Quarterly Financial Report for the Quarter Ended September 30, 2013

Management Statement for the Quarter Ended September 30, 2013

Introduction

The Canada Industrial Relations Board (the CIRB or the Board) is an independent, representational, quasi-judicial tribunal responsible for the interpretation and application of Part I (Industrial Relations) and certain provisions of Part II (Occupational Health and Safety) of the Canada Labour Code (the Code), as well as Part II of the Status of the Artist Act. The Board was established in January 1999 through amendments to Part I of the Code. The mandate of the Board is to contribute to and promote effective industrial relations in the federally regulated private sector.

Further information on the mandate, role, responsibilities and programs of the Board can be found in the Board 2013–14 Main Estimates, available on the following Website:
http://www.tbs-sct.gc.ca/ems-sgd/esp-pbc/me-bpd-eng.asp.

This quarterly financial report should be read in conjunction with the 2013–14 Main Estimates as well as with Canada’s Economic Action Plan 2012 (Budget 2012). It has been prepared by management as required by section 65.1 of the Financial Administration Act and in the form and manner prescribed by the Treasury Board. It has not been audited or reviewed externally.

As part of the Parliamentary business of supply, the Main Estimates must be tabled in Parliament on or before March 1, preceding the new fiscal year. Budget 2012 was tabled in Parliament on March 29, after the tabling of the Main Estimates on February 28, 2012.  As a result the measures announced in Budget 2012 could not be reflected in the 2012–13 Main Estimates.

In fiscal year 2012–13, frozen allotments were established by Treasury Board authority in departmental votes to prohibit the spending of funds already identified as savings measures in Budget 2012.  In 2013–14, the changes to departmental authorities were reflected in the 2013–14 Main Estimates tabled in Parliament.

Basis of Presentation

This quarterly report has been prepared by management using an expenditure basis of accounting. The accompanying Statement of Authorities includes the Board’s spending authorities granted by Parliament and those used by the CIRB, consistent with the Main Estimates for the 2013–14 fiscal year. This quarterly report has been prepared using a special purpose financial reporting framework designed to meet financial information needs with respect to the use of spending authorities.

The authority of Parliament is required before moneys can be spent by the government. Approvals are given in the form of annually approved limits through appropriation acts or through legislation in the form of statutory spending authority for specific purposes.

When Parliament is dissolved for the purposes of a general election, section 30 of the Financial Administration Act authorizes the Governor General, under certain conditions, to issue a special warrant authorizing the government to withdraw funds from the Consolidated Revenue Fund. A special warrant is deemed to be an appropriation for the fiscal year in which it is issued.

The Board uses the full accrual method of accounting to prepare and present its annual departmental financial statements that are part of the departmental performance reporting process. However, the spending authorities voted by Parliament continue to be reported on an expenditure basis.

Highlights of Fiscal Quarter and Fiscal Year to Date (YTD) Results

The Board defines a significant variance as a variance of greater than $100,000 that also represents a variance of more than 5% over the previous year’s actual expenditures.

Significant Changes to Statement of Authorities

The Board’s voted authorities as of September 30, 2013, show a significant variance in voted appropriation compared to the quarter ending September 30, 2012. This variance is due to a permanent transfer of $300,000 for the administration of the Status of the Artist Act and a transition allowance of $200,000 for the year 2013–14.

Significant Changes to Budgetary Expenditures

Based on the Board’s definition, two variances are observed in the Board’s expenditures.

There is an increase in quarterly salary expenditures caused by the settlement in 2013–14 of several collective agreements resulting in retroactive payments as well as earlier than last year payment to part-time Governor-in-Council Appointees.

There is an increase in other subsidies and payment expenditures related to the CIRB’s first payment towards its share of an initiative led by Treasury Board Secretariat and Public Works and Government Services Canada for the procurement of a common case management system.

Risks and Uncertainties

The CIRB is a low risk agency. Approximately four fifths (82%) of the Board’s $13.6 million operating budget is allocated to salaries and benefits. The remaining $2.5 million is Operations and Maintenance (O&M) funding of which 57% is expended on travel and professional services largely related to the hearing and determination of cases. The Board adheres to Treasury Board policies for the expenditure of its budget and an audit conducted by the Office of the Comptroller General in the Spring of 2011 has confirmed that the Board’s core controls over financial management are effective and executed in compliance with TBS policies and directives.

