CIRB Newslink–December 2011

Printable version (PDF format)

Message from the Chairperson

Elizabeth MacPherson, Chairperson

As 2011 draws to a close, it is an opportune time to take stock of our achievements over the past year. I continue to be very proud of the work being done by all of the Board's staff, members and vice-chairs. Although the number of incoming matters remains steady, the Board has continued to increase its productivity through improved case management practices. The Board has also provided parties with more opportunities to resolve their differences through mediation, thus reducing the requirement for lengthy hearings. It has implemented procedures to ensure that critical matters are dealt with on a timely basis. As a result of these initiatives, the number of pending matters is now at the lowest point in the Board's history: as of September 30, 2011, there were only 393 pending matters, down from 584 on March 31, 2008. The average length of time required to deal with each case has also been reduced, from 298 calendar days in 2007–08 to 203 calendar days now. On average, more than 80% of all matters are concluded in less than one year.

Recognizing that the Board needs to continue to be responsive to the labour and management communities it serves, the Board has undertaken a substantive review of the Canada Industrial Relations Board Regulations, 2001. As noted in an earlier edition of this newsletter, the overarching objective of this review is to ensure that the regulatory framework is clear, modern and practical. The Board is presently in the process of reviewing the comments that were received during the public consultation process that took place in the Spring of 2011 and expects to complete its deliberations by the end of the year. Any proposals for regulatory amendments arising from this review will be communicated to the client communities in early 2012.

Please accept my very best wishes for a safe holiday season and a happy and healthy 2012.

Changes to the Composition of the Board

Louise Fecteau

The Governor in Council has reappointed Ms. Louise Fecteau as a Vice-Chairperson of the Board for a term ending on November 30, 2014. The Board congratulates Ms. Fecteau and looks forward to working with her for the next three years.

H. Allan Hope

The Board regrets to announce the resignation of Mr. Allan Hope as a part-time Vice-Chairperson effective November 17, 2011. Mr. Hope has served for over 45 years as an arbitrator and mediator in hundreds of labour, environmental and commercial disputes. He was appointed to the CIRB on January 14, 2010. Board members and staff would like to extend their very best wishes to Mr. Hope for a happy and healthy retirement.

Mark your calendars!

The 2012 annual meeting of the Association of Labor Relations Agencies (ALRA) will be held at the Hyatt Regency Hotel in downtown Montréal from July 28 to 31, 2012. Advocates' Day will take place on Monday July 30th. We invite you to visit ALRA's website at www.alra.org in the Spring of 2012 for registration details.

International Forum of Labour Agencies

In September, 2011, the Chairperson and the Executive Director of the CIRB attended the annual meeting of the International Forum of Labour Agencies. This group is composed of representatives of the national labour relations agencies and boards of eight foreign jurisdictions: Australia, the United States, the United Kingdom, Ireland, New Zealand, Northern Ireland, South Africa and Canada. The group meets annually to discuss trends and challenges that face employers, employees and unions in the modern workplace. It is also an opportunity to discuss best practices adopted by the neutral agencies to address these challenges.

At this year's meeting, there was general consensus that the economic crisis of recent years has served as a major driver for change in the approach to labour dispute resolution. Whether we consider Ireland's historic Public Sector Agreement between that country's social partners, the proactive outreach and intensive intervention of the US FMCS in the divisive issue of teacher evaluations as a performance measure in the education sector, or the UK ACAS agency's shift of resources towards the prevention and early resolution of individual claims in the workplace, labour relations agencies worldwide are being challenged to adopt new approaches to improve employment relations in the workplace.

It will be Canada's turn to host the Forum in 2012. We look forward to productive meetings and a positive dialogue on the future of labour dispute resolution.

Recent CIRB Case–Summary Note

Critical Path Couriers Ltd., 2011 CIRB 604

Constitutional Jurisdiction–Postal Services

This decision determined the constitutional jurisdiction of the operations of Critical Path Couriers Ltd., in the context of an application for certification. Critical Path provides urgent and specialized deliveries of packages within Ontario, freight forwarding services to locations outside Ontario and operates a large warehouse. It specializes in the delivery of items that cannot be handled by Canada Post, such as temperature controlled items (perishable goods and pharmaceutical products), dangerous goods and fragile items. It engages the services of various couriers who deliver by bicycle, by foot and by motor vehicle. The deliveries are made almost exclusively within Ontario, with limited exceptions.

