No. 2–Applications for Revocation

PDF Printable version

This document describes the procedures that must be followed by an employee who occupies a position in a bargaining unit and who claims to represent a majority of the employees in this bargaining unit, when filing an application for revocation to terminate a collective bargaining relationship between a union and his or her employer.

It also describes the procedures to be followed by the incumbent bargaining agent and the employer following receipt of the Board’s notice of the application.

To ensure the timely processing of the application, it is important that these rules be reviewed carefully as amendments to the Canada Labour Code (Part I–Industrial Relations) (the Code) in June 2017 have brought about important changes to the Board’s revocation procedures.

Should you have any questions concerning the Board’s revocation procedure, you can contact a Board officer at 1-800-575-9696.

General

Section 39 of the Code provides that the Board shall, by order, revoke the certification of the trade union as the bargaining agent for the bargaining unit, or declare that the bargaining agent is not entitled to represent the employees in the bargaining unit where, on receipt of an application for revocation and after any inquiry by way of a representation vote or otherwise as the Board considers appropriate in the circumstances, the Board is satisfied that a majority of the employees in the bargaining unit no longer wish to have the bargaining agent represent them.

The timely processing of applications for revocation is important to ensure the fulfilment of the objectives of the Code. Therefore, the Board will aim to process these applications within 30 days of the date the application for revocation is filed with the Board.

The Board has established the following procedures for the processing of applications for revocation pursuant to its general powers found in section 46 of the Canada Industrial Relations Board Regulations, 2012 (the Regulations), which provides that the Board may vary time limits and procedural requirements for the proper administration of the Code.

For copies of the Code and the Regulations, rules of procedure, forms and information circulars, visit the Board’s website at www.cirb-ccri.gc.ca.

Filing an Application

The applicant must submit the following information and documents with the Board when filing the application:

  1. A copy of the completed Application for Revocation form;
  2. The original confidential employee statements in support of the application and authorizing the applicant to act on their behalf;
  3. A completed Certificate of Accuracy.

An application for revocation must include separate and confidential employee statements, signed by each employee whom the applicant claims to represent. In their statements, employees must state that they no longer wish to be represented by the bargaining agent and that they authorize the applicant to act on their behalf. These statements must be made separately by each employee and must show the printed name, the employee’s signature, and the date on which the employee signed the statement. That date must not be more than six months before the date on which the application is filed. Petitions (list of signatures on one sheet of paper) are not accepted in support of applications for revocation.

The application must be filed in person, by mail or by courier at the Board’s Toronto, Montréal, Dartmouth, Vancouver or Ottawa offices.

An application is considered filed with the Board on the day the application and the original employee statements in support of the application and the completed Certificate of accuracy are received. Failure to submit the required documentation with the application may result in its summary dismissal by the Board.

Notice of the Application by the Board

On receipt of an application for revocation, the Board will send a notice of the application in writing to the incumbent bargaining agent and to the employer. The Board’s notice will be accompanied by a Schedule for Processing, a copy of the application (subject to certain confidential documents that were attached thereto), as well as the Notice to Employees and the Certificate of Posting, which must be completed by the employer.

Employer’s Obligations

A response from the employer is not requested; however, the employer will be directed to provide certain information in order to allow the Board to process the application. The following outlines the employer’s obligations once it has received from the Board a notice of an application for revocation:

  1. The employer must immediately complete the Notice to Employees appended to the Board’s notice of the application as per the instructions contained therein, and post it, together with a copy of the application. The Notice to Employees must remain posted for 15 calendar days1 following the date of receipt of the Board’s notice of the application.
  2. The employer must also complete the Certificate of Posting appended to the Board’s notice of the application and return it to the Board with the documents listed at point 3 below.
  3. The employer is required to submit the following material within 5 calendar days after the Board’s notice of the application is received:
    1. (for the Board only) an alphabetical list showing the full name, job classification or position title, home address and telephone number of all persons affected by this application and employed by the employer, as of the date the application was filed with the Board. This list must identify managerial and supervisory personnel and, if applicable, casual and part-time employees;
    2. a second alphabetical list showing the same information as that requested in a. above, without addresses and telephone numbers;
    3. a record of the weekly hours worked by any casual or part-time employee for the three-month period preceding the date on which the application was filed, if applicable;
    4. an organizational chart showing, as of the date of filing, the relationship of the employees in the proposed bargaining unit to the other employees, and also showing the lines of authority between management, supervisors, and subordinate employees; and
    5. a confirmation of the employer’s legal name in both official languages.
  4. If applicable, the employer must file its response within 10 calendar days after the Board’s notice of the application is received.