The CIRB, like all the other government departments and agencies, is subject to a salary budget freeze until 2013–14 and will not receive supplementary transfers to cover salary increases prescribed by collective agreements and Treasury Board policies. As a result, the Board has to absorb an annual increase in salary expenditures of approximately 1.5% for three consecutive fiscal years. The CIRB is managing this budgetary pressure by finding internal efficiencies through reorganization of work in its corporate services. These efforts will be sufficient to allow the CIRB to continue to operate with its current budget until 2013–14.

Operating Environment

The Board has an ongoing planning challenge in that the CIRB’s sole function is to respond to the matters referred to it by unions, employers, employees and the Minister of Labour. As such, the CIRB’s operational activities are driven by external demands that it can only react to rather than plan for.

The state of the economy can affect the nature of the demand for Board services. A significant increase in the incoming number of complex matters would severely affect the Board’s ability to meet its strategic outcomes.

Processing Time

The Board’s largest operational risk is associated with the number of applications and complaints it receives in a given year, which affect its ability to continue to remain effective and efficient. To mitigate this risk, priority is given to the processing and consideration of matters in which it appears that delay will pose a significant potential for adverse industrial relations consequences, or where other identifiable factors require a matter to be given priority. The CIRB has made amendments to its Regulations to ensure effective and efficient handling of applications and complaints.  It will also continue to monitor and fine-tune the processing of applications and it is expected that these mitigating strategies will further reduce the time it takes to process matters. 

Corporate Management

The Board, like other small departments and micro-agencies, continually faces pressure to respond to, or implement various government-wide corporate management initiatives. However, the CIRB’s limited resources are first and foremost dedicated to its core mandate of delivering fair and timely dispute resolution services to its client community. It is often a challenge to build and retain specialized skills and knowledge in areas that are not central to the Board’s mandate but critical to meeting the expectations of central agencies in various areas of corporate services.

The CIRB continues to seek horizontal opportunities and interdepartmental partnerships in order to achieve efficiencies and ensure it delivers on its mandate on a fiscally sound and sustainable basis. The CIRB also participates in the TBS-led initiatives aimed at identifying and contracting for a common case management system. The CIRB believes this approach builds on synergies between similar organizations and mitigates the pressures associated with an aging system and its costly renewal.

Significant Changes in Relation to Operations, Personnel and Programs

Since April 1, 2013, the CIRB has been responsible for the administration and interpretation of Part II of the Status of the Artist Act (the Act). Given the broadening of its mandate, the CIRB must develop a capacity and an in-house expertise to be able to serve its new clients. With this in mind, the CIRB is currently formulating proposals to modify the Canadian Artists and Producers Professional Relations Tribunal Procedural Regulations to ensure better alignment of the policies, procedures and practices under the Act with the CIRB’s current practices, while taking into account the unique circumstances of the cultural sector. Consultations with stakeholders are now under way to receive their input.   

Budget 2012 Implementation

This section provides an overview of the savings measures announced in Budget 2012 that will be implemented in order to refocus government and programs; make it easier for Canadians and businesses to deal with their government; and modernize and reduce the back office.

In Budget 2012, the CIRB was assigned the responsibility for the administration and interpretation of Part II of the Act. These duties and responsibilities were previously performed by the Canadian Artists and Producers Professional Relations Tribunal (CAPPRT). The CIRB implemented this transition one year earlier than planned, which resulted in recurring savings for the government of more than $1.5 million per year.