The Board, in analyzing Critical Path's operations, found the facts to be different from those in a previous Board decision, TurnAround Couriers Inc., 2011 CIRB 544 and concluded that its operations fall under provincial jurisdiction. The Board found that, unlike TurnAround, Critical Path has various lines of business, which include the collection, transportation and delivery of both mailable and non-mailable items. The primary focus of Critical Path's operations is the delivery of items that do not meet the definition of "mailable matter" found in the Canada Post Corporations Act, either because of their nature or their size. Its operations were thus distinguishable from those of TurnAround, whose business was found to be, in pith and substance, the collection, transportation and delivery of small items capable of being carried by someone on foot or bicycle; generally letters and small packages that meet the definition of "mailable matter" and, but for their time sensitive nature, could have been carried by Canada Post in the normal course. The Board thus concluded that Critical Path was not engaged in providing postal services and therefore not subject to the Code.

The Board found, in addition, that Critical Path's freight-forwarding operations were structured in a manner that causes it to fall under provincial jurisdiction. It does not own or operate the means by which the freight is transported out of Ontario. Instead, it arranges for independent third parties to do so. Finally, the Board found that the small number of out-of-province assignments undertaken by it do not constitute a regular and continuous part of its operations so as to bring it under federal jurisdiction. The application for certification was dismissed for lack of jurisdiction.

On October 6, 2011, the union filed a request for reconsideration of this decision.

2012: Celebrating 40 Years of Constructive Labour Relations in the Federal Private Sector

In 1972, significant amendments to the Canada Labour Code were enacted that laid the foundation for a new era of labour relations in Canada. The new Code moved away from the model that had previously been established in the Industrial Relations and Disputes Investigation Act and created an independent, full time quasi-judicial tribunal with responsibility for promoting and contributing to effective industrial relations and the constructive settlement of labour disputes. Prior to the introduction of these legislative changes, the Canada Labour Relations Board operated as a branch within the Department of Labour and all Board members were appointed on a part time basis.

Marc Lapointe, Q.C. was appointed as the first Chairperson of the new Canada Labour Relations Board in 1973. The legislation gave the newly constituted Board considerably broader powers than it previously had in a number of areas. For example, the Board gained jurisdiction over unfair labour practices and could declare strikes and lockouts to be unlawful. It also gave the Board the power to declare a single employer or to inquire into successor rights resulting from a sale of business. As Mr. Lapointe stated at the time, he saw the Board's role as one of "breathing life into law."

Marc Lapointe remained Chair of the Board until his retirement in 1989. Forty years later, his jurisprudential legacy and policy imprints are still very present and continue to guide the Board's work.

To recognize the significant contribution that Marc Lapointe made to labour relations in the federal sector and his dedication to making the Board a reputable and distinguished dispute resolution agency, the Canada Industrial Relations Board will officially name its Ottawa hearing room the "Marc Lapointe Hearing Room" and will unveil a plaque in his honour in the spring of 2012. Invitations containing the details of the ceremony will be sent to the labour relations community early in the New Year.

Practice Note

Please take note that Board citations no longer include first names when the applicant or complainant is an individual. The Board has adopted this practice to comply with the standard developed by the Canadian Citation Committee of the Canadian Judicial Council and with the rules set out in the Canadian Guide to Uniform Legal Citation. This change took effect on October 1, 2011, and all Board documents now cite current and past decisions using this format.

For example:

McRaeJackson, 2004 CIRB 290
(rather than Virginia McRaeJackson)

Regulatory Review

The Board has concluded its consultations with the labour law and labour relations community and has compiled the feedback and comments received in a comprehensive document that is now available on the CIRB 's website. We invite you to consult this document.

The Board is now reviewing all the comments and deliberating on the proposals that it will put forward for amendment.