Incumbent Bargaining Agent’s Obligations

The incumbent bargaining agent will have 10 calendar days after the Board’s notice of the application is received to file a response and its comments relating to the list of employees provided by the employer.

Applicant’s Obligations

The applicant will have 5 calendar days following the date of the filing of the incumbent bargaining agent’s response and, if applicable, the employer’s response, to file a reply and its comments relating to the list of employees provided by the employer.

Extension of the Time Limits

To ensure the timely processing of applications for revocation, and in furtherance of the objectives of the Code, the Board’s practice is not to grant extensions of the time limits for submitting information, responding and replying, except in exceptional circumstances.

Exchange of Documents

It is important to note that all documents submitted to the Board will be placed on the public record and that pursuant to section 23 of the Regulations, parties to a proceeding are required to serve on the other party or parties a copy of any response, reply or other document filed with the Board. This requirement does not apply to the list containing employees’ home addresses and telephone numbers, the completed Certificate of Posting, the completed Certificate of Accuracy, or any document that could reveal the wishes of the employees or that the Board declares to be confidential pursuant to sections 22 or 35 of the Regulations. Parties are required to advise the Board in writing of the time and manner of service.

The Board’s Investigation

Once an application for revocation is filed, the Board will acknowledge receipt of the application, will notify the parties concerned and will appoint one of its industrial relations officers to complete an investigation and oversee the conduct of the file. Over the course of his or her investigation, the Board’s industrial relations officer may contact certain employees to verify the validity of their confidential statement.

Within 24 hours of the application being filed with the Board, the industrial relations officer will contact the parties to review the following issues:

  • the information required at various stages of the revocation procedure;
  • the dates for filing this information; and
  • any matter that could arise during the conduct of the matter.

After receiving the submissions, materials and information requested, the industrial relations officer may convene the parties to a meeting (in-person or by conference call) to attempt to resolve any disagreements between the parties regarding the employee list(s).

Following this meeting, the industrial relations officer will provide the parties with a letter of understanding, pursuant to the Board’s policy, stating that he or she is referring the matter to the Board for its consideration. This letter states, among other things, the description and composition of the affected bargaining unit, any disputes between the parties as well as the list of relevant documents submitted to the Board. Although the Board will give serious consideration to an agreement reached between the parties, such an agreement is not binding on the Board.

If applicable, the parties must provide their comments to the industrial relations officer’s letter of understanding in writing within 24 hours of its receipt.

Determination by the Board

A panel of the Board will review the matter. The Board may:

  • request additional information or submissions from the parties;
  • order that a representation vote be conducted;
  • schedule a hearing; or
  • allow or dismiss the application.

Holding of a Representation Vote

If the Board’s investigation confirms that a majority of the employees included in the bargaining unit at the date of the filing of the application have supported the applicant’s application for revocation, it will usually order a representation vote to determine whether the union will continue to represent the employees or not. The Board will then designate a returning officer—usually the industrial relations officer who conducted the investigation—who will be responsible for conducting the representation vote. The returning officer will make the necessary arrangements with the parties for the conduct of the vote, and will require the employer to post in the workplace a Notice of Vote and list of voters based on the instructions provided.

Representation votes are usually conducted in person (by ballot box) at the employees’ place of work or at easily accessible locations, during, before or after normal working hours. If the vote is held in person at a single or few easily accessible locations, it will normally be completed within one day. If the representation vote is conducted electronically, by mail, or if it involves multiple or remote locations, it may take longer to complete.

Parties are entitled to be represented by scrutineers, whose responsibilities are to assist the returning officer in identifying voters and to help ensure that the vote is conducted in a fair and impartial manner. It is a secret ballot.

Unless the Board has ordered that the ballots be sealed, the returning officer will normally count the ballots immediately following the representation. Normally, this will be done at the vote site if the representation vote is a ballot box vote.

After the Representation Vote

After the conduct of the representation vote, the returning officer will communicate the results to the Board.  The Board will then proceed to make a determination on the application and may:

  • allow the application and issue a revocation order; or
  • dismiss the application for lack of support of the majority of voters.

If the Board ordered that the ballots be sealed, the returning officer will inform the Board that the vote has been conducted and the latter will determine any outstanding questions. The Board can:

  • request additional information or submissions from the parties; or
  • schedule a hearing.