Approval by Senior Officials

The original version was signed by

Elizabeth MacPherson, Chairperson

Ginette Brazeau, Chief Financial Officer

Ottawa, Canada
November 29, 2013

Statement of Authorities (unaudited)

Fiscal year 2013-14 (in dollars)
Total available for use for the year ending Expended during the quarter ended Year to date used at quarter-end
March 31, 2014 * September 30, 2013
Vote 10 - Net operating expenditures 11,902,379 2,796,456 5,707,758
Statutory authorities - Employee Benefit Plans 1,637,433 409,358 818,717
Total authorities 13,539,812 3,205,814 6,526,475


Fiscal year 2012-13 (in dollars)
Total available for use for the year ending Expended during the quarter ended Year to date used at quarter-end
March 31, 2013 * September 30, 2012
Vote 10 - Net operating expenditures 11,987,675 2,707,862 5,138,953
Statutory authorities - Employee Benefit Plans 1,569,617 392,404 784,809
Total authorities 13,557,292 3,100,267 5,923,762

* Includes only Authorities available for use and granted by Parliament at quarter-end.

Statement of Expenditures by Standard Object (unaudited)

Fiscal year 2013-14 (in dollars)
Expenditures Planned expenditures for the year ending Expended during the quarter ended Year to date used at quarter-end
March 31, 2014* September 30, 2013
Personnel 11,047,965 2,774,680 5,393,036
Transportation and communications 765,693 189,891 351,754
Information 13,459 4,587 12,014
Professional and special services 649,931 163,247 253,620
Rentals 129,836 30,802 113,368
Repair and maintenance 96,674 5,592 17,981
Utilities, materials and supplies 146,406 36,166 67,229
Acquisition of machinery and equipment 651,442 11,411 44,314
Other subsidies and payments 38,406 (10,560) 273,160
Total net budgetary expenditures 13,539,812 3,205,814 6,526,475


Fiscal year 2012-13 (in dollars)
Expenditures Planned expenditures for the year ending Expended during the quarter ended Year to date used at quarter-end
March 31, 2013* September 30, 2012
Personnel 10,487,986 2,549,988 5,042,453
Transportation and communications 1,298,196 199,050 335,049
Information 26,254 4,079 16,815
Professional and special services 1,067,505 187,965 289,524
Rentals 200,464 51,558 63,315
Repair and maintenance 139,342 11,226 41,778
Utilities, materials and supplies 215,456 37,931 57,051
Acquisition of machinery and equipment 49,788 4,793 18,500
Other subsidies and payments 72,391 53,677 59,277
Total net budgetary expenditures 13,557,292 3,100,267 5,923,762

* Includes only Authorities available for use and granted by Parliament at quarter-end.

Date modified:

Rapport financier trimestriel pour le trimestre terminé le 30 septembre 2013

Déclaration de la direction pour le trimestre terminé le 30 septembre 2013

Introduction

Le Conseil canadien des relations industrielles (le CCRI ou le Conseil) est un tribunal quasi judiciaire, indépendant et représentatif responsable de l’interprétation et de l’application de la partie I (Relations du travail) et de certaines dispositions de la partie II (Santé et sécurité au travail) du Code canadien du travail (le Code), de même que de la partie II de la Loi sur le statut de l’artiste. Le Conseil a été établi en janvier 1999 dans le cadre du remaniement de la partie I du Code. Le Conseil a pour mandat de favoriser l’établissement et le maintien de relations du travail efficaces dans le secteur privé relevant de la compétence fédérale.

Plus de renseignements sur le mandat, le rôle, les responsabilités et les programmes du Conseil se trouvent dans le Budget principal des dépenses de 2013-2014, disponible sur le site Web suivant : http://www.tbs-sct.gc.ca/ems-sgd/esp-pbc/me-bpd-fra.asp.

Le présent rapport financier trimestriel devrait être lu de concert avec le Budget principal des dépenses de 2013-2014 de même qu’avec le Plan d’action économique 2012 du Canada (le budget de 2012). Il a été préparé par la direction tel qu’il est exigé par l’article 65.1 de la Loi sur la gestion des finances publiques et selon les modalités prescrites par le Conseil du Trésor. Le présent rapport n’a pas fait l’objet d’une vérification externe ou d’un examen.

Dans le cadre des travaux des subsides du Parlement, le Budget principal des dépenses doit être déposé au Parlement le ou avant le 1er mars, précédant le début du nouvel exercice. Le budget de 2012 a été déposé au Parlement le 29 mars, après le dépôt du Budget principal des dépenses le 28 février 2012. Par conséquent, les mesures annoncées dans le budget de 2012 ne figurent pas dans le Budget principal des dépenses 2012-2013.

