CIRB Newslink–Winter 2013

Printable version (PDF format)

Message from the Chairperson

As the end of the year approaches, I wish to take this opportunity to share with the community some information related to the Board’s performance results of the last year. I continue to be very proud of the work being done by all of the Board’s staff, members and vice-chairs. Although the number of incoming matters has decreased over the past year, the Board has continued to dispose of more matters than it receives and as a result, the number of pending matters is now well below 300. This year, we have seen a slight increase in the Board’s average processing time when compared to last year however, it remains well below the level it was at just five years ago when the average processing time was at 312 days. You will find more detailed performance information elsewhere in this issue of the CIRB Newslink.

Also this year, we co-hosted the 2013 National Industrial Relations Conference with our colleagues from the Federal Mediation and Conciliation Service. I was pleased to see a large participation from the labour relations community at the Conference and all-round excellent discussions and debate about the issues and challenges of the day. The success of the conference is truly a reflection of the vibrant labour relations environment in the federal jurisdiction and it is clear to me that there remains a critical need for such fora, where representatives of employers and unions develop and solidify relationships that ultimately result in more productive and harmonious workplaces. Planning has already begun for the 2015 Conference and I trust that members of our community will continue to support and participate in this very important initiative.

Finally, I indicated in our last issue of the NewsLink that the CIRB had conducted a review of the procedural regulations under the Status of the Artist Act and was engaged in consultations with the artistic community to obtain their views on proposed amendments to those regulations. I am pleased to report that the consultations are now completed and that we are in the process of drafting the amendments, taking into consideration the comments received during our consultation meetings with the community. It is our hope to have the new regulations in place by April 2014.

Please accept my very best wishes for a safe holiday season and a happy and healthy 2014.

Elizabeth MacPherson

Client Satisfaction Survey

The Board will be conducting a survey of labour and management representatives, counsel and individuals that had active matters before the Board over the last two years.

The Board has retained the services of the polling firm EKOS to assist it with the development and conduct of the survey. It is expected that the field survey will begin in February 2014.

We hope that you will participate in the survey and provide the Board with honest and helpful feedback on how to improve its services and approach to case management.

CIRB Performance

During the last fiscal year, there was a 19% decline in the volume of matters filed with the Board. This represents not only a decrease from the number of applications filed in the previous fiscal year, but also the lowest number of applications filed in the past five years. The Board continues to dispose of more matters than it receives, thereby lowering the number of pending matters to historic lows.

Chart 1-Volume of Matters

text version

Chart 2-Matters awaiting determination

text version

A quick glance at the types of matters filed before the Board in 2012–13 shows that certification applications and applications for reconsideration have decreased by almost half when compared to the previous year. However, the number of duty of fair representation complaints has largely remained constant and now represents a higher proportion of the Board’s overall workload.

Applications/Complaints Received 2012–13

text version

The decline in workload has presented an opportunity for the Board to further improve its average processing time, reducing it to 168 days in 2012–13 from 221 days in the previous fiscal year. However, in the current year, we see a slight increase in the average processing time, something the Board will monitor closely for the remainder of the year. Additionally, this past year proved to be the best since the 2009–10 fiscal years for resolving matters within a one-year period, with 89% of all matters received being processed within one year of receipt.

Recent CIRB Cases–Summary Notes

Ford, 2013 CIRB 682
Section 110–Obligation of Trade Union to Provide Financial Statements–Scope of Obligation

In considering a complaint by a union member alleging a violation of section 110 of the Code, the Board found that a full forensic accounting is not a “financial statement” within the meaning of section 110 of the Code, and was thus beyond the scope of a trade union’s obligation.

This decision dealt with a complaint brought by a member of the International Longshore and Warehouse Union, Local 502, alleging that his union had failed to comply with his request for a copy of the trade union’s financial statements, in violation of section 110 of the Code. Specifically, the complainant asked the union to produce, among many other documents, “the full forensic accounting from 2009 to date, as per section 110 of the Canada Labour Code.”

