Quarterly Financial Report for the Quarter Ended June 30, 2012

Management Statement for the Quarter Ended June 30, 2012

Introduction

The Canada Industrial Relations Board (the CIRB or the Board) is an independent, representational, quasi-judicial tribunal responsible for the interpretation and application of Part I (Industrial Relations) and certain provisions of Part II (Occupational Health and Safety) of the Canada Labour Code (the Code). It was established in January 1999 through amendments to Part I of the Code. The mandate of the Board is to contribute to and promote effective industrial relations in the federally regulated private sector.

Further information on the mandate, role, responsibilities and programs of the Board can be found in the Board 2012-13 Main Estimates, available on the following Website: http://www.tbs-sct.gc.ca/est-pre/20122013/p2-eng.asp.

This quarterly financial report should be read in conjunction with the 2012-13 Main Estimates. It has been prepared by management as required by section 65.1 of the Financial Administration Act and in the form and manner prescribed by the Treasury Board. It has not been audited or reviewed externally.

Basis of Presentation
This quarterly report has been prepared by management using an expenditure basis of accounting. The accompanying Statement of Authorities includes the Board’s spending authorities granted by Parliament and those used by the department consistent with the Main Estimates for the 2012-13 fiscal year. This quarterly report has been prepared using a special purpose financial reporting framework designed to meet financial information needs with respect to the use of spending authorities.

The authority of Parliament is required before moneys can be spent by the Government. Approvals are given in the form of annually approved limits through appropriation acts or through legislation in the form of statutory spending authority for specific purposes.

When Parliament is dissolved for the purposes of a general election, section 30 of the Financial Administration Act authorizes the Governor General, under certain conditions, to issue a special warrant authorizing the Government to withdraw funds from the Consolidated Revenue Fund. A special warrant is deemed to be an appropriation for the fiscal year in which it is issued.

The Department uses the full accrual method of accounting to prepare and present its annual departmental financial statements that are part of the departmental performance reporting process. However, the spending authorities voted by Parliament continue to be reported on an expenditure basis.

Highlights of Fiscal Quarter and Fiscal Year to Date (YTD) Results

The Board defines a significant variance as a variance of greater than $100,000 that also represents a variance of more than 5% over the previous year’s actual expenditures.

Significant Changes to Statement of Authorities
The Board’s voted authorities as of June 30, 2012 show a significant variance in net operating expenditures compare to the quarter ending June 30th, 2011. This variance is due in large part to a reduction in spending on travel and professional services because of a reduction in the number of cases requiring a hearing during the first quarter of this fiscal year.

Significant Changes to Budgetary Expenditures
Based on the Board’s definition, no significant variance is observed in the Board’s expenditures.

Risks and Uncertainties

The CIRB is a low risk agency. Approximately four fifths (81%) of the Board’s $13.0 million operating budget is allocated to salaries and benefits. The remaining $2.5 million is Operations and Maintenance (O&M) funding of which 78% is expended on travel and professional services largely related to the hearing and determination of cases. The Board adheres to Treasury Board policies for the expenditure of its budget and an audit conducted by the Office of the Comptroller General in the Spring of 2011 has confirmed that the Board’s core controls over financial management are effective and executed in compliance with TBS policies and directives.

The CIRB, like all the other Government departments and agencies, is subject to a salary budget freeze until 2013-14 and will not receive supplementary transfers to cover salary increases prescribed by collective agreements and Treasury Board policies. As a result, the Board has to absorb an annual increase in salary expenditures of approximately 1.5% for three consecutive fiscal years. The CIRB is managing this budgetary pressure by finding internal efficiencies through reorganization of work in its corporate services. These efforts will be sufficient to allow the CIRB to continue to operate with its current budget until 2013-14.

Operating Environment
The Board has an ongoing planning challenge in that the CIRB’s sole function is to respond to the matters referred to it by unions, employers, employees and the Minister of Labour. As such, the CIRB’s operational activities are driven by external demands that it can only react to rather than plan for.

