CIRB Newslink–June 2012

Printable version (PDF format)

Message from the Chairperson

I am pleased to present our fifth semi-annual newsletter and reaffirm my commitment to keeping the federally regulated labour relations community informed of the performance and initiatives of the Board.

I also welcome the opportunity to share encouraging results achieved through our continuing efforts to streamline our processes and assist parties in resolving issues constructively. Considerable progress has been achieved over the last four years in reducing the backlog of pending cases and improving average case disposition time. The time required to process a file—which includes opening, investigating, mediating, hearing, and deciding a case—continues to be a critical focus for the Board, in particular with respect to the applications for certification, where the average case disposition time has dropped by more than 50% from just two years ago. The current rate of disposition has allowed the Board to reduce the number of pending matters to fewer than 400 cases, its lowest level in over 25 years. In addition, it should be noted that only 9% of those cases have been pending for more than 24 months; and of this number, 20% are matters that have been put in abeyance at the request of the parties themselves. This is a significant improvement from just four years ago, when approximately 25% of cases had remained unresolved for more than two years.

In this issue of Newslink, you will also find information on recent Board and Federal Court decisions of note.

I trust that you continue to find this newsletter helpful and informative, and invite you to provide us with your comments or suggestions for our next issues.

Elizabeth MacPherson

New Board Member

Robert Monette, Member

The Governor-in-Council recently appointed Mr. Robert Monette as a full-time member of the Board, serving as an employer representative. Mr. Monette has specialized in labour law matters since 1972 and over the course of his career, has represented many key Canadian employers. He retired from full-time law practice in 2009, and until his appointment, remained actively involved in federal labour matters as a senior counsel with Norton Rose LLP.




Performance Results at Fiscal Year End (March 31, 2012)

The number of incoming matters over the last fical year has remained relatively constant despite the economic challenges that Canada is facing and the ensuing uncertainty that this creates for businesses and their employees. In the last year, the Board maintained its rate of disposition, and the pending caseload is at its lowest level in over two decades.

Chart - Applications/Complaints Received 2011–12

text version

New Responsibilities for the CIRB

The federal government’s 2012 Budget Implementation Act contains amendments to the Status of the Artist Act that will, once proclaimed in force, make the Canada Industrial Relations Board the tribunal responsible for administering Part II of that Act. As a result, the CIRB will take on all the duties and responsibilities formerly performed by the Canadian Artists and Producers Professional Relations Tribunal (CAPPRT).

The Status of the Artist Act establishes a framework for the conduct of professional relations between independent professional artists and producers within the federal jurisdiction. The Act guarantees the right of artists to join associations that can represent their professional interests and the right to bargain collectively with producers for the purpose of reaching agreement on the minimum terms and conditions under which an artist will provide services to those producers. The Act also permits producers to form associations for the purposes of bargaining and entering into scale agreements. Although scale agreements set the minimum terms and conditions applicable in a particular artistic sector, artists are still free to negotiate individual contracts that provide more favourable rights and benefits.

Officials of the CIRB and CAPPRT have begun the work necessary to ensure a seamless transition for the communities they serve.

Launch of a New Platform for the Publication of CIRB Decisions

The CIRB is pleased to announce that its new platform for the publication of its decisions was launched on June 22. This improved platform makes it easier for clients to access and research Board decisions, and provides advanced search and navigation functions.

Users are now able to find a decision by launching a full-text search or by using a tool to search by the official citation, file number or author of a decision.

The decisions are now available in two formats (HTML and PDF), which will provide for better accessibility.

We invite you to visit our Website and follow the links to “Decisions.”

Recent CIRB Cases–Summary Notes

Buenaventura Jr. v. Telecommunications Workers Union, 2012 FCA 69

Federal Court of Appeal confirms that reconsideration power of the Board is not a statutory appeal process

The Federal Court of Appeal dismissed an application for judicial review filed by a group of employees of TELUS with respect to the Board’s decision in Torres, 2010 CIRB 526. In that decision, the Board refused to extend the time limit for the complainants to file a duty of fair representation complaint against the Telecommunications Workers Union (TWU) and dismissed the complaint.