These types of complaints are somewhat unusual and infrequent. Interestingly, the Board found that, in this case, the complainant had ulterior motives for bringing the complaint and was using the Board’s process as a means of obtaining production of the full forensic accounting for purposes of the civil litigation ongoing between the complainant and the union.

The Board confirmed that a financial statement is simply a statement of the net assets and a summary of income and expenses of an operating entity. It must be sufficiently detailed to disclose accurately the financial condition and operations of the organization. One prepared by a reputable accounting firm would satisfy the minimum requirements of the Code. The Board went on to find, however, that the full forensic accounting requested by the complainant went far beyond the type of financial statement that the Code requires the union to provide and that the union was not obliged to produce it. Any further financial information in the way of supporting details or justifications of expenditures are matters that may be dealt with internally through the union’s constitution or by-laws. The Board further confirmed that the obligation is limited to providing a financial statement for the most recent fiscal year, and not for any prior years.

Having found that the union had provided the complainant with a copy of an audited financial statement for the 2012 fiscal year, the Board found no violation of section 110 of the Code and dismissed the complaint.

Canada Post Corporation, 2013 CIRB 690
Constitutional Jurisdiction–Postal Outlets in Drug Store

The Board found that it did not have constitutional jurisdiction to rule on an application for certification of a group of employees working in postal outlets of drug store franchises of Pharmaprix.

In this decision, the Board had before it five applications for certification filed by the Canadian Union of Postal Workers (the union) covering the employees working at postal outlets of 28 drug store franchises (the franchisees) of Pharmaprix.

The union alleged that the Canada Post Corporation (the CPC) was the true employer of the employees affected by these applications or, alternatively, that the CPC, Pharmaprix and the franchisees (the respondents) constituted a single employer pursuant to section 35 of the Code. The respondents presented many preliminary objections, including the issue of the Board’s constitutional jurisdiction.

The Board ruled that it could not determine the issue of constitutional jurisdiction without identifying the true employer of the postal outlet employees covered by the certification applications. In the Board’s view, the two issues were closely related and had to be considered together. In view of the significance of the evidence to be adduced regarding the issue of the true employer in the five files, the Board decided that it would begin by hearing the evidence in only one of the five certification files. The other four files were accordingly placed in abeyance.

The Board first found that the operations of the franchisees’ postal outlets in the five certification files were an integral part of the operation of the CPC’s national network, therefore within federal jurisdiction, and that the postal outlets’ operations, when isolated, could be subject to derivative federal jurisdiction.

The Board then conducted a review of the true employer, in one of the five files, in order to determine the “going concern” to be considered from a constitutional perspective. The Board found that the franchisees were the true employers of the postal outlet employees in this file.

In light of the principles established by the SCC in Tessier Ltée v. Quebec (Commission de la santé et de la sécurité du travail), 2012 SCC 23, and after having considered the essential operational nature of the drug store franchises, the Board found that it did not have constitutional jurisdiction to rule on the application for certification in this file. In fact, the federal operations carried out in the franchisees’ postal outlets represented but a small portion of their normal and habitual activities, which are those of a drug store and a retail business under provincial jurisdiction. Furthermore, the postal outlet operations were not severable from the other franchisees’ local operations, and the employees who performed those federal operations did not form a discrete unit that can be constitutionally characterized.

The Board dismissed the union’s application for certification in the lead file, and asked the union to send additional written submissions concerning the alternative application for a single employer declaration. The Board also asked that the union advise it as to whether or not it planned to provide any different evidence in regard to the other four certification files, which had been held in abeyance.

A judicial review of this decision is presently before the Federal Court of Appeal.

Comings and Goings

The Board regrets to announce that John Bowman’s term as a union-side representative member has ended. John was first appointed to the Board in November 2007 and his term was renewed for a second three-year mandate in 2010. John will complete his duties in respect of those proceedings that are continuing and to which he was assigned as a member. Board members and staff would like to extend their best wishes to Mr. Bowman in his future endeavours.