Pour l’exercice 2012-2013, des affectations bloquées dans les crédits ministériels ont été établies par le Conseil du Trésor en vue d’empêcher que les fonds déjà réservés pour des mesures d’économies dans le Budget 2012 ne soient dépensés. En 2013-2014, les modifications aux autorisations ministérielles figuraient dans le Budget principal des dépenses de 2013-2014 déposé au Parlement.

Méthode de présentation du rapport

Ce rapport trimestriel a été préparé par la direction en utilisant une comptabilité axée sur les dépenses. L’état des autorisations joint à ce rapport inclut les autorisations de dépenser du Conseil accordées par le Parlement et utilisées par le CCRI, de manière cohérente avec le Budget principal des dépenses pour l’exercice 2013-2014. Ce rapport financier trimestriel a été préparé en utilisant un référentiel à usage particulier conçu pour répondre aux besoins d’information financière à l’égard de l’utilisation des autorisations de dépenser.

Le gouvernement ne peut dépenser sans l’autorisation préalable du Parlement. Les autorisations sont accordées par l’entremise de lois de crédits, sous forme de limites annuelles, ou par l’entremise de lois sous forme de pouvoirs législatifs de dépenser à des fins déterminées.

Lorsque le Parlement est dissous pour la tenue d’une élection générale, l’article 30 de la Loi sur la gestion des finances publiques autorise le gouverneur général, selon certaines conditions, à émettre un mandat spécial autorisant le gouvernement à retirer des fonds du Trésor. Un mandat spécial est considéré comme un crédit relatif à l’exercice au cours duquel il a été établi.

Le Conseil utilise la méthode de la comptabilité d’exercice intégrale pour la préparation de ses états financiers annuels qui font partie du processus de rapport sur le rendement ministériel. Toutefois, les autorisations de dépenser votées par le Parlement sont encore en fonction d’une comptabilité axée sur les dépenses.

Faits saillants des résultats financiers trimestriels et cumulatifs

Le Conseil définit un écart important comme un écart de plus de 100 000 $ qui représente également un écart de plus de 5 % par rapport aux dépenses de l’année précédente.

Changements importants quant aux autorisations

Les autorisations votées du Conseil au 30 septembre 2013 présentent un écart notable sur les crédits approuvés par rapport au trimestre terminé le 30 septembre 2012. Cet écart est lié à un transfert permanent de 300 000 $ pour l’administration de la  Loi sur le statut de l’artiste et à un montant transitoire de 200 000 $ pour l’année 2013-2014.

Changements importants quant aux dépenses budgétaires

Selon la définition du Conseil, deux écarts importants sont notés en ce qui concerne les dépenses budgétaires.

Il y a une augmentation dans les dépenses salariales trimestrielles attribuable au règlement en 2013-2014 de plusieurs conventions collectives donnant lieu à des versements rétroactifs ainsi qu’au versement plus tôt dans l’année des honoraires aux personnes nommées à temps partiel par le gouverneur en conseil.

Il y a une augmentation dans les dépenses liées aux autres subventions et paiements attribuable au premier versement du CCRI pour sa participation à l’initiative du Secrétariat du Conseil du Trésor et de Travaux publics et Services gouvernementaux Canada visant l’acquisition d’un système de gestion des affaires communs.

Risques et incertitudes

Le CCRI est un organisme à faible risque. Les salaires et avantages sociaux représentent environ les quatre cinquièmes (82 %) du budget d’exploitation de 13,6 millions de dollars du Conseil. Le solde de 2,5 millions de dollars est dédié au fonctionnement et à l’entretien (F et E), et est utilisé dans une proportion de 57 % pour les services professionnels et les déplacements, dépenses qui sont essentiellement liées à la tenue d’audiences et à la prise de décision dans les dossiers d’affaires. Le Conseil applique les politiques du Conseil du Trésor pour l’utilisation du budget et une vérification effectuée par le Bureau du contrôleur général au printemps 2011 a confirmé que les contrôles de base de la gestion financière en place au Conseil sont efficaces et sont exercés en conformité avec les politiques et les directives du Conseil du Trésor.

