CIRB Newslink–June 2010

Printable version (PDF format)

Message from the Chairperson

Elizabeth MacPherson

I am pleased to present the first issue of the Canada Industrial Relations Board's (CIRB) semi-annual newsletter. During my mandate at the CIRB, I have made it a priority to consult with the labour relations community on a regular basis and have committed to provide updates on the progress being made to improve the timeliness of Board decisions and procedures. This newsletter will be published twice a year and will serve to inform the labour relations community on developments and initiatives at the Board.

When I was appointed as Chairperson of the CIRBon January 1, 2008, there were 643 matters pending before the Board; 23.6% of these matters had been pending for over two years. On January 1, 2010, two years later, this backlog had been reduced to 415 pending matters, with less than 15% outstanding for more than two years. We have also made significant progress in improving the timeliness of Board decisions and resolution of matters, reducing our average processing time by 30% during the last two fiscal years. Our priority for the coming years will be to continue efforts to reduce the average processing time of new cases so as to ensure that a backlog does not reoccur. In order to accomplish this, we will focus our efforts on effective case management and dispute resolution mechanisms that encourage the constructive settlement of differences. While we will continue to adjudicate matters where necessary, we will place an increased focus on our mediation efforts at all stages of a case, in order to proactively seek a resolution of matters that best meets the needs of the parties and promotes stable and productive labour-management relations.

It is my hope that you will find this newsletter helpful and informative, and I encourage you to communicate with us if you wish to see any specific subject matter in upcoming issues.

Mandate

The mandate of the Canada Industrial Relations Board is to expeditiously and effectively resolve labour relations issues in the federally regulated sector. This is achieved through the following means:

  • successful resolution of labour relations problems through appropriate dispute resolution mechanisms
  • decisions on applications and complaints that are provided in a fair, expeditious and economical manner
  • an involved and well-informed labour relations community
  • effective Regulations and practices developed through consultation with clients

Composition of the Board

The Canada Industrial Relations Board is currently composed of Elizabeth MacPherson, Chairperson; Louise Fecteau, Graham Clarke, Judith MacPherson, Claude Roy and William McMurray, Vice-Chairpersons; Patrick Heinke, André Lecavalier and David Olsen, Members representing employers; Daniel Charbonneau, Norman Rivard and John Bowman, Members representing employees. Richard Hornung is a part-time Vice-Chairperson, residing in Alberta. The Minister of Labour recently appointed a part-time Vice-Chairperson, Allan Hope, and two part-time members, Cynthia Oliver and Terence Lineker, all residing in British Columbia.

A biography for each Board Member can be found on our Website

Workload

While the nature of the demand for Board services may vary, depending on a number of factors including the state of the economy, the absolute number of incoming applications/complaints has remained relatively constant over the last four fiscal years. A total of 692 applications/complaints were received in 2009-10, which represents 20 more cases than in the previous year. This level is much lower than the average in the earlier part of the decade, which stood at 823.

Chart 1 shows that unfair labour practice (ULP) complaints represent almost 41% of incoming matters in 2009-10. Of this number, duty of fair representation complaints (DFR) represented 24.3% of cases and other ULP complaints represented 16.6 % of cases. Applications for certification and reviews also represent a significant portion of incoming matters, at 15.6% and 17.9% respectively.

Chart 1 - Applications/Complaints Received 2009-10

The Board disposed of 706 matters in 2009-10. The distribution of these cases disposed of by type is slightly different from that of incoming matters, as ULPs account for a little more than 45% (28.1% DFRs plus 17.3% other ULPs), certifications 15.2% and reviews 18.7% (see Chart 2).

The average time to process cases dropped significantly in 2009-10 to 230 calendar days from 311 in 2008-09 (see Chart 3). Although the decline is evident for most types of matters, it is largely the result of the steep reduction in the processing of DFR complaints, which stood at 269 calendar days in 2009-10 compared to 459 days the previous year.

As more cases were disposed of than received in 2009-10, the remaining number of pending matters declined to 428 at the end of March 2010, representing the lowest level in 23 years.

Chart 2 - Applications/Complaints Disposed 2009-10

Chart 3 - Average Processing Time

Priorities

The Board continues to seek ways to improve its case management practices and procedures. Over the course of the next year, we will seek input from the labour relations community on the Canada Industrial Relations Board Regulations, 2001, with the aim of finding ways to handle applications and complaints more effectively and efficiently. It is also our intention to further explore the use of information technology, including e-filing, as a possible tool to help in attaining these goals. The Board will advise the community of its consultation schedule as the review proceeds.

E-Voting

In 2009, the CIRB added electronic voting to its repertoire of tools to conduct representation votes. In two circumstances where large employee groups were dispersed over a wide geographic area, CIRB industrial relations officers conducted e-votes supported by an outside electronic voting system company. Eligible employees were issued personal identification numbers (PINs) and were able to cast a secure electronic ballot via Internet or telephone. The Board's officers administered the vote and oversaw the auditing process. At the conclusion of the voting period, the ballots were tabulated instantaneously, which allowed the parties to know the results without delay. E-voting proved to be a secure, cost-effective and expedient means to ascertain employee wishes.

