No. 1–Applications for Certification

Rules of Procedure

PDF Printable version

This document describes the procedures that must be followed by a trade union, an employee association or a council of trade unions when filing an application for certification to represent a group of employees in a workplace.

It also describes the procedures to be followed by the employer and any incumbent bargaining agent that may be affected by the application following receipt of the Board’s notice of the application.

To ensure the timely processing of the application, it is important that these rules be reviewed carefully as amendments to the Canada Labour Code (Part I–Industrial Relations) (the Code) in June 2017 have brought about important changes to the Board’s certification procedure.

Should you have any questions concerning the Board’s certification procedure, you can contact a Board officer at 1-800-575-9696.

General

Section 28 of the Code provides that, where the Board has determined the unit that constitutes a unit appropriate for collective bargaining and is satisfied that, as of the date of the filing of the application or of such other date as the Board considers appropriate, a majority of the employees in the unit wish to have the trade union represent them as their bargaining agent, the Board shall certify the trade union making the application as the bargaining agent for the bargaining unit.

The timely processing of applications for certification is important to ensure the fulfilment of the objectives of the Code. Therefore, the Board will aim to process these applications within 30 days of the date the application for certification is filed with the Board.

The Board has established the following procedures for the processing of applications for certification pursuant to its general powers found in section 46 of the Canada Industrial Relations Board Regulations, 2012 (the Regulations), which provides that the Board may vary time limits and procedural requirements for the proper administration of the Code.

For copies of the Code, Regulations, rules of procedure, forms and information circulars, visit the Board’s website.

Filing an Application

The applicant must submit the following information and documents with the Board when filing the application:

  1. A copy of the completed Application for Certification form;
  2. The original membership applications (membership cards) relating to the application for certification, as well as proof of payment of the $5 membership fee;
  3. A separate and confidential statement of the number of employees in the proposed bargaining unit that the applicant claims to represent (section 34 of the Regulations);
  4. A completed Certificate of Accuracy;
  5. A confirmation of its legal name in both official languages;
  6. If the applicant has not yet established its status as a trade union or council of trade unions with the Board, it must also submit:
    • A copy of its constitution and by-laws, its charter, if any, as well as minutes of the founding meeting, minutes of the meeting at which the constitution and by-laws were adopted, and minutes of the meeting at which the officers were elected. This information is also required for any member of the council of trade unions that has not established its status as a trade union with the Board.

    If any of this information is not available, a written explanation must be provided by the applicant when filing the documentation.

The application must be filed in person, by mail or by courier at the Board’s Toronto, Montréal, Dartmouth, Vancouver or Ottawa offices.

An application is considered filed with the Board on the day that the application, the membership evidence relating to the application, the confidential statement required under section 34 of the Regulations and the completed Certificate of Accuracy are received. Failure to submit the required documentation with the application may result in its summary dismissal by the Board.

Notice of the Application by the Board

On receipt of an application for certification, the Board will send a notice of the application in writing to the employer, the incumbent bargaining agent, if applicable, and, to the extent possible, to any person whose rights may be directly affected by the application. The Board’s notice will be accompanied by a Schedule for Processing, a copy of the application (subject to certain confidential documents that were attached thereto), as well as the Notice to Employees and the Certificate of Posting, which must be completed by the employer.

Employer’s Obligations

Upon receipt of a notice of an application for certification, the employer is prohibited, by virtue of section 24(4) of the Code, from changing the terms or the conditions of employment of the affected employees, except under certain circumstances. For more information in this regard, parties should contact the industrial relations officer appointed by the Board.

The following outlines the employer’s obligations once it has received from the Board a notice of an application for certification:

  1. The employer must immediately complete the Notice to Employees appended to the Board’s notice of the application as per the instructions contained therein, and post it, together with a copy of the application. The Notice to Employees must remain posted for 15 calendar days1 following the date of receipt of the Board’s notice of the application.
  2. The employer must also complete the Certificate of Posting appended to the Board’s notice of the application and return it to the Board with the documents listed at point 3 below.
  3. The employer is required to submit the following material within 5 calendar days after the Board’s notice of the application is received:
    1. (for the Board only) an alphabetical list showing the full name, job classification or position title, home address and telephone number of all persons affected by this application and employed by the employer, as of the date the application was filed with the Board. This list must identify managerial and supervisory personnel and, if applicable, casual and part-time employees;
    2. a second alphabetical list showing the same information as that requested in a. above, without addresses and telephone numbers;
    3. a record of the weekly hours worked by any casual or part-time employee for the three-month period preceding the date on which the application was filed, if applicable;
    4. an organizational chart showing, as of the date of filing, the relationship of the employees in the proposed bargaining unit to the other employees, and also showing the lines of authority between management, supervisors, and subordinate employees;
    5. a detailed description of the nature of the employer’s business and operations; and
    6. a confirmation of the employer’s legal name in both official languages.
  4. The employer must file its response within 10 calendar days after the Board’s notice of the application is received.

Inclusion/Exclusion of Job Classification or Positions

If a party wishes to contest the inclusion or exclusion of any job classification or position, it must give the following information in its submissions for each disputed job classification or position:

  1. job classification or position title;
  2. reason(s) why the job classification or position is, in its opinion, inappropriate for either inclusion or exclusion;
  3. job description that includes details of the duties and responsibilities of the incumbent; and
  4. all documentary evidence in support of its position.

Incumbent Bargaining Agent’s Obligations

Where an application for certification seeks to displace an incumbent bargaining agent, the latter will receive a copy of the application for certification and of the other documents on file, subject to the confidentiality of certain documents.

The incumbent bargaining agent will have 10 calendar days after the Board’s notice of the application is received to file a response and its comments relating to the list of employees provided by the employer.

Applicant’s Obligations

The applicant will have 5 calendar days following the date of the filing of the employer’s response and, if applicable, the incumbent bargaining agent’s response, to file a reply and its comments relating to the list of employees provided by the employer.

Extension of the Time Limits

To ensure the timely processing of applications for certification, and in furtherance of the objectives of the Code, the Board’s practice is not to grant extensions of the time limits for submitting information, responding and replying, except in exceptional circumstances.

Exchange of Documents

It is important to note that all documents submitted to the Board will be placed on the public record and that, pursuant to section 23 of the Regulations, parties to a proceeding are required to serve on the other party or parties a copy of any response, reply or other document filed with the Board. This requirement does not apply to the list containing employees’ home addresses and telephone numbers, the completed Certificate of Posting, completed Certificate of Accuracy, or any document that could reveal the wishes of the employees or that the Board declares to be confidential pursuant to sections 22 or 35 of the Regulations, or documents required from the applicant to establish its status as a trade union. Parties are required to advise the Board in writing of the time and manner of service.

Affected Trade Union

If a trade union who claims to hold bargaining rights for any of the employees affected by the application is notified of the application and wishes to participate in the proceedings, it must file a request to intervene with the Board. The request to intervene as well as the affected trade union’s submissions on the merits of the application must be filed with the Board no later than 10 calendar days after the affected trade union is notified of the application. The parties will have 5 calendar days following the date on which the Board advises them of the filing of the request to intervene to file a response.

Where an affected trade union makes a request to intervene, it may result in a delay in the processing of the application.

The Board’s Investigation

Once an application for certification is filed, the Board will acknowledge receipt of the application, will notify the parties concerned and will appoint one of its industrial relations officers to complete an investigation and oversee the conduct of the file. Over the course of his or her investigation, the Board’s industrial relations officer may contact certain employees to verify the membership evidence.

Within 24 hours of the application being filed with the Board, the industrial relations officer will contact the parties to review the following issues:

  • the information required at various stages of the certification procedure;
  • the dates for filing this information;
  • any potential intervenors that should be provided with a copy of the application; and
  • any matter that could arise during the conduct of the matter.

After receiving the submissions, materials and information requested, the industrial relations officer may convene the parties to a meeting (in-person or by conference call) to attempt to resolve any disagreements between the parties regarding the employee list(s), inclusions/exclusions and the scope of the bargaining unit.

Following this meeting, the industrial relations officer will provide the parties with a letter of understanding setting out his or her understanding of the proposed bargaining unit and any disputed positions. Although the Board will give serious consideration to any agreement reached between the parties, such an agreement is not binding on the Board.