Date modified:

La UNE du CCRI – Hiver 2013

Version imprimable (format PDF)

Message de la présidente

Comme l’année tire à sa fin, j’aimerais prendre l’occasion de partager avec la communauté quelques renseignements au sujet des résultats liés au rendement que le Conseil a atteints dans la dernière année. Je suis encore une fois très fière du travail accompli par l’ensemble du personnel, des membres et des vice-présidents du Conseil. Bien que le nombre d’affaires reçues ait diminué au cours de la dernière année, le Conseil a continué de trancher plus d’affaires qu’il n’en a reçues. Par conséquent, le nombre d’affaires en instance est maintenant bien en deçà de 300. Le délai moyen de traitement des affaires du Conseil a augmenté légèrement cette année par rapport à l’an dernier, mais ce délai demeure bien inférieur à celui rapporté il y a cinq ans, alors que le délai moyen de traitement des affaires était de 312 jours. Vous trouverez de plus amples renseignements sur le rendement plus loin dans la présente édition de La UNE du CCRI.

De plus, cette année, le Conseil s’est associé au Service fédéral de médiation et de conciliation pour organiser la Conférence nationale sur les relations industrielles de 2013. J’ai été ravie de voir le nombre élevé de membres du milieu des relations du travail qui ont participé à la conférence ainsi que les excellents débats qui y ont eu lieu sur les questions et les problèmes de l’heure. Le succès de la conférence témoigne bien du dynamisme du milieu des relations du travail dans le secteur fédéral, et il est évident que de tels lieux de rencontre sont nécessaires pour permettre aux représentants patronaux et syndicaux d’établir des relations et de les solidifier afin de favoriser des milieux de travail plus productifs et harmonieux. La planification en vue de la conférence de 2015 a déjà commencé, et j’ai confiance que les membres de notre communauté continueront d’appuyer cette initiative importante et d’y participer.

Enfin, dans notre édition précédente de La UNE, j’ai mentionné que le CCRI avait effectué un examen du règlement sur les procédures se rapportant à la Loi sur le statut de l’artiste et qu’il avait entrepris des séances de consultation auprès de la communauté artistique pour obtenir des commentaires sur les modifications proposées à ce règlement. J’ai le plaisir de vous annoncer que nous avons maintenant terminé les séances de consultation et que nous sommes en train de rédiger les modifications, en tenant compte des commentaires reçus lors des séances de consultation auprès de la communauté. Nous espérons que le nouveau règlement entre en vigueur d’ici avril 2014.

Je tiens à vous souhaiter un très joyeux temps des Fêtes et à vous offrir mes meilleurs voeux pour l’année 2014.

Elizabeth MacPherson

Sondage sur la satisfaction de la clientèle

Le Conseil effectuera un sondage auprès des représentants patronaux et syndicaux, des avocats et des particuliers qui étaient parties à des affaires en instance devant le Conseil au cours des deux dernières années.

Le Conseil a retenu les services de la maison de sondage EKOS pour l’aider à élaborer et à mener le sondage. On prévoit entreprendre le sondage sur le terrain en février 2014.

Nous espérons que vous participerez au sondage et fournirez au Conseil une rétroaction honnête et utile sur la façon dont il pourrait améliorer ses services et son approche de la gestion des affaires.

Rendement du CCRI

Au cours du dernier exercice financier, le nombre d’affaires présentées au Conseil a diminué de 19 %. Cette diminution correspond non seulement à une baisse par rapport au nombre de demandes présentées au cours de l’exercice précédent, mais aussi au nombre le moins élevé de demandes présentées au cours des cinq derniers exercices. Le nombre d’affaires tranchées par le Conseil continue de dépasser le nombre d’affaires qu’il reçoit, ce qui a pour effet de diminuer le nombre d’affaires en instance à un niveau encore jamais atteint.