IMPORTANT NOTE: You can consult the Board’s Information Circular No. 10–Applications for Revocation to obtain further information concerning applications for revocation and the holding of representation votes. The timelines contained in this document are targets set for the Board’s processing of revocation applications. There may be circumstances and issues in certain applications that will prevent these timelines from being met.

1 As defined in section 1 of the Regulations, “day” means a calendar day.

June 2017

Date modified:

No 2 – Demandes de révocation

PDF Printable version

Le présent document décrit la procédure qu’un employé qui occupe un poste dans une unité de négociation et qui prétend représenter la majorité, c’est-à-dire plus de 50 % des employés de cette unité de négociation, doit suivre pour présenter une demande de révocation afin de mettre fin à la relation de négociation collective entre un syndicat et son employeur.

Il décrit aussi la procédure que doivent suivre l’employeur ainsi que l’agent négociateur en place susceptible d’être touché par la demande après avoir reçu l’avis de demande signifié par le Conseil.

Pour assurer le traitement rapide de la demande, il est important que les présentes règles soient examinées attentivement, car des modifications apportées au Code canadien du travail (Partie I – Relations du travail) (le Code) en juin 2017 ont entraîné des changements considérables au regard de la procédure de révocation du Conseil.

Si vous avez des questions concernant la procédure de révocation du Conseil, veuillez communiquer avec un agent du Conseil, au 1-800-575-9696.

Généralités

L’article 39 du Code prévoit que le Conseil doit rendre une ordonnance par laquelle il révoque l’accréditation du syndicat à titre d’agent négociateur de l’unité, ou déclare que l’agent négociateur n’a plus qualité pour représenter les employés de l’unité si, à l’issue de l’enquête qu’il estime indiquée – tenue sous forme d’un scrutin de représentation ou sous une autre forme –, il est convaincu que la majorité des employés de l’unité de négociation visée par la demande ne désirent plus être représentés par leur agent négociateur.

Pour assurr la réalisation des objectifs du Code, il est important que les demandes de révocation soient traitées rapidement. Ainsi, le Conseil tentera de compléter le traitement à l’intérieur d’un délai de 30 jours après le dépôt de la demande de révocation auprès du Conseil.

Le Conseil a établi la procédure suivante pour le traitement des demandes de révocation en vertu des pouvoirs généraux que lui confère l’article 46 du Règlement de 2012 sur le Conseil canadien des relations industrielles (le Règlement), selon lequel le Conseil peut modifier un délai et des exigences relatives à la procédure pour assurer la bonne administration du Code.

Le Code, le Règlement, les règles de procédure, les formulaires et les circulaires d’information peuvent être obtenus ou consultés à partir du site Web du Conseil, à l’adresse www.cirb-ccri.gc.ca.

Dépôt d’une demande

Au moment du dépôt de sa demande, le requérant doit fournir les renseignements et documents suivants au Conseil :

  1. une copie du formulaire Demande de révocation rempli;
  2. les déclarations confidentielles originales distinctes des employés liées à la demande et autorisant le requérant à agir en leur nom;
  3. le Certificat d’exactitude rempli.

Toute demande de révocation doit être accompagnée des déclarations confidentielles originales distinctes, signées par chacun des employés que le requérant prétend représenter. Chaque déclaration doit faire état de la volonté de l’employé de ne plus être représenté par l’agent négociateur ainsi que de l’autorisation que l’employé donne au requérant afin que celui‑ci le représente aux fins du dépôt d’une demande de révocation. Elle doit aussi indiquer le nom de l’employé en lettres moulées, la date à laquelle il a signé la déclaration et le nom du requérant. Chaque déclaration doit être signée depuis moins de six mois à la date du dépôt de la demande de révocation. Les pétitions (liste de signatures des employés sur une feuille de papier) ne sont pas acceptées comme preuve de la volonté des employés.

La demande doit être présentée en personne ou envoyée par courrier ou service de messagerie à l’un des bureaux du Conseil situés à Toronto, Montréal, Dartmouth, Vancouver ou Ottawa.

On considère qu’une demande a été déposée auprès du Conseil le jour où la demande, les déclarations confidentielles originales distinctes des employés liées à celle-ci et le Certificat d’exactitude rempli sont reçus. Le Conseil pourrait rejeter la demande de façon sommaire si la documentation requise n’est pas jointe à la demande.

Avis de demande signifié par le Conseil

Dès réception d’une demande de révocation, le Conseil communique un avis écrit à l’agent négociateur en place et à l’employeur. L’avis du Conseil est accompagné d’un calendrier de traitement, d’une copie de la demande (sous réserve de certains documents confidentiels qui y étaient annexés), ainsi que de l’Avis aux employés et de l’Attestation d’affichage qui doivent être remplis par l’employeur.

