No. 13–Complaints of Reprisals for Exercising Rights Pursuant to Occupational Health and Safety Legislation

Information Circular

PDF Printable version

The following is one in a series of information circulars prepared by the administration staff of the CIRB. The circulars are designed to provide employees, trade unions and employers with general information and a clearer understanding of Board processes. This information circular is an informal tool and is not binding on the Board.


What constitutes a complaint filed pursuant to section 133(1) alleging a violation of section 147 under the Canada Labour Code (the Code)?

Section 147 of the Code prohibits a federally regulated employer from retaliating against an employee for exercising his or her rights under Part II of the Code (Occupational Health and Safety). Specifically, under section 147, an employer is prohibited from dismissing, suspending, laying off or demoting an employee, from imposing a financial or other penalty on an employee or refusing to pay an employee remuneration in respect of a period that the employee would, but for the exercise of the employee’s rights under Part II, have worked, and from taking any disciplinary action or threatening to take such action against an employee because the employee:

  • has testified or is about to testify in a proceeding taken or an inquiry held under Part II;
  • has provided information to a person engaged in the performance of duties under Part II regarding the conditions of work affecting the health and safety of the employee or of any other employee of the employer; or
  • has acted in accordance with Part II or has sought the enforcement of any of the provisions of Part II.

Section 133(1) of the Code permits an employee who alleges that an employer has taken action against them, in contravention of section 147, to make a complaint to the Board.

The Board cannot deal with a complaint filed pursuant to section 133(1) alleging a violation of section 147 of the Code unless the employer has taken disciplinary action or threatened to take such action against the employee or has imposed a financial or other penalty. Disputes involving action taken in accordance with Part II of the Code, where no disciplinary action or penalty has followed, are dealt with by health and safety officers with the ESDC Labour Program.

Situations Giving Rise to a Complaint under Sections 133 and 147 of the Code

Complaints filed under sections 133 and 147 generally arise in relation to two types of situations:

  1. Right to Refuse Work if Danger

    These complaints relate to alleged retaliatory action occurring after an employee has exercised their right to refuse work where they have reasonable cause to believe that a danger exists. Sections 128 and 129 of the Code establish a comprehensive regime for employees and employers to follow when the right to refuse work is at issue. In such circumstances, a complaint may be made to the Board under section 133 of the Code only if the employee reported the work refusal to the employer (section 128(6)) or, when the employee continued to refuse to work, if the reports prescribed under section 128 were provided to the Minister of Labour (section 128(16)). Additional information on the right to refuse work may be found here.

    Where a complaint is made in connection with the exercise of the right to refuse work, it is not the Board’s role to determine the validity of the right to refuse or the existence of a danger. Rather, the role of the Board is to determine whether there were any employer reprisals in connection with the refusal of work. Therefore, the onus is on the employer to demonstrate that any disciplinary action taken was not connected with the exercise of the right to refuse.

  2. Participating in a Process under Part II of the Code

    These are complaints in which it is alleged that the reprisal occurred because the employee sought the enforcement of any provision of Part II of the Code, unrelated to the right to refuse unsafe work. Unlike in work refusal situations, the onus is on the employee to demonstrate that the disciplinary or reprisal action was taken because they exercised a right pursuant to Part II of the Code.

Who may file a complaint pursuant to section 133(1) alleging a violation of section 147?

Any employee of a federally regulated employer, whether represented by a union or not, who believes that the employer has taken disciplinary or retaliatory action, or threatened to take such action, against them for seeking to exercise any rights under Part II of the Code, may file a complaint pursuant to section 133(1) alleging a violation of section 147.

In cases where there is a union and it does not appear that the union has been provided with the notice of the complaint, the Board will usually provide the union with a copy of the complaint and offer it the opportunity to request intervenor status in accordance with section 12.1 of the Canada Industrial Relations Board Regulations, 2012 (the Regulations).

Federal public service employees may avail themselves of sections 133 and 147 of the Code; however, they do not fall within the jurisdiction of the Board and must file their complaint with the Federal Public Sector Labour Relations and Employment Board.

