No. 15–Adjudication of Unjust Dismissal Complaints

Information Circular

PDF Printable version

The following is one in a series of information circulars prepared by the administration staff of the CIRB. The circulars are designed to provide employees, trade unions and employers with general information and a clearer understanding of Board processes. This information circular is an informal tool and is not binding on the Board.


Important Note:

As a first step, you MUST file your complaint of unjust dismissal with the Labour Program of Employment and Social Development Canada (ESDC). Do not file your original complaint with the Canada Industrial Relations Board (the Board or the CIRB). For information about filing a complaint of unjust dismissal, please contact the Labour Program at 1-800-641-4049 or consult its website.

What is a complaint of unjust dismissal

Section 240 of the Canada Labour Code (the Code), Part III (Standard Hours, Wages, Vacations and Holidays), protects against unjust dismissal for federally regulated employees  who have completed at least 12 months of continuous employment with the same employer and who are not covered by a collective agreement. This protection does not apply to managers.

If an employee believes that they have been unjustly dismissed from employment, they may file a complaint alleging unjust dismissal with ESDC’s Labour Program. The complaint must be filed within 90 days of the date of dismissal.

A person may not file a complaint alleging unjust dismissal if they have made either a reprisal complaint (section 246.1) or a genetic testing complaint (section 247.99) that is based on substantially the same facts, unless that other complaint has been withdrawn.

After a complaint of unjust dismissal is filed, a Labour Program inspector will try to help the parties (employee and employer) through mediation. The goal is to mediate the matter by supporting both parties to negotiate a settlement that is acceptable to them. The Labour Program inspector does not issue a decision or decide if a complaint is valid or justified. The majority of unjust dismissal complaints are resolved through this process.

If the complaint is not settled by the parties with the help of the Labour Program inspector, the complainant can request that their complaint be referred to the CIRB for adjudication. This request is made to the Labour Program by using the process outlined below.

Adjudication of Unjust Dismissal Complaints

If the complaint of unjust dismissal is not settled by both parties in a reasonable period of time, the Labour Program inspector will inform the parties in writing. If the complainant chooses to continue with the complaint, they will have to make a written request to have their complaint referred to the CIRB. 

This request for adjudication must be made within 30 days of receiving the letter from the Labour Program. A Request for Adjudication–Unjust Dismissal Complaint Form will be provided to the complainant by the Labour Program. The complainant must complete this form and send it back to the Labour Program. The complainant must not send their request directly to the CIRB. It must be sent to the Labour Program. The Labour Program will send the complainant’s file to the CIRB for the next steps of the process.

What happens after the unjust dismissal complaint is referred to the CIRB for adjudication?

Acknowledgment Letter

When the CIRB receives the complainant’s request for adjudication and file from the Labour Program, the CIRB will send the complainant and the employer a letter acknowledging receipt of the Referral for Adjudication and will include a copy of all relevant documents. The letter will also inform the parties of the name and contact information of the CIRB Industrial Relations Officer (IRO) appointed to the complaint. The IRO is responsible for managing the file and assisting the parties in reaching a settlement. For more information on the role of the IRO, please consult the Board’s Information Circular No. 1–The Role of the Board’s Industrial Relations Officers.

Response and Reply

The respondent (employer) to the complaint will have 15 days from receipt of the acknowledgment letter to file a response. Upon receipt of a response, the complainant (employee) will have 10 days to file a reply.

The CIRB may refuse to consider any responses or replies received after the prescribed time limit.

Exchange of Documents

Pursuant to section 23 of the Canada Industrial Relations Board Regulations, 2012, parties must deliver to the other party/parties a copy of any response, reply or other document filed with the Board, and to advise the Board in writing of the time and manner of this delivery, which is called service. The manner of service includes delivery by fax, by courier or in person. You may also deliver the document by mail or registered mail, but these may lead to delays in processing the complaint.

Mediation Meeting

The IRO will communicate with the parties in order to arrange a mediation meeting to assist the parties in attempting to resolve the dispute. This mediation meeting is voluntary and the information acquired by the officer in the mediation process shall remain confidential and shall not be divulged to the Board.

