No. 3–Section 246.1 Reprisal Complaints

Rules of Procedure


This document describes the procedures that must be followed by a complainant (employee) who wishes to file a complaint with the Canada Industrial Relations Board (the CIRB or the Board) under section 246.1 of Part III (Standard Hours, Wages, Vacations and Holidays) of the Canada Labour Code (the Code).

It also describes the procedures to be followed by a respondent (employer) following receipt of the Board’s notice of the section 246.1 complaint. The procedures to be followed by a potential intervenor (e.g., the union) will also be described.

To ensure the timely processing of the complaint, it is important that these rules be reviewed carefully.

Should you have any questions concerning the Board’s procedure, you can contact a Board officer at 1-800-575-9696.

General

Pursuant to section 246.1(1) of the Code, an employee may file a complaint in writing to the Board if they believe that their employer has taken a reprisal or retaliated against them for exercising their rights under Part III of the Code.

If the Board determines that a complaint is justified, the Board may, by order, require the employer to:

  • cease engaging in or to rescind the reprisal;
  • permit the employee to return to the duties of their employment;
  • reinstate the employee;
  • pay compensation for any loss of remuneration by the employee;
  • pay compensation for any financial or other penalty imposed on the employee; and
  • do any other thing that the Board considers equitable for the employer to do to remedy or counteract any consequence of the reprisal.

For further information about section 246.1 reprisal complaints, please consult the Board’s Information Circular No. 14–Section 246.1 Reprisal Complaints.

For copies of the Code and the Canada Industrial Relations Board Regulations, 2012 (the Regulations), rules of procedure, forms and information circulars, please visit the Board’s website.

Public Process

The information provided and any documents submitted to the Board are collected solely for the purpose of administering the Code and will be used to deal with and adjudicate the complaint. Parties that engage the Board’s services should be aware that this is a public process. Documents filed with the Board will be placed on the public record, with the exception of documents that the Board declares to be confidential pursuant to section 22 of the Regulations. The Board provides public access to case files and posts key decisions on its website. The final decision may identify parties and witnesses by name and may include information about them that is relevant and necessary to the determination of the dispute. For sensitive information, a request can be made to the Board for a Confidentiality Order. See Information Circular No. 12 for the Board’s Policy on Openness and Privacy.

Filing a Reprisal Complaint with the CIRB

A complaint filed pursuant to section 246.1 of the Code shall be made to the Board not later than 90 days after the day the employee knew or, in the Board’s opinion, ought to have known of the action or circumstances giving rise to the complaint.

Although section 16(m.1) of the Code allows the Board to extend the 90-day time limit, the Board will only do so in exceptional circumstances. If the employee would like the Board to consider extending the 90-day time limit, they must explain the exceptional circumstances that they feel the Board should consider in deciding whether or not to exercise its discretion. Supporting documentation should be provided if available.

An employee must submit the following information and documents with the Board when filing the complaint:

  1. A completed Reprisal Complaint Form;
  2. A copy of any relevant supporting document.

If any of this information or documentation is not available, a written explanation must be provided by the employee when filing the complaint.

It is strongly recommended that an employee use the Section 246.1 Reprisal Complaint Form. It asks for the necessary information that the Board needs in order to consider and determine the complaint. Not completing this form may cause delays in the complaint process.

The Board has an e-filing Web Portal (Portal) service, which allows an employee to file their PDF documents in the Board’s centralized document filing system. If the employee chooses to file their document electronically using the Portal, they should not forward a hard copy of the same document to the Board. The electronic version will be considered the original copy.

The complaint may also be filed by courier, mail, registered mail, or in person at one of the Board’s locations in Vancouver, Toronto, Montréal, Dartmouth or Ottawa. In accordance with the Board’s Regulations, the complaint will be considered filed as of the date the Board receives the complaint or, when registered mail is used, the date the complaint was mailed to the Board.

Notice of the Complaint by the Board

After the complaint is received, the CIRB will send the employee and employer an acknowledgment letter acknowledging receipt of the complaint and will include a copy of the complaint and all relevant documents. The letter will also inform the employee and the employer of the name and contact information of the Industrial Relations Officer (IRO) appointed to the complaint. The IRO is responsible for managing the file and assisting the parties in reaching a settlement. For more information on the role of the IRO, please consult the Board’s Information Circular No. 1–The Role of the Board’s Industrial Relations Officers.