Obligations de l’employeur

Quoiqu’il ne soit pas tenu de présenter une réponse, l’employeur doit fournir certains renseignements afin de permettre au Conseil de traiter la demande. Voici une description des obligations qui incombent à l’employeur lorsque celui-ci reçoit du Conseil un avis l’informant du dépôt d’une demande de révocation :

  1. L’employeur doit immédiatement remplir l’Avis aux employés annexé à l’avis de demande signifié par le Conseil, conformément aux directives qui y sont énoncées, et l’afficher, accompagné d’une copie de la demande. Cet avis doit demeurer affiché pendant 15 jours civils1 après la date de réception de l’avis de demande signifié par le Conseil.
  2. L’employeur doit aussi remplir l’Attestation d’affichage jointe à l’avis du Conseil et la retourner à celui-ci avec les documents énumérés au point 3 ci-dessous.
  3. L’employeur est tenu de transmettre les documents suivants dans les 5 jours civils suivant la réception de l’avis de demande signifié par le Conseil :
    1. (à l’intention du Conseil seulement) une liste, par ordre alphabétique, indiquant le nom complet, la classification ou le titre du poste, l’adresse et le numéro de téléphone du domicile de toutes les personnes concernées par la demande et qui travaillaient pour l’employeur à la date à laquelle la demande a été présentée au Conseil. Le personnel de direction et de supervision doit être identifié dans cette liste, de même que les employés occasionnels et à temps partiel, le cas échéant;
    2. une seconde liste, par ordre alphabétique, contenant les mêmes renseignements qu’en a. ci-dessus, sans les adresses et les numéros de téléphone;
    3. le cas échéant, un registre des heures de travail effectuées chaque semaine par tout employé occasionnel ou à temps partiel pendant les trois mois qui ont précédé la date du dépôt de la demande;
    4. un organigramme en date du dépôt de la demande indiquant la relation entre les employés faisant partie de l’unité de négociation proposée et les autres employés, ainsi que les relations hiérarchiques entre les cadres, les superviseurs et les employés subalternes.
    5. une confirmation de la dénomination sociale de l’employeur dans les deux langues officielles.
  4. Le cas échéant, l’employeur doit transmettre sa réponse dans les 10 jours civils suivant la date de réception de l’avis de demande signifié par le Conseil.

Obligation de l’agent négociateur en place

L’agent négociateur en place dispose de 10 jours civils après la réception de l’avis de demande signifié par le Conseil pour présenter une réponse ainsi que ses commentaires sur la liste d’employés fournie par l’employeur.

Obligations du requérant

Le requérant dispose de 5 jours civils à compter du dépôt de la réponse de l’agent négociateur en place et, le cas échéant, de celle de l’employeur, pour présenter sa réplique et ses commentaires relatifs à la liste d’employés fournie par l’employeur.

Prorogation des délais

Pour assurer le traitement rapide des demandes de révocation, et aux fins de la réalisation des objectifs du Code, le Conseil a pour habitude de n’accorder aucune prorogation des délais pour le dépôt de renseignements, des réponses et des répliques, à moins que des circonstances exceptionnelles ne le justifient.

Échange de documents

Il est important de souligner que tous les documents présentés au Conseil seront versés au dossier public et que, suivant l’article 23 du Règlement, les parties à une affaire sont tenues de signifier copie à l’autre ou aux autres parties de toute réponse ou réplique et de tout autre document présenté au Conseil. Cette exigence ne s’applique toutefois pas à la liste qui contient les adresses et les numéros de téléphone du domicile des employés, à l’Attestation d’affichage et au Certificat d’exactitude remplis, ni à tout document qui pourrait révéler la volonté des employés ou que le Conseil déclare confidentiel en vertu des articles 22 ou 35 du Règlement. Les parties sont tenues d’informer le Conseil par écrit du moment et du mode de signification.

Enquête du Conseil

Lorsqu’une demande de révocation est présentée, le Conseil en accuse réception, en avise les parties concernées et nomme un de ses agents des relations industrielles pour mener une enquête et superviser le traitement du dossier. Au cours de son enquête, l’agent des relations industrielles du Conseil peut communiquer avec certains employés pour procéder à des vérifications concernant la validité de leur déclaration confidentielle.