Peter Suchanek retires after 28 years with the CIRB

Peter Suchanek

Peter Suchanek recently retired from his position as the Regional Director, Ontario Region at the Canada Industrial Relations Board. Peter distinguished himself by constructing a career built on trust, confidentiality and long-standing relationships with the Board's clients.

Peter joined the (then) Canada Labour Relations Board in 1983, as a Labour Relations Officer. He became Regional Director of the Toronto Region in 1990 and then, the newly created Ontario Region in 2009. Peter has, over the years, worked tirelessly on behalf of the Board and was instrumental in assisting clients to find labour relations solutions in many complex and lengthy disputes. His skills, abilities to think outside the box, forge relationships and establish common ground are some of the characteristics that earned him great respect as a mediator.

Peter graduated from Carleton University with a B.A. in Psychology and completed his Honours B.A. at the University of Waterloo. He also obtained a degree in Industrial Relations from the University of Toronto and an M.B.A. from Queen's University.

Prior to joining the Board, Peter worked for both the labour side and the management side. He commenced his labour relations career as a shop steward with the International Union, United Automobile, Aerospace and Agricultural Implement Workers of America (UAW), Local 707, at the Ford Motor Co. truck plant in Oakville, Ontario. He then became involved with the union at Coca Cola (now the United Food and Commercial Workers International Union (UFCW)). On the management side, Peter held labour relations positions at Gulf Canada, Clarkson and Canada Post.

In his non-working hours, Peter managed to find time for his personal interests and to contribute to the good of the wider community. He is an avid sailor, runner, cyclist, sports fan, gardener, and traveler. He has a black belt in not one, but two different karate styles and has volunteered for over 25 years to teach martial arts to inner city youth at the Toronto Metro Central YMCA.

Peter's loyalty to his convictions, family, friends and colleagues, his dedication to getting a job professionally done, and his willingness to share his skills, knowledge and experience, will be greatly missed. He has our sincere wishes for success in all his future endeavours.

Date modified:

La UNE du CCRI – Décembre 2011

Version imprimable (format PDF)

Message de la présidente

Elizabeth MacPherson, présidente

Comme l’année 2011 s’achève, le moment est bien choisi pour faire le bilan de ce que nous avons réalisé cette année. Encore une fois, je suis très fière du travail accompli par l’ensemble du personnel, des membres et des vice-présidents du Conseil. Même si le nombre d’affaires reçues est demeuré stable, le Conseil a continué d’accroître sa productivité grâce aux améliorations apportées aux pratiques de gestion des affaires. Le Conseil a aussi donné aux parties davantage d’occasions de régler leurs différends au moyen de la médiation, ce qui a réduit la nécessité de recourir à de longues audiences. De nouvelles procédures ont été mises en place afin que les affaires jugées prioritaires soient traitées rapidement. Grâce à ces initiatives, le nombre d’affaires en instance se situe à son plus bas niveau de l’histoire du Conseil : en date du 30 septembre 2011, il n’y avait que 393 affaires en instance, comparativement à 584 au 31 mars 2008. Le temps moyen requis pour le traitement d’une affaire a aussi été réduit, passant de 298 jours civils en 2007-2008 à 203 jours civils aujourd’hui. En moyenne, plus de 80 % des affaires sont réglées en moins d’un an.

Bien conscient de l’importance de répondre aux besoins de la communauté des relations du travail qu’il est chargé de servir, le Conseil a entrepris un examen approfondi du Règlement de 2001 sur le Conseil canadien des relations industrielles (le Règlement). Comme il a été souligné dans un bulletin d’information précédent, l’objectif fondamental de cet examen est d’établir un cadre réglementaire clair, moderne et pratique. Le Conseil est actuellement au stade de la révision des commentaires reçus pendant le processus de consultation publique mené au printemps 2011 et prévoit terminer ses délibérations d’ici la fin de l’année. Toutes les propositions de modification au Règlement découlant de cet examen seront communiquées à la clientèle du Conseil au début de l’année 2012.

Je tiens à vous souhaiter un très joyeux temps des Fêtes et à vous offrir mes meilleurs voeux pour l’année 2012.

