Board's Role

The Canada Industrial Relations Board is an independent, representational, quasi-judicial tribunal responsible for the interpretation and administration of Part I (Industrial Relations) of the Canada Labour Code, certain provisions of Part II (Occupational Health and Safety) of the Canada Labour Code and Part II (Professional Relations) of the Status of the Artist Act. The Board’s expertise and composition allow it to deal effectively with the complexities of labour relations issues, to determine the underlying causes of disputes and to facilitate agreement among the parties.

The Board’s mandate is to contribute to and promote a harmonious industrial relations climate in the federally regulated sector through the impartial, effective and appropriate administration of the rules of conduct that govern labour and management in their representational and bargaining activities.

The CIRB undertakes a wide range of industrial relations activities in matters related to federal jurisdiction industries. These activities include certifying trade unions, investigating complaints of unfair labour practice, issuing cease and desist orders in cases of unlawful strikes and lockouts, rendering decisions on jurisdictional issues, and dealing with complex situations arising from a sale of business. It does so with a commitment to process, hear and determine applications and complaints fairly, expeditiously, and economically. Before adjudication, it plays an active role in helping parties to resolve their disputes through mediation and alternative dispute resolution approaches.

The Board engages in consultation with its clients and ensures open lines of communication with the industrial relations community. It also fulfills a vital function in recognizing and protecting the rights of employees and employers, and in constructively resolving conflicts.

Date modified:

Rôle du Conseil

Le Conseil canadien des relations industrielles est un tribunal quasi judiciaire, indépendant et représentatif qui est chargé d’interpréter et d’appliquer la Partie I (Relations du travail) du Code canadien du travail, certaines dispositions de la Partie II (Santé et sécurité au travail) du Code canadien du travail et de la Partie II (Relations Professionnelles) de la Loi sur le statut de l'artiste. La compétence et la composition du Conseil lui permettent de s’attaquer efficacement aux problèmes les plus complexes dans son domaine, à cerner les raisons sous-jacentes des différends et à faciliter l’entente entre les parties.

Le Conseil a pour mandat de favoriser l’établissement et le maintien de relations du travail harmonieuses dans les secteurs d'activité relevant de la compétence fédérale par l'administration impartiale, appropriée et efficace des règles de conduite qui régissent les syndicats et les employeurs dans le cadre de leurs activités de représentation et de négociation.

Le CCRI offre une vaste gamme de services en matière de relations du travail aux secteurs relevant de la compétence du gouvernement fédéral. Ces services englobent l’accréditation des syndicats, la tenue d’enquêtes sur les plaintes de pratiques déloyales de travail, l’émission d’ordonnances de ne pas faire dans des situations de grève et de lock-out illégaux, la détermination de questions relatives à sa compétence et le traitement de situations complexes qui peuvent résulter d’une vente d’entreprise. Le Conseil s’efforce de traiter, instruire et régler toutes les demandes et les plaintes qui lui sont présentées de façon juste, rapide et économique. Avant la prise de décisions, il intervient pour aider les parties à régler leurs différends par la médiation et d’autres modes de règlement des différends.

Le Conseil procède à des consultations auprès de sa clientèle et favorise le dialogue avec le milieu des relations du travail. Il joue un rôle vital en reconnaissant et en protégeant les droits des employés et des employeurs, et en réglant les différends de façon positive.

Date de modification :