No. 14–Section 246.1 Reprisal Complaints

Information Circular

PDF Printable version

The following is one in a series of information circulars prepared by the administration staff of the CIRB. The circulars are designed to provide employees, trade unions and employers with general information and a clearer understanding of Board processes. This information circular is an informal tool and is not binding on the Board.


What is a section 246.1 complaint under Part III (Standard Hours, Wages, Vacations and Holidays) of the Canada Labour Code (the Code)?

Section 246.1(1) of the Code prohibits a federally regulated employer from retaliating against an employee for exercising their rights under Part III of the Code.

Section 246.1(1) provides that an employee may make a complaint in writing to the Canada Industrial Relations Board (the Board) if they believe that their employer has taken any reprisals against them in contravention of sections 173.01(5), 174.1(4), 177.1(7), 182.2(3), 203.3(3), 208, 209.3, 238, 239, 239.1 or 247.96 of the Code. In general, these sections of the Code deal with issues such as work schedules, the right to refuse overtime, the right to request flexible work arrangements, requesting a review of wage rates, pregnancy, garnishment, sick leave, work-related illness and injuries, and leaves of absence for members of the reserve force.

Specifically, the following sections of the Code provide that an employer shall not dismiss, suspend, lay off, demote or discipline an employee, or take into account any of the following in any decision to promote or train the employee, because:

  • the employee has refused to work a work period or shift in their work schedule that starts within 96 hours from the time that the work schedule is provided to them (section 173.01(5));
  • the employee has refused to work overtime, in order to carry out family responsibilities related to the health or care of family members or the education of family members who are less than 18 years of age (section 174.1(4));
  • the employee has made a request for flexible work arrangements (section 177.1(7));
  • the employee has made a written request to review wage rate because it is believed that their rate of wages is less than the rate of another employee due to a difference in employment status (section 182.2(3));
  • the employee has made a written request to review wage rate because it is believed that  their rate of wages is less than the rate of another employee due to status as an employee of a temporary help agency (section 203.3(3));
  • the employee is pregnant or has applied for leave (section 209.3(1)); or
  • the employee is a member of the reserve force or intends to take or has taken a related leave of absence (section 247.96).

The following sections provide that an employer shall not dismiss, suspend, lay off, demote or discipline an employee:

  • because garnishment proceedings may be or have been taken with respect to the employee (section 238);
  • because of absence from work due to illness or injury (section 239); or
  • because of absence from work due to work-related illness or injury (section 239.1(1)).

Additionally, no employer shall require an employee to take a leave of absence from employment because the employee is pregnant (section 208).

An employee may also file a complaint with the Board if they have been dismissed, suspended, laid off, demoted, financially or otherwise penalized, disciplined, denied promotion or training opportunities, or threatened with any reprisal or retaliatory action because the employee:

  • has made a complaint under Part III of the Code, other than an unjust dismissal complaint under section 240 of the Code;
  • has provided information or assistance to the Minister of Employment, Workforce Development and Labour in the exercise or performance of their powers, duties and functions under Part III of the Code;
  • has testified, or is about to testify, in a proceeding taken or an inquiry held under Part III of the Code; or
  • has exercised, or sought to exercise, any right conferred on the employee by Part III of the Code.

Section 246.1(4) of the Code provides that once a written complaint has been made, the employer has the burden of proving that a reprisal or retaliatory action was not taken. The Board cannot deal with a complaint under section 246.1 of the Code unless the employer has taken disciplinary or retaliatory action, or threatened to take such action, against an employee for seeking to exercise their rights under Part III of the Code.

The role of the Board in a complaint under section 246.1 is to determine whether or not an employer took disciplinary or retaliatory action against an employee for exercising or seeking to exercise their rights under Part III of the Code.

Who may file a complaint under section 246.1?

Any employee of a federally regulated employer, whether represented by a union or not, who believes that their employer has taken disciplinary or retaliatory action, or threatened to take such action, against them for seeking to exercise any rights under Part III of the Code, may file a complaint under section 246.1(1).

Section 246.1(2) provides that an employee cannot file a complaint under section 246.1(1) if they have made a complaint based on substantially the same facts under section 240(1) (unjust dismissal complaint) or 247.99(1) (genetic testing complaint).

When to File a Complaint

A section 246.1 complaint shall be made to the Board not later than 90 days after the day the employee knew or, in the Board’s opinion, ought to have known of the action or circumstances giving rise to the complaint.