Hearing

If the complaint is not resolved during mediation, it will be referred to the CIRB. The CIRB may, in its discretion, decide the matter without holding an oral hearing. If there is no oral hearing, the CIRB will decide the complaint based on the written submissions filed by the parties. It is therefore in the parties’ best interests to file complete, accurate and detailed submissions and include all relevant information and documents in support of their respective positions. If the CIRB decides to hold an oral hearing, it will inform the parties of the date and location of the hearing.

External Adjudicators

In the adjudication of unjust dismissal complaints, the Chairperson of the Board may appoint a member of the CIRB or an external adjudicator to hear and determine the complaint. Members of the CIRB and external adjudicators have all the powers, duties and functions conferred on the CIRB by the Code regarding any matter to which they have been appointed, and their orders and decisions are considered to be the Board’s orders and decisions.

Decision of the Board

The Board will notify the employee and the employer in writing of its decision, with reasons. A copy of the Board’s decision will also be provided to the Minister. All key decisions of the CIRB are published on its website.

What remedies can be ordered by the CIRB?

Where the Board finds the dismissal to be unjust, the employer may be ordered to reinstate the employee, pay compensation for lost wages or do anything that is equitable in order to remedy any consequences of the dismissal (e.g., clear an employee’s record of any references to the dismissal).

Date modified:

No 15 – Arbitrage des plaintes de congédiement injuste

Circulaire d'information

PDF Version imprimable

Le présent document est une circulaire d'information préparée par le personnel du CCRI. Elle fournit des renseignements généraux aux employés, aux syndicats et aux employeurs, pour les aider à mieux comprendre le fonctionnement du Conseil. La présente circulaire est un outil informel et, par conséquent, elle ne lie pas le Conseil.


Important :

Dans un premier temps, vous DEVEZ déposer votre plainte de congédiement injuste auprès du Programme du travail d’Emploi et Développement social Canada (EDSC). Ne déposez pas votre plainte initiale auprès du Conseil canadien des relations industrielles (le Conseil ou le CCRI). Pour obtenir des renseignements sur la façon de déposer une plainte de congédiement injuste, veuillez communiquer avec le Programme du travail, au 1-800-641-4049, ou consulter son site Web.

En quoi consiste une plainte de congédiement injuste?

L’article 240 de la partie III (Durée normale du travail, salaire, congés et jours fériés) du Code canadien du travail (le Code) protège contre le congédiement injuste les employés sous réglementation fédérale qui travaillent sans interruption depuis au moins douze mois pour le même employeur et qui ne font pas partie d’un groupe d’employés assujettis à une convention collective. Cette protection ne s’applique pas aux gestionnaires.

Si un employé croit avoir été congédié injustement, il peut déposer une plainte de congédiement injuste auprès du Programme du travail d’EDSC. Il doit le faire dans les 90 jours suivant la date du congédiement.

Une personne ne peut pas déposer une plainte de congédiement injuste si elle a déposé une plainte de représailles (article 246.1) ou une plainte liée à des tests génétiques (article 247.99) fondée essentiellement sur les mêmes faits, à moins que cette autre plainte n’ait été retirée.

Après le dépôt d’une plainte de congédiement injuste, un inspecteur du Programme du travail tentera d’aider les parties (l’employé et l’employeur) au moyen d’un processus de médiation, dont l’objectif est de permettre aux parties de négocier un règlement qui leur convient. L’inspecteur du Programme du travail ne rend pas de décision et n’établit pas si une plainte est valide ou justifiée. La majorité des plaintes de congédiement injuste sont réglées grâce à ce processus.

Si les parties n’arrivent pas à régler la plainte avec le soutien de l’inspecteur du Programme du travail, le plaignant peut demander le renvoi de sa plainte au CCRI aux fins d’arbitrage. Une telle demande doit être adressée au Programme du travail conformément au processus décrit ci dessous.

Arbitrage des plaintes de congédiement injuste

Si la plainte de congédiement injuste n’est pas réglée par les deux parties dans un délai raisonnable, l’inspecteur du Programme du travail en informera les deux parties par écrit. Si le plaignant choisit de poursuivre la plainte, il devra présenter une demande écrite pour que son dossier soit transféré au CCRI.

