No. 10–Applications for Revocation

Information Circular

PDF Printable version

The following is one in a series of information circulars prepared by the administration staff of the CIRB. The circulars are designed to provide employees, trade unions and employers with general information and a clearer understanding of Board processes. This information circular is an informal tool and is not binding on the Board.


Applications for Revocation

Under the Canada Labour Code (Part I–Industrial Relations) (the Code), employees have the right to join together and choose a union that will represent them and negotiate with their employer the determination of their wages and other terms and conditions of employment. By the same token, if a majority of these employees no longer wish to be represented by a union, they can apply to have the union’s rights annulled. The process is called revocation, which is also referred to as decertification or cancellation of bargaining rights.

The Revocation Process Simplified

Any person who claims to represent a majority, that is, more than 50% of the employees in a bargaining unit, can apply to the Canada Industrial Relations Board (the Board), within specified timeframes, to have a certification order revoked. If the application is successful, the collective bargaining relationship between the union and the employer will be terminated and the employees will no longer be represented by a union.

Who Can Apply?

You can apply for revocation if you are represented by a union that is recognized as the bargaining agent to deal with your employer. You must be covered by the “scope of the bargaining unit,” that is, you must occupy a position that is included in the bargaining unit and not “excluded” from that unit. If there is more than one bargaining unit or more than one union in your work place, you are only permitted to apply for the revocation of the bargaining rights of your own unit. You cannot file or participate in an application for revocation if you hold a managerial position.

When Can an Application be Filed?

The Code is very specific about the time period during which an application for revocation can be filed.

Where no collective agreement applicable to the bargaining unit is in force:

  • at any time after a period of one year from the date of certification of the trade union. The Code stipulates, however, that the Board shall not revoke a certification unless it is satisfied that the bargaining agent has failed to make a reasonable effort to enter into a collective agreement. Consequently, an applicant filing an application for revocation in such circumstances must clearly demonstrate how the certified bargaining agent failed to make a reasonable effort in this regard.

Where a collective agreement is in force:

  • if a collective agreement is for a term of three years or fewer, an application for revocation can be filed during the last three months of the collective agreement (or any time after the date the collective agreement expired until a new collective agreement is signed);
  • if a collective agreement is for a term greater than three years, an application for revocation can be filed during the last three months of the third year, that is, during the 34th, 35th or 36th month of its operation, or during the last three months of any year thereafter;
  • if the employer has voluntarily recognized the union, an application for revocation can be filed at any time during the first year of the term of a collective agreement. After the first year, the same timing rules as set out above apply.

Where there is a legal strike or lockout:

  • an application for revocation cannot be filed during a legal strike or lockout, except in very limited circumstances with the consent of the Board.

Majority Support

If you are applying to have your union’s bargaining rights revoked, you must represent a majority, that is, more than 50% of the employees included in the bargaining unit. If not, your application will be rejected.

Evidence of Majority Support

The Code requires that the applicant in a revocation file show evidence that more than 50% of the employees in the bargaining unit no longer wish to have the union represent them. This is done by filing individual confidential statements, signed by each employee whom the applicant claims to represent in the application. Each employee must have signed their statement less than six months before the date of filing of the application.

The individual confidential statements in support of a revocation application must clearly indicate the employee’s wish to have the union’s bargaining rights revoked, and must include the name of the union that is affected by the revocation application. The statement should also indicate that the employee authorizes the applicant, by name, to act on his or her behalf in the application for revocation. The Board will not accept petitions (list of signatures on one sheet of paper) as evidence of employee wishes.

In determining an application for revocation of bargaining rights, the Board may communicate with certain employees to validate the documents filed. It could also look at whether there was any employer involvement that would raise questions as to the voluntariness of the application. If there is the appearance of overt or tacit support or interference by the employer, the Board could invalidate the claimed support and dismiss the application for revocation. For example, if it is proven that management offered a reward or benefit for starting or continuing the revocation application, or if it is found that management threatened an employee for not supporting the application, the Board will dismiss the application. It is also prudent not to collect the employees’ confidential statements on company time or at the work site.

Confidentiality of Employee Wishes

In accordance with section 35 of the Canada Industrial Relations Board Regulations, 2012, information concerning an employee’s wish to be represented by or not to be represented by a trade union is considered confidential and is not made known to the union, the employer, or the public. As such, the employees’ confidential statements filed in support of a revocation application are not accessible to the other parties.

Where Can an Application for Revocation be Filed?

An application for revocation may be filed at any of the Board’s regional offices. The application for revocation form is available on the Board’s website.

The application must be filed in person, sent by mail or by courier and must be accompanied by the original confidential employee statements and the applicant’s statement attesting to the accuracy of the documents submitted to the Board.