If applicable, the parties must provide their comments to the industrial relations officer’s letter of understanding in writing within 24 hours of its receipt.

Determination by the Board

A panel of the Board will then review the matter. The Board may:

  • request additional information or submissions from parties;
  • order that a representation vote be conducted;
  • schedule a hearing; or
  • allow or dismiss the application.

If the Board is satisfied that the proposed bargaining unit is appropriate for collective bargaining and that the union has more than 50% membership support amongst the employees in the bargaining unit at the date of the filing of the application, it will allow the application. However, in any case, the Board may order that a representation vote be conducted to ascertain the true wishes of the employees affected. In such a case, the Board will designate a returning officer who will be responsible for conducting the representation vote. The returning officer may convene the parties to a meeting in person or by conference call to discuss voting arrangements.

If the representation vote is conducted in person (by ballot box) and involves a single or few easily-accessible locations, it will normally be completed within one day. If the representation vote is conducted electronically, by mail, or if it involves multiple or remote locations, it may take longer to complete.

The returning officer will normally count the ballots immediately following the representation vote unless the ballot box has been ordered sealed. Normally, this will be done at the vote site if the representation vote is conducted in person.

After the conduct of the representation vote, the returning officer will communicate the results to the Board. The Board will then proceed to make a determination on the application and may:

  • allow the application and issue a certification order; or
  • dismiss the application for lack of support.

If the ballot box was ordered sealed by the Board, the returning officer will advise the Board that the representation vote has been completed and the Board will proceed to make a determination on the issues that remain in dispute. The Board may:

  • request additional information or submissions from parties; or
  • schedule a hearing.

IMPORTANT NOTE: More information on applications for certification and the conduct of votes is available in the Board’s Information Circular No. 07–Applications for Certification. The timelines contained in this document are targets set for the Board’s processing of applications for certification. There may be circumstances and issues in certain applications that will prevent these timelines from being met.

1 As defined in section 1 of the Regulations, “day” means a calendar day.

June 2017

Date modified:

No 1 – Demandes d'accréditation

Règles de procédure

PDF Printable version

Le présent document décrit la procédure qu’un syndicat, une association d’employés ou un regroupement de syndicats doit suivre pour présenter une demande d’accréditation en vue de représenter un groupe d’employés dans un lieu de travail.

Il décrit aussi la procédure que doivent suivre l’employeur et tout agent négociateur en place susceptible d’être touché par la demande après avoir reçu l’avis de demande signifié par le Conseil.

Pour assurer le traitement rapide de la demande, il est important que les présentes règles soient examinées attentivement, car des modifications apportées au Code canadien du travail (Partie I – Relations du travail) (le Code) en juin 2017 ont entraîné des changements considérables au regard de la procédure d’accréditation du Conseil.

Si vous avez des questions concernant la procédure d’accréditation du Conseil, veuillez communiquer avec un agent du Conseil, au 1-800-575-9696.

Généralités

L’article 28 du Code prévoit que le Conseil accrédite le syndicat qui a présenté la demande pour devenir l’agent négociateur de l’unité de négociation s’il a déterminé que l’unité est habile à négocier collectivement et s’il est convaincu qu’à la date du dépôt de la demande, ou à celle qu’il estime indiquée, la majorité des employés de l’unité désiraient que le syndicat les représente à titre d’agent négociateur.

Pour assurer la réalisation des objectifs du Code, il est important que les demandes d’accréditation soient traitées rapidement. Ainsi, le Conseil tentera de compléter le traitement à l’intérieur d’un délai de 30 jours après le dépôt de la demande d’accréditation auprès du Conseil.

Le Conseil a établi la procédure suivante pour le traitement des demandes d’accréditation en vertu des pouvoirs généraux que lui confère l’article 46 du Règlement de 2012 sur le Conseil canadien des relations industrielles (le Règlement), selon lequel le Conseil peut modifier un délai et des exigences relatives à la procédure pour assurer la bonne administration du Code.

Le Code, le Règlement, les règles de procédure, les formulaires et les circulaires d’information peuvent être obtenus ou consultés à partir du site Web du Conseil.

