Report on Annual Expenditures for Travel, Hospitality and Conferences

This report represents the final Report on Annual Expenditures for Travel, Hospitality and Conferences provided by the Canada Industrial Relations Board (the CIRB or the Board), as effective November 1, 2014, the Board’s resources were transferred to the Administrative Tribunals Support Service of Canada (ATSSC).

Through the coming into force of the Administrative Tribunals Support Service of Canada Act, on November 1, 2014, the Government of Canada consolidated the provision of support services to eleven administrative tribunals, including the Board, into the ATSSC as a single, integrated service provider.  As a result, the Travel, Hospitality, Conference and Event Expenditures report information, including support services provided to the Board, after November 1, 2014 will be provided by the ATSSC.

As required by the Treasury Board Directive for the Management of Expenditures on Travel, Hospitality and Conferences, his report provides information on the Board expenditures for the first seven months of the 2014–15 fiscal year and the total annual expenditures for the fiscal year ending March 31, 2014.

This information is updated annually and does not contain information withheld under the Access to Information Act or the Privacy Act.

Expenditures on travel, hospitality and conferences incurred by federal departments and agencies are for the most part directly related to supporting departmental mandate(s) and the government’s priorities.

The Canada Industrial Relations Board is an independent, representational, quasi-judicial tribunal responsible for the interpretation and application of Part I (Industrial Relations) and certain provisions of Part II (Occupational Health and Safety) of the Canada Labour Code (the Code), as well as Part II of the Status of the Artist Act. The Board was established in January 1999 through amendments to Part I of the Code. The mandate of the Board is to contribute to and promote effective industrial relations in the federally regulated private sector.

Further details on the Board’s mandate, program activities and legislation may be found in the Report on Plans and Priorities and Departmental Performance Report.

The Board’s total annual expenditures for travel, hospitality and conferences are summarized below:

Expenditure Category Expenditures for
the year ending
October 31, 2014
(a)
Expenditures for
the previous
year ending
March 31, 2014
(b)
Variance
(a - b)
(in dollars)
Travel–Public Servants 302,856 469,693 (166,837)
Travel–Non-Public Servants 6,997 4,790 2,207
Total Travel 309,853 473,483 (163,630)
       
Hospitality 3,847 6,834 (2,987)
Conference Fees 0 400 (400)
TOTAL 313,700 481,717 (168,017)

Significant variances compared to the previous fiscal year.

Variances are mainly due to 2014–15 expenditures representing only seven months, as resources of the Board were transferred to ATSSC on November 1, 2014.  Expenditures on travel, hospitality and conferences after November 1, 2014 will be provided in the Report on Annual Expenditures for Travel, Hospitality and Conferences for the ATSSC.

Date modified:

Rapport sur les dépenses annuelles de voyages, d'accueil et de conférences

Ce rapport représente le dernier rapport sur les dépenses annuelles de voyages, d’accueil et de conférences qui sera fourni par la Conseil canadien des relations industrielles (le CCRI ou le Conseil), puisqu’en date du 1er novembre 2014, les ressources du Conseil ont été transférées au Service canadien d’appui aux tribunaux administratifs (SCDATA).

Avec l’entrée en vigueur de la Loi sur le service canadien d’appui aux tribunaux administratifs le 1er novembre 2014, le gouvernement du Canada a consolidé la prestation des services de soutien de onze tribunaux administratifs incluant le Conseil sous le SCDATA, fournisseur unique des services intégrés. Par conséquent, l’information sur les dépenses de voyages, d’accueil, de conférences et d’événements, incluant les services offerts au Conseil après le 1er novembre 2014, sera présentée par le SCDATA.

Comme l’exige la Directive sur la gestion des dépenses de voyages, d’accueil et de conférences du Conseil du Trésor, le présent rapport fournit de l’information sur les dépenses totales de voyages, d’accueil et de conférences du Conseil pour les sept premier mois de l’exercice 2014-2015 et les dépenses annuelles totales pour l’exercice se terminant le 31 mars 2014.

Cette information est mise à jour annuellement et ne contient pas les renseignements non divulgués en vertu de la Loi sur l’accès à l’information ou de la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels.

Les dépenses de voyages, d’accueil et de conférences engagées par les ministères et agences fédéraux appuient pour la plupart directement le mandat ministériel et les priorités gouvernementales.

Le Conseil canadien des relations industrielles (le CCRI ou le Conseil) est un tribunal quasi judiciaire, indépendant et représentatif responsable de l’interprétation et de l’application de la partie I (Relations du travail) et de certaines dispositions de la partie II (Santé et sécurité au travail) du Code canadien du travail (le Code), de même que de la partie II de la Loi sur le statut de l’artiste. Le Conseil a été établi en janvier 1999 dans le cadre du remaniement de la partie I du Code. Le Conseil a pour mandat de favoriser l’établissement et le maintien de relations du travail efficaces dans le secteur privé relevant de la compétence fédérale.

On peut trouver des renseignements supplémentaires sur le mandat, les activités de programme et la législation du Conseil dans le Rapport sur les plans et priorités et le Rapport ministériel sur le rendement.

Les dépenses annuelles totales de voyages, d’accueil et de conférences du Conseil sont résumées ci-dessous :

Catégorie de dépense Dépenses pour
l’exercice se
terminant le 31 octobre 2014
(a)
Dépenses pour
l’exercice se terminant
le 31 mars 2014
(b)
Écart
(a-b)
(en dollars)
Voyages – Fonctionnaires 302 856 469 693 (166 837)
Voyages – Non-fonctionnaires 6 997 4 790 2 207
Total des dépenses de voyages 309 853 473 483 (163 630)
       
Accueil 3 847 6 834 (2 987)
Frais de participation aux conférences 0 400 (400)
TOTAL 313 700 481 717 (168 017)

Écarts importants par rapport à l’exercice précédent

Les écarts sont principalement dus aux dépenses de 2014-2015 représentant seulement sept mois d’opération compte tenu du fait que les ressources du Conseil ont été transférées au SCDATA en date du 1er novembre 2014. L’information sur les dépenses de voyages, d’accueil et de conférences après le 1er novembre 2014 sera présentée dans le rapport sur les dépenses annuelles de voyages, d’accueil et de conférences du SCDATA.

Date de modification :