No. 4–Adjudication of Unjust Dismissal Complaints

Rules of Procedure


This document describes the procedures that must be followed by a complainant (employee) whose unjust dismissal complaint has been referred by the Minister of Labour to the Canada Industrial Relations Board (the CIRB or the Board) for adjudication.

It also describes the procedures to be followed by the respondent (employer) following receipt of the Board’s notice of the referral of the unjust dismissal complaint for adjudication.

To ensure the timely processing of the complaint, it is important that these rules be reviewed carefully.

Should you have any questions concerning the Board’s procedure, you can contact a Board officer at 1-800-575-9696.

General

Section 242(3)(a) of the Canada Labour Code (the Code),Part III (Standard Hours, Wages, Vacations and Holidays), provides that a complaint of unjust dismissal filed by an employee can be referred by a Labour Program inspector to the CIRB for adjudication.

When such a referral is made to the Board, the Board shall consider and render a decision to determine whether the dismissal was unjust. If the Board decides that a person has been unjustly dismissed, the Board, pursuant to section 242(4) of the Code, may, by order, require the employer to pay compensation for lost wages, reinstate the employee and do anything that is equitable in order to remedy any consequence of the dismissal.

For further information about the adjudication of unjust dismissal complaints by the CIRB, please consult the Board’s Information Circular No. 15–Adjudication of Unjust Dismissal Complaints.

For copies of the Code and the Canada Industrial Relations Board Regulations, 2012 (the Regulations), rules of procedure, forms and information circulars, please visit the Board’s website.

Public Process

The information provided and any documents submitted to the Board are collected solely for the purpose of administering the Code and will be used to deal with and adjudicate the complaint. Parties that engage the Board’s services should be aware that this is a public process. Documents filed with the Board will be placed on the public record, with the exception of documents that the Board declares to be confidential pursuant to section 22 of the Regulations. The Board provides public access to case files and posts key decisions on its website. The final decision may identify parties and witnesses by name and may include information about them that is relevant and necessary to the determination of the dispute. For sensitive information, a request can be made to the Board for a Confidentiality Order. See Information Circular No. 12 for the Board’s Policy on Openness and Privacy.

Filing a Complaint of Unjust Dismissal

An employee who worked in a federally regulated industry, was continuously employed with the employer for 12 consecutive months or more, was not subject to a collective agreement and was not a manager must file a complaint of unjust dismissal with the Labour Program within 90 days of dismissal. For more information, please visit the Labour Program website.

Do not file your original complaint with the CIRB. All new complaints must first be filed with the Labour Program.

Once the process with the Labour Program is completed, the complaint may be referred by the Labour Program to the CIRB for adjudication.

Notice of the Referral for Adjudication to the Board

When the CIRB receives the request for adjudication and the file from the Minister, it will send the complainant and the respondent an acknowledgment letter acknowledging receipt of the referral for adjudication and will include a copy of relevant documents. The letter will also inform the parties of the name and contact information of the CIRB Industrial Relations Officer (IRO) appointed to the complaint.

The IRO is responsible for managing the file and assisting the parties in reaching a settlement. For more information on the role of the IRO, please consult the Board’s Information Circular No. 1–The Role of the Board’s Industrial Relations Officers.

Shortly after sending the Board’s acknowledgment letter, the IRO will contact the employee and employer to explain the Board’s processes, answer any questions they might have and discuss any issues that could arise during the conduct of the file.

Employer’s Obligations

Pursuant to sections 9 and 12 of the Regulations, the respondent (employer) will have 15 days from receipt of the acknowledgment letter to file a response.

Employee’s Obligations

Pursuant to sections 9 and 12 of the Regulations, upon receipt of the employer’s response, the complainant (employee) will have 10 days to file a reply.

Request for Oral Hearing

In accordance with section 10(g) of the Regulations, any request for an oral hearing must include the reasons for the request. Please note that, in any event, the Board is empowered under section 16.1 of the Code to decide any matter before it without holding an oral hearing. In such a case, the Board would determine the complaint based on the written submissions of the parties (employee, employer). It is therefore in the parties’ best interests to file complete, accurate and detailed submissions and include all relevant information and documents in support of their respective positions.

Time Limits

The CIRB may refuse to consider any responses or replies received after the prescribed time limit.

Extension of the Time Limits

To ensure the timely processing of matters before the Board, and in furtherance of the objectives of the Code, the Board’s practice is not to grant extensions of the time limits for filing a response or a reply, except in exceptional circumstances. If you must request an extension of time limits, you must first contact the other parties and obtain their agreement, before making a request to the Board.