Dépôt d’une demande

Au moment du dépôt de sa demande, le requérant doit fournir les renseignements et documents suivants au Conseil :

  1. une copie du formulaire Demande d’accréditation rempli;
  2. les demandes d’adhésion originales (cartes d’adhésion) relatives à la demande d’accréditation, ainsi qu’une preuve du paiement des droits d’adhésion de 5 $;
  3. une déclaration confidentielle distincte qui précise le nombre d’employés compris dans l’unité de négociation proposée que le requérant prétend représenter (article 34 du Règlement);
  4. un Certificat d’exactitude rempli;
  5. une confirmation de sa dénomination sociale dans les deux langues officielles;
  6. si le requérant n’a pas encore établi son statut de syndicat ou de regroupement de syndicats auprès du Conseil, il doit également déposer :
    • une copie de ses statuts et règlements, de sa charte, le cas échéant, ainsi que du procès-verbal de la réunion constitutive, de la réunion à laquelle les statuts et règlements ont été adoptés et de la réunion à laquelle les dirigeants ont été élus. Cette information est aussi requise à l’égard de tout membre du regroupement de syndicats qui n’a pas établi son statut de syndicat auprès du Conseil.

    Si certains de ces renseignements ne sont pas disponibles, le requérant doit fournir des explications écrites au moment du dépôt de la documentation.

La demande doit être présentée en personne ou envoyée par courrier ou service de messagerie à l’un des bureaux du Conseil situés à Toronto, Montréal, Dartmouth, Vancouver ou Ottawa.

On considère qu’une demande a été déposée auprès du Conseil le jour où la demande, la preuve d’adhésion s’y rapportant, la déclaration confidentielle exigée aux termes de l’article 34 du Règlement et le Certificat d’exactitude rempli sont reçus. Le Conseil pourrait rejeter la demande de façon sommaire si la documentation requise n’est pas jointe à la demande.

Avis de demande signifié par le Conseil

Dès réception d’une demande d’accréditation, le Conseil communique un avis écrit à l’employeur, à l’agent négociateur en place, le cas échéant, et, dans la mesure du possible, à toute personne dont certains droits pourraient dépendre directement de l’issue de la demande. L’avis du Conseil est accompagné d’un calendrier de traitement, d’une copie de la demande (sous réserve de certains documents confidentiels qui y étaient annexés), ainsi que de l’Avis aux employés et de l’Attestation d’affichage, qui doivent être remplis par l’employeur.

Obligations de l’employeur

Une fois l’avis de demande d’accréditation reçu, il est interdit à l’employeur, conformément au paragraphe 24(4) du Code, de modifier les conditions d’emploi des employés visés, sauf dans certaines circonstances. Pour de plus amples renseignements à cet égard, les parties doivent communiquer avec l’agent des relations industrielles nommé par le Conseil.

Voici une description des obligations qui incombent à l’employeur lorsque celui-ci reçoit du Conseil un avis l’informant du dépôt d’une demande d’accréditation :

  1. L’employeur doit immédiatement remplir l’Avis aux employés annexé à l’avis de demande signifié par le Conseil, conformément aux directives qui y sont énoncées, et l’afficher, accompagné d’une copie de la demande. Cet avis doit demeurer affiché pendant 15 jours civils1 après la date de réception de l’avis de demande signifié par le Conseil.
  2. L’employeur doit aussi remplir l’Attestation d’affichage jointe à l’avis du Conseil et la retourner à celui-ci avec les documents énumérés au point 3 ci-dessous.
  3. L’employeur est tenu de transmettre les documents suivants dans les 5 jours civils suivant la réception de l’avis de demande signifié par le Conseil :
    1. (à l’intention du Conseil seulement) une liste, par ordre alphabétique, indiquant le nom complet, la classification ou le titre du poste, l’adresse et le numéro de téléphone du domicile de toutes les personnes concernées par la demande et qui travaillaient pour l’employeur à la date à laquelle la demande a été présentée au Conseil. Le personnel de direction et de supervision doit être identifié dans cette liste, de même que les employés occasionnels et à temps partiel, le cas échéant ;a second alphabetical list showing the same information as that requested in a. above, without addresses and telephone numbers;
    2. une seconde liste, par ordre alphabétique, contenant les mêmes renseignements qu’en a. ci-dessus, sans les adresses et les numéros de téléphone;
    3. le cas échéant, un registre des heures de travail effectuées chaque semaine par tout employé occasionnel ou à temps partiel pendant les trois mois qui ont précédé la date du dépôt de la demande;
    4. un organigramme en date du dépôt de la demande indiquant la relation entre les employés faisant partie de l’unité de négociation proposée et les autres employés, ainsi que les relations hiérarchiques entre les cadres, les superviseurs et les employés subalternes;
    5. une description détaillée de la nature de l’entreprise et des activités de l’employeur;
    6. une confirmation de la dénomination sociale de l’employeur dans les deux langues officielles.
  4. L’employeur doit transmettre sa réponse dans les 10 jours civils suivant la réception de l’avis de demande signifié par le Conseil.