On judicial review, the applicants argued that it was unreasonable for the Board not to consider the fact that they were unrepresented for most of the nine months it took them to file the complaint, which led to some difficulties in assembling the information needed and in appreciating the Board’s procedures for dealing with a multiplicity of complaints. Among a number of arguments, the TWU took the position that the Court should refuse to consider the application for judicial review because the applicants had not requested the Board to reconsider its original decision. It argued that the Board’s reconsideration process is an adequate alternate remedy, which the applicants should have exhausted before filing the application for judicial review.

The Board exercised its right under section 22(1.1) of the Canada Labour Code to make submissions to the Court on the issue of adequate alternate remedy. It was the Board’s position that its reconsideration process is not a statutory appeal process and that failure to seek reconsideration is not an impediment to judicial review.

The Court confirmed that the failure of a party to invoke the reconsideration process is not necessarily fatal to a judicial review application. The Court also confirmed that the Board’s reconsideration process is not a statutory appeal process. The Board’s jurisprudence shows a consistent adherence to the principle that its decisions are final and that reconsideration is the exception rather than the norm. As such, the Board’s reconsideration power is not an adequate alternate remedy.

The Court dismissed the application for judicial review on its merits. It concluded that it was reasonable for the Board to refuse to extend the time limit for the duty of fair representation complaint given the policy considerations for the statutory time limit. It also noted that laypersons should be held to the same standard as unions and employers.

Turnaround Couriers Inc. v. Canadian Union of Postal Workers, 2012 FCA 36

Federal Court of Appeal finds that local courier companies are not a “postal service”

The Federal Court of Appeal has determined that bicycle and pedestrian couriers delivering time-sensitive letters and packages exclusively within the city of Toronto are not providing a postal service and thus are within the constitutional jurisdiction of the provincial labour relations board. The constitutional question arose from an application for judicial review filed by the employer to set aside a decision of the CIRB (TurnAround Couriers Inc., 2010 CIRB 544). In that decision, the CIRB had held that TurnAround was providing a postal service within the meaning of section 91(5) of the Constitution Act, 1867, and that its operations therefore fell within federal jurisdiction. As a result, the CIRB determined that it had jurisdiction under the Canada Labour Code to certify the Canadian Union of Postal Workers as the bargaining agent for TurnAround’s couriers.

On judicial review, the Court determined that TurnAround’s operations did not constitute a “postal service” for the purpose of the Constitution Act, 1867. The Court was of the view that “postal service” in the Constitution Act refers to the national delivery system, which is currently either operated directly by the Canada Post Corporation or managed by it through contracts with other entities. The Court concluded that TurnAround Couriers Inc. was a local undertaking and was thus within provincial jurisdiction. It granted the application for judicial review and set aside the CIRB’s decision and certification order.

Spragg, 2011 CIRB 610

Board finds union breached its duty of fair representation when it agreed to remove rights in collective agreement applicable to a specific group of employees in the bargaining unit

The Board was seized of a duty of fair representation complaint filed against the London Technical Employee Association (the union) by nine home entertainment specialists (the HES technicians) working for Rogers Cable Communications Inc. (the employer). The complainants alleged that the union had acted in an arbitrary and bad faith manner by failing to bargain on behalf of the HES technicians and by agreeing to remove all reference to them in the new collective agreement.

The union did not pursue any demands on behalf of the HES technicians during the round of collective bargaining that took place following certification. Consequently, the collective agreement that was negotiated did not contain any of the references to the HES technicians that had been contained in the previous collective agreement.