Exchange of Documents

Pursuant to section 23 of the Regulations, parties must deliver to the other party/parties a copy of any response, reply or other document filed with the Board and advise the Board in writing of the time and manner of this delivery, which is called service. The manner of service includes delivery by fax, by courier or in person. You may also deliver the document by mail or registered mail, but these may lead to delays in processing the complaint.

Request for Production or Disclosure of Documents

Pursuant to section 21(1) of the Regulations, if a party seeks to have another party disclose documents that are relevant to the complaint before the Board, the request must first be made in writing to the other party, before applying to the Board for an order requiring disclosure.

Mediation Meeting

The IRO will communicate with the parties in order to arrange a mediation meeting to assist the parties in attempting to resolve the dispute. This mediation meeting is voluntary and the information acquired by the officer in the mediation process shall remain confidential and shall not be divulged to the Board.

Pre-Hearing Conference

Pursuant to section 16(a.1) of the Code, the Board has the power to schedule and hold pre-hearing conferences with the parties to discuss both preliminary and substantive issues relating to the complaint. The pre-hearing conferences are normally conducted via teleconference, although videoconferences and in-person meetings are also used in some cases.

The pre-hearing conference is considered an integral part of the hearing process. Parties are expected to attend the pre-hearing conference prepared to discuss and address both preliminary and substantive aspects of the matter before the Board. Any Board decisions or rulings made at the pre-hearing conference are binding on all the parties.

If the Board decides to schedule a pre-hearing conference, the parties will be advised of the date, time, location and other information (e.g., teleconference dial-in procedures) for the pre-hearing conference as soon as possible.

Pursuant to section 47(2) of the Regulations, if a party does not attend a pre-hearing conference after having been given notice, the Board may proceed and decide the matter in the party’s absence.

Oral Hearing

If the Board finds it necessary to schedule a hearing, the parties will be advised of the time and place of the hearing as soon as possible. Although a hearing may be scheduled, this does not preclude a settlement of the complaint by the parties at any time.

Adjournment or Postponement Requests

The logistical difficulties caused by the Board’s heavy caseload and its geographically widespread and bilingual community render it very difficult to reschedule dates in an orderly and timely fashion. The Board is therefore very reluctant to accede to requests for postponement of its proceedings.

If a party requires a rescheduling of a hearing, that party must first consult with the other party/parties as described in the Board’s Information Circular No. 4–Board Hearings, which is available on the Board’s website.

External Adjudicators

In the adjudication of unjust dismissal complaints, the Chairperson of the Board may appoint a member of the CIRB or an external adjudicator to hear and determine the complaint. Members of the CIRB and external adjudicators have all the powers, duties and functions conferred on the CIRB by the Code regarding any matter to which they have been appointed, and their orders and decisions are considered to be the Board’s orders and decisions.

Decision of the Board

The Board will notify the employee and the employer in writing of its decision, with reasons. A copy of the Board’s decision will also be provided to the Minister. All key decisions of the Board are published on its website.

July 2019

Date modified:

No 4 – Arbitrage de plaintes de congédiement injuste

Règles de procédure


Le présent document décrit les procédures que doit suivre le plaignant (employé) dont la plainte de congédiement injuste a été renvoyée par le ministre du Travail au Conseil canadien des relations industrielles (le CCRI ou le Conseil) à des fins d’arbitrage.

Il décrit également la procédure à suivre par l’intimé (employeur) après réception de l’avis du Conseil concernant le renvoi de la plainte de congédiement injuste à l’arbitrage.

Pour assurer le traitement rapide de la plainte, il est important de bien examiner ces règles.

Si vous avez des questions concernant la procédure du Conseil, veuillez communiquer avec un agent du Conseil au 1-800-575-9696.

Généralités

Selon l’alinéa 242(3)a) du Code canadien du travail, partie III (Durée normale du travail, salaire, congés et jours fériés), une plainte de congédiement injuste déposée par un employé peut être renvoyée au CCRI par un inspecteur du Programme du travail à des fins d’arbitrage.

Lorsqu’un tel renvoi est fait auprès du Conseil, le Conseil examine le dossier et rend une décision pour déterminer si le congédiement était injuste. Si le Conseil décide qu’une personne a été congédiée injustement, il peut rendre une ordonnance en vertu du paragraphe 242(4) du Code enjoignant à l’employeur de payer à l’employé une indemnité équivalente au salaire qu’il aurait normalement gagné, de réintégrer l’employé dans son emploi, et de prendre toute autre mesure qu’il juge équitable pour remédier aux effets du congédiement.