Dans les 24 heures suivant le dépôt de la demande auprès du Conseil, l’agent des relations industrielles communique avec les parties pour discuter des questions suivantes :

  • les renseignements requis à diverses étapes du processus de traitement de la demande;
  • les dates de présentation de ces renseignements;
  • toute question qui pourrait être soulevée au cours du traitement de l’affaire.

Après avoir reçu les observations, les documents et les renseignements requis, l’agent des relations industrielles peut convoquer les parties à une réunion (en personne ou par conférence téléphonique) pour tenter de résoudre tout désaccord entre elles concernant la ou les listes d’employés.

Après cette réunion, l’agent des relations industrielles transmet aux parties une lettre d’entente, conformément à la politique du Conseil, indiquant qu’il transmet le dossier au Conseil pour examen. Cette lettre précise, entre autres, la description et la composition de l’unité de négociation visée, toute position litigieuse et la liste des documents pertinents présentés au Conseil. Le Conseil étudiera sérieusement toute entente conclue entre les parties, bien que ce type d’entente n’ait pour lui aucune valeur contraignante.

Le cas échéant, les parties doivent transmettre par écrit leurs commentaires concernant la lettre d’entente de l’agent des relations industrielles dans les 24 heures suivant la réception d’une copie de cette lettre.

Décision du Conseil

Un banc du Conseil examine ensuite l’affaire. Le Conseil peut :

  • demander aux parties de lui fournir des renseignements ou des observations supplémentaires;
  • ordonner la tenue d’un scrutin de représentation;
  • mettre l’affaire au rôle;
  • accueillir ou rejeter la demande.

Tenue d’un scrutin de représentation

Si l’enquête du Conseil confirme que le requérant a l’appui de la majorité des employés membres de l’unité de négociation à la date du dépôt de la demande, il ordonne habituellement la tenue d’un scrutin de représentation pour déterminer si le syndicat continuera à représenter les employés de l’unité de négociation ou non. Il désigne alors un directeur du scrutin, habituellement l’agent des relations industrielles chargé du dossier, pour mener le scrutin. Ce dernier prend les arrangements nécessaires avec les parties en vue du scrutin et enjoint à l’employeur d’afficher sur le lieu de travail un Avis de scrutin et la liste des employés admissibles à voter selon les directives fournies.

Normalement, les scrutins de représentation sont tenus en personne (avec bulletins et urnes) sur le lieu de travail des employés ou dans des endroits facilement accessibles, avant, pendant ou après les heures de travail. Si le scrutin de représentation se tient en personne dans un seul ou quelques lieux facilement accessibles, il se déroule généralement en une journée. Si le scrutin de représentation se tient par voie électronique ou par la poste, ou s’il se déroule dans plusieurs lieux ou dans des endroits éloignés, il peut nécessiter plus de temps.

Les parties ont le droit d’être représentées par des scrutateurs qui ont pour responsabilité d’aider le directeur du scrutin à identifier les personnes ayant droit de vote et à s’assurer que le scrutin se déroule de façon juste et impartiale. Le vote est secret.

En général, le directeur du scrutin procède au dépouillement des bulletins de vote immédiatement après la tenue du scrutin de représentation, si le scellage des urnes n’a pas été ordonné. Le dépouillement se déroule normalement à l’endroit où a eu lieu le scrutin si les membres de l’unité de négociation ont voté en personne.

Après la tenue du scrutin de représentation

Après la tenue du scrutin de représentation, le directeur du scrutin communique les résultats au Conseil. Le Conseil se prononce ensuite sur la demande. Il peut alors :

  • accueillir la demande et rendre une ordonnance de révocation;
  • rejeter la demande pour motif de manque d’appui de la majorité.

Si le scellage des urnes a été ordonné par le Conseil, le directeur du scrutin informe le Conseil que le scrutin de représentation est terminé, et ce dernier tranche les questions non réglées. Le Conseil peut :

  • demander aux parties de lui fournir des renseignements ou des observations supplémentaires;
  • mettre l’affaire au rôle.

REMARQUE IMPORTANTE : Vous pouvez consulter la Circulaire d’information no 10 du Conseil – Demandes de révocation, pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements sur les demandes de révocation et la tenue des scrutins de représentation. Les délais indiqués dans le présent document sont des cibles établies aux fins du traitement des demandes de révocation par le Conseil. Il est possible que ces délais ne puissent pas être respectés en raison des circonstances et des questions en cause dans certaines demandes.

1 Suivant la définition donnée à l’article 1 du Règlement, « jour » signifie un jour civil.

Juin 2017

Date de modification :