The state of the economy can affect the nature of the demand for Board services. A significant increase in the incoming number of complex matters would severely affect the Board’s ability to meet its strategic outcomes.

Processing Time
The Board’s largest operational risk is associated with the number of applications and complaints it receives in a given year, which affect its ability to continue to remain effective and efficient. To mitigate this risk, priority is given to the processing and consideration of matters in which it appears that delay will pose a significant potential for adverse industrial relations consequences, or where other identifiable factors require a matter to be given priority. The CIRB will proceed with amendments to its Regulations to ensure effective and efficient handling of applications and complaints. It will also continue to monitor and fine-tune the processing of applications and it is expected that these mitigating strategies will further reduce the time it takes to process matters.

Corporate Management
The Board, like other small departments and micro-agencies, continually faces pressure to respond to, or implement various government-wide corporate management initiatives. However, the CIRB’s limited resources are first and foremost dedicated to its core mandate of delivering fair and timely dispute resolution services to its client community. It is often a challenge to build and retain specialized skills and knowledge in areas that are not central to the Board’s mandate but critical to meeting the expectations of central agencies in various areas of corporate services.

The Board also has to manage its operating and salary budget in line with budget restraints, which are likely to remain in place for several years. The CIRB will continue to seek horizontal opportunities and interdepartmental partnerships in order to achieve efficiencies and ensure it delivers on its mandate on a fiscally sound and sustainable basis. The CIRB will also participate in the TBS-led initiatives aimed at identifying and contracting for a common case management system. The CIRB believes this approach will build on synergies between similar organizations and mitigate the pressures associated with an aging system and its costly renewal.

Significant Changes in Relation to Operations, Personnel and Programs

No major change in our operations, key personnel or programs occurred in the last quarter.

Approval by Senior Officials

Elizabeth MacPherson, Chairperson

Ginette Brazeau, Chief Financial Officer
Ottawa, Canada
February 3, 2012

CANADA INDUSTRIAL RELATIONS BOARD
Quarterly Financial Report
For the quarter ended June 30, 2012

Statement of Authorities (unaudited)

Fiscal year 2012-2013 (in dollars)
Total available for use for the year ending March 31, 2013 * Expended during the quarter ended June 30, 2012 Year to date used at quarter-end
Vote 10 - Net operating expenditures 11,424,279 2,431,091 2,431,091
Statutory authorities - Employee Benefit Plans 1,569,617 392,404 392,404
Total authorities 12,993,896 2,823,495 2,823,495


Fiscal year 2011-2012 (in dollars)
Total available for use for the year ending March 31, 2012 * Expended during the quarter ended June 30, 2011 Year to date used at quarter-end
Vote 10 - Net operating expenditures 11,421,923 2,608,326 2,608,326
Statutory authorities - Employee Benefit Plans 1,604,867 401,217 401,217
Total authorities 13,026,790 3,009,543 3,009,543
* Includes only Authorities available for use and granted by Parliament at quarter-end.

CANADA INDUSTRIAL RELATIONS BOARD
Quarterly Financial Report
For the quarter ended June 30, 2012

Statement of Expenditures by Standard Object (unaudited)

Fiscal year 2012-2013 (in dollars)
Planned expenditures for the year ending March 31, 2013 Expended during the quarter ended June 30, 2012 Year to date used at quarter-end
Expenditures:
Personnel 10,487,986 2,492,465 2,492,465
Transportation and communications 1,075,811 135,999 135,999
Information 21,757 12,736 12,736
Professional and special services 884,638 101,559 101,559
Rentals 166,124 11,757 11,757
Repair and maintenance 115,472 30,552 30,552
Utilities, materials and supplies 178,548 19,120 19,120
Acquisition of machinery and equipment 41,259 13,707 13,707
Other subsidies and payments 22,391 5,600 5,600
Total net budgetary expenditures 12,993,986 2,823,495 2,823,495