Le CCRI doit faire face, comme tous les ministères et organismes du gouvernement, au gel jusqu’à l’exercice 2013-2014 des transferts d’autorisation du Conseil du trésor pour couvrir les hausses de salaire négocié dans les conventions collectives. Le CCRI doit donc absorber une hausse annuelle de 1,5 % de la masse salariale à même les autorisations existantes du Conseil. Cela est géré à l’interne par le réaménagement de certains postes. Cette mesure sera suffisante pour absorber les hausses jusqu’à l’horizon de l’exercice en 2013-2014.

Environnement opérationnel

Le Conseil doit constamment relever un défi en matière de planification en ce sens que le CCRI a uniquement pour mandat de trancher les questions que lui renvoient les syndicats, les employeurs, les employés et la ministre du Travail. Par conséquent, les activités opérationnelles du CCRI sont dictées par des demandes externes auxquelles ce dernier ne peut que réagir et qu’il n’est pas en mesure d’anticiper.

L’état de l’économie peut influer sur la nature de la demande de services du Conseil.  Une augmentation importante du nombre d’affaires complexes reçues nuirait gravement à la capacité du Conseil d’atteindre son résultat stratégique.

Délai de traitement

Le risque opérationnel le plus important du Conseil est lié au nombre de demandes et de plaintes qu’il reçoit dans une année, et qui peut avoir un impact sur sa capacité à demeurer efficace et efficient. Pour atténuer ce risque, le Conseil traite et examine en priorité les affaires qui pourraient occasionner d’énormes problèmes de relations du travail si une décision n’était pas rendue rapidement ou qui nécessitent son attention immédiate pour d’autres raisons particulières.  Le CCRI a mis en œuvre des modifications à son Règlement pour assurer le traitement efficient et efficace des demandes et des plaintes. De plus, il continuera d’apporter des améliorations au processus de traitement des demandes d’accréditation et des plaintes de pratique déloyale de travail et il s’attend à ce que ces stratégies permettront de réduire le délai de traitement des affaires.

Gestion ministérielle

À l’instar d’autres petits et très petits organismes, le Conseil subit constamment des pressions pour donner suite à diverses initiatives pangouvernementales de gestion ministérielle ou les mettre en œuvre. Cependant, les ressources limitées du CCRI sont avant tout consacrées à la réalisation de son mandat principal, à savoir fournir des services de règlement des différends de manière juste et rapide à sa clientèle. Il est souvent difficile d’acquérir et de retenir les compétences et les connaissances spécialisées dans des domaines qui ne sont pas essentielles à la réalisation du mandat du Conseil, mais indispensables pour répondre aux attentes des organismes centraux dans divers secteurs de services organisationnels.

Le CCRI continue de chercher des occasions tant au moyen de possibilités horizontales que de partenariats avec d’autres ministères pour gagner en efficacité et pour assurer qu’il exécute son mandat d’une façon saine sur le plan financier et viable. Le CCRI participe également aux initiatives menées par le SCT visant à choisir un système de gestion des affaires commun et à attribuer un contrat à cet égard. Selon le CCRI, cette approche favorise une synergie entre les organismes semblables et atténue la pression exercée par un système qui prend de l’âge et dont le renouvellement pourrait être coûteux.

Changements importants quant au fonctionnement, au personnel et aux programmes

Depuis le 1er avril 2013, le CCRI est responsable de l’administration et de l’interprétation de la partie II de la Loi sur le statut de l’artiste (la Loi).  L’élargissement de son mandat oblige le CCRI à développer une capacité et une expertise interne pour être en mesure de desservir sa nouvelle clientèle. Dans ce contexte, le CCRI élabore présentement des propositions pour modifier le Règlement sur les procédures du Tribunal canadien des relations professionnelles artistes-producteurs afin de mieux harmoniser les politiques, les procédures et les pratiques se rapportant à la Loi avec les pratiques actuelles du CCRI, tout en tenant compte des besoins particuliers du secteur culturel. Des consultations sont présentement en cours afin d’obtenir les commentaires des intervenants.   