The Board found that the union made a conscious decision during bargaining that, despite its certification order, it did not wish to represent the HES technicians. Rather than taking steps to remove itself as the exclusive bargaining agent for these employees, it simply abandoned them. The Board found that, not only did the union fail to advance the interests of the HES technicians during bargaining, it actively participated in depriving them of the few rights that they did have under the previous collective agreement. The Board found no evidence that the union endeavored to maintain the existing terms and conditions of employment for the HES technicians, let alone to improve them. On the contrary, the union ensured that all mention of the HES technicians was removed from the collective agreement, with no reasonable explanation.

The Board found no evidence that the union’s decision was taken in bad faith, but concluded that it was arbitrary and discriminatory, and therefore breached the duty of fair representation that the union owed the HES technicians, in violation of section 37 of the Canada Labour Code.

As remedy for the union’s violation of the Code, the Board directed the union to meet with the employer for the purpose of negotiating appropriate amendments to the collective agreement to include the HES technicians.

Comings and Goings

Appointment of New Regional Director of Ontario Region

Natalie Zawadowsky

Natalie Zawadowsky was appointed Regional Director of the Ontario Region on December 29, 2011. Natalie had worked as an Industrial Relations Officer with the CIRB since 2009. Prior to joining the Board, she worked with the Federal Mediation and Conciliation Service, the Ontario Human Rights Commission and with Lang Michener LLP in Toronto. She holds a Bachelor of Arts degree (Psychology) from Queen’s University and a Bachelor of Laws degree from the University of Toronto.

The Board congratulates Natalie on her appointment and is confident that she will ensure the highest quality of services to the client community.

Resignation

After two and a half years as an employer-side representative member, Mr. David Olsen has resigned from the Board in order to accept a position as Vice-Chair of the Public Service Labour Relations Board. Our loss is the PSLRB’s gain, and we wish Mr. Olsen every success in his new position.

Changes Within the Atlantic Regional Office

David Gooch, Senior Industrial Relations Officer, is retiring from the public service after five years with the CIRB. David worked as an Aircraft Avionics Technician and then as a National Business Representative with the International Association of Machinists and Aerospace Workers prior to joining the Atlantic Region of the CIRB on March 5, 2007, as an Industrial Relations Officer. We thank David for his dedication to the work of the CIRB and wish him a long and healthy retirement.

Caroline Mann joined the Atlantic office of the CIRB on January 9, 2012, as an Industrial Relations Officer following her successful experience as both an intern and then as a Conciliation/Mediation Officer with the Federal Mediation and Conciliation Service. Caroline holds a Bachelor of Arts degree (History and Political Science) from the University of New Brunswick and a Master of Arts degree (History) from Dalhousie University. Throughout her university studies, she was employed by the federal government as both a Senior Student Employment Officer and a Student Employment Counsellor. We welcome Caroline and wish her great success in her role.

Upcoming Events

  • The CIRB is pleased to participate again this year in the planning and organizing of the Association of Labour Relations Agencies’ annual conference. ALRA is a US-Canadian association of provincial and federal labour relations boards, mediation agencies and labour departments. Advocates’ Day is part of ALRA’s annual conference. It is a unique program which brings together labour officials, labour and management representatives, public and private sector managers and labour relations neutrals from across the United States and Canada to hear national and regional speakers discussing key issues of the day.
  • Advocates’ Day will be held on July 30, 2012, at the Hyatt Regency hotel in Montréal. For more information and registration details, visit http://www.alra.org/.
Date modified:

La UNE du CCRI – Juin 2012

Version imprimable (format PDF)

Message de la présidente

Je suis heureuse de vous présenter notre cinquième bulletin semestriel d’information et de réaffirmer mon engagement à tenir la communauté des relations du travail relevant de la compétence fédérale informée du rendement et des initiatives du Conseil.

