Request for Mediation Assistance

Parties to scale agreements under the Status of the Artist Act (Act, or parties trying to negotiate agreements, often need help in clarifying issues and resolving disputes. When this happens, a neutral third party can make all the difference. With the Federal Mediation and Conciliation Service (FMCS), that neutral third party can be available to you -- and at no cost.

Under section 45 of the Act, the Minister of Labour may name a mediator to confer with parties who are unable to reach agreement and assist them to enter into a scale agreement. The Minister may do this on his or her own initiative, or at the request of one or both parties. Such mediation is provided at no cost to the parties.

The FMCS provides conciliation and mediation assistance to artists' associations and producers engaged in collective bargaining, and offers preventive mediation and grievance mediation services when an agreement is in force. It also administers the Ministerial appointment of arbitrators when parties request it under section 36 of the Act.

Requests for assistance should be sent to:

Minister of Labour
Federal Mediation and Conciliation Service
ESDC - Labour Program
165 Hôtel de Ville Street, Place du Portage, Phase II, 7th Floor
Gatineau, Quebec
K1A 0J2

Email: fmcs_sfmc.inquiry-demande@labour-travail.gc.ca
Website: Federal Mediation and Conciliation Service

Date modified:

Demande de services de médiation

Les parties aux accords-cadres conclus en vertu de la Loi sur le statut de l'artiste Loi, ou les parties qui tentent de négocier des accords en vertu de la Loi, ont souvent besoin d'aide pour cerner les problèmes et régler les conflits. Lorsque cette situation se présente, l'intervention d'un tiers objectif peut se révéler d'une très grande valeur. Avec le Service fédéral de médiation et de conciliation (SFMC), cette tierce partie neutre vous est offerte et ce, gratuitement.

Conformément à l'article 45 de la Loi, le ministre du Travail peut à tout moment, d'office ou à la demande d'une des parties ou des deux parties, nommer un médiateur chargé de conférer avec les parties qui ne peuvent en venir à une entente en vue de les aider à conclure un accord-cadre. La médiation est offerte gratuitement aux parties.

Le SFMC fournit des services d'aide à la conciliation et à la médiation aux associations d'artistes et aux producteurs qui participent à la négociation collective et offre des services de médiation préventive et de médiation de conflits lorsqu'un accord-cadre est en vigueur. De plus, il s'occupe de la nomination des arbitres par le ministre lorsque les parties en font la demande conformément à l'article 36 de la Loi.

Les demandes d'assistance devraient être envoyées:

Ministre du Travail
Service fédéral de médiation et de conciliation
EDSC - Programme du travail
165, rue de l'Hôtel de Ville, Place du Portage, Phase II, 7e étage
Gatineau (Québec)
K1A 0J2

Courriel : fmcs_sfmc.inquiry-demande@labour-travail.gc.ca
Site web : Service fédéral de médiation et de conciliation

Date de modification :