If the employee is represented by a union, the CIRB will notify the union in writing of the complaint and provide a copy of the complaint to the union. Shortly after sending the Board’s acknowledgment letter, the IRO will contact the employee and employer to explain the Board’s processes, answer any questions they might have and discuss any issues that could arise during the conduct of the file.

Employer’s Obligations

Pursuant to sections 9 and 12 of the Regulations, the employer (respondent) will have 15 days from receipt of the acknowledgment letter to file a response.

Employee’s Obligations

Pursuant to sections 9 and 12 of the Regulations, upon receipt of the employer’s response, the employee (complainant) will have 10 days to file a reply.

Request for Oral Hearing

In accordance with section 10(g) of the Regulations, any request for an oral hearing must include the reasons for the request. Please note that, in any event, the Board is empowered under section 16.1 of the Code to decide any matter before it without holding an oral hearing. In such a case, the Board would determine the complaint based on the written submissions of the parties (employee, employer). It is therefore in the parties’ best interests to file complete, accurate and detailed submissions and include all relevant information and documents in support of their respective positions.

Time Limits

The CIRB may refuse to consider any responses or replies received after the prescribed time limit.

Extension of the Time Limits

To ensure the timely processing of matters before the Board, and in furtherance of the objectives of the Code, the Board’s practice is not to grant extensions of the time limits for filing a response or a reply, except in exceptional circumstances. If you must request an extension of time limits, you must first contact the other parties and obtain their agreement, before making a request to the Board.

Exchange of Documents

Pursuant to section 23 of the Regulations, parties must deliver to the other party/parties a copy of any response, reply or other document filed with the Board and advise the Board in writing of the time and manner of this delivery, which is called service. The manner of service includes delivery by fax, by courier, or in person. You may also deliver the document by mail or registered mail, but these may lead to delays in processing the complaint.

Request to Intervene Filed by Union

Upon notification of the complaint by the CIRB, if the union wishes to participate in the proceedings, it must file a request to intervene with the Board within 15 days of receipt of the Board’s letter. Pursuant to section 23 of the Board’s Regulations, the union will provide a copy of the request to intervene to the employer and employee. The employer and the employee will have 10 days from receipt of the request to intervene to file a response. Upon receipt of a response, the union will then have 5 days to file a reply. The request to intervene, response(s) and reply will then be referred to the Board for consideration.

If the union’s request to intervene is granted, it will become a party to the complaint and will be asked to file written submissions on the merits of the case. The other parties will then have an opportunity to respond. When a request to intervene is filed, it may result in a delay in the processing of the complaint.

Request for Production or Disclosure of Documents

Pursuant to section 21(1) of the Regulations, if a party seeks to have another party disclose documents that are relevant to the complaint before the Board, the request must first be made in writing to the other party, before applying to the Board for an order requiring disclosure.

Mediation Meeting

The IRO will communicate with the parties in order to arrange a mediation meeting to assist the parties in attempting to resolve the dispute. This mediation meeting is voluntary and the information acquired by the officer in the mediation process shall remain confidential and shall not be divulged to the Board.

Pre-Hearing Conference

Pursuant to section 16(a.1) of the Code, the Board has the power to schedule and hold pre-hearing conferences with the parties to discuss both preliminary and substantive issues relating to the complaint. The pre-hearing conferences are normally conducted via teleconference, although videoconferences and in-person meetings are also used in some cases.

The pre-hearing conference is considered an integral part of the hearing process. Parties are expected to attend the pre-hearing conference prepared to discuss and address both preliminary and substantive aspects of the matter before the Board. Any Board decisions or rulings made at the pre-hearing conference are binding on all parties.

If the Board decides to schedule a pre-hearing conference, the parties will be advised of the date, time, location and other information (e.g., teleconference dial-in procedures) for the pre-hearing conference as soon as possible.

Pursuant to section 47(2) of the Regulations, if a party does not attend a pre-hearing conference after having been given notice, the Board may proceed and decide the matter in the party’s absence.