Practice Note

Postponement of Hearings
The logistical difficulties inherent in the Board's caseload and its geographically dispersed and bilingual clientele render it challenging to reschedule hearing dates in an orderly and timely fashion. The Board is therefore reluctant to accede to requests for postponement of hearings.

The Board will only consider a request for postponement where the party making the request has communicated beforehand with the other parties and attempted to obtain their consent to the postponement. All requests for postponement must be addressed in writing to the Board, with copies sent to the other parties at the same time, and must include the reasons for the request for postponement, the positions of the other parties to the request, and a list of alternative dates to which all parties agree and from which the Board may choose, to the extent that this may be possible.

For more information on the Board's policy with respect to rescheduling of hearings or case management conferences, please consult Information Circular 4-01.

Workshops

Are you currently preparing a workshop or organizing a conference on labour relations? Representative members of the Board are available to make presentations regarding the duty of fair representation and the union's duties and obligations under section 37 of the Canada Labour Code. For more information, please contact us.

Date modified:

La UNE du CCRI – Juin 2010

Version imprimable (format PDF)

Message de la présidente

Elizabeth MacPherson

Je suis heureuse de vous présenter le premier numéro du nouveau bulletin semestriel d’information du Conseil canadien des relations industrielles (CCRI). Je me suis donné comme priorité pendant mon mandat au CCRI de consulter régulièrement le milieu des relations du travail et je me suis engagée à l’informer des progrès réalisés pour réduire le temps mis pour rendre des décisions et améliorer les procédures. Ce bulletin, publié deux fois l’an, servira à informer le milieu des relations du travail des nouvelles réalisations et initiatives au Conseil.

Lorsque j’ai été nommée à titre de présidente du CCRI le 1er janvier 2008, il y avait 643 affaires en instance devant le Conseil; 23,6 % l’étaient depuis plus de deux ans. Le 1er janvier 2010, deux ans plus tard, cet arriéré avait été ramené à 415 affaires en instance, dont moins de 15 % l’étaient depuis plus de deux ans. Nous avons également réalisé des progrès importants au niveau du temps que le Conseil met pour rendre des décisions et trancher des affaires, notre délai de traitement moyen ayant diminué de 30 % pendant les deux dernières années. Notre priorité pour les années qui viennent sera de poursuivre nos efforts en vue de réduire le délai moyen de traitement des nouvelles affaires pour éviter une nouvelle poussée de l’arriéré. À cette fin, nous mettrons l’emphase sur une gestion efficace des affaires et des mécanismes de règlement des différends qui favorisent le règlement positif des conflits. Nous continuerons de trancher des affaires au besoin, mais nous nous emploierons à redoubler nos efforts de médiation à toutes les étapes d’une affaire, afin de trouver des solutions pour régler les dossiers qui répondent le mieux aux besoins des parties et favorisent des relations patronales-syndicales stables et productives.

J’espère que ce bulletin d’information sera pour vous utile et informatif et je vous invite à communiquer avec nous si vous désirez trouver dans les prochains numéros des renseignements sur un sujet précis.

Mandat

Le Conseil canadien des relations industrielles a pour mandat de régler rapidement et de manière efficace des questions liées aux relations du travail dans les secteurs relevant de la compétence fédérale. Il y parvient par les moyens suivants :

  • le règlement des problèmes de relations du travail à l’aide des mécanismes appropriés de règlement des différends
  • des décisions sur les demandes et les plaintes rendues de façon juste, rapide et économique
  • un milieu des relations du travail engagé et bien informé
  • un Règlement et des pratiques efficaces élaborés en consultation avec les clients

Composition du Conseil

Le Conseil canadien des relations industrielles est composé actuellement de Elizabeth MacPherson, présidente; Louise Fecteau, Graham Clarke, Judith MacPherson, Claude Roy et William McMurray, vice-présidents; Patrick Heinke, André Lecavalier et David Olsen, membres représentant les employeurs; Daniel Charbonneau, Norman Rivard et John Bowman, membres représentant les employés. Richard Hornung est vice-président à temps partiel et habite en Alberta. La ministre du Travail a récemment nommé un vice-président à temps partiel, Allan Hope, et deux membres à temps partiel, Cynthia Oliver et Terence Lineker, tous résidents de la Colombie-Britannique.

Une biographie de chacun des membres du Conseil se trouve sur notre site Web

Charge de travail

La nature de la demande de services du Conseil peut varier, selon plusieurs facteurs, entre autres l’état de l’économie, mais le nombre total de demandes ou plaintes reçues est resté relativement stable au cours des quatre derniers exercices. En tout, le Conseil a reçu 692 demandes et plaintes en 2009-2010, ce qui représente 20 affaires de plus que dans l’exercice précédent. Ce nombre est beaucoup plus bas que la moyenne du début de la décennie qui était de 823.

