

Règles de procédure


Le présent document décrit la procédure que les parties (employé, employeur ou administrateur) doivent suivre dans le cas d’un renvoi par le ministre au Conseil canadien des relations industrielles (CCRI ou le Conseil), en application du paragraphe 251.101(7) du Code canadien du travail (le Code).

Afin d’assurer le traitement rapide de la demande, il est important que les présentes règles soient examinées attentivement.

Si vous avez des questions concernant cette procédure du Conseil, veuillez communiquer avec un agent du Conseil par téléphone au numéro 1-800-575-9696.

Généralités

Dans la plupart des cas, une personne concernée par une décision rendue en révision en vertu de la partie III du Code (Durée normale du travail, salaire, congés et jours fériés) peut interjeter appel directement au CCRI. Cependant, il n’est pas possible d’interjeter appel directement au CCRI d’un ordre de paiement, d’un avis de plainte non fondée ou d’un avis de conformité volontaire. Si une personne concernée par un ordre de paiement, un avis de plainte non fondée ou un avis de conformité volontaire est en désaccord avec l’ordre ou l’avis, elle peut demander au ministre d’effectuer une révision officielle de l’ordre ou de l’avis.

Le paragraphe 251.101(7) du Code prévoit que le ministre peut traiter la demande de révision à l’égard d’une décision ou d’un ordre présenté en vertu de la partie III du Code (avis de plainte non fondée, ordre de paiement ou avis de conformité volontaire) comme un appel de la décision ou de l’ordre, et renvoyer l’affaire au CCRI sans effectuer de révision préalable. Dans un tel cas, le CCRI sera considéré comme étant saisi d’un appel.

Le paragraphe 251.12(4) du Code indique que le Conseil peut, lorsqu’il est saisi d’un appel, rendre tous les ordres nécessaires à la mise en œuvre de sa décision, notamment confirmer, infirmer ou modifier – en totalité ou en partie – la décision faisant l’objet de l’appel et ordonner le versement, à la personne qu’il désigne, de la somme détenue en fiducie en attendant l’issue de l’appel.

Pour de plus amples renseignements sur les appels relatifs au recouvrement du salaire, veuillez consulter la Circulaire d’information no 18 – Appels relatifs au recouvrement du salaire.

Pour obtenir une copie du Code ainsi que du Règlement de 2012 sur le Conseil canadien des relations industrielles (le Règlement), des règles de procédure, des formulaires et des circulaires d’information, veuillez consulter le site Web du Conseil à www.cirb-ccri.gc.ca.

Processus public

L’information et les documents présentés au Conseil sont recueillis uniquement aux fins de l’administration du Code et seront utilisés pour traiter et évaluer les questions présentées au Conseil. Les parties qui ont recours aux services du Conseil doivent savoir qu’il s’agit d’un processus public. Les documents déposés au Conseil seront versés au dossier public, à l’exception des documents que le Conseil déclare confidentiels en vertu de l’article 22 du Règlement. Le Conseil donne au public accès aux dossiers et affiche les décisions clés en version électronique sur son site Web. Les décisions du Conseil indiquent le nom des parties et des témoins et fournissent toute information à leur sujet qui est pertinente et nécessaire pour régler le différend. Lorsqu’il s’agit de renseignements de nature délicate, une partie peut demander au Conseil une ordonnance de confidentialité. La Circulaire d’information no 12 décrit la politique du Conseil sur la transparence et la protection de la vie privée.

Avis de renvoi par le Conseil

Dans le cas d’un renvoi par le ministre, en vertu du paragraphe 251.101(7) du Code, le renvoi au CCRI inclurait la demande de révision, par écrit, motifs à l’appui, ainsi qu’une copie de tout document sur lequel le ministre ou l’inspecteur s’est fondé afin de rendre la décision, l’ordre ou l’avis faisant l’objet de l’appel. Le renvoi est également accompagné d’une confirmation que l’employeur ou l’administrateur a payé au ministre le montant indiqué dans l’ordre de paiement ainsi que les frais administratifs ou la garantie exigés, le cas échéant, dans une forme satisfaisante pour le ministre.

Après avoir reçu le renvoi du ministre, le CCRI enverra une lettre aux parties (employé, employeur ou administrateur, le cas échéant) ainsi qu’une copie au ministre afin d’accuser réception du renvoi, accompagnée de tous les documents pertinents.

Dans la lettre, le CCRI informera également les parties du nom et des coordonnées de l’agent des relations industrielles (ARI) affecté au dossier. L’ARI est chargé de gérer le dossier et d’aider les parties à en arriver à un règlement. Pour en savoir plus au sujet du rôle de l’ARI, veuillez consulter la Circulaire d’information no 1 – Le rôle des agents des relations industrielles.

Peu après avoir envoyé l’accusé de réception du Conseil, l’ARI communiquera avec les parties afin de leur expliquer les processus du Conseil, répondre à leurs questions et discuter de tout problème qui pourrait survenir pendant le traitement du dossier.

Dépôt de documents et d’observations supplémentaires

En vertu des articles 9 et 12 du Règlement, si une partie souhaite déposer des documents ou des observations supplémentaires, elle doit le faire dans les 15 jours de la réception de la lettre du Conseil. Après la réception de documents ou d’observations supplémentaires, l’autre partie disposera de 10 jours pour présenter des observations, le cas échéant, uniquement en ce qui concerne les documents présentés par l’autre partie.