Cette demande d’arbitrage doit être présentée dans les 30 jours suivant la réception de la lettre du Programme du travail. Ce dernier remettra au plaignant un formulaire de demande d’arbitrage lié à une plainte de congédiement injuste. Le plaignant doit remplir le formulaire en question et le renvoyer au Programme du travail. Le plaignant ne doit pas envoyer sa demande directement au CCRI. Il doit l’envoyer au Programme du travail, qui transférera le dossier du plaignant au CCRI en vue des prochaines étapes du processus.

Que se passe t il après le renvoi de la plainte de congédiement injuste au CCRI aux fins d’arbitrage?

Accusé de réception

Lorsque le CCRI reçoit du Programme du travail la demande d’arbitrage et le dossier du plaignant, il envoie au plaignant ainsi qu’à l’employeur une lettre accusant réception de la demande de renvoi à l’arbitrage accompagnée d’une copie de tous les documents pertinents. La lettre informe également le plaignant du nom et des coordonnées de l’agent des relations industrielles (ARI) du CCRI affecté à la plainte. L’ARI est chargé de gérer le dossier et d’aider les parties à en arriver à un règlement. Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements sur le rôle de l’ARI, veuillez consulter la Circulaire d’information du Conseil no 1 – Le rôle des agents des relations industrielles.

Réponse et réplique

L’intimé (l’employeur) aura 15 jours après la réception de l’accusé de réception pour présenter une réponse. Le plaignant (l’employé) disposera de 10 jours après la réception de la réponse pour présenter sa réplique.

Le CCRI peut refuser de prendre en considération toute réponse ou réplique reçues après l’expiration des délais prévus.

Échange de documents

En vertu de l’article 23 du Règlement de 2012 sur le Conseil canadien des relations industrielles, chaque partie doit remettre à l’autre partie ou aux autres parties une copie de chaque réponse, réplique ou autre document présentés au Conseil et informer ce dernier par écrit du moment et du mode de livraison (ce qu’on appelle la signification). La signification peut se faire par télécopieur, par messagerie ou en personne. Vous pouvez aussi envoyer les documents par la poste ou par courrier recommandé, mais cela risque de retarder le traitement de la plainte.

Rencontre de médiation

L’ARI communiquera avec les parties pour fixer une rencontre de médiation afin de les aider à régler la plainte. La rencontre de médiation est facultative et les renseignements recueillis par l’agent durant la médiation sont confidentiels et ne seront pas communiqués au Conseil.

Audience

Si la plainte n’est pas réglée grâce à la médiation, l’affaire est renvoyée au CCRI. Ce dernier peut, à sa discrétion, trancher l’affaire sans tenir d’audience. S’il ne tient pas d’audience, il tranchera la plainte en s’appuyant sur les observations écrites présentées par les parties. Il est donc dans l’intérêt des parties de présenter des observations complètes, exactes et détaillées et de fournir tous les renseignements et documents pertinents à l’appui de leurs positions respectives. Si le CCRI décide de tenir une audience, il en communiquera la date et le lieu aux parties.

Arbitres externes

Dans le cadre de l’arbitrage d’une plainte de congédiement injuste, le président du Conseil peut nommer un membre du CCRI ou un arbitre externe pour entendre et trancher la plainte. Les membres du CCRI et les arbitres externes ont toutes les attributions conférées au CCRI par le Code relativement à toute affaire pour laquelle ils ont été désignés, et leurs ordonnances et décisions sont réputées être des ordonnances et décisions du Conseil.

Décision du Conseil

Le Conseil avisera par écrit l’employé et l’employeur de sa décision, motifs à l’appui. Une copie de la décision du Conseil est également transmise au ministre. Toutes les décisions clés du CCRI sont publiées sur son site Web.

Quels redressements le Conseil peut il ordonner?

Lorsque le Conseil juge que le congédiement est injuste, l’employeur peut être sommé de réintégrer l’employé, de lui verser une indemnité pour la perte de salaire ou de faire tout ce qui est équitable pour remédier aux conséquences du congédiement (p. ex. effacer toute mention du congédiement dans le dossier de l’employé).

Date de modification :