Although section 16(m.1) of the Code allows the Board to extend the 90-day time limit, the Board will only do so in exceptional circumstances. Please note that the Board ultimately has the discretion to allow or to not allow a complaint filed in an untimely manner. If the employee would like the Board to consider extending the 90-day time limit, they must explain the exceptional circumstances that they feel the Board should consider in deciding whether or not to exercise its discretion, and provide supporting documentation, if necessary.

How to File a Complaint

It is strongly recommended that an employee use the Reprisal Complaint form. It asks for the necessary information that the Board needs in order to consider and determine the complaint. Not completing this form may cause delays in the complaint process.

The employee may file their complaint with one of the Board’s regional offices. It may be submitted electronically through the Board’s web portal, delivered in person or sent by courier, mail or fax. In such cases, the complaint is deemed to be filed on the date of receipt by the Board. If the complaint is sent by registered mail, the filing date is the date it was registered and mailed.

The information provided and any documents submitted to the Board are collected solely for the purpose of administering the Code and will be used to deal with and adjudicate matters that come before the Board. Parties that engage the Board’s services should be aware that this is a public process. Documents filed with the Board will be placed on the public record, with the exception of documents that the Board declares to be confidential pursuant to section 22 of the Canada Industrial Relations Board Regulations, 2012. The Board provides public access to case files and posts key decisions on its website. Board decisions may identify parties and witnesses by name and may include information about them that is relevant and necessary to the determination of the dispute. For sensitive information, a request can be made to the Board for a Confidentiality Order. See Information Circular No. 12 for the Board’s Policy on Openness and Privacy.

What happens after the complaint has been filed?

Acknowledgment Letter

A letter will be sent to the parties [complainant and employer (respondent)], acknowledging receipt of the complaint and appointing an Industrial Relations Officer (IRO) to oversee the conduct of the file and assist the parties in reaching a settlement of the complaint.

If the employee is represented by a union, the union will be notified of the complaint and be given a copy of the complaint. The union may choose to file a request to intervene. If the union’s request to intervene is granted, it will become a party to the complaint. The employee may want to contact the union to determine whether it can provide any assistance. Contact and consultation with the union prior to filing a complaint is often a prudent step to take.

Response and Reply

The employer will have 15 days from the receipt of the Board’s letter to file a response to the complaint. Upon receipt of a response, the complainant will have 10 days to file a reply.

The Board may refuse to consider any documents/submissions received after the prescribed time limit.

Exchange of Documents

Parties are required to deliver to the other party/parties a copy of any response, reply or other document filed with the Board, and to advise the Board in writing of the time and manner of delivery, which is called service. The manner of service includes delivery by fax, by courier or in person. You may also deliver the document by mail or registered mail, but these may lead to delays in processing the complaint.

Mediation Session

The IRO will communicate with the parties in order to arrange a mediation meeting to assist the parties in attempting to resolve the dispute. This mediation meeting is voluntary and the information acquired by the officer in the mediation process shall remain confidential and shall not be divulged to the Board.

Hearing Process

It is in the parties’ best interests to file complete, accurate, timely and detailed submissions in support of their respective positions.

If the complaint is not resolved through mediation or agreement of the parties, it will be referred to the Board and the Board may decide the complaint without holding an oral hearing. In such a case, the Board would determine the complaint based on the written submissions filed by the parties.

If the Board decides to hold an oral hearing, it will inform the parties of the date and place of the hearing.

Although a hearing may be scheduled, this does not preclude a settlement of the complaint by the parties at any time.

Rejection of the Complaint

Section 246.3(1) of the Code provides that the Board may reject a reprisal complaint under certain circumstances. These circumstances include:

  • complaints that are not within the Board’s jurisdiction;
  • complaints that the Board deems to be frivolous, vexatious or not made in good faith;
  • complaints that have already been settled or dealt with through other recourse; or
  • complaints that should be resolved through other means, including a collective agreement’s grievance and arbitration provisions.

The Board may also reject a complaint that was suspended if the complainant has not taken the required measures within a specified period.

What remedies can be ordered by the Board?

If the Board determines that a complaint under section 246.1(1) is justified, the Board may, by order, require the employer to:

  • cease engaging in or to rescind the reprisal;
  • permit the employee to return to the duties of their employment;
  • reinstate the employee;
  • pay compensation for any loss of remuneration by the employee;
  • pay compensation for any financial or other penalty imposed on the employee; and
  • do any other thing that the Board considers equitable to remedy or counteract any consequence of the reprisal.