When to File a Complaint

A complaint must be filed within 90 days of the date the employee knew, or ought to have known, of the circumstances giving rise to the complaint (as required by section 133(2) of the Code). In rare and exceptional circumstances, the Board may accept a complaint as timely even where it is filed outside the 90-day time limit pursuant to its authority under sections 156(2) and 16(m.1) of the Code. For a description of the factors that the Board will examine when deciding whether or not to extend the time limit in a complaint filed pursuant to section 133(1) alleging violation of section 147, refer to Perron-Martin, 2014 CIRB 719.

How to File a Complaint

It is strongly recommended that a complainant use the Reprisal Complaint form. It asks for the necessary information that the Board needs in order to consider and determine the complaint. Not completing this form may cause delays in the complaint process.

The employee may file a complaint with one of the Board’s regional offices. It may be submitted electronically through the Board’s web portal, delivered in person or sent by courier, mail or fax. In such cases, the complaint is deemed to be filed on the date of receipt by the Board. If the complaint is sent by registered mail, the filing date is the date it was registered and mailed.

The information provided and any documents submitted to the Board are collected solely for the purpose of administering the Code and will be used to deal with and adjudicate matters that come before the Board. Parties that engage the Board’s services should be aware that this is a public process. Documents filed with the Board will be placed on the public record, with the exception of documents that the Board declares to be confidential pursuant to section 22 of the Regulations. The Board provides public access to case files and posts key decisions on its website. Board decisions may identify parties and witnesses by name and may include information about them that is relevant and necessary to the determination of the dispute. For sensitive information, a request can be made to the Board for a Confidentiality Order. See Information Circular No. 12 for the Board’s Policy on Openness and Privacy.

What happens after the complaint has been filed?

Acknowledgement Letter

A letter will be sent to the parties [complainant and employer (respondent)], acknowledging receipt of the complaint and appointing an Industrial Relations Officer (IRO) to oversee the conduct of the file and assist the parties in reaching a settlement of the complaint.

If the employee is represented by a union, the union will be notified of the complaint and will be given a copy of the complaint. The union may choose to file a request to intervene. If the union’s request to intervene is granted, it will become a party to the complaint. The employee may want to contact the union to determine whether it can provide any assistance. Contact and consultation with the union prior to filing a complaint is often a prudent step to take.

Response and Reply

The employer has 15 calendar days from the receipt of the Board’s letter to file a response to the complaint. Upon receipt of a response, the complainant has 10 calendar days to file a reply.

The Board may refuse to consider any documents / submissions received after the prescribed time limit.

Exchange of Documents

Parties are required to deliver to the other party a copy of any response, reply or other document filed with the Board, and to advise the Board in writing of the time and manner of delivery (this is called service). The manner of service includes delivery by fax, by courier or in person. You may also deliver the document by mail or registered mail, but these may lead to delays in processing the complaint.

Mediation Meeting

The IRO will communicate with the parties in order to arrange a mediation meeting to assist the parties in attempting to resolve the dispute. This mediation meeting is voluntary and the information acquired by the officer in the mediation process shall remain confidential and shall not be divulged to the Board.

If the complaint is not resolved through mediation or agreement of the parties, it will be referred to the Board and may be decided without holding an oral hearing. In this case, the Board would determine the complaint based on the written submissions and documents filed by the parties.

Hearing Process

It is in the parties’ best interests to file complete, accurate, timely and detailed submissions in support of their respective positions.

If the Board decides to hold an oral hearing, it will inform the parties of the date and place of the hearing. Although a hearing may be scheduled, this does not preclude a settlement of the complaint by the parties at any time.

What remedies can be ordered by the Board?

If the Board determines that a complaint under section 133 is justified, the Board may, by order, require the employer to:

  • permit any employee who has been affected by the contravention to return to the duties of their employment;
  • reinstate any former employee affected by the contravention;
  • pay to any employee or former employee affected by the contravention compensation not exceeding the sum that, in the Board’s opinion, is equivalent to the remuneration that would, but for the contravention, have been paid by the employer to the employee or former employee; and
  • rescind any disciplinary action taken in respect of, and pay compensation to any employee affected by, the contravention, not exceeding the sum that, in the Board’s opinion, is equivalent to any financial or other penalty imposed on the employee by the employer.