The date of filing is the date that the application, the original confidential employee statements and the declaration attesting to the accuracy of the documents are received by the Board.

What Happens Next?

Upon receipt of the application for revocation, the Board will notify the incumbent bargaining agent and the employer in writing. In this notice, the Board will instruct the employer to post the application in the workplace. It will also ask the employer to provide it with a list of employees in the bargaining unit, as of the date of the application, to allow the Board to determine whether a majority, that is, more that 50% of the affected employees, support the application. Finally, the Board will ask the union and the employer to file submissions outlining their position in response to the application, if applicable.

The Board will then appoint an industrial relations officer to gather factual background information pertaining to the application and to conduct an investigation regarding the employee support as well as any other submissions filed. The industrial relations officer may contact certain employees to verify the validity of the documents received in support of the application. The industrial relations officer will contact the parties to discuss any matter that may arise during the investigation.

Once all the necessary information is gathered, the industrial relations officer will send a letter to the parties, according to the Board’s policy, advising that the file is being referred to the Board for determination. That letter clearly sets out, among other things, the description and composition of the bargaining unit concerned, any position in dispute, as well as the list of relevant documents filed with the Board. The parties will then have 24 hours following the receipt of the letter to provide written comments to the industrial relations officer. The industrial relations officer submits a separate confidential report to the Board setting out the wishes of the employees.

Holding of a Representation Vote

If the Board’s investigation confirms that a majority of the employees included in the bargaining unit have supported an application for revocation, the Board usually orders a representation vote. This means that all employees in the bargaining unit have the opportunity to vote and determine whether or not the union will continue to represent them. The Board will designate a returning officer to conduct the vote; usually, the returning officer is the industrial relations officer assigned to the case.

The returning officer will consult with the parties regarding the arrangements for the conduct of the vote, and will require the employer to post in the workplace a Notice of Vote, which is prepared by the Board. Representation votes are usually conducted in person (by ballot box) at the employees’ place of work during, before or after normal working hours.

Parties are entitled to be represented by scrutineers, whose responsibilities are to assist the returning officer in identifying voters and to help ensure that the vote is conducted in a fair and impartial manner. It is a secret ballot. The vote is usually counted immediately following the closing of the polls. The result is determined on the basis of the majority of those who vote.

In certain circumstances, the Board may issue a revocation order without conducting a representation vote. This would occur, for example, when the union confirms in writing that it does not oppose the application for revocation. In this case, unless the industrial relations officer uncovers evidence that an application for revocation is not supported by a majority of employees, the Board can revoke the certification for the unit concerned on the basis of the documentation on file.

After the Representation Vote

Where the Board revokes the bargaining rights of a trade union, the collective agreement is terminated and the bargaining agent is no longer entitled to represent the employees in the bargaining unit. If the Board dismisses an application for revocation, no new application may be made for a period of six months from the date of the Board’s decision. The Board generally will issue its decision to the parties in writing within a week of the vote.

June 2017

Date modified:

No 10 – Demandes de révocation

Circulaire d'information

PDF Version imprimable

Le présent document est une circulaire d’information préparée par le personnel du CCRI. Les circulaires d’information fournissent des renseignements généraux aux employés, aux syndicats et aux employeurs pour les aider à mieux comprendre le fonctionnement du Conseil. La présente circulaire est un outil informel et, par conséquent, elle ne lie pas le Conseil.


Demandes de révocation

Selon le Code canadien du travail (Partie I – Relations du travail) (le Code), les employés ont le droit de s’unir et de choisir un syndicat qui les représentera et qui négociera leurs salaires et leurs autres conditions d’emploi avec leur employeur. Suivant le même principe, si la majorité des employés ne désirent plus être représentés par un syndicat donné, ils peuvent demander l’abolition des droits de ce syndicat. Ce processus s’appelle la révocation. On le désigne aussi parfois comme l’annulation de l’accréditation ou l’annulation des droits de négociation.

Le processus de révocation simplifié

Toute personne qui prétend représenter la majorité, c’est-à-dire plus de 50 % des employés d’une unité de négociation, peut s’adresser au Conseil canadien des relations industrielles (le Conseil), à certains moments précis, en vue de faire révoquer une ordonnance d’accréditation. Si la demande est accueillie, la relation de négociation collective entre l’employeur et le syndicat prend fin et les employés ne sont plus représentés par le syndicat.

Qui peut présenter une demande?