The Board will notify the parties in writing of its decision.

If you have any questions concerning this information circular, you may contact a Board IRO at 1-800-575-9696.

Date modified:

No 14 – Plaintes pour représailles en vertu de l’article 246.1

Circulaire d'information

PDF Version imprimable

Le présent document est une circulaire d'information préparée par le personnel du CCRI. Elle fournit des renseignements généraux aux employés, aux syndicats et aux employeurs, pour les aider à mieux comprendre le fonctionnement du Conseil. La présente circulaire est un outil informel et, par conséquent, elle ne lie pas le Conseil.


En quoi consiste une plainte en vertu de l’article 246.1 de la partie III (Durée normale du travail, salaire, congés et jours fériés) du Code canadien du travail (le Code)?

Le paragraphe 246.1(1) du Code interdit à un employeur de compétence fédérale de prendre des mesures de représailles contre un employé qui exerce ses droits en vertu de la partie III du Code.

Le paragraphe 246.1(1) prévoit que tout employé peut déposer une plainte écrite auprès du Conseil canadien des relations industrielles (le Conseil) s’il croit que son employeur a pris des mesures de représailles contre lui en violation des paragraphes 173.01(5), 174.1(4), 177.1(7), 182.2(3) ou 203.3(3) ou des articles 208, 209.3, 238, 239, 239.1 ou 247.96 du Code. En général, ces dispositions portent sur des questions comme l’horaire de travail, le droit de refuser de faire des heures supplémentaires, le droit de demander un assouplissement de ses conditions d’emploi, la demande de révision du taux de salaire, les grossesses, les cas de saisie-arrêt, les congés de maladie, les maladies et accidents professionnels et les congés pour les membres de la force de réserve.

Plus précisément, les dispositions suivantes du Code interdisent à un employeur d’invoquer l’un ou l’autre des motifs suivants pour congédier, suspendre, mettre à pied ou rétrograder un employé ou prendre des mesures disciplinaires à son égard ou encore d’en tenir compte dans ses décisions en matière d’avancement ou de formation :

  • l’employé a refusé de travailler une période ou un quart de travail prévu à son horaire qui débute dans les 96 heures suivant le moment où l’horaire de travail lui est fourni (paragraphe 173.01(5));
  • l’employé a refusé d’effectuer des heures supplémentaires pour s’acquitter d’obligations relatives à la santé de tout membre de sa famille ou aux soins à lui fournir ou à l’éducation de tout membre de sa famille qui est âgé de moins de dix-huit ans (paragraphe 174.1(4));
  • l’employé a demandé un assouplissement de ses conditions d’emploi (paragraphe 177.1(7));
  • l’employé a demandé, par écrit, une révision de son taux de salaire parce qu’il estime qu’il est inférieur à celui d’un autre employé en raison d’une différence dans sa situation d’emploi (paragraphe 182.2(3));
  • l’employé a demandé, par écrit, une révision de son taux de salaire parce qu’il estime qu’il est inférieur à celui d’un autre employé en raison de son statut d’employé d’une agence de placement temporaire (paragraphe 203.3(3));
  • l’employée est enceinte ou a demandé un congé (paragraphe 209.3(1));
  • l’employé est un membre de la force de réserve ou a l’intention de prendre ou a pris un congé connexe (article 247.96).

Les dispositions suivantes interdisent à l’employeur d’invoquer l’un ou l’autre des motifs suivants pour congédier, suspendre, mettre à pied ou rétrograder un employé ou prendre des mesures disciplinaires contre lui :

  • l’employé est visé par des procédures de saisie arrêt ou est susceptible de l’être (article 238);
  • l’employé s’absente du travail en raison d’une maladie ou d’une blessure (article 239);
  • l’employé s’absente du travail en raison d’une maladie ou d’un accident professionnel (paragraphe 239.1(1)).

De plus, l’employeur ne peut pas obliger une employée à prendre un congé pour cause de grossesse (article 208).