Oral Hearing

If the Board finds it necessary to schedule an oral hearing, the parties will be advised of the time and place of the hearing as soon as possible. Although a hearing may be scheduled, this does not preclude a settlement of the complaint by the parties at any time.

Adjournment or Postponement Requests

The logistical difficulties caused by the Board’s heavy caseload and its geographically widespread and bilingual community render it very difficult to reschedule dates in an orderly and timely fashion. The Board is therefore very reluctant to accede to requests for postponement of its proceedings.

If a party requires a rescheduling of a hearing, that party must first consult with the other party/parties as described in the Board’s Information Circular No. 4–Board Hearings, which is available on the Board’s website.

Suspension of the Complaint

Section 246.2(1) of the Code provides that the Board may suspend consideration of a complaint if it is satisfied that the employee must first take certain measures (e.g., provide additional information, make an attempt to resolve the issue through mediation). If the Board determines it appropriate to suspend the complaint, it will inform the employee in writing and specify the measures that must be taken and the deadline for doing so.

Rejection of the Complaint

Section 246.3(1) of the Code provides that the Board may reject a reprisal complaint under certain circumstances. These circumstances include complaints that are not within the Board’s jurisdiction; complaints that the Board deems to be frivolous, vexatious or not made in good faith; complaints that have already been settled or dealt with through other recourse; and complaints that should be resolved through other means, including a collective agreement’s grievance and arbitration provisions. The Board may also reject a complaint that was suspended if the employee has not taken the required measures within a specified period. The Board will notify the employee in writing, with reasons, if it decides to reject the complaint on one of these grounds.

External Adjudicators

In the adjudication of section 246.1(1) complaints, the Chairperson of the Board may appoint a member of the CIRB or an external adjudicator to hear and determine the complaint. Members of the CIRB and external adjudicators have all the powers, duties and functions conferred on the CIRB by the Code regarding any matter to which they have been appointed, and their orders and decisions are considered to be the Board’s orders and decisions.

Decision of the Board

The Board will notify the employee and the employer in writing of its decision, with reasons. A copy of the Board’s decision will also be provided to a party that has been granted intervenor status. All key decisions of the CIRB are published on its website.

July 2019

Date modified:

No 3 – Plaintes pour représailles fondée sur l’article 246.1

Règles de prodédure


Le présent document décrit la procédure qu’un plaignant (employé) doit suivre pour déposer une plainte auprès du Conseil canadien des relations industrielles (le CCRI ou le Conseil) en vertu de l’article 246.1 de la partie III (Durée normale du travail, salaire, congés et jours fériés) du Code canadien du travail (le Code).

Il décrit aussi la procédure que doit suivre un intimé (employeur) après réception d’un avis du Conseil au sujet de la plainte déposée en vertu de l’article 246.1. La procédure que doit suivre un intervenant potentiel (p. ex. le syndicat) sera également décrite.

Pour assurer le traitement rapide de la plainte, il est important que les présentes règles soient examinées attentivement.

Si vous avez des questions concernant cette procédure du Conseil, veuillez communiquer avec un agent du Conseil, au 1-800-575-9696.

Généralités

Selon le paragraphe 246.1(1) du Code, un employé peut déposer une plainte par écrit auprès du Conseil s’il croit que son employeur a pris des mesures disciplinaires ou de représailles contre lui liées à l’exercice de ses droits en vertu de la partie III du Code.

Si le Conseil détermine qu’une plainte est justifiée, il peut, par ordonnance, enjoindre l’employeur à faire ce qui suit :

  • mettre fin aux mesures de représailles ou les annuler;
  • permettre à l’employé de reprendre son travail;
  • réintégrer le plaignant dans son emploi;
  • verser une indemnité équivalent à la rémunération qui lui aurait été payée en l’absence de représailles;
  • payer une indemnité à l’employé équivalent à la sanction pécuniaire ou autre qui lui a été imposée;
  • prendre toute autre mesure que le Conseil juge équitable de lui imposer de nature à contrebalancer les effets des représailles ou à y remédier.