Mise en œuvre du budget de 2012

La présente section donne un aperçu des mesures d’économie annoncées dans le budget de 2012 et qui seront mises en œuvre dans le but de recentrer le gouvernement et les programmes, de faciliter les rapports des Canadiens et des entreprises avec leur gouvernement ainsi que de moderniser et de rationaliser les services administratifs.

Dans le cadre du budget de 2012, le CCRI s’est vu confier la responsabilité de l’administration et de l’interprétation de la partie II de la Loi. Ces fonctions et responsabilités relevaient auparavant du Tribunal canadien des relations professionnelles artistes-producteurs (TCRPAP). Le CCRI à mis en œuvre cette transition un an plus tôt que prévu, ce qui a permis une économie récurrente annuelle pour le gouvernement de plus de 1,5 million de dollars.

Approbation des cadres supérieurs

La version originale a été signée par

Elizabeth MacPherson, présidente

Ginette Brazeau, dirigeante principale des finances

Ottawa, Canada
30 août 2013

État des autorisations (non vérifié)

Exercice 2013-2014 (en dollars)
Crédits totaux disponibles pour l'exercice se terminant le Crédits utilisés pour le trimestre terminé le Cumul des crédits utilisés à la fin du trimestre
31 mars 2014 * 30 septembre 2013
Crédit 10 - Dépenses nettes de fonctionnement 11 902 379 2 796 456 5 707 758
Autorisations législatives - Régimes d'avantages sociaux 1 637 433 409 358 818 717
Autorisations totales 13 539 812 3 205 814 6 526 475


Exercice 2012-2013 (en dollars)
Crédits totaux disponibles pour l'exercice se terminant le Crédits utilisés pour le trimestre terminé le Cumul des crédits utilisés à la fin du trimestre
31 mars 2013 * 30 septembre 2012
Crédit 10 - Dépenses nettes de fonctionnement 11 987 675 2 707 862 5 138 953
Autorisations législatives - Régimes d'avantages sociaux 1 569 617 392 404 784 809
Autorisations totales 13 557 292 3 100 267 5 923 762

*N’inclut que les autorisations disponibles pour l’exercice et accordées par le Parlement à la fin du trimestre.

État des dépenses par articles courants (non vérifié)

Exercice 2013-2014 (en dollars)
Dépenses Dépenses prévues pour l'exercice se terminant le Dépenses durant le trimestre se terminant le Cumul des dépenses à la fin du trimestre
31 mars 2014* 30 septembre 2013
Personnel 11 047 965 2 774 680 5 393 036
Transports et télécommunications 765 693 189 891 351 754
Information 13 459 4 587 12 014
Services professionnels et spéciaux 649 931 163 247 253 620
Location 129 836 30 802 113 368
Services de réparation et d'entretien 96 674 5 592 17 981
Services publics, fournitures et approvisionnements 146 406 36 166 67 229
Acquisition de machines et d'outillage 651 442 11 411 44 314
Autres subventions et paiements 38 406 (10 560) 283 720
Dépenses budgétaires nettes totales 13 539 812 3 205 814 6 526 475


Exercice 2012-2013 (en dollars)
Dépenses Dépenses prévues pour l'exercice se terminant le Dépenses durant le trimestre se terminant le Cumul des dépenses à la fin du trimestre
31 mars 2013* 30 septembre 2012
Personnel 10 487 986 2 549 988 5 042 453
Transports et télécommunications 1 298 196 199 050 335 049
Information 26 254 4 079 16 815
Services professionnels et spéciaux 1 067 505 187 965 289 524
Location 200 464 51 558 63 315
Services de réparation et d'entretien 139 342 11 226 41 778
Services publics, fournitures et approvisionnements 215 456 37 931 57 051
Acquisition de machines et d'outillage 49 788 4 793 18 500
Autres subventions et paiements 72 391 53 677 59 277
Dépenses budgétaires nettes totales 13 557 292 3 100 267 5 923 762

* N’inclut que les autorisations disponibles pour l’exercice et accordées par le Parlement à la fin du trimestre.

Date de modification :