Un employé peut également déposer une plainte auprès du Conseil s’il a été congédié, suspendu, mis en disponibilité, rétrogradé, pénalisé de façon pécuniaire ou autre, sanctionné ou menacé de représailles ou si une promotion ou une formation lui a été refusée parce qu’il :

  • a déposé une plainte en vertu de la partie III du Code, autre qu’une plainte de congédiement injuste en vertu de l’article 240 du Code;
  • a fourni des renseignements ou de l’aide au ministre du Travail dans l’exercice de ses attributions en vertu de la partie III du Code;
  • a témoigné ou est sur le point de témoigner dans le cadre d’une procédure ou d’une enquête tenue en vertu de la partie III du Code;
  • a exercé ou cherché à exercer tout droit qui lui est conféré en vertu de la partie III du Code.

Le paragraphe 246.1(4) du Code prévoit que, une fois une plainte écrite déposée, il incombe à l’employeur de prouver qu’aucune mesure de représailles n’a été prise. Le Conseil ne peut traiter une plainte en vertu de l’article 246.1 du Code à moins que l’employeur n’ait pris des mesures disciplinaires ou de représailles – ou n’ait menacé de le faire – contre un employé qui cherche à exercer ses droits en vertu de la partie III du Code.

Le rôle du Conseil dans le cadre d’une plainte déposée en vertu de l’article 246.1 consiste à établir si un employeur a pris des mesures disciplinaires ou de représailles contre un employé qui exerce ou cherche à exercer ses droits en vertu de la partie III du Code.

Qui peut déposer une plainte en vertu de l’article 246.1?

Tout employé qui travaille pour un employeur de compétence fédérale, qu’il soit représenté ou non par un syndicat, peut déposer une plainte fondée sur le paragraphe 246.1(1) s’il croit que son employeur a pris – ou menacé de prendre – des mesures disciplinaires ou de représailles contre lui parce qu’il a tenté d’exercer ses droits en vertu de la partie III du Code.

Le paragraphe 246.1(2) prévoit qu’un employé ne peut pas déposer une plainte en vertu du paragraphe 246.1(1) s’il a déposé une plainte fondée essentiellement sur les mêmes faits en vertu du paragraphe 240(1) (plainte de congédiement injuste) ou du paragraphe 247.99(1) (plainte liée à des tests génétiques).

Quand déposer une plainte?

Une plainte en vertu de l’article 246.1 doit être déposée auprès du Conseil dans les 90 jours suivant la date où l’employé a eu connaissance – ou, selon le Conseil, aurait dû avoir connaissance – de l’acte ou des circonstances y ayant donné lieu.

Même si l’alinéa 16m.1) du Code autorise le Conseil à proroger le délai de 90 jours, ce dernier ne le fait que dans des circonstances exceptionnelles. Veuillez noter que, au bout du compte, le Conseil a le pouvoir discrétionnaire de permettre ou de ne pas permettre le dépôt tardif d’une plainte. Si l'employé veut que le Conseil envisage de proroger le délai de 90 jours, il doit expliquer les circonstances exceptionnelles dont, selon lui, le Conseil devrait tenir compte au moment de décider d’exercer ou non son pouvoir discrétionnaire à cet égard. Il doit fournir des documents justificatifs, au besoin.

Comment déposer une plainte?

Il est fortement recommandé à l'employé d’utiliser le formulaire Plainte en matière de représailles. Les renseignements dont le Conseil a besoin pour examiner et trancher la plainte y sont demandés. Le fait de ne pas utiliser ce formulaire peut retarder le processus de plainte.

L’employé peut déposer sa plainte auprès d’un des bureaux régionaux du Conseil. La plainte peut aussi être déposée électroniquement par l’entremise du portail Web du Conseil, ou encore être livrée en personne, ou transmise par messagerie, par la poste ou par télécopieur. Dans ces cas-là, la plainte est réputée avoir été déposée à la date de sa réception par le Conseil. Si la plainte est envoyée par courrier recommandé, il est considéré que la plainte est déposée le jour où la lettre recommandée est mise à la poste.

Les renseignements et les documents présentés au Conseil sont recueillis aux seules fins de l’administration du Code et seront utilisés pour traiter et trancher les affaires dont le Conseil est saisi. Les parties qui ont recours aux services du Conseil doivent savoir qu’il s’agit d’un processus public. Les documents déposés auprès du Conseil seront versés au dossier public, à l’exception des documents que le Conseil déclare confidentiels en vertu de l’article 22 du Règlement de 2012 sur le Conseil canadien des relations industrielles. Le Conseil donne accès au public à ses dossiers d’affaires et publie ses décisions clés sur son site Web. Les décisions du Conseil peuvent contenir le nom des parties et des témoins, ainsi que de l’information à leur sujet qui est pertinente et nécessaire pour décider du différend. En ce qui concerne les renseignements de nature délicate, une demande peut être présentée au Conseil pour obtenir une ordonnance de confidentialité. La Circulaire d’information no 12 décrit la politique du Conseil sur la transparence et la protection de la vie privée.