Pour de plus amples renseignements sur les plaintes en matière de représailles en vertu de l’article 246.1, veuillez consulter la Circulaire d’information du Conseil no 14 – Plaintes en matière de représailles en vertu de l’article 246.1.

Le Code et le Règlement de 2012 sur le Conseil canadien des relations industrielles (le Règlement), les règles de procédure, les formulaires et les circulaires d’information, peuvent être obtenus ou consultés à partir du site Web du Conseil.

Processus public

Les renseignements et les documents présentés au Conseil sont recueillis aux seules fins de l’administration du Code et seront utilisés pour traiter et trancher les affaires dont le Conseil est saisi. Les parties qui ont recours aux services du Conseil doivent savoir qu’il s’agit d’un processus public. Les documents déposés auprès du Conseil seront versés au dossier public, à l’exception des documents que le Conseil déclare confidentiels en vertu de l’article 22 du Règlement. Le Conseil donne accès au public à ses dossiers d’affaires et publie ses décisions clés sur son site Web. Les décisions du Conseil peuvent contenir le nom des parties et des témoins, ainsi que de l’information à leur sujet qui est pertinente et nécessaire pour décider du différend. En ce qui concerne les renseignements de nature délicate, une demande peut être présentée au Conseil pour obtenir une ordonnance de confidentialité. La Circulaire d’information no 12 décrit la politique du Conseil sur la transparence et la protection de la vie privée.

Dépôt d’une plainte en matière de représailles auprès du CCRI

Une plainte fondée sur l’article 246.1 doit être déposée auprès du Conseil dans les 90 jours suivant la date où l’employé a eu connaissance – ou, selon le Conseil, aurait dû avoir connaissance – de l’acte ou des circonstances y ayant donné lieu.

Même si l’alinéa 16m.1) du Code autorise le Conseil à proroger le délai de 90 jours, ce dernier ne le fait que dans des circonstances exceptionnelles. Si l’employé veut que le Conseil envisage de proroger le délai de 90 jours, il doit expliquer les circonstances exceptionnelles dont, selon lui, le Conseil devrait tenir compte au moment de décider d’exercer ou non son pouvoir discrétionnaire à cet égard. Il doit fournir des documents justificatifs, au besoin.

Un employé doit soumettre les renseignements et documents ci-après au Conseil au moment du dépôt de la plainte :

  1. un formulaire de plainte en matière de représailles dûment rempli;
  2. une copie de tout document à l’appui pertinent.

Si certains de ces renseignements ou documents ne sont pas disponibles, l’employé doit fournir une explication écrite au moment du dépôt de la plainte.

Il est fortement recommandé que l’employé utilise le formulaire de plainte en matière de représailles fondée sur l’article 246.1. Ce formulaire demande les renseignements dont le Conseil a besoin pour examiner et trancher la plainte. Le fait de ne pas remplir ce formulaire peut entraîner des retards dans le processus de plainte.

Le Conseil a un portail Web (le Portail) pour le dépôt électronique de documents, qui permet à l’employé de déposer ses documents PDF dans le système centralisé de dépôt des documents du Conseil. Si l’employé choisit de déposer son document par voie électronique à l’aide du portail, il ne doit pas envoyer la version papier du même document au Conseil. La version électronique sera considérée comme la version originale.

La plainte peut aussi être transmise par service de messagerie, par courrier, courrier recommandé ou en personne à l’un des bureaux du Conseil à Vancouver, Toronto, Montréal, Dartmouth ou Ottawa. Conformément au Règlement du Conseil, la plainte est considérée déposée à la date à laquelle le Conseil l’a reçue ou, lorsque la plainte a été envoyée par courrier recommandé, à la date à laquelle la plainte a été postée au Conseil.

Avis de plainte par le Conseil

Après réception de la plainte, le CCRI enverra à l’employé et à l’employeur une lettre accusant réception de la plainte et y joindra une copie de la plainte et de tous les documents pertinents. La lettre indiquera également à l’employé et à l’employeur le nom et les coordonnées de l’agent des relations industrielles (ARI) assigné au dossier. L’ARI est chargé de gérer le dossier et d’aider les parties à parvenir à un règlement. Pour de plus amples renseignements sur le rôle de l’ARI, veuillez consulter la Circulaire d’information no 1 – Le rôle des agents des relations industrielles.