Je saisis également l’occasion de partager les résultats encourageants obtenus grâce à nos efforts soutenus visant à simplifier nos processus et à aider les parties à régler leurs litiges de manière constructive. Des progrès notables ont été réalisés au cours des quatre dernières années pour réduire l’arriéré des affaires en instance et diminuer le délai moyen de règlement des affaires. Le délai requis pour traiter un dossier, qui comprend le temps nécessaire pour ouvrir le dossier, faire enquête, agir comme médiateur, tenir une audience et trancher l’affaire, demeure une priorité essentielle du Conseil, notamment en ce qui concerne les demandes d’accréditation, dont le délai moyen de règlement a diminué de plus de 50 % depuis à peine deux ans. Le taux actuel d’affaires tranchées a permis au Conseil de réduire le nombre d’affaires en instance à moins de 400, son plus bas niveau depuis plus de 25 ans. De plus, il convient de souligner que seulement 9 % de ces affaires sont en instance depuis plus de 24 mois; et parmi celles-ci, 20 % ont été mises en veilleuse à la demande des parties elles-mêmes. Ce pourcentage représente un progrès remarquable par rapport à il y a seulement quatre ans, alors qu’environ 25 % des affaires en instance l’étaient depuis plus de deux ans.

Dans le présent numéro de La Une, vous trouverez également des renseignements relatifs à des décisions importantes rendues récemment par le Conseil et par la Cour d’appel fédérale.

J’espère que vous trouvez le bulletin toujours utile et informatif. Je vous invite à nous envoyer vos commentaires ou vos suggestions pour nos prochains numéros.

Elizabeth MacPherson

Nouveau membre du Conseil

Robert Monette, Membre

Le gouverneur en conseil a récemment nommé Me Robert Monette membre à temps plein du Conseil, à titre de représentant des employeurs. Me Monette se spécialise en droit du travail depuis 1972 et il a, au cours de sa carrière, représenté plusieurs importants employeurs canadiens. En 2009, il a pris sa retraite de l’exercice du droit à temps plein et, jusqu’à sa nomination, il est demeuré actif dans le domaine des affaires du travail au palier fédéral à titre d’avocat principal auprès du cabinet Norton Rose s.r.l.


Résultats relatifs au rendement à la fin de l’exercice financier (31 mars 2012)

Le nombre d’affaires reçues au cours du dernier exercice est demeuré relativement stable malgré les défis économiques auxquels fait face le Canada et l’incertitude que cela entraîne pour les entreprises et les employés. Durant le dernier exercice, le Conseil a maintenu son taux d’affaires tranchées, et le nombre d’affaires en instance a atteint son niveau le plus bas depuis les deux dernières décennies.

Graphique - Demandes/plaintes reçues 2011-2012

version textuelle

Nouvelles responsabilités pour le CCRI

La Loi d’exécution du budget de 2012 du gouvernement fédéral contient des modifications à la Loi sur le Statut de l’artiste qui, une fois entrées en vigueur, auront pour effet de faire du Conseil canadien des relations industrielles le tribunal chargé de l’administration de la partie II de cette loi. Par conséquent, le CCRI assumera la totalité des obligations et des responsabilités assumées auparavant par le Tribunal canadien des relations professionnelles artistes-producteurs (TCRPAP).

La Loi sur le statut de l’artiste établit un cadre qui régit les relations professionnelles entre les artistes qui sont des entrepreneurs indépendants et les producteurs qui relèvent de la compétence fédérale. La Loi garantit aux artistes le droit de faire partie d’associations qui peuvent représenter leurs intérêts professionnels, ainsi que celui de négocier collectivement avec les producteurs des ententes relatives aux conditions minimales dans lesquelles ils fourniront des services à ces producteurs. De plus, la Loi autorise les producteurs à former des associations dont le but est de négocier et de conclure des accords-cadres. Même si ces derniers fixent les conditions minimales qui s’appliquent à un secteur artistique donné, les artistes sont encore libres de négocier des contrats distincts qui comportent des droits et des avantages plus favorables.

Les dirigeants du CCRI et du TCRPAP ont entrepris le travail visant à assurer une transition harmonieuse pour les communautés qu’ils desservent.