Pour de plus amples renseignements au sujet de l’arbitrage de plaintes de congédiement injuste par le CCRI, veuillez consulter la Circulaire d’information du Conseil no 15 – Arbitrage de plaintes de congédiement injuste.

Pour obtenir des copies du Code, du Règlement de 2012 du Conseil canadien des relations industrielles (le Règlement), des règles de procédure, des formulaires et des circulaires d’information, veuillez visiter le site Web du Conseil.

Processus public

Les renseignements et les documents présentés au Conseil sont recueillis aux seules fins de l’administration du Code et seront utilisés pour traiter et trancher les affaires dont le Conseil est saisi. Les parties qui ont recours aux services du Conseil doivent savoir qu’il s’agit d’un processus public. Les documents déposés auprès du Conseil seront versés au dossier public, à l’exception des documents que le Conseil déclare confidentiels en vertu de l’article 22 du Règlement. Le Conseil donne accès au public à ses dossiers d’affaires et publie ses décisions clés sur son site Web. Les décisions du Conseil peuvent contenir le nom des parties et des témoins, ainsi que de l’information à leur sujet qui est pertinente et nécessaire pour décider du différend. En ce qui concerne les renseignements de nature délicate, une demande peut être présentée au Conseil pour obtenir une ordonnance de confidentialité. La Circulaire d’information no 12 décrit la politique du Conseil sur la transparence et la protection de la vie privée.

Dépôt d’une plainte de congédiement injuste

Un l’employé qui travaillait dans une industrie sous réglementation fédérale; qui était employé de façon continue par l’employeur pendant 12 mois consécutifs ou plus; qui n’était pas assujetti à une convention collective, et qui n’était pas un gestionnaire doit déposer sa plainte de congédiement injuste auprès du Programme du travail dans les 90 jours suivant le congédiement. Pour de plus amples renseignements, veuillez visiter le site Web du Programme du travail.

Ne déposez pas votre plainte initiale directement au CCRI. Toutes les nouvelles plaintes doivent d’abord être déposées auprès du Programme du travail.

Une fois que le Programme du travail a terminé le processus, il peut renvoyer la plainte au CCRI à des fins d’arbitrage.

Avis de renvoi au Conseil pour arbitrage

Lorsque le CCRI reçoit la demande d’arbitrage et le dossier du ministre, il envoie au plaignant et à l’intimé une lettre accusant réception du renvoi pour arbitrage, accompagnée d’une copie des documents pertinents. La lettre informera également les parties du nom et des coordonnées de l’agent des relations industrielles (ARI) du CCRI qui est désigné pour instruire la plainte.

L’ARI est chargé de gérer le dossier et d’aider les parties à parvenir à un règlement. Pour de plus amples renseignements sur le rôle des ARI, veuillez consulter la Circulaire d’information no 1 – Le rôle des agents des relations industriellesdu Conseil.

Peu après l’envoi de l’accusé de réception du Conseil, l’ARI communiquera avec l’employé et l’employeur pour leur expliquer les processus du Conseil, répondre à leurs questions et discuter de toutes les difficultés qui pourraient se présenter pendant le traitement du dossier.

Obligations de l’employeur

Au titre des articles 9 et 12 du Règlement, l’intimé (l’employeur) aura 15 jours suivant la réception de l’accusé de réception pour présenter une réponse.

Obligations de l’employé

Au titre des articles 9 et 12 du Règlement, à la réception de la réponse de l’employeur, le plaignant (l’employé) aura 10 jours pour présenter une réplique.

Demande d’audience

Conformément à l’alinéa 10g) du Règlement, toute demande d’audience doit être accompagnée des motifs en justifiant la tenue. Veuillez prendre note que quoi qu’il advienne, le Conseil peut, en vertu de l’article 16.1 du Code, trancher toute affaire ou question dont il est saisi sans tenir d’audience. Dans de tels cas, le Conseil tranchera la plainte en se fondant sur les observations écrites des parties (employé, employeur). Il est donc dans l’intérêt des parties de présenter des observations complètes, exactes et détaillées et d’inclure tous les renseignements et documents pertinents à l’appui de leurs positions respectives.