Si l’employé est représenté par un syndicat, le CCRI informera par écrit le syndicat de la plainte et lui en a fournira une copie. Peu de temps après avoir envoyé l’accusé de réception du Conseil, l’ARI communiquera avec l’employé et l’employeur pour leur expliquer les processus du Conseil, répondre à leurs questions éventuelles et discuter de toute question qui pourrait survenir durant le déroulement du dossier.

Obligations de l’employeur

Au titre des articles 9 et 12 du Règlement, l’employeur (intimé) aura 15 jours suivant la réception de l’accusé de réception pour présenter une réponse.

Obligations de l’employé

Au titre des articles 9 et 12 du Règlement, à la réception de la réponse de l’employeur, l’employé (le plaignant) aura 10 jours pour présenter une réplique.

Demande de la tenue d’une audience

Conformément à l’alinéa 10g) du Règlement, toute demande d’audience doit être accompagnée des motifs en justifiant la tenue. Veuillez prendre note que quoi qu’il advienne, le Conseil peut, en vertu de l’article 16.1 du Code, trancher toute affaire ou question dont il est saisi sans tenir d’audience. Dans de tels cas, le Conseil tranchera la plainte en se fondant sur les observations écrites des parties (employé, employeur). Il est donc dans l’intérêt des parties de présenter des observations complètes, exactes et détaillées et d’inclure tous les renseignements et documents pertinents à l’appui de leurs positions respectives.

Délais

Le CCRI peut refuser d’examiner les réponses ou répliques reçues après le délai prescrit.

Prorogations de délais

Afin d’assurer le traitement rapide des affaires dont le Conseil est saisi et de favoriser la réalisation des objectifs du Code, le Conseil a pour pratique de ne pas accorder de prorogation des délais pour le dépôt de réponses ou de répliques, sauf dans des circonstances exceptionnelles. Si vous demandez une prorogation des délais, vous devez d’abord obtenir l’accord des autres parties avant de présenter une demande au Conseil.

Échange de documents

En vertu de l’article 23 du Règlement, chaque partie doit fournir à l’autre partie ou aux autres parties une copie de chaque réponse, réplique ou autre document présentés au Conseil et informer ce dernier par écrit du moment et du mode de livraison (ce qu’on appelle la signification). La signification peut se faire par télécopieur, par messagerie ou en personne. Vous pouvez aussi envoyer les documents par la poste ou par courrier recommandé, mais cela risque de retarder le traitement de la plainte.

Demande d’intervention déposée par un syndicat

Si, après avoir été avisé de la plainte par le CCRI, un syndicat souhaite participer à l’instance, il doit déposer une demande d’intervention auprès Conseil dans les 15 jours suivant la réception de la lettre du Conseil. Conformément à l’article 23 du Règlement, lesyndicat doit fournir une copie de la demande d’intervention à l’employeur et à l’employé. L’employeur et l’employé auront 10 jours suivant la réception de la demande d’intervention pour présenter une réponse. À la réception d’une réponse, le syndicat aura alors 5 jours pour présenter une réplique. La demande d’intervention, la ou les réponses et la réplique seront ensuite transmises au Conseil pour examen.

Si la demande d’intervention du syndicat est accordée, le syndicat deviendra partie à la plainte et sera prié de présenter des observations écrites sur le bien-fondé de l’affaire. Les autres parties auront ensuite l’occasion de répondre. Lorsqu’une demande d’intervention est déposée, cela peut entraîner des retards dans le traitement de la plainte.

Demande de production ou de communication de documents

En vertu du paragraphe 21(1) du Règlement, si une partie souhaite qu’une autre partie communique des documents pertinents à la plainte dont est saisi le Conseil, elle doit d’abord en faire la demande par écrit à l’autre partie avant de demander au Conseil d’en ordonner la communication.

Rencontre de médiation

L’ARI communiquera avec les parties pour fixer une rencontre de médiation afin de les aider à régler la plainte. La rencontre de médiation est facultative et les renseignements recueillis par l’agent durant la médiation sont confidentiels et ne seront pas communiqués au Conseil.