Lancement d’une nouvelle plateforme pour la publication des décisions du CCRI

Le CCRI est fier d’annoncer qu’il a mis en oeuvre sa nouvelle plateforme de publication des décisions le 22 juin dernier. Cette plateforme améliorée facilite la tâche des clients qui consultent les décisions du Conseil et font des recherches en offrant des fonctions avancées de recherche et de navigation.

Pour trouver une décision, l’utilisateur peut maintenant faire une recherche plein texte, et un outil lui permet également de la trouver au moyen de sa référence, de son numéro de dossier ou du nom du décideur.

Les décisions sont dorénavant disponibles en deux formats (HTML et PDF), ce qui les rend plus accessibles.

Nous vous invitons à consulter notre site Web et à suivre les liens à « Décisions ».

Résumés des décisions récentes du CCRI

Buenaventura Jr. c. Syndicat des travailleurs(euses) en télécommunications (STT), 2012 CAF 69

La Cour d’appel fédérale confirme que le pouvoir de réexamen du Conseil n’est pas un processus d’appel prévu par la loi

La Cour d’appel fédérale a rejeté une demande de contrôle judiciaire présentée par un groupe d’employés de TELUS relativement à une décision rendue par le Conseil dans Torres, 2010 CCRI 526. Dans cette décision, le Conseil avait refusé de proroger le délai pour permettre aux plaignants de déposer une plainte de manquement au devoir de représentation juste contre le Syndicat des travailleurs en télécommunications (STT), puis avait rejeté la plainte.

Dans le cadre de la demande de contrôle judiciaire, les demandeurs ont soutenu que le Conseil avait agi de manière déraisonnable en ne tenant pas compte du fait qu’ils étaient non représentés pendant la majeure partie des neuf mois qui s’étaient écoulés avant le dépôt de la plainte, ce qui avait fait en sorte qu’ils avaient eu des difficultés à rassembler les renseignements requis et à bien comprendre les procédures appliquées par le Conseil pour traiter de multiples plaintes. Le STT a soutenu, entre autres, que la Cour devrait refuser d’examiner la demande de contrôle judiciaire au motif que les demandeurs n’avaient pas présenté de demande de réexamen de la décision initiale rendue par le Conseil. Il a soutenu que le processus de réexamen du Conseil constitue déjà une mesure de redressement adéquate, dont les demandeurs auraient dû se prévaloir avant de présenter une demande de contrôle judiciaire.

Le Conseil a exercé son droit en vertu du paragraphe 22(1.1) du Code canadien du travail pour présenter des observations à la Cour sur la question relative aux autres mesures de redressement adéquates. Le Conseil était d’avis que son processus de réexamen n’est pas un processus d’appel prévu par la loi et que l’omission de l’invoquer n’empêche pas de solliciter un contrôle judiciaire.

La Cour a confirmé que le fait, pour une partie, de ne pas avoir recours au processus de réexamen n’entraîne pas nécessairement le rejet d’une demande de contrôle judiciaire. La Cour a aussi confirmé que le processus de réexamen du Conseil n’est pas un processus d’appel prévu par la loi. La jurisprudence du Conseil se conforme systématiquement au principe général suivant lequel ses décisions sont définitives et que le réexamen d’une décision constitue plus l’exception que la norme. Le pouvoir de réexamen du Conseil ne constitue donc pas une autre mesure de redressement adéquate.

La Cour a rejeté sur le fond la demande de contrôle judiciaire. Elle a conclu qu’il était raisonnable pour le Conseil de refuser de proroger le délai à l’égard de la plainte de manquement au devoir de représentation juste en raison des considérations de principe liées au délai prévu par le Code. Elle a également souligné que les plaignants inexpérimentés devraient être tenus de se conformer à la même norme que les syndicats et les employeurs.