The Board will notify the parties in writing of the Board’s decision.

If you have any questions concerning this information circular, you may contact a Board Industrial Relations Officer at 1-800-575-9696.

April 2019

Date modified:

No 13 – Plaintes pour représailles relatives à l’exercice des droits prévus dans les dispositions législatives sur la santé et la sécurité au travail

Circulaire d'information

PDF Version imprimable

Le présent document est une circulaire d'information préparée par le personnel du CCRI. Elle fournit des renseignements généraux aux employés, aux syndicats et aux employeurs, pour les aider à mieux comprendre le fonctionnement du Conseil. La présente circulaire est un outil informel et, par conséquent, elle ne lie pas le Conseil.


En quoi consiste une plainte fondée sur le paragraphe 133(1) alléguant violation de l’article 147 du Code canadien du travail (le Code)?

L’article 147 du Code interdit à un employeur de compétence fédérale de prendre des mesures de représailles contre un employé qui exerce ses droits en vertu de la partie II du Code (Santé et sécurité au travail). Plus particulièrement, aux termes de l’article 147, il est interdit à l’employeur de congédier, de suspendre, de mettre à pied ou de rétrograder un employé, de lui imposer une sanction pécuniaire ou autre ou de refuser de lui verser la rémunération afférente à la période au cours de laquelle il aurait travaillé s’il ne s’était pas prévalu des droits prévus par la partie II, ou de prendre – ou menacer de prendre – des mesures disciplinaires contre lui parce que :

  • soit il a témoigné − ou est sur le point de le faire − dans une poursuite intentée ou une enquête tenue sous le régime de la partie II;
  • soit il a fourni à une personne agissant dans l’exercice de fonctions attribuées par la partie II un renseignement relatif aux conditions de travail touchant sa santé et sa sécurité ou celles de ses compagnons de travail;r
  • soit il a observé les dispositions de la partie II ou cherché à les faire appliquer.

Aux termes du paragraphe 133(1) du Code, un employé peut présenter une plainte écrite au Conseil au motif que son employeur a pris, à son endroit, des mesures contraires à l’article 147.

Si l’employeur n’a pas pris de mesures disciplinaires − ou menacé de prendre de telles mesures  − contre un employé, et s’il n’a pas imposé de sanction pécuniaire ou autre à l’employé, le Conseil ne peut pas examiner une plainte fondée sur le paragraphe 133(1) alléguant violation de l'article 147 du Code. Ce sont les agents de santé et sécurité du Programme du travail d’EDSC qui traitent les différends relatifs à des mesures prises en conformité avec la partie II du Code, lorsque ces dernières n’ont entraîné ni mesures disciplinaires ni sanctions.

Situations donnant lieu à une plainte en vertu des articles 133 et 147 du Code

Les plaintes déposées en vertu des articles 133 et 147 découlent généralement de deux types de situations:

  1. Droit de refuser de travailler en cas de danger

    Ces plaintes concernent des mesures de représailles alléguées, prises après qu’un employé a exercé son droit de refuser de travailler parce qu’il avait des motifs raisonnables de croire à l’existence d’un danger. Les articles 128 et 129 du Code établissent un régime détaillé que les employés et les employeurs doivent suivre lorsque le droit de refuser de travailler est en cause. Dans ces circonstances, avant de pouvoir déposer une plainte au Conseil en vertu de l’article 133 du Code, l’employé doit avoir fait rapport à l’employeur sur le refus de travailler (paragraphe 128(6)) ou, dans le cas d’un maintien du refus de travailler, les rapports prescrits à l’article 128 doivent avoir été présentés au ministre du Travail (paragraphe 128(16)). Pour plus de renseignements sur le droit de refuser de travailler, cliquez ici .

