No. 5–Wage Earner Protection Program Appeals (Eligibility)

Rules of Procedure


This document describes the procedures that must be followed by an applicant (employee) who wishes to file an application to appeal a review decision regarding eligibility made by the Minister of Labour (the Minister) under section 12 of the Wage Earner Protection Program Act (the WEPP Act) to the Canada Industrial Relations Board (the CIRB or the Board).

To ensure the timely processing of the application, it is important that these rules be reviewed carefully.

Should you have any questions concerning the Board’s procedure, you can contact a Board officer at 1-800-575-9696.

General

Section 14(1) of the WEPP Act provides that an individual may appeal a review decision made by the Minister under section 12 of the WEPP Act (review decision regarding eligibility) to the CIRB only on a question of law or jurisdiction. Pursuant to section 17 of the WEPP Act,the Board may confirm, vary or rescind the review decision regarding eligibility. If the Board varies the decision, the Minister shall make any payment resulting from the variation.

For further information about eligibility appeals under the WEPP Act, please consult the Board’s Information Circular No. 16–Wage Earner Protection Program Appeals (Eligibility).

For copies of the WEPP Act and the Canada Industrial Relations Board Regulations, 2012 (the Regulations), rules of procedure, forms or information circulars, please visit the Board’s website.

Public Process

The information provided and any documents submitted to the Board are collected solely for the purpose of administering the WEPP Act and will be used to deal with and adjudicate matters that come before the Board. Parties that engage the Board’s services should be aware that this is a public process. Documents filed with the Board will be placed on the public record, with the exception of documents that the Board declares to be confidential. The Board provides public access to case files and posts key decisions on its website. Board decisions may identify parties and witnesses by name and may include information about them that is relevant and necessary to the determination of the dispute. For sensitive information, a request can be made to the Board for a Confidentiality Order. See Information Circular No. 12 for the Board’s Policy on Openness and Privacy.

Filing a WEPP Appeal Regarding Eligibility with the CIRB

The Board has determined that an application to appeal pursuant to section 14(1) of the WEPP Act shall, unless circumstances beyond the control of the applicant justify a longer period, be made within 60 days after the day on which the applicant is notified of the Minister’s decision.

If the applicant is unable to file their application to appeal within the 60-day period, they must provide the reasons for the delay. An extension may be granted if the applicant can demonstrate that there were circumstances beyond their control that prevented them from filing within the prescribed time period.

An application to appeal must be in writing and include detailed grounds/reasons for the appeal. The application may be denied if reasons are not provided. The appeal will be based on the departmental record that was created for the review and no new evidence is admissible. Only submissions on law or jurisdiction are admissible.

An applicant should submit the following information and documents with the Board when filing the application to appeal:

  1. a completed Wage Earner Protection Program Eligibility Appeal Form; and
  2. a copy of the review decision made by the Minister under section 12 of the WEPP Act (review decision regarding eligibility).

If any of this information or documentation is not available, a written explanation must be provided by the applicant when filing the application to appeal. It is strongly recommended that the applicant use the Wage Earner Protection Program Eligibility Appeal Form. It asks for the necessary information that the Board needs to consider and determine the application to appeal. Not completing this form may cause delays in the appeal process.

The Board has an e-Filing Web Portal (Portal) service, which allows the applicant to file their Portable Document Format (PDF) documents in the Board’s centralized document filing system. If the applicant chooses to file their document electronically using the Portal, they should not forward a hard copy of the same document to the Board. The electronic version will be considered the original copy.

The application to appeal may also be filed by courier, mail, registered mail, or in person at one of the Board’s locations in Vancouver, Toronto, Montréal, Dartmouth or Ottawa. In accordance with the Board’s Regulations, the application to appeal will be considered filed as of the date the Board receives it or, when registered mail is used, the date it was mailed to the Board.

Request File from the Minister

After the CIRB receives the application to appeal, it will inform the Minister in writing that an application to appeal has been filed, provide a copy of the application to the Minister and request from the Minister a copy of any document that the Minister relied on for the purpose of making the decision being appealed. A copy of this letter will also be provided to the applicant.

Notice of the Appeal by the Board

When the CIRB receives the relevant documents from the Minister, it will send the applicant an acknowledgment letter acknowledging receipt of the application to appeal and will include a copy of relevant documents. A copy of the letter will also be provided to the Minister and the trustee or receiver handling the bankruptcy or receivership proceedings for the applicant’s former employer. The letter will also inform the parties of the name and contact information of the CIRB Industrial Relations Officer (IRO) appointed to the file. The IRO is responsible for managing the file and assisting the parties. The application to appeal will then be submitted to the Board for its consideration. The IRO is available to explain the Board’s processes, answer any questions and discuss any issues that may arise during the conduct of the appeal.