Fiscal year 2011-2012 (in dollars)
Planned expenditures for the year ending March 31, 2012 Expended during the quarter ended June 30, 2011 Year to date used at quarter-end
Expenditures:
Personnel 10,520,790 2,555,367 2,555,367
Transportation and communications 1,075,811 188,042 188,042
Information 21,757 3,122 3,122
Professional and special services 884,638 154,395 154,395
Rentals 166,124 7,286 7,286
Repair and maintenance 115,472 62,420 62,420
Utilities, materials and supplies 178,548 22,140 22,140
Acquisition of machinery and equipment 41,259 4,428 4,428
Other subsidies and payments 22,391 12,342 12,342
Total net budgetary expenditures 13,026,790 3,009,543 3,009,543
Date modified:

Rapport financier trimestriel pour le trimestre terminé le 30 juin 2012

Déclaration de la direction pour le trimestre terminé le 30 juin 2012

Introduction

Le Conseil canadien des relations industrielles (le CCRI ou le Conseil) est un tribunal quasi judiciaire, indépendant et représentatif chargé de l’interprétation et de l’application de la Partie I (Relations du travail) et de certaines dispositions de la Partie II (Santé et sécurité au travail) du Code canadien du travail (le Code). Il a été établi en janvier 1999 dans le cadre du remaniement de la partie I du Code. Le Conseil a pour mandat de favoriser l’établissement et le maintien de relations du travail efficaces dans le secteur privé relevant de la compétence fédérale.

Plus de renseignements sur le mandat, le rôle, les responsabilités et les programmes du Conseil se trouvent dans le Budget principal des dépenses de 2012-2013, disponible sur le site Web suivant : http://www.sct-tbs.gc.ca/est-pre/20122013/p2-fra.asp.

Le présent rapport financier trimestriel devrait être lu de concert avec le Budget principal des dépenses de 2012-2013. Il a été préparé par la direction tel qu’il est exigé par l’article 65.1 de la Loi sur la gestion des finances publiques et selon les modalités prescrites par le Conseil du Trésor. Le présent rapport n’a pas fait l’objet d’une vérification externe ou d’un examen.

Méthode de présentation du rapport
Ce rapport trimestriel a été préparé par la direction en utilisant une comptabilité axée sur les dépenses. L’état des autorisations joint à ce rapport inclut les autorisations de dépenser du Conseil accordées par le Parlement et utilisées par le CCRI, de manière cohérente avec le Budget principal des dépenses pour l’exercice 2012-2013. Ce rapport financier trimestriel a été préparé en utilisant un référentiel à usage particulier conçu pour répondre aux besoins d’information financière à l’égard de l’utilisation des autorisations de dépenser.

Le gouvernement ne peut dépenser sans l’autorisation préalable du Parlement. Les autorisations sont accordées par l’entremise de lois de crédits, sous forme de limites annuelles, ou par l’entremise de lois sous forme de pouvoirs législatifs de dépenser à des fins déterminées.

Lorsque le Parlement est dissous pour la tenue d’une élection générale, l’article 30 de la Loi sur la gestion des finances publiques autorise le gouverneur général, selon certaines conditions, à émettre un mandat spécial autorisant le gouvernement à retirer des fonds du Trésor. Un mandat spécial est considéré comme un crédit relatif à l’exercice au cours duquel il a été établi.

Le Conseil utilise la méthode de la comptabilité d’exercice intégrale pour la préparation de ses états financiers annuels qui font partie du processus de rapport sur le rendement ministériel. Toutefois, les autorisations de dépenser votées par le Parlement sont encore en fonction d’une comptabilité axée sur les dépenses.

Faits saillants des résultats financiers trimestriels et cumulatifs

Le Conseil définit un écart important comme un écart de plus de 100 000 $ qui représente également un écart de plus de 5% par rapport aux dépenses de l’année précédente.

Changements importants quant aux autorisations
Les autorisations votées du Conseil au 30 juin 2012 présentent un écart notable sur les dépenses de l’appropriation votée du présent trimestre. Cet écart est lié à la réduction des dépenses de voyages et de services professionnels en 2012-2013 vis-à-vis de 2011-2012. Cet écart est causé par une légère diminution du nombre de cas nécessitant une audience durant ce premier trimestre de l’année.