    Lorsque la plainte concerne l’exercice du droit de refuser de travailler, le Conseil n’a pas à déterminer si l’exercice du droit de refus était fondé ou s’il y avait bel et bien un danger. Le rôle du Conseil est plutôt de déterminer si l’employeur a imposé des mesures de représailles par suite du refus de travailler. Par conséquent, il incombe à l’employeur de démontrer que toute mesure disciplinaire prise n’était aucunement liée à l’exercice du droit de refuser de travailler.

  2. Participation à un processus régi par la partie II du Code

    Il s’agit de plaintes relatives à des représailles qui auraient été imposées parce que l’employé a cherché à faire appliquer des dispositions de la partie II du Code, sans que la situation soit liée au droit de refuser d’exécuter un travail dangereux. Contrairement aux situations de refus de travailler, c’est à l’employé qu’il incombe de démontrer que la mesure disciplinaire ou de représailles a été imposée parce que l’employé a exercé un droit en vertu de la partie II du Code.

Qui peut déposer une plainte fondée sur le paragraphe 133(1) alléguant violation de l’article 147?

Tout employé qui travaille pour un employeur de compétence fédérale, qu’il soit représenté ou non par un syndicat, peut déposer une plainte fondée sur le paragraphe 133(1) alléguant violation de l’article 147 s’il croit que l’employeur a pris – ou menacé de prendre – des mesures disciplinaires ou de représailles contre lui parce qu’il a cherché à exercer ses droits en vertu de la partie II du Code.

Dans les cas où un syndicat existe, et qu’il n’a reçu aucun avis de plainte, le Conseil fournira généralement une copie de la plainte au syndicat et lui donnera la possibilité de demander le statut d’intervenant conformément à l’article 12.1 du Règlement de 2012 sur le Conseil canadien des relations industrielles (le Règlement).

Les fonctionnaires fédéraux peuvent se prévaloir des dispositions des articles 133 et 147 du Code; toutefois, ils ne relèvent pas de la compétence du Conseil et doivent donc déposer leurs plaintes auprès de la Commission des relations de travail et de l’emploi dans le secteur public fédéral.

Quand déposer une plainte?

Une plainte doit être déposée dans les 90 jours suivant la date à laquelle l’employé a eu ou aurait dû avoir connaissance des circonstances ayant donné lieu à la plainte (comme le prescrit le paragraphe 133(2) du Code). Dans des circonstances exceptionnelles, le Conseil peut considérer qu’une plainte est recevable même si elle a été déposée après l’expiration du délai de 90 jours, en vertu des pouvoirs que lui confèrent le paragraphe 156(2) et l’alinéa 16m.1) du Code. Veuillez vous reporter à la décision Perron-Martin, 2014 CCRI 719 pour une description des éléments que le Conseil prend en considération afin de déterminer s’il y a lieu de proroger le délai pour le dépôt d’une plainte fondée sur le paragraphe 133(1) alléguant violation de l’article 147.

Comment déposer une plainte?

Il est fortement recommandé au plaignant d’utiliser le formulaire de Plainte en matière de représailles, dans lequel sont demandés tous les renseignements dont le Conseil a besoin pour examiner et trancher la plainte. Si ce formulaire n’est pas rempli, le processus de plainte risque de prendre plus de temps.

L’employé peut déposer une plainte auprès d’un des bureaux régionaux du Conseil. La plainte peut être déposée électroniquement par l’entremise du portail Web du Conseil, remise en personne, ou transmise par messagerie, par la poste ou par télécopieur. Dans ces cas-là, la plainte est réputée avoir été déposée à la date de sa réception par le Conseil. Si la plainte est envoyée par courrier recommandé, il est considéré que la plainte est déposée le jour où la lettre recommandée est mise à la poste.