For more information on the role of the IRO, please consult the Board’s Information Circular No. 1–The Role of the Board’s Industrial Relations Officers.

Representations by Minister

Pursuant to section 15(4) of the WEPP Act, the Minister may, in an appeal, make representations to the Board in writing. If the Minister wishes to do so, the Minister may file any written representations within 15 days from the receipt of the Board’s acknowledgment letter and, provide a copy to the appellant and advise the Board in writing of the time and manner of service (delivery). If the Minister makes representations in writing to the Board, the applicant will have 10 days from the receipt of the Minister’s representations to file a reply.

External Adjudicators

The Chairperson of the Board may appoint a member of the CIRB or an external adjudicator to hear and determine an eligibility appeal under the WEPP Act. External adjudicators have all the powers, duties and functions as the Board regarding any matter to which they have been appointed, and their orders and decisions are considered to be the Board’s orders and decisions.

Decision of the Board

Once the Board determines the matter, the applicant will be informed of the Board’s decision in writing. A copy of the decision will also be provided to the Minister and to the trustee or receiver.

DECEMBER 2020

Date modified:

No 5 – Appels relatifs au Programme de protection des salariés (admissibilité)

Règles de prodédure


Le présent document décrit la procédure que doit suivre un requérant (employé) qui désire présenter une demande d’appel devant le Conseil canadien des relations industrielles (le CCRI ou le Conseil) d’une décision relative à l’admissibilité, rendue en révision par le ministre du Travail (le ministre) en vertu de l’article 12 de la Loi sur le Programme de protection des salariés (LPPS).

Pour assurer le traitement rapide de la demande, il est important que les présentes règles soient examinées attentivement.

Si vous avez des questions concernant la procédure du Conseil, veuillez communiquer avec un agent du Conseil au 1-800-575-9696.

Généralités

Aux termes du paragraphe 14(1) de la LPPS, une personne peut interjeter appel auprès du CCRI d’une décision rendue en révision par le ministre en vertu de l’article 12 de la LPPS (décision de révision relative à l’admissibilité), et ce, uniquement sur une question de droit ou de compétence. Conformément à l’article 17 de la LPPS, le Conseil peut confirmer, modifier ou infirmer la décision rendue en révision relativement à l’admissibilité. Si le Conseil modifie la décision, le ministre verse toute prestation à laquelle le demandeur est admissible par suite de la décision du Conseil.

Pour de plus amples renseignements sur les appels relatifs à l’admissibilité au titre de la LPPS, veuillez consulter la Circulaire d’information no 16 du Conseil – Appels relatifs au Programme de protection des salariés (admissibilité).

La LPPS et le Règlement de 2012 sur le Conseil canadien des relations industrielles (le Règlement), les règles de procédure, les formulaires et les circulaires d’information peuvent être obtenus ou consultés à partir du site Web du Conseil.

Processus public

Les renseignements et les documents présentés au Conseil sont recueillis aux seules fins de l’administration de la LPPS et seront utilisés pour traiter et trancher les affaires dont le Conseil est saisi. Les parties qui ont recours aux services du Conseil doivent savoir qu’il s’agit d’un processus public. Les documents déposés auprès du Conseil seront versés au dossier public, à l’exception des documents que le Conseil déclare confidentiels. Le Conseil donne accès au public à ses dossiers d’affaires et publie ses décisions clés sur son site Web. Les décisions du Conseil peuvent contenir le nom des parties et des témoins, ainsi que de l’information à leur sujet qui est pertinente et nécessaire pour décider du différend. En ce qui concerne les renseignements de nature délicate, une demande peut être présentée au Conseil pour obtenir une ordonnance de confidentialité. La Circulaire d’information no 12 décrit la politique du Conseil sur la transparence et la protection de la vie privée.

Dépôt auprès du CCRI d’un appel relatif à l’admissibilité au Programme de protection des salariés

Le Conseil a établi qu’une demande d’appel en vertu du paragraphe 14(1) de la LPPS doit être présentée dans les 60 jours suivant la date à laquelle le requérant est informé de la décision du ministre, à moins que des circonstances indépendantes de la volonté du requérant ne justifient un délai plus long.

Si le requérant est dans l’impossibilité de présenter sa demande d’appel à l’intérieur du délai de 60 jours, il doit fournir les raisons du retard. Une prorogation peut être accordée si le requérant peut démontrer que des circonstances indépendantes de sa volonté l’ont empêché de déposer son appel dans le délai prescrit.