Le graphique 1 montre que les plaintes de pratique déloyale de travail (PDT) représentent environ 41 % des affaires reçues en 2009-2010, dont 24,3 % sont des plaintes de manquement au devoir de représentation juste (DRJ) et 16,6 %, d’autres PDT. Les demandes d’accréditation et de révision représentent également une partie importante des affaires reçues, soit 15,6 % et 17,9 % respectivement.

Graphique 1 - Demandes/plaintes reçues 2009-2010

Le Conseil a tranché 706 affaires en 2009-2010. La répartition de ces affaires tranchées selon le genre est légèrement différente de celle des affaires reçues, les PDT constituant un peu plus de 45 % (28,1 % de DRJ et 17,3 % d’autres PDT), les accréditations 15,2 % et les révisions 18,7 % (voir le graphique 2).

Le délai moyen de traitement des affaires a diminué de manière appréciable en 2009-2010 pour s’établir à 230 jours civils par rapport à 311 en 2008-2009 (voir le graphique 3). Cette baisse se constate pour tous les genres d’affaires, mais elle est le résultat d’une diminution marquée du temps de traitement des plaintes de DRJ, qui s’est établi à 269 jours civils en 2009-2010 par rapport à 459 dans l’exercice précédent.

Comme plus d’affaires ont été tranchées que reçues en 2009-2010, le nombre d’affaires en instance a diminué, s’établissant à 428 à la fin mars 2010, le plus bas niveau depuis 23 ans.

Graphique 2 - Demandes/plaintes tranchées 2009-2010

Graphique 3 - Délai moyen de traitement

Priorités

Le Conseil cherche constamment des moyens d’améliorer ses pratiques et procédures de gestion des affaires. Au cours de la prochaine année, nous solliciterons les commentaires du milieu des relations du travail sur le Règlement de 2001 sur le Conseil canadien des relations industrielles dans le but de trouver des manières de traiter les demandes et les plaintes de façon plus efficace et efficiente. Nous avons également l’intention d’examiner plus en profondeur l’utilisation possible des technologies de l’information, notamment la transmission électronique de documents, pour nous aider à atteindre ces objectifs. Le Conseil tiendra le milieu informé de l’horaire prévu pour les consultations au cours de sont étude.

Scrutin par voie électronique

En 2009, le CCRI a élargi son éventail de moyens de tenir un scrutin de représentation en empruntant la voie électronique pour ce faire. À deux reprises, alors que les scrutins visaient d’importants groupes d’employés dispersés sur une vaste superficie, les agents des relations industrielles ont dirigé la tenue de « scrutins par voie électronique », appuyés par les services d’une entreprise externe spécialisée dans ce genre de systèmes. Les employés admissibles ont reçu un numéro d’identification personnelle (NIP) et ont pu voter par Internet ou par téléphone dans un environnement sécurisé. Les agents du Conseil ont géré le scrutin et encadré le processus de vérification. Dès la fin de la période des scrutins, les bulletins de vote ont été totalisés instantanément, ce qui a permis aux parties de connaître les résultats sans délai. La tenue de scrutins par voie électronique s’est avérée un moyen sûr, efficace, rentable et rapide de déterminer la volonté des employés.

Avis de pratique

Ajournement d’audiences
Étant donné les problèmes pratiques que posent la lourde charge de travail du Conseil, la dissémination de sa clientèle et les différentes exigences linguistiques de cette dernière, il s’avère un défi de modifier les dates d’audience de façon ordonnée, et dans de courts délais. Le Conseil hésite donc à accéder aux demandes d’ajournement.

Le Conseil ne prendra une telle demande en considération que si la partie en cause a communiqué au préalable avec les autres parties en vue de tenter d’obtenir leur consentement à l’ajournement. La demande d’ajournement doit être présentée par écrit au Conseil et communiquée en même temps aux autres parties en cause; les motifs de l’ajournement doivent y être énoncés, ainsi que les positions qu’ont prises les autres parties à ce sujet; une liste de dates d’audience possibles sur lesquelles les parties se sont entendues doit y être indiquée, de façon à permettre au Conseil de choisir dans la mesure du possible, une nouvelle date parmi celles-ci.

Pour plus de renseignements sur la politique du Conseil en ce qui a trait à l’ajournement d’audiences ou de réunions de gestion des affaires, veuillez consulter la circulaire d’information 4-01.

Ateliers

Êtes-vous en train de préparer un atelier ou d’organiser une conférence sur les relations du travail? Des membres représentants du Conseil peuvent faire des exposés sur le devoir de représentation juste et les devoirs et obligations des syndicats dans le cadre de plaintes déposées en vertu de l’article 37 du Code canadien du travail. Pour plus de renseignements, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Date de modification :