Les renseignements et les documents présentés au Conseil sont recueillis aux seules fins de l’administration du Code et seront utilisés pour traiter et trancher les affaires dont le Conseil est saisi. Les parties qui ont recours aux services du Conseil doivent savoir qu’il s’agit d’un processus public. Les documents déposés auprès du Conseil seront versés au dossier public, à l’exception des documents que le Conseil déclare confidentiels en vertu de l’article 22 du Règlement. Le Conseil donne accès au public à ses dossiers d’affaires et publie ses décisions clés sur son site Web. Les décisions du Conseil peuvent indiquer le nom des parties et des témoins, et contenir de l’information à leur sujet qui est pertinente et nécessaire pour décider du différend. En ce qui concerne les renseignements de nature délicate, une demande peut être présentée au Conseil pour obtenir une ordonnance de confidentialité. Voir la Politique du Conseil sur la transparence et la protection de la vie privée, qui fait l’objet de la Circulaire d’information no 12.

Que se passe-t-il une fois qu’une plainte est déposée?

Accusé de réception

Une lettre sera envoyée aux parties [le plaignant et l’employeur (intimé)], accusant réception de la plainte et désignant l’agent des relations industrielles (ARI) chargé de superviser le traitement du dossier et d’aider les parties à en arriver à un règlement.

Si l’employé est syndiqué, le syndicat sera informé de la plainte et en recevra une copie. Le syndicat peut choisir de présenter une demande d’intervention. Si celle-ci est accueillie, le syndicat devient partie à la plainte. L’employé peut communiquer avec son syndicat pour vérifier s’il peut lui venir en aide. Consulter son syndicat avant de déposer une plainte se révèle souvent une précaution utile.

Réponse et réplique

L’employeur dispose de 15 jours civils après la réception de la lettre du Conseil pour présenter une réponse à la plainte. Le plaignant dispose de 10 jours civils après la réception de la réponse pour présenter sa réplique.

Le Conseil peut refuser de prendre en considération les observations ou les documents reçus après l’expiration des délais prévus.

Échange de documents

Chaque partie doit fournir à l’autre une copie de chaque réponse, réplique ou autre document présentés au Conseil, et informer ce dernier par écrit du moment et du mode de livraison, ou de signification. La signification peut se faire par télécopieur, par messagerie ou en personne. Vous pouvez aussi envoyer les documents par la poste ou par courrier recommandé, mais cela peut retarder le traitement de la plainte.

Rencontre de médiation

L’ARI communiquera avec les parties pour fixer une rencontre de médiation afin de les aider à régler la plainte. La rencontre de médiation est facultative et les renseignements recueillis par l’agent durant la médiation sont confidentiels et ne seront pas communiqués au Conseil.

Si la plainte n’est pas réglée par l’entremise d’une médiation ou d’une entente entre les parties, l’affaire est renvoyée au Conseil et peut être tranchée sans tenir d’audience. Dans un tel cas, le Conseil tranche la plainte en s’appuyant sur les observations écrites et les documents présentés par les parties.

Audience

Il est dans l’intérêt des parties de présenter en temps opportun des observations complètes, exactes et détaillées à l’appui de leurs positions respectives.

Si le Conseil décide de tenir une audience, il en communique la date et le lieu aux parties. Même si une date d’audience est fixée, cela n’empêche pas les parties de régler la plainte à n’importe quel moment.

Quels redressements le Conseil peut-il ordonner?

Si le Conseil établit qu’une plainte en vertu de l’article 133 est fondée, il peut, par ordonnance, enjoindre à l’employeur :

  • de permettre à tout employé touché par la contravention de reprendre son travail;
  • de réintégrer dans son emploi tout ancien employé touché par la contravention;
  • de verser à tout employé ou ancien employé touché par la contravention une indemnité équivalant au plus, à son avis, à la rémunération qui lui aurait été payée s’il n’y avait pas eu contravention;
  • d’annuler toute mesure disciplinaire prise à l’encontre d’un employé touché par la contravention et de payer à celui-ci une indemnité équivalant au plus, à son avis, à la sanction pécuniaire ou autre qui lui a été imposée par l’employeur.

Le Conseil avise les parties par écrit de sa décision.

Pour toute question concernant la présente circulaire d’information, veuillez communiquer avec un agent des relations industrielles du Conseil au 1-800-575-9696.

April 2019

Date de modification :