Vous pouvez présenter une demande de révocation si vous êtes représenté par un syndicat reconnu comme l’agent négociateur autorisé à traiter avec votre employeur. Votre poste doit être compris dans la « portée de l’unité de négociation », c’est-à-dire que vous devez occuper un poste inclus dans l’unité de négociation et non un poste « exclu » de cette unité. S’il y a plus d’une unité de négociation ou plus d’un syndicat dans votre lieu de travail, vous n’êtes autorisé à demander la révocation des droits de négociation que pour votre propre unité. Vous ne pouvez pas présenter de demande de révocation ni participer à une demande de révocation si vous occupez un poste de cadre.

Quand une demande peut-elle être présentée?

Le Code précise clairement les périodes au cours desquelles une demande de révocation peut être présentée.

En l’absence d’une convention collective applicable à l’unité de négociation :

  • À l’expiration du délai d’un an suivant l’accréditation par le Conseil. Toutefois, le Code précise que le Conseil ne peut révoquer une accréditation que s’il est convaincu que l’agent négociateur n’a pas fait d’effort raisonnable en vue de conclure une convention collective. Une demande de révocation dans une telle situation doit donc faire état des motifs précis démontrant en quoi, selon le requérant, l’agent négociateur accrédité n’a pas fait d’efforts en ce sens.

Dans le cas où une convention collective est en vigueur :

  • S’il s’agit d’une convention collective d’une durée de trois ans ou moins, la demande de révocation peut être présentée durant les trois derniers mois de la convention collective (ou à n’importe quel moment entre la date d’expiration de la convention collective et la signature d’une nouvelle convention collective);
  • s’il s’agit d’une convention collective d’une durée de plus de trois ans, la demande de révocation peut être présentée au cours des trois derniers mois de la troisième année d’application, c’est-à-dire lors des 34e, 35e ou 36e mois d’application de la convention, ou au cours des trois derniers mois de chacune des années d’application par la suite;
  • si l’employeur a volontairement reconnu le syndicat, la demande de révocation peut être présentée en tout temps au cours de la première année d’application de la première convention collective. Après la première année, les règles applicables sont les mêmes que celles énoncées ci-dessus.

En cas de grève ou de lock-out :

  • Aucune demande de révocation ne peut être présentée durant une grève légale ou un lock-out légal, sauf en des circonstances très particulières et avec le consentement du Conseil.

Appui de la majorité

Si vous demandez la révocation des droits de négociation de votre syndicat, vous devez représenter la majorité, c’est-à-dire plus de 50 % des employés membres de l’unité de négociation. Sinon, votre demande sera rejetée.

Preuve établissant l’appui de la majorité

Aux termes du Code, le requérant doit démontrer que plus de 50 % des employés de l’unité de négociation ne désirent plus être représentés par le syndicat. Pour ce faire, le requérant doit déposer avec sa demande une déclaration confidentielle faite séparément par chacun des employés désirant la révocation du syndicat. Chaque employé doit avoir signé sa déclaration moins de six mois avant la date du dépôt de la demande.

La déclaration confidentielle de chaque employé à l’appui de la demande doit clairement indiquer qu’il désire faire révoquer les droits de négociation du syndicat, le nom du syndicat visé par la demande de révocation, et le nom du requérant qu’il autorise à présenter la demande de révocation. Il est important de souligner que le Conseil n’accepte pas les pétitions (liste de signatures sur une feuille de papier) comme preuve de la volonté des employés.

Afin de trancher une demande de révocation des droits de négociation, le Conseil peut communiquer avec certains des employés afin de vérifier la validité des documents reçus. Il peut également examiner s’il y a eu une participation quelconque de l’employeur qui pourrait soulever un doute quant à l’appui qu’accordent les employés à la demande. S’il apparaît qu’il y a eu, expressément ou tacitement, soutien ou ingérence de la part de l’employeur, le Conseil pourrait invalider le prétendu appui et rejeter la demande de révocation. Par exemple, s’il est prouvé que la direction a offert une récompense ou un avantage aux personnes ayant amorcé le processus de révocation, ou y ayant participé, ou s’il est prouvé que la direction a menacé un employé de prendre des mesures contre lui s’il n’appuyait pas la demande, le Conseil rejettera la demande. Il est également prudent de ne pas chercher à obtenir les déclarations confidentielles des employés pendant les heures de travail ou sur les lieux de travail.

Caractère confidentiel de la volonté des employés

Conformément à l’article 35 du Règlement de 2012 sur le Conseil canadien des relations industrielles, les renseignements concernant la volonté d’un employé d’être ou de ne pas être représenté par un syndicat sont confidentiels et ne sont pas communiqués au syndicat, à l’employeur ou au public. Par conséquent, les autres parties n’ont pas accès aux déclarations confidentielles des employés déposées à l’appui de la demande de révocation.

Où peut-on présenter une demande de révocation?