Changements importants quant aux dépenses budgétaires
Selon la définition du Conseil, aucun écart important n’est noté en ce qui concerne les dépenses budgétaires.

Risques et incertitudes

Le CCRI est un organisme à faible risque. Les salaires et avantages sociaux représentent environ les quatre cinquièmes (81 %) du budget d’exploitation de 13,0 millions de dollars du Conseil. Le solde de 2,5 millions de dollars est dédié au fonctionnement et à l’entretien (F et E), et est utilisé dans une proportion de 78 % pour les services professionnels et les déplacements, dépenses qui sont essentiellement liées à la tenue d’audiences et à la prise de décision dans les dossiers d’affaires.  Le Conseil applique les politiques du Conseil du Trésor pour l’utilisation du budget et une vérification effectuée par le Bureau du contrôleur général au printemps 2011 a confirmé que les contrôles de base de la gestion financière en place au Conseil sont efficaces et sont exercés en conformité avec les politiques et les directives du Conseil du Trésor.

Le CCRI doit faire face, comme tous les ministères et organismes du Gouvernement, au gel jusqu’à l’exercice 2013-2014 des transferts d’autorisation du Conseil du trésor pour couvrir les hausses de salaire négocié dans les conventions collectives. Le CCRI doit donc absorber une hausse annuelle de 1,5% de la masse salariale à même les autorisations existantes du Conseil. Cela est géré à l’interne par le réaménagement de certains postes. Cette mesure sera suffisante pour absorber les hausses jusqu’à l’horizon de l’exercice en 2013-2014.

Environnement opérationnel
Le Conseil doit constamment relever un défi en matière de planification en ce sens que le CCRI a uniquement pour mandat de trancher les questions que lui renvoient les syndicats, les employeurs, les employés et la ministre du Travail. Par conséquent, les activités opérationnelles du CCRI sont dictées par des demandes externes auxquelles ce dernier ne peut que réagir et qu’il n’est pas en mesure d’anticiper.

L’état de l’économie peut influer sur la nature de la demande de services du Conseil.  Une augmentation importante du nombre d’affaires complexes reçues nuirait gravement à la capacité du Conseil d’atteindre son résultat stratégique.

Délai de traitement
Le risque opérationnel le plus important du Conseil est lié au nombre de demandes et de plaintes qu’il reçoit dans une année, et qui peut avoir un impact sur sa capacité à demeurer efficace et efficient.   Pour atténuer ce risque, le Conseil traite et examine en priorité les affaires qui pourraient occasionner d’énormes problèmes de relations du travail si une décision n’était pas rendue rapidement ou qui nécessitent son attention immédiate pour d’autres raisons particulières.  Le CCRI va mettre en œuvre des amendements à son Règlement pour assurer le traitement efficient et efficace des demandes et des plaintes. De plus, il continuera d’apporter des améliorations au processus de traitement des demandes d’accréditation et des plaintes de pratique déloyale de travail et il s’attend à ce que ces stratégies permettront de réduire le délai de traitement des affaires.

Gestion ministérielle
À l’instar d’autres petits et très petits organismes, le Conseil subit constamment des pressions pour donner suite à diverses initiatives pangouvernementales de gestion ministérielle ou les mettre en oeuvre. Cependant, les ressources limitées du CCRI sont avant tout consacrées à la réalisation de son mandat principal, à savoir fournir des services de règlement des différends de manière juste et rapide à sa clientèle. Il est souvent difficile d’acquérir et de retenir les compétences et les connaissances spécialisées dans des domaines qui ne sont pas essentielles à la réalisation du mandat du Conseil, mais indispensables pour répondre aux attentes des organismes centraux dans divers secteurs de services organisationnels.