Changements à la composition du Conseil

Louise Fecteau

Le gouverneur en conseil a renommé Me Louise Fecteau à titre de Vice-présidente du Conseil pour un mandat venant à échéance le 30 novembre 2014. Le Conseil tient à féliciter Me Fecteau et envisage avec plaisir de travailler avec elle au cours des trois prochaines années.

H. Allan Hope

C’est avec regret que le Conseil annonce la démission de M. Allan Hope, Vice-président à temps partiel, en date du 17 novembre 2011. Pendant plus de 45 ans, M. Hope a agi à titre d’arbitre et de médiateur dans des centaines de conflits de travail et de litiges environnementaux et commerciaux. Il avait été nommé au CCRI le 14 janvier 2010. Les membres et le personnel du Conseil lui souhaitent une retraite heureuse et en santé.

Inscrivez la date à vos calendriers !

En 2012, la rencontre annuelle de l’Association of Labor Relations Agencies (ALRA) se tiendra à l’hôtel Hyatt Regency du centre-ville de Montréal, du 28 au 31 juillet. La journée des intervenants aura lieu le lundi 30 juillet. Nous vous invitons à consulter le site Web de l’ALRA (www.alra.org) au printemps 2012 pour obtenir les détails au sujet de l’inscription.

International Forum of Labour Agencies

En septembre 2011, la présidente et le directeur exécutif du CCRI ont participé à la réunion annuelle de l’International Forum of Labour Agencies. Cette organisation est composée de représentants d’agences et de commissions nationales des relations du travail de huit territoires : l’Australie, les États-Unis, le Royaume-Uni, l’Irlande, la Nouvelle-Zélande, l’Irlande du Nord, l’Afrique du Sud et le Canada. Ce groupe se réunit annuellement pour discuter des tendances et des défis auxquels sont confrontés les employeurs, les employés et les syndicats dans les milieux de travail modernes. C’est aussi l’occasion d’échanger sur les pratiques exemplaires adoptées par les agences neutres afin de répondre à ces défis.

Cette année, les participants à la réunion sont arrivés à un consensus sur le fait que la crise économique des dernières années a été l’élément majeur qui a mené à l’évolution des méthodes de règlement des conflits de travail. Que l’on pense à l’accord historique conclu par les partenaires sociaux en Irlande quant à la fonction publique, à la sensibilisation proactive et aux interventions importantes effectuées par le Federal Mediation & Conciliation Service (« Service fédéral de médiation et de conciliation ») des États-Unis relativement à la question controversée de l’utilisation des évaluations des enseignants comme outil de mesure du rendement dans le secteur de l’éducation ou encore, à la décision de l’ACAS (Advisory, Conciliation and Arbitration Service) du Royaume-Uni de consacrer davantage de ses ressources à la prévention et au règlement rapide des plaintes individuelles en milieu de travail, force est de constater qu’à l’échelle mondiale, les agences des relations du travail font face au défi d’adopter de nouvelles méthodes pour améliorer les relations d’emploi en milieu de travail.

En 2012, c’est le Canada qui sera l’hôte du Forum. Nous avons hâte de participer à des rencontres productives et à des discussions positives sur l’avenir des méthodes de règlement des conflits de travail.

Résumé d’une décision récente du CCRI

Critical Path Couriers ltée, 2011 CCRI 604

Compétence constitutionnelle – Service postal

Dans cette décision, le Conseil a statué sur la question de la compétence constitutionnelle à l’égard des activités de Critical Path Couriers ltée, dans le cadre d’une demande d’accréditation. Critical Path offre des services de livraison urgente et spécialisée de colis en Ontario et des services transitaires à des endroits à l’extérieur de l’Ontario, en plus d’exploiter un grand entrepôt. Elle se spécialise dans la livraison d’articles qui ne peuvent être traités par la Société canadienne des postes (la SCP), tels que des objets nécessitant une température contrôlée (marchandises périssables et produits pharmaceutiques), des marchandises dangereuses et des articles fragiles. L’entreprise a recours aux services de divers messagers, qui effectuent leur livraison à vélo, à pied ou au moyen d’un véhicule motorisé. Les livraisons, à quelques exceptions près, se font exclusivement en Ontario.