Conférence préparatoire

En vertu de l’alinéa 16a.1) du Code, le Conseil peut fixer et tenir des conférences préparatoires avec les parties pour discuter de questions préliminaires et de questions de fond concernant la plainte. Ces conférences préparatoires sont normalement tenues par téléconférence, bien que dans certains cas, des vidéoconférences et des rencontres en personne sont aussi utilisées.

La conférence préparatoire est réputée faire partie intégrante du processus d’audience. On s’attend à ce que les parties assistent à la conférence préparatoire et qu’elles soient prêtes à discuter des aspects préliminaires et de fond de l’affaire dont est saisi le Conseil. Toutes les décisions ou tous les jugements du Conseil pris au cours de la conférence préparatoire sont exécutoires et lient toutes les parties.

Si le Conseil décide d’organiser une conférence préparatoire, les parties seront informées dès que possible de la date, de l’heure et du lieu, ainsi que de tout autre renseignement (p. ex. procédures pour participer à la téléconférence) concernant la conférence préparatoire.

Selon le paragraphe 47(2) du Règlement, si une partie ne se présente pas à une conférence préparatoire après avoir reçu un avis à cet effet, le Conseil peut statuer sur l’affaire en l’absence de cette partie.

Audience

Si le Conseil estime que la tenue d’une audience est nécessaire, les parties seront informées de la date et l’heure et de l’endroit de l’audience le plus tôt possible. Même si une date d’audience est fixée, cela n’empêche pas les parties de régler la plainte à n’importe quel moment.

Demande d’ajournement ou de remise

Étant donné les problèmes pratiques que posent la lourde charge de travail du Conseil, la dissémination de sa clientèle et les différentes exigences linguistiques de cette dernière, il est très difficile de modifier les dates prévues des différentes procédures de façon ordonnée et en temps opportun. Le Conseil hésite donc fortement à accéder aux demandes de remise de ses instances.

Si une partie demande de reporter une audience, elle doit d’abord consulter l’autre partie ou les autres parties, comme le prévoit la Circulaire d’information no 4 – Audiences du Conseil, disponible sur le site Web du Conseil.

Suspension de la plainte

Le paragraphe 246.2(1) du Code prévoit que le Conseil peut suspendre l’examen d’une plainte s’il est convaincu que l’employé doit d’abord prendre certaines mesures (p. ex. fournir des renseignements supplémentaires, faire une tentative pour résoudre le problème au moyen de la médiation). Si le Conseil juge qu’il est indiqué de suspendre la plainte, il en informera par écrit l’employé et précisera les mesures qui doivent être prises et l’échéance pour le faire.

Rejet de la plainte

Selon le paragraphe 246.3(1) du Code, le Conseil peut rejeter une plainte en matière de représailles dans certaines circonstances. Ces circonstances englobent les plaintes qui ne relèvent pas de la compétence du Conseil; les plaintes que le Conseil juge futiles, vexatoires ou entachées de mauvaise foi; les plaintes qui ont déjà été réglées ou traitées par d’autres moyens; et les plaintes qui devraient être réglées par d’autres moyens, y compris les dispositions de grief et d’arbitrage d’une convention collective. Le Conseil peut aussi rejeter une plainte qui a été suspendue si l’employé n’a pas pris les mesures requises dans une période de temps déterminée. Le Conseil informera l’employé par écrit, avec motifs à l’appui, s’il décide de rejeter la plainte pour l’un de ces motifs.

Arbitres externes

Pour régler les plaintes déposées en vertu du paragraphe 246.1(1), le président du Conseil peut nommer un membre du CCRI ou un arbitre externe pour instruire et trancher la plainte. Les membres du CCRI et les arbitres externes exercent toutes les attributions que le Code confère au CCRI quant aux questions pour lesquelles ils sont nommés, et les ordonnances et décisions qu’ils rendent sont réputées être des ordonnances et des décisions du Conseil.

Décision du Conseil

Le Conseil informera par écrit l’employé et l’employeur de sa décision et de ses motifs. Une copie de la décision du Conseil sera également remise à une partie à qui on a accordé la qualité d’intervenant. Toutes les décisions clés du CCRI sont publiées sur son site Web.

Date de modification :