Graphique 1 – Volume d'affaires

version textuelle

Graphique 2 – Affaires en attente d'une décision

version textuelle

Un survol rapide des types d’affaires présentées au Conseil au cours de 2012-2013 permet de constater que les demandes d’accréditation et les demandes de réexamen ont diminué de près de la moitié par rapport à l’exercice précédent. Cependant, le nombre de plaintes de manquement au devoir de représentation juste est essentiellement demeuré le même et constitue maintenant une plus grande proportion de la charge de travail globale du Conseil.

Demandes/plaintes reçues 2012-2013

version textuelle

Le Conseil a profité de l’occasion pour réduire davantage son délai moyen de traitement, qui s’est établi à 168 jours en 2012-2013 par rapport à 221 jours lors de l’exercice précédent. Cependant, on peut constater une légère augmentation du délai moyen de traitement pour l’exercice en cours, un aspect que le Conseil surveillera de près d’ici la fin de l’exercice. En outre, 2012-2013 s’est révélé le meilleur exercice depuis 2009-2010 en ce qui concerne le règlement d’affaires à l’intérieur d’une période d’un an, 89 % de toutes les affaires reçues ayant été traitées en moins d’un an suivant leur réception.

Résumés des décisions récentes du CCRI

Ford, 2013 CCRI 682
Article 110 – Obligation de la part des syndicats de fournir leurs états financiers – Portée de l’obligation

Dans le cadre de l’étude d’une plainte déposée par un membre du syndicat alléguant violation de l’article 110 du Code, le Conseil a conclu qu’une expertise comptable judiciaire complète n’est pas un « état financier » au sens de l’article 110 du Code, et qu’elle dépassait donc la portée de l’obligation du syndicat.

La présente décision portait sur une plainte déposée par un membre de l’International Longshore and Warehouse Union, section locale 502, dans laquelle il alléguait que son syndicat avait enfreint l’article 110 du Code en ne répondant pas à la demande qu’il lui avait présentée pour obtenir une copie de ses états financiers. Plus précisément, le plaignant demandait au syndicat de lui fournir, entre autres choses, « une expertise comptable judiciaire complète de 2009 à aujourd’hui, conformément à l’article 110 du Code canadien du travail ».

Ce type de plaintes est assez inhabituel et rare. Fait intéressant, en l’espèce, le Conseil a conclu que le plaignant avait déposé sa plainte pour des motifs inavoués et s’était servi d’un processus du Conseil comme moyen pour obtenir une copie de l’expertise comptable judiciaire complète aux fins du procès au civil dans lequel lui et le syndicat étaient engagés.

Le Conseil a confirmé qu’un état financier est tout simplement un relevé des actifs nets et un résumé des recettes et des dépenses d’une entité opérationnelle. Cet état financier doit être suffisamment détaillé pour donner une image juste et fidèle de l’état des finances et des opérations financières de l’organisation. Un tel document, s’il est préparé par un cabinet d’experts-comptables réputé, répondrait bien aux exigences minimales du Code. Le Conseil a ensuite conclu, toutefois, que l’expertise comptable judiciaire complète que le plaignant demandait allait beaucoup plus loin que le type d’état financier que le syndicat est tenu de produire en vertu du Code et que le syndicat n’était pas tenu de le fournir. Tous les autres renseignements financiers, comme les détails ou les justifications des dépenses, sont des questions qui peuvent être régies de manière interne par les statuts ou les règlements du syndicat. Le Conseil a en outre confirmé que l’obligation se limite à fournir les états financiers du dernier exercice, et non des exercices précédents.

Ayant conclu que le syndicat avait fourni au plaignant une copie des états financiers audités de l’exercice 2012, le Conseil n’a constaté aucune violation de l’article 110 du Code, et il a rejeté la plainte.

Société canadienne des postes, 2013 CCRI 690
Compétence constitutionnelle – Comptoirs postaux dans des pharmacies

Le Conseil a conclu qu’il n’avait pas la compétence constitutionnelle pour statuer sur une demande d’accréditation visant un groupe d’employés qui travaillent aux comptoirs postaux des pharmacies franchisées de Pharmaprix.