Dans le cadre de son analyse des activités de Critical Path, le Conseil a déterminé que les faits étaient différents de ceux décrits dans une décision antérieure, TurnAround Couriers inc., 2011 CCRI 544, et a conclu que les activités de Critical Path relevaient de la compétence provinciale. Le Conseil a conclu que, contrairement à TurnAround, Critical Path était active dans divers secteurs d’activité, dont la cueillette, le transport et la livraison d’objets pouvant être transmis ou non par la poste. Les activités de Critical Path se concentrent sur la livraison d’articles qui ne correspondent pas à la définition « d’objets » énoncée dans la Loi sur la société canadienne des postes, soit en raison de leur nature ou de leurs dimensions. Il était donc possible d’établir une distinction entre les activités de Critical Path et celles de TurnAround, dont la nature et le caractère véritable des activités, selon ce qui a été déterminé, était de ramasser, de transporter et de livrer de petits articles qu’une personne peut transporter à pied ou à vélo. Ces articles étaient généralement des lettres et de petits colis qui correspondaient à la définition « d’objets », et qui, si ce n’était de leur nature urgente, auraient pu être transportés par la SCP dans le cadre normal de ses activités. Par conséquent, le Conseil a conclu que Critical Path n’exploitait pas un service postal et n’est donc pas assujetti au Code.

De plus, le Conseil a conclu que la façon dont les activités de services transitaires de Critical Path étaient structurées faisait en sorte qu’elle relevait de la compétence provinciale. Critical Path ne possède ni n’exploite les moyens par lesquels les marchandises sont transportées à l’extérieur de l’Ontario. Elle prend plutôt les arrangements nécessaires pour qu’un tiers indépendant effectue le travail. Finalement, le Conseil a conclu que le faible nombre de contrats extra-provinciaux acceptés par Critical Path ne constituaient pas une partie régulière et continue de ses activités au point de l’assujettir à la compétence fédérale. La demande d’accréditation a été rejetée pour motif d’absence de compétence.

Le 6 octobre 2011, le syndicat a présenté une demande de réexamen de cette décision.

2012 : Célébrons 40 ans de relations du travail constructives dans le secteur privé relevant de la compétence fédérale

En 1972, des modifications considérables apportées au Code canadien du travail ont jeté les bases d’une ère nouvelle en matière de relations du travail au Canada. Le Code modifié a mis de côté le modèle qui avait été établi par la Loi sur les relations industrielles et sur les enquêtes visant les différends du travail et a créé un tribunal quasi judiciaire indépendant, à temps plein, chargé de favoriser l’établissement et le maintien de relations du travail efficaces et le règlement positif des conflits de travail. Avant ces modifications législatives, le Conseil canadien des relations du travail était une direction qui relevait du ministère du Travail et tous les membres du Conseil étaient nommés à temps partiel.

En 1973, Me Marc Lapointe, c.r., est devenu le premier président du nouveau Conseil canadien des relations du travail. La loi donnait à ce Conseil nouvellement formé des pouvoirs beaucoup plus vastes que ceux de son prédécesseur, et ce, dans plusieurs domaines. Par exemple, le Conseil a obtenu la compétence pour statuer sur les pratiques déloyales de travail et le pouvoir de formuler des déclarations de grève ou de lock-out illégal. La loi a aussi conféré au Conseil le pouvoir de formuler des déclarations d’employeur unique et de se pencher sur les droits du successeur découlant d’une vente d’entreprise. Comme l’a expliqué Me Lapointe à ce moment-là, le rôle du Conseil était de « donner vie à la loi ».

Marc Lapointe est demeuré président du Conseil jusqu’à sa retraite, en 1989. Quarante ans plus tard, son héritage en matière de jurisprudence et de principes est encore très présent et continue à guider le travail du Conseil.

Afin de reconnaître l’importante contribution de Marc Lapointe aux relations du travail dans le secteur fédéral et son dévouement qui a permis de faire du Conseil un organisme de règlement des différends réputé et estimé, le Conseil canadien des relations industrielles a décidé de nommer sa salle d’audience d’Ottawa « salle d’audience Marc Lapointe » et de dévoiler une plaque en son honneur au printemps 2012. Les membres de la communauté des relations du travail sont invités à participer à la cérémonie; une invitation comportant les détails de la cérémonie leur sera transmise au début de la nouvelle année.

