May 2013 Information Bulletin–New Responsibilities of the CIRBStatus of the Artist Act

Printable version (PDF format) PDF

New Responsibilities of the CIRB

The Canada Industrial Relations Board (CIRB) is pleased to announce that since April 1, 2013, it is responsible for the administration of the Status of the Artist Act. We invite you to consult our Website,which has recently been updated to include information on the Status of the Artist Act. If you click on the headings at the top of the screen, you will find the sections that relate to the Act.

Consultations on Proposed Changes to Procedural Regulations

The CIRB is currently developing proposals to modify the 2003 Canadian Artists and Producers Professional Relations Tribunal Procedural Regulations (SOR/2003-343), to ensure better alignment of the policies, procedures and practices under the Status of the Artist Act with the CIRB’s current practices, while taking into account the unique circumstances of the cultural sector. The CIRB has prepared a consultation chart with proposed amendments to the Regulations which is available on our Website.

The CIRB wishes to engage artists, artists’ association, producers and other stakeholders in the review of the Regulations and to this end, public consultation meetings will be held in the CIRB offices starting at 9:00 a.m. on the following dates:

Toronto:
June 25 at 1 Front Street, 5th Fl

Ottawa:
June 26 at 240 Sparks Street, 4th Fl

Montréal:
June 27 at 1501 McGill College, 9th Fl

We would appreciate it if you could confirm your attendance before June 20 with Ms. Linda Lusignan by email: Linda.Lusignan@cirb-ccri.gc.ca or by phone at 613-947-5429.

The CIRB will also accept written comments on the proposed changes until August 15, 2013. You may send your comments by email to Ms. Diane Chartrand, Senior Director of Strategic Policy and Planning, at: diane.chartrand@cirb-ccri.gc.ca.

Certification Renewal Process

The CIRB is responsible for certifying artists’ associations. Certification gives an artists’ association the exclusive right to represent self-employed artists in a specific sector with respect to collective bargaining and professional relations with federally regulated producers. A certification order is valid for a period of three years after the date it is issued, and will automatically be renewed if no application for revocation or competing application for certification in respect of the same sector is filed with the Board.

The transfer of the administration of the Status of the Artist Act to the CIRB does not affect the validity of existing certification orders. In order to confirm this, the CIRB re-issued all the certification orders that had previoulsy been issued by the Canadian Artists and Producers Professional Relations Tribunal and recognized the original date of certification. The CIRB will continue to issue and renew the certification orders as required. For a list of artists’ associations certified under the Act, please consult the online Register.

Date modified:

Mai 2013 Bulletin d'information – Nouvelles responsabilités du CCRILoi sur le statut de l'artiste

Version imprimable (format PDF) PDF

Nouvelles responsabilités du CCRI

Il nous fait plaisir au Conseil canadien des relations industrielles (CCRI) d’annoncer que depuis le 1er avril 2013, nous sommes responsables de l’administration de la Loi sur le statut de l’artiste (LSA). Nous vous invitons à consulter notre site Web, qui a été mis à jour récemment afin d’incorporer l’information au sujet de la Loi sur le statut de l’artiste. Si vous cliquez sur chacun des titres au haut de la page d’accueil, vous trouverez la section qui traite de la LSA.

Consultations publiques sur les modifications au Règlement sur les procédures

Le CCRI élabore présentement des propositions pour modifier le Règlement sur les procédures du Tribunal canadien des relations professionnelles artistes-producteurs de 2003 (DORS/2003-343), afin de mieux harmoniser les politiques, les procédures et les pratiques se rapportant à la Loi sur le statut de l’artiste avec les pratiques actuelles du CCRI, tout en tenant compte des besoins particuliers du secteur culturel. Le CCRI a préparé un tableau comparatif des modifications proposées au Règlement qui est disponible sur le site Web.

Le CCRI souhaite faire participer les artistes, les associations d’artistes, les producteurs ainsi que toute autre partie intéressée au processus visant à modifier le Règlement. À cette fin, des séances de consultation auront lieu aux bureaux du CCRI; elles débuteront à 9 h aux dates suivantes :

Toronto :
Le 25 juin au 1, rue Front, 5e étage

Ottawa :
Le 26 juin au 240, rue Sparks, 4e étage Ouest

Montréal :
Le 27 juin au 1501, McGill College, 9e étage

Nous vous demandons de bien vouloir confirmer votre présence avant le 20 juin auprès de Mme Linda Lusignan par courriel : Linda.Lusignan@cirb-ccri.gc.ca ou par téléphone au 613-947-5429.

Le CCRI acceptera également jusqu’au 15 août 2013 les commentaires écrits sur les modifications proposées. Vous pouvez soumettre vos commentaires par courriel à Mme Diane Chartrand, directeur principal en Politiques et planification stratégiques, à l’adresse : diane.chartrand@cirb-ccri.gc.ca.

Processus de renouvellement des certificats d’accréditation

Le CCRI est responsable de l’octroi des certificats d’accréditation aux associations d’artistes. L’accréditation donne à l’association d’artistes le droit exclusif de représenter, dans le cadre de la négociation collective et de leurs relations professionnelles avec les producteurs relevant de la compétence fédérale, les artistes entrepreneurs indépendants dans un secteur donné. Une fois octroyé par le CCRI, le certificat d’accréditation est valable pour une période de trois ans et est renouvelable automatiquement si aucune demande d’annulation ou aucune autre demande d’accréditation visant le même secteur n’a été déposée.

Le transfert de l’administration de la Loi sur le statut de l’artiste au CCRI n’a aucune incidence sur la validité des certificats d’accréditation existants. Afin de confirmer ceci, le CCRI a réémis les certificats qui avaient été délivrés précédemment par le Tribunal canadien des relations professionnelles artistes-producteurs et a réaffirmé la date originale de l’accréditation. Le CCRI continuera de délivrer et de renouveler les certificats d’accréditation, tel qu’il est requis. Afin d’accéder à la liste des associations d’artistes accréditées, nous vous invitons à consulter le Registre des accréditations qui est disponible sur le site Web.

Date de modification :