CIRB Newslink–Winter 2014

Printable version (PDF format)

Message from the Chairperson

Elizabeth MacPherson, Chairperson

As the year 2014 and my mandate as Chairperson of the Canada Industrial Relations Board come to an end, it is an opportune time to reflect on the Board’s achievements over the past year.

The greatest challenge for the Board this year was the creation of Administrative Tribunals Support Services Canada (ATSSC), a new department that will provide all of the staff support to eleven federal administrative tribunals, including the CIRB. The Board’s staff have worked diligently to assist in the timely implementation of the new organization, while ensuring that service to the Board’s labour and management constituency is maintained at its usual high level.

This year saw the completion of the integration of the Board’s new responsibilities for the Status of the Artist Act, and the initiation of a system to permit documents to be filed electronically. The Board continued to dispose of more applications than it received, thereby keeping the volume of active case files at historic lows. The average processing time for all files has been reduced to its lowest level ever, at 123 calendar days, with 90% of files being disposed of in less than one year from the date received.

The Board recently welcomed the appointment of two new Vice-Chairpersons, Allison Smith and Annie Berthiaume, who will take up their duties in January. I am confident that with the appointment of Ginette Brazeau as Chairperson of the CIRB, the Board is in the best possible hands going forward.

Please accept my gratitude for your support during my tenure as Chairperson and my very best wishes for a happy and healthy 2015.

Appointments to the Board

Ginette Brazeau, Chairperson

Ms. Ginette Brazeau–Chairperson
The Government announced the appointment of Ms. Ginette Brazeau as Chairperson of the Board for a five-year term, effective December 29, 2014. Ms. Brazeau has held the position of Executive Director and General Counsel of the Canada Industrial Relations Board since September 2012 and was first appointed as Executive Director and Senior Registrar of the CIRB in April 2008. In these capacities, Ms. Brazeau assisted the Chairperson of the Board in the exercise of her overall responsibilities for the administration of the Board and was responsible for case management, legal services and the regional operations of the Board.

Prior to joining the Board, Ms. Brazeau was the Senior Director of Strategic Policy and Legislative Reform with the federal Labour Department and also worked at the Federal Mediation and Conciliation Service as Director of Legislation, Research and Policy. In these capacities, she was responsible for advising senior management and the Minister of Labour on labour and employment program or legislative initiatives and on the administration of the Canada Labour Code. She started her career in the Public Service with Industry Canada serving in different positions related to corporate law policy and strategic planning.

Ms. Brazeau holds a Bachelor of Laws and a Bachelor of Social Sciences from the University of Ottawa and was called to the Bar of Ontario in 1996.

Ms. Allison Smith–Vice-Chairperson
On the recommendation of the Minister of Labour, the Governor in Council has appointed Ms. Allison Smith for a five-year term as a full-time Vice-Chairperson, effective January 5, 2015. Ms. Smith is a skilled labour and employment lawyer with a mix of private and public practice experience, and comes to the Board from Canada Post Corporation where she worked as Senior Legal Counsel since 2007. She is a member of the Law Society of Upper Canada.

Ms. Annie Geneviève Berthiaume–Vice-Chairperson
The Governor in Council also appointed Ms. Annie Geneviève Berthiaume to a five-year term as a full-time Vice-Chairperson, effective January 26, 2015. Ms. Berthiaume is an expert labour and employment lawyer with extensive experience in providing strategic advice and guidance to management. She is currently a partner with the Ottawa firm Bird Richard and has also practiced with Norton Rose Canada, Heenan Blaikie and Nelligan O’Brien Payne. She is a member of both the Law Society of Upper Canada and the Barreau du Québec.

Reappointment

Ms. Louise Fecteau–Vice-Chairperson
The Board is also pleased to inform you that the Governor in Council has reappointed Ms. Louise Fecteau as Vice-Chairperson for a three-year term ending on November 30, 2017.

Appointment of Two New Industrial Relations Officers

Jonathan Plamondon, Industrial Relations Officer

Jonathan Plamondon
Jonathan Plamondon has joined the Eastern Region office in Montréal, as an industrial relations officer. Jonathan served as the Chair of the organisation Force Jeunesse, and also worked as a labour relations advisor at Bombardier Aéronautique as well as a union representative with the Service Employees Union, Local 800. Jonathan completed a European Master in Labour Studies with high honours from the Université catholique de Louvain at Louvain-la-Neuve, in Belgium, and studied at the University of Warwick in England.