Que se passe-t-il après le dépôt de la plainte?

Accusé de réception

Une lettre est envoyée aux parties – le plaignant et l’employeur (intimé) – accusant réception de la plainte et désignant l’agent des relations industrielles (ARI) chargé de superviser le traitement du dossier et d’aider les parties à en arriver à un règlement.

Si l’employé est syndiqué, son syndicat sera informé de la plainte et en recevra une copie. Le syndicat peut choisir de présenter une demande d’intervention. Si celle-ci est accueillie, le syndicat devient partie à la plainte. L’employé devrait peut-être communiquer avec son syndicat pour vérifier s’il peut lui venir en aide. Consulter son syndicat avant de déposer une plainte se révèle souvent une précaution utile.

Réponse et réplique

L’employeur disposera de 15 jours après la réception de la lettre du Conseil pour présenter une réponse à la plainte. Le plaignant disposera de 10 jours après la réception de la réponse pour présenter sa réplique.

Le Conseil peut refuser de prendre en considération les observations ou les documents reçus après l’expiration des délais prévus.

Échange de documents

Chaque partie doit fournir à l’autre partie ou aux autres parties une copie de chaque réponse, réplique ou autre document présentés au Conseil et informer ce dernier par écrit du moment et du mode de livraison (ce qu’on appelle la signification). La signification peut se faire par télécopieur, par messagerie ou en personne. Vous pouvez aussi envoyer les documents par la poste ou par courrier recommandé, mais cela risque de retarder le traitement de la plainte.

Rencontre de médiation

L’ARI communiquera avec les parties pour fixer une rencontre de médiation afin de les aider à régler la plainte. La séance de médiation est facultative et les renseignements recueillis par l’agent durant la médiation sont confidentiels et ne seront pas communiqués au Conseil.

Audience

Il est dans l’intérêt des parties de présenter en temps opportun des observations complètes, exactes et détaillées à l’appui de leurs positions respectives.

Si la plainte n’est pas réglée par l’entremise d’une médiation ou d’une entente entre les parties, l’affaire est renvoyée au Conseil, qui peut la trancher sans tenir d’audience. Dans un tel cas, le Conseil tranchera la plainte en s’appuyant sur les observations écrites présentées par les parties.

Si le Conseil décide de tenir une audience, il en communique la date et le lieu aux parties.

Même si une date d’audience est fixée, cela n’empêche pas les parties de régler la plainte à n’importe quel moment.

Rejet de la plainte

Le paragraphe 246.3(1) du Code prévoit que le Conseil peut rejeter une plainte en matière de représailles dans certaines circonstances, notamment dans les cas suivants :

  • la plainte ne relève pas de sa compétence;
  • la plainte est jugée futile, vexatoire ou entachée de mauvaise foi;
  • la plainte a déjà été réglée ou traitée par d’autres moyens;
  • la plainte devrait être réglée par d’autres moyens, y compris les dispositions de grief et d’arbitrage d’une convention collective.

Le Conseil peut également rejeter une plainte qui a été suspendue si le plaignant n’a pas pris les mesures nécessaires dans le délai imparti.

Quels redressements le Conseil peut-il ordonner?

Si le Conseil établit qu’une plainte déposée en vertu du paragraphe 246.1(1) est fondée, il peut, par ordonnance, enjoindre à l’employeur de :

  • mettre fin aux représailles ou de les annuler;
  • permettre à l’employé de reprendre son travail;
  • réintégrer l’employé dans son emploi;
  • verser une indemnité pour toute perte de rémunération subie par l’employé;
  • verser une indemnité relativement à toute sanction pécuniaire ou autre imposée à l’employé;
  • prendre toute autre mesure que le Conseil juge équitable de nature à contrebalancer les effets des représailles ou à y remédier.

Le Conseil avise les parties par écrit de sa décision.

Pour toute question concernant la présente circulaire d’information, vous pouvez communiquer avec un ARI du Conseil au 1-800-575-9696.

Date de modification :