Une demande de révocation peut être présentée à l’un ou l’autre des bureaux régionaux du Conseil. Le formulaire de demande de révocation est disponible sur le site Web du Conseil.

La demande doit être présentée en personne ou envoyée par courrier ou service de messagerie et doit inclure les déclarations confidentielles originales des employés ainsi que la déclaration signée du requérant attestant l’exactitude des documents fournis au Conseil.

La date du dépôt est la date à laquelle la demande, les déclarations confidentielles originales des employés et la déclaration quant à l’exactitude des documents fournis sont reçues par le Conseil.

Que se passe-t-il ensuite?

Dès réception d’une demande de révocation, le Conseil en avise par écrit l’agent négociateur en place et l’employeur. Dans cet avis, le Conseil enjoint l’employeur d’afficher la demande de révocation sur les lieux de travail. Il demande également à l’employeur de lui fournir une liste des employés de l’unité de négociation en date du dépôt de la demande pour permettre au Conseil d’établir si la majorité, c’est-à-dire plus de 50 % des employés concernés, appuie la demande. Enfin, le Conseil demande au syndicat et à l’employeur de présenter des observations expliquant leur position en réponse à la demande, le cas échéant.

Le Conseil charge ensuite un agent des relations industrielles de recueillir les renseignements de base sur la demande et de mener une enquête quant à l’appui des employés et à tout document qui lui est soumis. L’agent des relations industrielles peut communiquer avec certains employés pour vérifier la validité des documents reçus à l’appui de la demande. L’agent des relations industrielles communique avec les parties pour discuter de toute question qui peut être soulevée pendant l’enquête.

Après avoir recueilli tous les renseignements nécessaires,  l’agent des relations industrielles envoie une lettre aux parties, conformément à la politique du Conseil, indiquant qu’il transmet le dossier au Conseil pour décision. Cette lettre explique, entre autres, la description et la composition de l’unité de négociation visée, toute position litigieuse, et la liste des documents pertinents présentés au Conseil. Les parties disposent de 24 heures à partir du moment où elles ont reçu cette lettre pour communiquer leurs commentaires par écrit à l’agent des relations industrielles. Ce dernier présente aussi un rapport confidentiel distinct au Conseil, dans lequel il fait état de la volonté exprimée par les employés.

Tenue d’un scrutin de représentation

Si l'enquête du Conseil confirme le fait que la majorité des employés membres de l’unité de négociation a appuyé la demande de révocation, le Conseil ordonne habituellement la tenue d’un scrutin de représentation, ce qui veut dire que tous les employés membres de l’unité de négociation peuvent, par voie de scrutin, déterminer si le syndicat continuera de les représenter ou non. Le Conseil désigne un directeur du scrutin pour mener le scrutin; habituellement, le directeur du scrutin est l’agent des relations industrielles chargé du dossier.

Le directeur du scrutin prend les arrangements nécessaires avec les parties en vue du scrutin et enjoint à l’employeur d’afficher sur le lieu de travail un Avis de scrutin préparé par le Conseil. Normalement, les scrutins de représentation sont tenus avant, pendant ou après les heures normales de travail, sur le lieu de travail des employés, et ceux-ci votent en personne (bulletins et urnes).

Les parties ont le droit d’être représentées par des scrutateurs qui ont pour responsabilité d’aider le directeur du scrutin à identifier les personnes ayant droit de vote et à s’assurer que le scrutin se déroule de façon juste et impartiale. Le vote est secret, et les bulletins de vote sont normalement dépouillés immédiatement après la fermeture du bureau de scrutin. Le résultat est établi à la majorité des employés qui ont voté.

Dans certains cas, le Conseil peut rendre une ordonnance de révocation sans demander la tenue d’un scrutin de représentation. C'est le cas, par exemple, quand le syndicat confirme par écrit qu’il ne s'oppose pas à la demande de révocation. Dans cette éventualité, à moins que l'agent des relations industrielles ne mette à découvert des éléments de preuve démontrant que la demande de révocation n’a pas l’appui de la majorité des employés, le Conseil peut révoquer l’accréditation relative à l’unité visée en se fondant sur la documentation au dossier.

Après le scrutin de représentation

Lorsque le Conseil révoque les droits de négociation d’un syndicat, la convention collective prend fin et l’agent négociateur n’a plus qualité pour représenter les employés de l’unité. Si le Conseil rejette la demande de révocation, aucune autre demande de révocation ne peut être présentée pour une période de six mois à partir de la date de la décision. Le Conseil achemine en général sa décision écrite aux parties intéressées dans la semaine suivant la tenue du scrutin.

Juin 2017

Date de modification :