Daniel De Santis, Industrial Relations Officer

Daniel De Santis
Daniel De Santis has joined the Western Region office in Vancouver. He comes to the Board from Correctional Services Canada where he served five years as a labour relations specialist and human resources advisor in three different institutions. Prior to joining Correctional Services, he worked at the Department of Veterans Affairs in Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island, and the Canadian Revenue Agency in Surrey, British Columbia. Daniel is a graduate of Simon Fraser University where he studied Business Administration and Human Resources Management.

Both Jonathan and Daniel are enthusiastic at the prospect of assisting the CIRB clients in their efforts to maintain sound labour-management relations, and we are confident that they will succeed in their new challenge.

Mark Your Calendars for the 2015 National Industrial Relations Conference!

The CIRB is very pleased to be partnering with the Federal Mediation and Conciliation Service again to sponsor the 2015 National Industrial Relations Conference. This conference will be held on September 16 to 18, 2015, at the Château Cartier Hotel in Gatineau, and offers a unique opportunity for federally regulated employers and trade unions to participate in discussions regarding the critical issues affecting today’s workplaces and to address tomorrow’s challenges. Registration details will be made available in early 2015.

Date modified:

La UNE du CCRI – Hiver 2014

Version imprimable (format PDF)

Message de la présidente

Elizabeth MacPherson, Présidente

En cette fin d’année 2014 et alors que mon mandat à titre de présidente du Conseil canadien des relations industrielles tire à sa fin, le moment est bien choisi pour souligner les réalisations du Conseil au cours de la dernière année.

Le plus important défi auquel a fait face le Conseil cette année a été la création du Service canadien d’appui aux tribunaux administratifs (SCDATA), un nouveau ministère chargé de fournir des services d’appui à onze tribunaux administratifs fédéraux, y compris le CCRI. Le personnel du Conseil a travaillé de façon assidue pour faciliter la mise en oeuvre en temps opportun de la nouvelle organisation, tout en veillant à ce que les services de haute qualité offerts à la clientèle patronale-syndicale du Conseil soient maintenus.

De plus cette année, le Conseil a parachevé l’intégration des nouvelles responsabilités qui lui ont été conférées aux termes de la Loi sur le statut de l’artiste et a mis en oeuvre un nouveau système permettant le dépôt de documents par voie électronique. Le Conseil a continué de trancher plus de demandes qu’il n’en a reçues, ce qui a eu pour effet de maintenir le volume de dossiers actifs à un niveau encore jamais atteint. Le délai moyen de traitement de toutes les affaires s’est établi à 123 jours civils, son plus bas niveau jamais enregistré, et 90 % des affaires reçues ont été tranchées en moins de un an suivant leur réception.

Enfin, le Conseil a accueilli la récente nomination de deux nouvelles vice-présidentes, soit Mes Allison Smith et Annie Berthiaume, et celles-ci entreront en fonction en janvier. Je suis convaincue qu’avec la nomination de Ginette Brazeau comme présidente du CCRI, le Conseil sera entre de très bonnes mains dans les années à venir.

Je vous prie d’accepter mes remerciements pour votre appui tout au long de mon mandat à titre de présidente. Je vous souhaite bonheur et santé pour l’année 2015.

Nominations au Conseil

Ginette Brazeau, Présidente

Me Ginette Brazeau – Présidente
Le gouvernment a annoncé la nomination de Me Ginette Brazeau à titre de présidente du CCRI pour un mandat de cinq ans. Elle entrera en fonction le 29 décembre 2014. Me Brazeau a occupé le poste de directeur exécutif et avocat général du Conseil canadien des relations industrielles depuis septembre 2012 et a été nommée au CCRI comme directeur exécutif et greffier principal en avril 2008. À ce titre, Me Brazeau apportait le soutien nécessaire à la présidente du Conseil dans l’exercice de ses responsabilités de gestion et d’administration du Conseil. Me Brazeau dirigeait la gestion des affaires, les services juridiques ainsi que les opérations régionales du Conseil.

Avant de se joindre au CCRI, Me Brazeau était directeur principal de la Politique stratégique et réforme législative au ministère du Travail fédéral et a travaillé au Service fédéral de médiation et de conciliation à titre de directeur de la législation, de la recherche et des politiques. Elle était donc responsable de conseiller la haute gestion et le ministre du Travail sur les initiatives en matière de travail et d’emploi et sur l’administration du Code canadien du travail. Elle a débuté sa carrière au sein de la fonction publique au ministère d’Industrie Canada où elle a occupé différents postes d’agent de politiques de droit corporatif et de planification stratégique.