Le Conseil doit aussi gérer ses budgets de fonctionnement et salarial conformément aux restrictions budgétaires, qui devraient continuer à s’appliquer encore pour plusieurs années. Le CCRI continuera de chercher des occasions tant au moyen de possibilités horizontales que de partenariats avec d’autres ministères pour gagner en efficacité et pour assurer qu’il exécute son mandat d’une façon saine sur le plan financier et viable. Le CCRI participera également aux initiatives menées par le SCT visant à choisir un système de gestion des affaires commun et à attribuer un contrat à cet égard. Selon le CCRI, cette approche favorisera une synergie entre les organismes semblables et atténuera la pression exercée par un système qui prend de l’âge et dont le renouvellement pourrait être coûteux.

Changements importants quant au fonctionnement, au personnel et aux programmes

Aucun changement important n'a été noté au cours du dernier trimestre en ce qui concerne notre fonctionnement, le personnel clé ou nos programmes.

Approbation des cadres supérieurs

Elizabeth MacPherson, présidente

Ginette Brazeau, dirigeante principale des finances
Ottawa, Canada
3 août 2012

Conseil canadien des relations industrielles
Rapport financier trimestriel
Pour le trimestre terminé le 30 juin 2012

État des autorisations (non vérifié)

Exercice 2012-2013 (en dollars)
Crédits totaux disponibles pour l'exercice se terminant le 31 mars 2013 * Crédits utilisés pour le trimestre terminé le 30 juin 2012 Cumul des crédits utilisés à la fin du trimestre
Crédit 10 - Dépenses nettes de fonctionnement 11 424 279 2 431 091 2 431 091
Autorisations législatives - Régimes d'avantages sociaux 1 569 617 392 404 392 404
Autorisations totales 12 993 896 2 823 495 2 823 495


Exercice 2011-2012 (en dollars)
Crédits totaux disponibles pour l'exercice se terminant le 31 mars 2012 * Crédits utilisés pour le trimestre terminé le 30 juin 2011 Cumul des crédits utilisés à la fin du trimestre
Crédit 10 - Dépenses nettes de fonctionnement 11 421 923 2 608 326 2 608 326
Autorisations législatives - Régimes d'avantages sociaux 1 604 867 401 217 401 217
Autorisations totales 13 026 790 3 009 543 3 009 543

* N'inclut que les Autorisations disponibles pour l'exercice et accordées par le Parlement à la fin du trimestre.

Conseil canadien des relations industrielles
Rapport financier trimestriel
Pour le trimestre terminé le 30 juin 2012

État des dépenses par articles courants (non vérifié)

Exercice 2012-2013 (en dollars)
Dépenses prévues pour l'exercice se terminant le 31 mars 2013 Dépenses durant le trimestre se terminant le 30 juin 2012 Cumul des dépenses à la fin du trimestre
Dépenses :
Personnel 10 487 986 2 492 465 2 492 465
Transports et télécommunications 1 075 811 135 999 135 999
Information 21 757 12 736 12 736
Services professionnels et spéciaux 884 638 101 559 101 559
Location 166 124 11 757 11 757
Services de réparation et d'entretien 115 472 30 552 30 552
Services publics, fournitures et approvisionnements 178 548

19 120

19 120
Acquisition de machines et d'outillage 41 259 13 707 13 707
Autres subventions et paiements 22 391 5 600 5 600
Dépenses budgétaires nettes totales 12 993 986 2 823 495 2 823 495


Exercice 2011-2012 (en dollars)
Dépenses prévues pour l'exercice se terminant le 31 mars 2012 Dépenses durant le trimestre se terminant le 30 juin 2011 Cumul des dépenses à la fin du trimestre
Dépenses :
Personnel 10 520 790 2 555 367 2 555 367
Transports et télécommunications 1 075 811 188 042 188 042
Information 21 757 3 122 3 122
Services professionnels et spéciaux 884 638 154 395 154 395
Location 166 124 7 286 7 286
Services de réparation et d'entretien 115 472 62 420 62 420
Services publics, fournitures et approvisionnements 178 548 22 140 22 140
Acquisition de machines et d'outillage 41 259 4 428 4 428
Autres subventions et paiements 22 391 12 342 12 342
Dépenses budgétaires nettes totales 13 026 790 3 009 543 3 009 543
Date de modification :