Délais

Le CCRI peut refuser d’examiner les réponses ou les répliques reçues après le délai prescrit.

Prorogation des délais

Afin d’assurer le traitement en temps opportun des questions dont le Conseil est saisi et de favoriser la réalisation des objectifs du Code, le Conseil a pour pratique de ne pas accorder de prorogation des délais pour le dépôt d’une réponse ou d’une réplique, sauf dans des circonstances exceptionnelles. Si vous demandez une prorogation des délais, vous devez d’abord obtenir l’accord des autres parties avant de présenter une demande au Conseil.

Échange de documents

Conformément à l’article 23 du Règlement, chaque partie doit remettre à l’autre partie ou aux autres parties une copie de chaque réponse, réplique ou autre document déposés auprès du Conseil et l’aviser par écrit du moment et du mode de livraison (ce qu’on appelle la signification. La signification peut se faire par télécopieur, par messagerie ou en personne. Vous pouvez aussi envoyer les documents par la poste ou par courrier recommandé, mais cela risque de retarder le traitement de la plainte.

Demande de production ou de communication de documents

Conformément au paragraphe 21(1) du Règlement, si une partie demande qu’une autre partie communique des documents pertinents à la plainte dont le Conseil est saisi, elle doit d’abord en faire la demande par écrit à l’autre partie avant de demander au Conseil d’en ordonner la communication.

Rencontre de médiation

L’ARI communiquera avec les parties pour fixer une rencontre de médiation afin de les aider à régler la plainte. La rencontre de médiation est facultative et les renseignements recueillis par l’agent durant la médiation sont confidentiels et ne seront pas communiqués au Conseil.

Conférence préparatoire

En vertu de l’alinéa 16a.1) du Code, le Conseil peut fixer et tenir des conférences préparatoires avec les parties pour discuter de questions préliminaires et de questions de fond concernant la plainte. Ces conférences préparatoires sont normalement tenues par téléconférence, bien que dans certains cas, des vidéoconférences et des rencontres en personne sont aussi utilisées.

La conférence préparatoire est réputée faire partie intégrante du processus d’audience. On s’attend à ce que les parties assistent à la conférence préparatoire et qu’elles soient prêtes à discuter des aspects préliminaires et de fond de l’affaire dont est saisi le Conseil. Toutes les décisions ou tous les jugements du Conseil pris au cours de la conférence préparatoire sont exécutoires et lient toutes les parties.

Si le Conseil décide d’organiser une conférence préparatoire, les parties seront informées dès que possible de la date, de l’heure et du lieu, ainsi que de tout autre renseignement (p. ex. procédures pour participer à la téléconférence) concernant la conférence préparatoire.

Selon le paragraphe 47(2) du Règlement, si une partie ne se présente pas à une conférence préparatoire après avoir reçu un avis à cet effet, le Conseil peut statuer sur l’affaire en l’absence de cette partie.

Audience

Si le Conseil juge nécessaire de fixer une date d’audience, les parties seront informées de l’heure et du lieu de l’audience dès que possible. Même si une audience peut être fixée, cela n’empêche pas les parties de régler la plainte en tout temps.

Demande d’ajournement ou de remise

Étant donné les problèmes pratiques que posent la lourde charge de travail du Conseil, la dissémination de sa clientèle et les différentes exigences linguistiques de cette dernière, il est très difficile de modifier les dates prévues des différentes procédures de façon ordonnée et en temps opportun. Le Conseil hésite donc fortement à accéder aux demandes de remise de ses instances.

Si une partie demande de reporter une audience, elle doit d’abord consulter l’autre partie ou les autres parties, comme le prévoit la Circulaire d’information no 4 – Audiences du Conseil, disponible sur le site Web du Conseil.

Arbitres externes

Dans le cadre de l’arbitrage des plaintes de congédiement injuste, le président du Conseil peut nommer un membre du CCRI ou un arbitre externe pour entendre la plainte et se prononcer sur celle-ci. Les membres du CCRI et les arbitres externes exercent toutes les attributions que le Code confère au CCRI quant aux questions pour lesquelles ils sont nommés, et les ordonnances et décisions qu’ils rendent sont réputées être des ordonnances et des décisions du Conseil.

Décision du Conseil

Le Conseil informera par écrit l’employé et l’employeur de sa décision et de ses motifs. Une copie de la décision du Conseil sera également remise au ministre. Toutes les décisions clés du Conseil sont publiées sur son site Web.

Juillet 2019

Date de modification :