Inclusion et exclusion de classifications ou de postes

Si une partie souhaite contester l’inclusion ou l’exclusion d’une classification ou d’un poste, elle doit fournir les renseignements suivants dans ses observations pour chaque classification ou poste contesté :

  1. classification ou titre du poste;
  2. la ou les raisons pour lesquelles la classification ou le poste ne devrait pas, selon elle, être inclus ou exclu;
  3. la description de poste, y compris les détails des fonctions et des responsabilités du titulaire du poste;
  4. toute la preuve documentaire à l’appui de sa position.

Obligations de l’agent négociateur en place

Lorsqu’une demande d’accréditation vise à déloger un agent négociateur en place, ce dernier reçoit copie de la demande d’accréditation et des autres documents au dossier, sous réserve de la confidentialité de certains documents.

L’agent négociateur en place dispose de 10 jours civils après la réception de l’avis de demande signifié par le Conseil pour présenter une réponse ainsi que ses commentaires sur la liste d’employés fournie par l’employeur.

Obligations du requérant

Le requérant dispose de 5 jours civils à compter du dépôt de la réponse de l’employeur et, le cas échéant, de celle de l’agent négociateur en place pour présenter sa réplique et ses commentaires relatifs à la liste d’employés fournie par l’employeur.

Prorogation des délais

Pour assurer le traitement rapide des demandes d’accréditation, et aux fins de la réalisation des objectifs du Code, le Conseil a pour habitude de n’accorder aucune prorogation des délais prévus pour le dépôt de renseignements, des réponses et des répliques, à moins que des circonstances exceptionnelles ne le justifient.

Échange de documents

Il est important de souligner que tous les documents présentés au Conseil seront versés au dossier public et que, suivant l’article 23 du Règlement, les parties à une affaire sont tenues de signifier copie à l’autre ou aux autres parties de toute réponse ou réplique et de tout autre document présenté au Conseil. Cette exigence ne s’applique toutefois pas à la liste qui contient les adresses et les numéros de téléphone du domicile des employés, à l’Attestation d’affichage et au Certificat d’exactitude remplis, à tout document qui pourrait révéler la volonté des employés ou que le Conseil déclare confidentiel en vertu des articles 22 ou 35 du Règlement, ni aux documents exigés de la part du requérant pour établir son statut de syndicat. Les parties sont tenues d’informer le Conseil par écrit du moment et du mode de signification.

Syndicat touché

Si un syndicat prétendant détenir les droits de négociation à l’égard d’employés touchés par la demande est avisé de la demande, et qu’il souhaite participer à l’instance, il doit présenter une demande d’intervention au Conseil. Après avoir été avisé de la demande, le syndicat touché dispose d’au plus 10 jours civils pour présenter au Conseil une demande d’intervention ainsi que ses observations quant au bien‑fondé de la demande. Les parties ont 5 jours civils à compter de la date à laquelle le Conseil les informe du dépôt de la demande d’intervention pour présenter une réponse.

La présentation d’une demande d’intervention par un syndicat touché est susceptible de retarder le traitement de la demande.

Enquête du Conseil

Lorsqu’une demande d’accréditation est présentée, le Conseil en accuse réception, en avise les parties concernées et nomme un de ses agents des relations industrielles pour mener une enquête et superviser le traitement du dossier. Au cours de son enquête, l’agent des relations industrielles du Conseil peut communiquer avec certains employés pour procéder à des vérifications concernant la preuve d’adhésion.