La demande d’appel doit être présentée par écrit et comprendre une explication détaillée des moyens ou des motifs d’appel. La demande peut être rejetée si les motifs ne sont pas fournis. L’appel sera fondé sur le dossier ministériel qui a été créé aux fins de la révision, et aucun nouvel élément de preuve n’est admissible. Seules les observations sur des questions de droit ou de compétence sont recevables.

Un requérant doit fournir les renseignements et documents suivants au Conseil lorsqu’il présente une demande d’appel:

  1. un formulaire d’appel relatif à l’admissibilité au Programme de protection des salariésdûment rempli;
  2. une copie de la décision rendue en révision par le ministre en vertu de l’article 12 de la LPPS(décision de révision relative à l’admissibilité).

Si l’un ou l’autre de ces renseignements ou documents n’est pas disponible, le requérant doit fournir une explication écrite au moment de la présentation de la demande d’appel. Il est fortement recommandé d’utiliser le formulaire d’appel relatif à l’admissibilité au Programme de protection des salariés. Les renseignements dont le Conseil a besoin pour examiner et trancher la demande d’appel sont demandés dans ce formulaire. Le fait de ne pas l’utiliser peut retarder le processus d’appel.

Le Conseil offre un portail Web pour le dépôt des documents par voie électronique (le portail), qui permet au requérant de déposer des documents en format PDF dans le système centralisé de dépôt des documents du Conseil. Si le requérant dépose un document par voie électronique à l’aide de ce portail, il ne doit pas envoyer la version papier du même document au Conseil. La version électronique sera considérée comme la version originale.

La demande d’appel peut également être présentée par service de messagerie, par la poste, par courrier recommandé ou en personne, à l’un des bureaux du Conseil à Vancouver, Toronto, Montréal, Dartmouth ou Ottawa. Conformément au Règlement du Conseil, il est considéré que la date de la demande d’appel correspond à la date de sa réception par le Conseil ou, dans le cas d’un envoi par courrier recommandé, à la date à laquelle la demande a été mise à la poste.

Demande de dossier au ministre

Lorsqu’il reçoit une demande d’appel, le Conseil en informe le ministre par écrit, lui fournit une copie de la demande d’appel et lui demande une copie des documents sur lesquels il s’est fondé pour prendre la décision dont il est fait appel. Une copie de cette lettre est également transmise au requérant.

Avis d’appel du Conseil

Lorsque le CCRI reçoit les documents pertinents du ministre, il envoie au requérant un accusé de réception de la demande d’appel, auquel il joint une copie des documents pertinents. Une copie de cette lettre est également transmise au ministre et au syndic ou au séquestre qui s’occupe de la procédure de faillite ou de mise sous séquestre visant l’ancien employeur du requérant. Cette lettre contient également le nom et les coordonnées de l’agent des relations industrielles (ARI) du CCRI affecté au dossier. L’ARI est chargé de gérer le dossier et d’assister les parties. La demande d’appel est ensuite soumise à l’examen du Conseil. L’ARI sera en mesure de répondre aux questions et d'expliquer les processus du Conseil et de discuter de tout enjeu qui peut survenir pendant le déroulement de l’appel.

Pour de plus amples renseignements sur le rôle de l’ARI, veuillez consulter la Circulaire d’information du Conseil no 1 : Le rôle des agents des relations industrielles.

Observations du ministre

Aux termes du paragraphe 15(4) de la LPPS, le ministre peut, dans le cadre de l’appel, présenter au Conseil des observations par écrit. À sa discrétion, le ministre peut présenter des observations écrites dans les 15 jours suivant la réception de l’accusé de réception du Conseil. Il fournit alors une copie de ses observations au requérant et informe le Conseil par écrit du moment et du mode de signification (distribution). Si le ministre présente des observations écrites au Conseil, le requérant dispose de 10 jours pour présenter une réplique à compter de la réception des observations du ministre.

Arbitres externes

Le président du Conseil peut nommer un membre du CCRI ou un arbitre externe pour entendre et trancher l’appel. Les arbitres externes exercent les mêmes attributions que le Conseil relativement à toute affaire à l’égard de laquelle ils sont nommés, et leurs ordonnances et décisions sont réputées être des ordonnances et décisions du Conseil.

Décision du Conseil

Une fois que le Conseil a tranché l’affaire, le requérant est informé de la décision du Conseil par écrit. Une copie de la décision sera également transmise au ministre ainsi qu’au syndic ou au séquestre.

Date de modification :