Avis de pratique

Nous vous prions de prendre note que les références aux décisions du Conseil ne comprendront plus le prénom lorsque le requérant ou le plaignant est un particulier. Le Conseil a adopté cette pratique pour respecter la norme établie par le Comité canadien de la référence du Conseil canadien de la magistrature ainsi que les règles prévues dans le Manuel canadien de la référence juridique. Ce changement est entré en vigueur le 1er octobre 2011 et tous les documents du Conseil citeront dorénavant les décisions du Conseil, courantes ou passées, en utilisant ce nouveau format.

Par exemple :

McRaeJackson, 2004 CCRI 290
(au lieu de Virginia McRaeJackson)

Examen du Règlement

Le Conseil a complété ses séances de consultations auprès des praticiens en droit du travail et du milieu des relations du travail et a fait la compilation des commentaires reçus dans un document complet qui est maintenant disponible sur le site web du Conseil. Nous vous invitons à consulter ce document.

Le Conseil est actuellement en délibération sur les modifications qu’il proposera au Règlement.

Peter Suchanek prend sa retraite après 28 ans au CCRI

Peter Suchanek

Peter Suchanek a récemment pris sa retraite à titre de directeur régional de la région de l’Ontario au Conseil canadien des relations industrielles. Au cours de sa carrière, Peter s’est distingué en mettant l’accent sur la confiance, la confidentialité et l’établissement de relations à long terme avec les clients du Conseil.

En 1983, Peter s’est joint au Conseil canadien des relations du travail (le prédécesseur du CCRI) comme agent des relations du travail. Il est devenu directeur régional pour la région de Toronto en 1990, puis pour la nouvelle région de l’Ontario en 2009. Pendant toutes ces années, Peter a travaillé sans relâche pour le Conseil et il a joué un rôle déterminant en aidant les clients à régler de nombreux litiges longs et complexes en matière de relations du travail. Son savoir-faire et sa capacité à concevoir des solutions novatrices, à tisser des liens et à trouver des terrains d’entente ont contribué à faire de lui un médiateur très respecté.

Peter a obtenu un baccalauréat en psychologie de l’Université Carleton, puis un baccalauréat avec spécialisation de l’Université de Waterloo. Il a aussi obtenu un diplôme en relations industrielles de l’Université de Toronto et une maîtrise en administration des affaires de l’Université Queen’s.

Avant de se joindre au Conseil, Peter a travaillé autant du côté syndical que du côté patronal. Il a commencé sa carrière en relations du travail comme délégué syndical pour la section locale 707 du Syndicat international des travailleurs unis de l’automobile, de l’aérospatiale et de l’outillage agricole d’Amérique (TUA) à l’usine de camions de Ford située à Oakville, en Ontario. Par la suite, il a travaillé pour le syndicat à Coca Cola (aujourd’hui les Travailleurs et travailleuses unis de l'alimentation et du commerce (TUAC)). Du côté patronal, Peter a occupé des postes en relations du travail à Gulf Canada, à Clarkson et à Postes Canada.

Dans ses temps libres, Peter a trouvé le temps de s’adonner à ses intérêts et de contribuer à sa communauté élargie. Il est passionné par la voile, la course à pied, le cyclisme, les sports, le jardinage et les voyages. Peter est détenteur d’une ceinture noire dans pas un, mais deux styles de karaté et, depuis plus de 25 ans, il donne bénévolement des cours d’arts martiaux aux jeunes des quartiers défavorisés du centre-ville de Toronto, au Toronto Metro Central YMCA.

La fidélité de Peter envers ses principes, la loyauté dont il a fait preuve envers sa famille, ses amis et ses collègues, l’importance qu’il accorde au professionnalisme et son empressement à partager son savoir-faire, ses connaissances et son expérience nous manqueront beaucoup. Nous lui souhaitons le plus grand succès dans tous ses projets futurs.

Date de modification :