Me Brazeau détient un baccalauréat en droit et un baccalauréat en sciences sociales de l’Université d’Ottawa et a été reçue au barreau de l’Ontario en 1996.

Me Allison Smith – Vice-présidente
Sur recommandation de la ministre du Travail, le gouverneur en conseil a nommé Me Allison Smith pour un mandat de cinq ans à titre de vice-présidente à temps plein. Elle entrera en fonction à compter du 5 janvier 2015. Me Smith est avocate qualifiée en droit du travail et de l’emploi et possède de l’expérience dans les secteurs privé et public. Me Smith travaillait à titre de conseillère juridique principale à la Société canadienne des postes depuis 2007. Elle est membre du Barreau du Haut-Canada.

Me Annie Geneviève Berthiaume – Vice-présidente
Le gouverneur en conseil a aussi nommé Me Annie Geneviève Berthiaume pour un mandat de cinq ans à titre de vice-présidente à temps plein. Elle entrera en fonction à compter du 26 janvier 2015. Me Berthiaume est une avocate spécialisée en droit du travail et de l’emploi et possède une vaste expérience de la prestation d’avis et de conseils stratégiques à des gestionnaires. Elle est actuellement une associée du cabinet Bird Richard à Ottawa et a aussi pratiqué au sein des cabinets Norton Rose Canada, Heenan Blaikie et Nelligan O’Brien Payne. Elle est membre du Barreau du Québec et du Barreau du Haut-Canada.

Reconduction de mandat

Me Louise Fecteau – Vice-présidente
Le Conseil est également fier de vous informer que le gouverneur en conseil a reconduit le mandat de Me Louise Fecteau à titre de vice-présidente pour un mandat de trois ans venant à échéance le 30 novembre 2017.

Nomination de deux nouveaux agents des relations industrielles

Jonathan Plamondon, Agent des relations industrielles

Jonathan Plamondon
Jonathan Plamondon s’est joint au bureau de la région de l’Est à Montréal, à titre d’agent des relations industrielles. Jonathan a notamment occupé le poste de président de l’organisme Force Jeunesse, ainsi que le poste de conseiller en relations du travail chez Bombardier Aéronautique et celui de représentant syndical pour l’Union des employés et employées de service, section locale 800. Jonathan a également complété, avec haute distinction, une maîtrise européenne en sciences du travail à l’Université catholique de Louvain à Louvain-la-Neuve, en Belgique, et a étudié à l’Université de Warwick en Angleterre.

Daniel De Santis, Agent des relations industrielles

Daniel De Santis
Daniel De Santis s’est joint au bureau de la région de l’Ouest à Vancouver. Il nous vient de Service correctionnel Canada, où il a exercé pendant cinq ans les fonctions de spécialiste en relations du travail et de conseiller en ressources humaines au sein de trois institutions différentes. Avant de se joindre au Service correctionnel, il a travaillé au ministère des Anciens Combattants à Charlottetown (Île-du-Prince-Édouard) et au bureau de l’Agence du revenu du Canada à Surrey (Colombie-Britannique). Daniel est diplômé de l’Université Simon Fraser où il a étudié l’administration des affaires et la gestion des ressources humaines.

Jonathan et Daniel sont très enthousiastes à l’idée d’aider à favoriser le maintien de saines relations du travail chez la clientèle du CCRI, et nous n’avons aucun doute qu’ils sauront relever les défis qui les attendent.

Inscrivez à votre agenda la date de la Conférence nationale sur les relations du travail de 2015!

Le CCRI est heureux de s’associer une fois de plus au Service fédéral de médiation et de conciliation pour organiser la Conférence nationale sur les relations du travail de 2015. Cette conférence aura lieu du 16 au 18 septembre 2015 à l’hôtel Château Cartier, à Gatineau. Il s’agit d’une occasion unique pour les employeurs et les syndicats relevant de la compétence fédérale de participer à des discussions sur les questions cruciales ayant une incidence sur les milieux de travail d’aujourd’hui et de se pencher sur les défis de demain. De plus amples détails concernant l’inscription seront disponibles au début de l’année 2015.

Date de modification :