Turnaround Couriers Inc. c. Société canadienne des postes, 2012 CAF 36

La Cour d’appel fédérale conclut que les entreprises de messagerie locales ne fournissent pas un « service postal »

La Cour d’appel fédérale a conclu que les entreprises de messagerie à vélo et à pied effectuant des livraisons urgentes de courrier et de colis uniquement dans la ville de Toronto ne fournissent pas un « service postal » et relèvent donc de la compétence constitutionnelle de la commission des relations de travail provinciale. La question a été soulevée dans le cadre d’une demande de contrôle judiciaire présentée par l’employeur qui visait l’annulation d’une décision du CCRI (TurnAround Couriers inc., 2010 CCRI 544). Dans cette décision, le CCRI a déterminé que TurnAround fournissait un service postal au sens du paragraphe 91(5) de la Loi constitutionnelle de 1867 et que par conséquent, ses activités relevaient de la compétence fédérale. Le CCRI a dès lors conclu qu’il possédait la compétence nécessaire en vertu du Code canadien du travail pour accréditer le Syndicat des travailleurs et travailleuses des postes à titre d’agent négociateur des messagers travaillant pour TurnAround.

Dans le cadre du contrôle judiciaire, la Cour a jugé que les activités de TurnAround ne pouvaient constituer un « service postal » au sens de la Loi constitutionnelle de 1867. La Cour était plutôt d’avis que les mots « service postal » dans la Loi constitutionnelle de 1867 renvoient au système national de livraison, dont le fonctionnement, à l’heure actuelle, est assuré directement par la Société canadienne des postes ou géré par elle au moyen de contrats passés avec d’autres entités. La Cour a conclu que TurnAround Couriers inc. était une entreprise de nature locale et qu’elle relevait donc de la compétence provinciale. Elle a donc accueilli la demande de contrôle judiciaire et a annulé la décision et l’ordonnance rendues par le CCRI.

Spragg, 2011 CCRI 610

Le Conseil conclut que le syndicat a manqué à son devoir de représentation juste en acceptant de retirer les droits qu’accordait la convention collective à un groupe précis d’employés de l’unité de négociation

Le Conseil était saisi d’une plainte de manquement au devoir de représentation juste déposée contre The London Technical Employee Association (le syndicat) par neuf techniciens – divertissement à domicile (les TDD) qui travaillent pour Communications Rogers Câble inc. (l’employeur). Les plaignants alléguaient que le syndicat avait agi de manière arbitraire et de mauvaise foi en ne négociant pas au nom des TDD et en acceptant de retirer toute référence à leur catégorie d’emploi dans la nouvelle convention collective.

Le syndicat n’avait présenté aucune demande au nom des TDD pendant la ronde de négociations collectives qui avait eu lieu après l’accréditation. Par conséquent, la convention collective qui a été conclue ne comporte aucune des références aux TDD qui figuraient dans la convention collective précédente.

Le Conseil a conclu que le syndicat avait décidé délibérément, pendant les négociations, qu’il ne voulait plus représenter les TDD, et ce, malgré ce que prévoyait l’ordonnance d’accréditation. Au lieu de faire les démarches nécessaires pour cesser d’être l’agent négociateur exclusif de cette catégorie d’employés, le syndicat avait simplement abandonné la défense de leurs intérêts. Le Conseil a conclu que, non seulement le syndicat ne s’était pas contenté de ne pas promouvoir les intérêts des TDD pendant les négociations collectives, mais il avait contribué activement à priver les TDD des quelques droits que la convention collective précédente leur accordait. Le Conseil a déclaré que rien ne permettait de conclure que le syndicat s’était efforcé de préserver les modalités d’emploi existantes des TDD et encore moins de les améliorer. Au contraire, le syndicat s’était assuré que toutes les références aux TDD qui figuraient dans la convention collective précédente soient supprimées dans la nouvelle convention, et ce, sans explication raisonnable.

Le Conseil a déclaré que rien ne démontrait que la décision du syndicat avait été prise de mauvaise foi, mais il a conclu qu’elle était arbitraire et discriminatoire, et que le syndicat avait ainsi manqué au devoir de représentation juste auquel il est tenu envers les TDD, en violation de l’article 37 du Code canadien du travail.

