Report on Annual Expenditures for Travel, Hospitality and Conferences

As required by the Treasury Board Directive for the Management of Expenditures on Travel, Hospitality and Conferences, this report provides information on the total annual expenditures for each of travel, hospitality and conferences for the Canada Industrial Relations Board (the CIRB or the Board) for the fiscal year ending March 31, 2013. It also provides an explanation for all variances from the previous fiscal year in each of these areas.

This information is updated annually and does not contain information withheld under the Access to Information Act or the Privacy Act.

Expenditures on travel, hospitality and conferences incurred by the CIRB are for the most part directly related to supporting the Board’s mandate and the government’s priorities.  In particular, 65.3% of the Board’s travel expenses are directly related to hearings and case-related activities. Similarly, 89.4% of the hospitality expenses are related to the Board’s annual meeting and to the International Forum of Labour Agencies meeting.

Mandate

The CIRB is an independent, representational, quasi-judicial tribunal responsible for the interpretation and application of Part I (Industrial Relations) and certain provisions of Part II (Occupational Health and Safety) of the Canada Labour Code (the Code). The Board was established in January 1999 through amendments to Part I of the Code. The mandate of the Board is to contribute to and promote effective industrial relations in the federally regulated private sector.

Further information on the Board’s mandate, role, responsibilities and programs can be found in the Board’s 2012–13 Departmental Performance Report.

The Board’s total annual expenditures for travel, hospitality and conferences are summarized below:

Expenditure Category Expenditures
for the year
ending March 31, 2013
(a)
Expenditures
for the year
ending March 31, 2012
(b)
Variance
(a - b)
(in dollars)
Travel–Public Servants 440,982 637,045 (196,064)
Travel–Non-Public Servants 2,293 3,968 (1,675)
Total Travel 443,274 641,013 (197,739)
       
Hospitality 31,754 8,712 23,042
Conference Fees - - -
TOTAL 475,028 649,725 (174,697)

Variances compared to the previous fiscal year

Travel

Public Servants: A large part of the decrease in the CIRB’s travel expenditures by public servants in 2011–12 ($171,711) was due to a decrease in hearing-related travel expenses.

Non-Public Servants: Compared to fiscal year 2011–12, the CIRB’s travel expenditures by non-public servants decreased, due to the end of a project in which a consultant was hired to assist the Board with its national consultations regarding the Canada Industrial Relations Board Regulations, 2001.

Hospitality:

The CIRB’s hospitality expenditures increased by $23,042, due to the International Forum of Labour Agencies’ annual meeting, which was hosted in 2012–13 by the CIRB.

Date modified:

Rapport sur les dépenses annuelles de voyages, d'accueil et de conférences

Comme l’exige la Directive sur la gestion des dépenses de voyages, d’accueil et de conférences du Conseil du Trésor, le présent rapport fournit des renseignements sur les dépenses annuelles totales de voyages, d’accueil et de conférences du Conseil canadien des relations industrielles (le CCRI ou le Conseil) pour l’exercice se terminant le 31 mars 2013. Il donne également une explication des écarts par rapport à l’exercice précédent dans chacune de ces catégories.

Ces renseignements sont mis à jour annuellement et ne contiennent pas les renseignements non divulgués en vertu de la Loi sur l’accès à l’information ou de la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels.

Les dépenses de voyages, d’accueil et de conférences engagées par le CCRI appuient pour la plupart directement le mandat du Conseil et les priorités du gouvernement.  En particulier, 65,3 % des dépenses de voyages du Conseil sont directement liées aux audiences et aux activités relatives aux affaires. De même, 89,4 % des dépenses d’accueil du Conseil sont liées à la réunion annuelle du CCRI et à la rencontre du Forum international des organismes du travail.

Mandat

Le CCRI est un tribunal quasi judiciaire indépendant et représentatif chargé de l’interprétation et de l’application de la Partie I (Relations du travail) et de certaines dispositions de la Partie II (Santé et sécurité au travail) du Code canadien du travail (le Code). Le Conseil a été établi en janvier 1999 dans le cadre du remaniement de la partie I du Code. Le Conseil a pour mandat de favoriser l’établissement et le maintien de relations du travail efficaces dans le secteur privé relevant de la compétence fédérale.

Plus de renseignements sur le mandat, le rôle, les responsabilités et les programmes du Conseil se trouvent dans le Rapport ministériel sur le rendement de 2011-2013 du Conseil.

Les dépenses annuelles totales de voyages, d’accueil et de conférences du Conseil sont résumées ci-dessous :

Catégorie de dépense Dépenses pour
l’exercice se terminant
le 31 mars 2013
(a)
Dépenses pour
l’exercice se terminant
le 31 mars 2012
(b)
Écart
(a - b)
(en dollars)
Voyages – Fonctionnaires 440 982 637 045 (196 064)
Voyages – Non-fonctionnaires 2 293 3 968 (1 675)
Total des dépenses de voyages 443 274 641 013 (197 739)
       
Accueil 31 754 8 712 23 042
Frais de participation aux conférences - - -
TOTAL 475 028 649 725 (174 697)

Écarts importants par rapport à l’exercice précédent

Voyages

Fonctionnaires : Une grande partie de la diminution des dépenses de voyages des fonctionnaires du CCRI en 2011-2012 (171 711 $) est attribuable à une baisse des frais de déplacement liés aux audiences.

Non-fonctionnaires : Les dépenses de voyages des non-fonctionnaires du CCRI ont diminué par rapport à celles de l’exercice 2011-2012, principalement en raison de la fin du projet d’un consultant embauché pour aider le Conseil dans ses consultations nationales concernant l’examen du Règlement de 2001 sur le Conseil canadien des relations industrielles.

Accueil

Les dépenses d'accueil du CCRI ont augmenté de 23 042 $, principalement en raison de la rencontre du Forum international des organismes du travail, une rencontre annuel dont l’hôte pour 2012-2013 était le CCRI

Date de modification :