Dans les 24 heures suivant le dépôt de la demande auprès du Conseil, l’agent des relations industrielles communique avec les parties pour discuter des questions suivantes :

  • les renseignements requis à diverses étapes du processus de traitement de la demande;
  • les dates de présentation de ces renseignements;
  • tout intervenant éventuel auquel une copie de la demande devrait être fournie;
  • toute question qui pourrait être soulevée au cours du traitement de l’affaire.

Après avoir reçu les observations, les documents et les renseignements requis, l’agent des relations industrielles peut convoquer les parties à une réunion (en personne ou par conférence téléphonique) pour tenter de résoudre tout désaccord entre elles concernant la ou les listes d’employés, les inclusions et les exclusions et la portée de l’unité de négociation.

Après cette réunion, l’agent des relations industrielles transmet aux parties une lettre d’entente précisant sa compréhension de l’unité de négociation proposée ainsi que de toute position litigieuse. Le Conseil étudiera sérieusement toute entente conclue entre les parties, bien que ce type d’entente n’ait pour lui aucune valeur contraignante.

Le cas échéant, les parties doivent transmettre par écrit leurs commentaires concernant la lettre d’entente de l’agent des relations industrielles dans les 24 heures suivant la réception d’une copie de cette lettre.

Décision du Conseil

Un banc du Conseil examine ensuite l’affaire. Le Conseil peut :

  • demander aux parties de lui fournir des renseignements ou des observations supplémentaires;
  • ordonner la tenue d’un scrutin de représentation;
  • mettre l’affaire au rôle;
  • accueillir ou rejeter la demande.

Si le Conseil est convaincu que l’unité de négociation proposée est habile à négocier collectivement et que le syndicat a l’appui de plus de 50 % des membres de l’unité de négociation à la date du dépôt de la demande, il accueille la demande. Toutefois, le Conseil peut, dans tous les cas, ordonner la tenue d’un scrutin de représentation afin de s’assurer de la volonté réelle des employés touchés. Dans un tel cas, le Conseil nomme un directeur du scrutin, qui sera chargé de la tenue du scrutin de représentation. Le directeur du scrutin peut convoquer les parties à une réunion en personne ou par conférence téléphonique pour discuter des arrangements en vue du scrutin.

Si le scrutin de représentation est tenu en personne (avec bulletins et urnes) et dans un seul ou quelques lieux facilement accessibles, il se déroule généralement en une journée. Si le scrutin de représentation se tient par voie électronique ou par la poste, ou s’il se déroule dans plusieurs lieux ou dans des endroits éloignés, il peut nécessiter plus de temps.

En général, le directeur du scrutin procède au dépouillement des bulletins de vote immédiatement après la tenue du scrutin de représentation, si le scellage des urnes n’a pas été ordonné. Le dépouillement se déroule normalement à l’endroit où a eu lieu le scrutin si les membres de l’unité de négociation ont voté en personne.

Après la tenue du scrutin de représentation, le directeur du scrutin communique les résultats au Conseil. Le Conseil se prononce ensuite sur la demande. Il peut alors :

  • accueillir la demande et rendre une ordonnance d’accréditation;
  • rejeter la demande pour motif de manque d’appui de la majorité.

Si le scellage des urnes a été ordonné par le Conseil, le directeur du scrutin informe le Conseil que le scrutin de représentation est terminé, et ce dernier tranche les questions non réglées. Le Conseil peut :

  • demander aux parties de lui fournir des renseignements ou des observations supplémentaires;
  • mettre l’affaire au rôle.

REMARQUE IMPORTANTE : Vous pouvez consulter la Circulaire d’information no 07 du Conseil – Demandes d’accréditation, pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements sur les demandes d’accréditation et la tenue des scrutins de représentation. Les délais indiqués dans le présent document sont des cibles établies aux fins du traitement des demandes d’accréditation par le Conseil. Il est possible que ces délais ne puissent pas être respectés en raison des circonstances et des questions en cause dans certaines demandes.

1 Suivant la définition donnée à l’article 1 du Règlement, « jour » signifie un jour civil.

Juin 2017

Date de modification :