À titre de redressement pour la violation du Code commise par le syndicat, le Conseil a ordonné au syndicat de rencontrer l’employeur aux fins de négocier les modifications nécessaires à la convention collective pour y inclure les TDD.

Les allées et venues

Nomination d’une nouvelle directrice régionale – Région de l’Ontario

Natalie Zawadowsky

Natalie Zawadowsky a été nommée directrice régionale de la région de l’Ontario le 29 décembre 2011. Natalie exerçait les fonctions d’agente des relations industrielles auprès du CCRI depuis 2009. Avant de se joindre au Conseil, elle a travaillé auprès du Service fédéral de médiation et de conciliation, de la Commission ontarienne des droits de la personne ainsi que du cabinet Lang Michener s.r.l., à Toronto. Elle détient un baccalauréat ès arts en psychologie de l’Université Queens et un baccalauréat en droit de l’Université de Toronto.

Le Conseil félicite Natalie pour sa nomination et est convaincu qu’elle s’assurera que les services fournis à la clientèle soient d’excellente qualité.

Démission

Après deux ans et demi à titre de membre représentant les employeurs, Me David Olsen a donné sa démission au Conseil afin d’accepter un poste de vice-président à la Commission des relations de travail dans la fonction publique. Nous voyons partir Me Olsen avec regret, mais c’est assurément avec joie que la CRTFP accueillera son arrivée. Nous lui souhaitons tout le succès possible dans son nouveau poste.

Changement au bureau régional de l’Atlantique

David Gooch, agent principal des relations industrielles, prend sa retraite de la fonction publique après cinq années de service au CCRI. David a travaillé comme technicien en avionique de bord et, ensuite, comme représentant syndical national auprès de l’Association internationale des machinistes et des travailleurs et travailleuses de l’aérospatiale, avant de se joindre au bureau de l’Atlantique du CCRI le 5 mars 2007 à titre d’agent des relations industrielles. Nous remercions David pour son dévouement au CCRI et lui souhaitons la santé et une longue et belle retraite.

Caroline Mann s’est jointe au bureau de l’Atlantique du CCRI le 9 janvier 2012 à titre d’agente des relations industrielles, après une fructueuse expérience à titre de stagiaire et, ensuite, d’agente de conciliation et de médiation auprès du Service fédéral de médiation et de conciliation. Caroline détient un baccalauréat ès arts en histoire et en sciences politiques de l’Université du Nouveau-Brunswick et une maîtrise ès arts en histoire de l’Université Dalhousie. Durant ses études universitaires, elle a travaillé au gouvernement fédéral à la fois comme agente principale de placement d’étudiants et comme conseillère en emplois pour étudiants. Nous souhaitons la bienvenue à Caroline et lui souhaitons beaucoup de succès dans ses fonctions.

Activités à venir

  • Le CCRI est heureux de participer, cette année encore, à la planification et à l’organisation de la conférence annuelle de l’Association of Labour Relations Agencies (ALRA). Cette association regroupe des tribunaux spécialisés en relations du travail, des organismes de médiation et les ministères du Travail des différents paliers gouvernementaux américains et canadiens. La Journée des intervenants est l’un des volets de cette conférence annuelle. Il s’agit là d’un programme unique qui réunit des représentants du travail, des représentants des milieux syndical et patronal, des gestionnaires des secteurs public et privé ainsi que des intervenants neutres dans le domaine des relations du travail des États-Unis et du Canada pour entendre des conférenciers nationaux et régionaux parler d’importants sujets d’actualité.
  • La Journée des intervenants aura lieu le 30 juillet 2012, à l’hôtel Hyatt Regency de Montréal. Pour plus de renseignements et pour les détails au sujet de l’inscription, consulter le site Web http://www.alra.org/.
Date de modification :