Demande d’audience

Conformément à l’alinéa 10g) du Règlement, toute demande d’audience doit être accompagnée des motifs en justifiant la tenue. Veuillez prendre note que quoi qu’il advienne, le Conseil peut, en vertu de l’article 16.1 du Code, trancher toute affaire ou question dont il est saisi sans tenir d’audience. Dans de tels cas, le Conseil tranchera l’appel en se fondant sur les observations écrites des parties (employé, employeur). Il est donc dans l’intérêt des parties de présenter des observations complètes, exactes et détaillées et d’inclure tous les renseignements et documents pertinents à l’appui de leurs positions respectives.

Délais

Le CCRI peut refuser d’examiner les documents ou observations supplémentaires reçus après le délai prescrit.

Prorogation des délais

Afin d’assurer le traitement rapide des affaires dont le Conseil est saisi et de favoriser la réalisation des objectifs du Code, le Conseil a pour pratique de ne pas accorder de prorogation des délais pour le dépôt de documents ou d’observations supplémentaires, sauf dans des circonstances exceptionnelles.

Si vous devez demander une prorogation des délais, vous devez d’abord obtenir l’accord des autres parties avant de présenter une demande au Conseil.

Échange de documents

En vertu de l’article 23 du Règlement, chaque partie doit remettre à l’autre partie ou aux autres parties une copie de chaque réponse, réplique ou autre document présentés au du Conseil et informer celui-ci par écrit du moment et du mode de livraison (ce qu’on appelle la signification). La signification peut se faire par messagerie ou en personne. Vous pouvez aussi envoyer les documents par la poste ou par courrier recommandé, mais cela risque de retarder le traitement de l’appel.

Observations du ministre

En vertu du paragraphe 251.111(5) du Code, le ministre peut, dans le cadre de tout appel interjeté en vertu de la partie III du Code, présenter au Conseil ses observations et des éléments de preuve. À sa discrétion, le ministre peut déposer tout document ou toute observation dans les 15 jours suivant la réception de la lettre du Conseil, et en fournir une copie aux autres parties. Si le ministre présente des observations écrites au Conseil, les autres parties disposeront de 10 jours pour présenter une réplique à compter de la réception des observations du ministre.

Demande de production ou de communication de documents

En application du paragraphe 21(1) du Règlement, si une partie souhaite qu’une autre partie communique des documents pertinents au dossier dont est saisi le Conseil, elle doit d’abord en faire la demande par écrit à l’autre partie avant de demander au Conseil d’en ordonner la communication.

Rencontre de médiation

L’ARI communiquera avec les parties pour fixer une rencontre de médiation afin de les aider à régler la plainte. La rencontre de médiation est volontaire et les renseignements recueillis par l’agent durant la médiation sont confidentiels et ne seront pas communiqués au Conseil.

Conférence préparatoire

En vertu de l’alinéa 16a.1) du Code, le Conseil peut fixer et tenir des conférences préparatoires avec les parties pour discuter de questions préliminaires et de questions de fond concernant l’appel. Ces conférences préparatoires sont normalement tenues par téléconférence, bien que dans certains cas des vidéoconférences et des rencontres en personne soient aussi utilisées.

La conférence préparatoire est réputée faire partie intégrante du processus d’audience. On s’attend à ce que les parties assistent à la conférence préparatoire et qu’elles soient prêtes à discuter des aspects préliminaires et de fond de l’affaire dont est saisi le Conseil. Toutes les décisions du Conseil prises au cours de la conférence préparatoire sont exécutoires et lient toutes les parties.

Si le Conseil décide d’organiser une conférence préparatoire, les parties seront informées de la date, de l’heure et du lieu, ainsi que de tout autre renseignement (p. ex. procédures pour participer à la téléconférence) concernant la conférence préparatoire, dès que possible.

Selon le paragraphe 47(2) du Règlement, si une partie ne se présente pas à une conférence préparatoire après avoir reçu un avis à cet effet, le Conseil peut statuer sur l’affaire en l’absence de cette partie.

Audience

Si le Conseil estime que la tenue d’une audience est nécessaire, les parties seront informées de la date et l’heure et de l’endroit de l’audience le plus tôt possible. Même si une date d’audience soit fixée, cela n’empêche pas les parties de régler l’instance à n’importe quel moment.

Demande d’ajournement ou de remise

Étant donné les problèmes pratiques que posent la lourde charge de travail du Conseil, la dissémination de sa clientèle et les différentes exigences linguistiques de cette dernière, il est très difficile de modifier les dates prévues des différentes procédures de façon ordonnée et en temps opportun. Le Conseil hésite donc fortement à accéder aux demandes de remise de ses instances.

Si une partie demande de reporter une audience, elle doit d’abord consulter l’autre partie ou les autres parties, comme le prévoit la Circulaire d’information no 4 – Audiences du Conseil, disponible sur le site Web du CCRI.

Arbitres externes

Le président du Conseil peut nommer un membre du CCRI ou un arbitre externe pour instruire et trancher un appel relatif au recouvrement du salaire. Les membres du CCRI et les arbitres externes exercent toutes les attributions que le Code confère au CCRI quant aux questions pour lesquelles ils sont nommés, et les ordonnances et décisions qu’ils rendent sont réputées être des ordonnances et des décisions du Conseil.

Décision du Conseil

Le Conseil informera par écrit les parties de sa décision et de ses motifs. Une copie de la décision du Conseil sera également remise au ministre. Toutes les décisions clés du CCRI sont publiées sur son site Web.

Date de modification :