Dans cette décision, le Conseil était saisi de cinq demandes d’accréditation présentées par le Syndicat des travailleurs et travailleuses des postes (le syndicat) visant des employés qui travaillent aux comptoirs postaux de 28 pharmacies franchisées (les franchisés) de Pharmaprix.

Le syndicat alléguait que la Société canadienne des postes (la SCP) était le véritable employeur des employés visés par les demandes en question ou, subsidiairement, que la SCP, Pharmaprix et les franchisés (les intimés) constituaient un employeur unique au sens de l’article 35 du Code. Les intimés ont soulevé plusieurs objections préliminaires dont la question de la compétence constitutionnelle du Conseil.

Le Conseil a déterminé qu’il ne pouvait trancher la question de la compétence constitutionnelle sans identifier le véritable employeur des employés travaillant aux comptoirs postaux visés pas les demandes d’accréditation. Le Conseil était d’avis que ces deux questions étaient intimement liées et nécessitaient d’être étudiées conjointement. En raison de l’importance de la preuve à être administrée sur la question du véritable employeur dans les cinq dossiers, le Conseil a déterminé qu’il entendrait la preuve sur cette question seulement dans l’un des cinq dossiers d’accréditation. Les quatre autres dossiers ont donc été mis en suspens.

Le Conseil a d’abord déterminé que les activités exercées aux comptoirs postaux des franchisés dans les cinq dossiers d’accréditation faisaient partie intégrante du fonctionnement du réseau national de la SCP, donc de compétence fédérale, et que les activités des comptoirs postaux, lorsqu’isolées, pourraient être assujetties à la compétence fédérale dérivée.

Le Conseil a ensuite procédé à l’examen du véritable employeur dans l’un des cinq dossiers pour déterminer « l’entreprise active » à analyser sur le plan constitutionnel. Le Conseil a déterminé que les pharmacies franchisées étaient les véritables employeurs des employés affectés aux comptoirs postaux en question dans ce dossier.

En tenant compte des critères établis par la CSC dans l’arrêt Tessier Ltée c. Québec (Commission de la santé et de la sécurité du travail), 2012 CSC 23, et après examen de la nature fonctionnelle essentielle des pharmacies franchisées, le Conseil a conclu qu’il n’avait pas la compétence constitutionnelle pour statuer sur la demande d’accréditation dans le dossier en question. En effet, les activités fédérales exercées aux comptoirs postaux des franchisés ne représentaient qu’une infime portion des activités normales et habituelles des franchisés, qui sont celles d’une pharmacie et d’un commerce de détail assujettis à la compétence provinciale. De plus, les activités aux comptoirs postaux étaient indivisibles des autres activités locales des franchisés et les employés qui travaillaient aux comptoirs postaux ne formaient pas une unité de travail distincte sur le plan constitutionnel.

Le Conseil a rejeté la demande d’accréditation présentée par le syndicat dans le dossier type et a invité le syndicat à lui transmettre des arguments écrits complémentaires à faire valoir sur la demande subsidiaire de déclaration d’employeur unique. Le Conseil a également invité le syndicat à lui indiquer s’il entendait fournir une preuve différente relativement aux quatre autres dossiers d’accréditation qui avaient été mis en suspens.

Une demande de contrôle judiciaire de cette décision a été présentée à la Cour d’appel fédérale.

Les allées et venues

C’est avec regret que le Conseil annonce que le mandat de M. John Bowman à titre de membre représentant les employés a pris fin. John a été nommé au Conseil en novembre 2007 et son mandat a été reconduit pour une autre période de trois ans en 2010. John s’acquittera de ses fonctions en ce qui concerne les affaires encore en cours et pour lesquelles il a siégé à titre de membre. Les membres et le personnel du Conseil lui souhaitent le meilleur succès possible dans ses projets futurs.

Date de modification :