No. 11–Duty of Fair Representation

Information Circular

PDF Printable version

The following is an information circular prepared by the administrative staff of the CIRB. The circulars are designed to provide employees, trade unions and employers with general information and a clearer understanding of Board processes. This information circular is an informal tool and is not binding on the Board.


DUTY OF FAIR REPRESENTATION

The Canada Industrial Relations Board certifies trade unions as bargaining agents to represent employees in a defined bargaining unit. The bargaining agent is given exclusive authority to represent all employees in the unit in dealing with their employer. In return, the Code places a statutory duty, the duty of fair representation, on the trade union when acting on behalf of the employees it represents.

What is the duty of fair representation?

Section 37 of the Code provides that a trade union, or any one of its representatives, that is the bargaining agent for a unit of employees, shall not act in a manner that is arbitrary, discriminatory or in bad faith in the representation of any of the employees in the bargaining unit with respect to their rights under the collective agreement that is applicable to them. This is called the duty of fair representation.

What do "arbitrary," "discriminatory" and "bad faith" mean?

A union must not act arbitrarily. Arbitrary conduct by the union generally means that a union has failed to adequately investigate an employee's grievance or issue and has handled the employee's case in a superficial manner. It can also mean that a union has not given sufficient consideration to the employee's interests when acting on his/her behalf or has been seriously negligent in representing an employee. However, this does not mean that unions cannot make mistakes or that they must always be correct in every assessment they make as to the merits of an employee's grievance.

A union must not act in a discriminatory manner. This means that a trade union must not discriminate against an employee on any illegal or prohibited ground, such as age, race, religion, sex or medical condition. It also means that a union should not treat individuals or groups of employees differently based on unreasonable or irrational grounds. However, this does not mean that every instance of differential treatment is discriminatory.

A union must not act in bad faith; that is, with an improper purpose. Bad faith has been found to include conduct or decisions of the trade union that were motivated by personal feelings of hostility or ill-will toward an employee. It may also include deceitful or dishonest conduct.

In deciding whether or not a union has acted in a manner that is arbitrary, discriminatory or in bad faith, the Board will assess the union's conduct as to how it handled an employee's case. It will look at how the union acted and the process it used to make its decisions concerning the employee's case. The Board will consider whether the union put its mind to the merits of the employee's case, considered relevant factors and made an objective and rational judgment about how to resolve the matter. The Board does not assess the merits of the employee's grievance or second-guess the actual decision made by the union as to whether or not it will take a grievance forward.

Employees do not have the absolute right to have their grievances referred to arbitration. A union may decide not to pursue a grievance or may settle a grievance without the employee's agreement, as long as the union's decision is not arbitrary, discriminatory or made in bad faith.

How to file a complaint?

The Board provides a process for an employee to file a complaint against his/her bargaining agent. In McRaeJackson, 2004 CIRB 290, the Board explained its reasoning and the main principles it applies to decide duty of fair representation complaints. This decision is available at any one of the Board's regional offices or from the Board's Web site. However, as the Board's jurisprudence continually evolves, it is always useful to consult other decisions on the Board's Web site.

As explained in CIRB decision no. 290, an employee must cooperate with the union in its attempt to resolve the issue before filing a complaint with the Board.

If, after reading CIRB decision no. 290, an employee feels that he/she can prove that the union violated the duty of fair representation, a complaint form is available from any one of the Board's regional offices or from the Board's Web site in PDF format.

It is strongly recommended that an employee use this form. It asks for all the information that the Board needs in order to consider a complaint, and that is required by section 10 of the Board's Regulations. Not completing this form may cause delays in the complaint process.

Questions may be addressed to one of the Board's regional industrial relations officers.

A complaint may be filed at any of the Board's regional offices. It may be delivered in person or sent by courier, mail or fax. It is considered to be filed at the time it is received. If it is sent by registered mail, the date it was registered and mailed is the date of the complaint.

When to file the complaint?

Employees must file a complaint within 90 days of the date they knew or should have known of the circumstances giving rise to their complaint (as required by section 97(2) of the Code), regardless of whether any other complaint process has been used.

What happens when the Board receives a complaint?

  • An industrial relations officer reviews the complaint. If additional information is requested, the employee has seven (7) calendar days to provide it. If the information is not received within that time, the file will be closed without any further steps being taken.
  • Once complete, a copy of the complaint is sent to the union and to the employer for information purposes. The union and the employer will not be asked to respond at this time.
  • The complaint is then referred to a panel of the Board to assess whether there are sufficient grounds for the complaint to proceed (section 16(o.1) of the Code).
  • If there is no basis for a complaint, a summary decision will be issued and the file will be closed.
  • If the complaint warrants further consideration, then the union and employer will be asked to file a response. The time limit for them to respond is fifteen (15) calendar days, as set out in section 12 of the Regulations.
  • Responses not received within the time limit may not be considered by the Board.
  • If the employee wishes to reply to the responses from the union and the employer, this reply must be received by the Board and the other parties within ten (10) calendar days. Replies not received within the time limit may not be considered by the Board.
  • A resolution conference will be scheduled.
  • If the complaint is not settled, the matter is sent back to a panel of the Board for a decision. The panel may decide the matter without holding an oral hearing (section 16.1 of the Code).

What is a resolution conference?

A resolution conference is an informal and confidential meeting held by a Board officer that allows both sides to explore settlement options.

Revised 2013

Date modified:

No 11 – Devoir de représentation juste

Circulaire d'information

PDF Version imprimable

Le présent document est une circulaire d'information préparée par le personnel administratif du CCRI. Les circulaires d'information fournissent des renseignements généraux aux employés, aux syndicats et aux employeurs, pour les aider à mieux comprendre le fonctionnement du Conseil. La présente circulaire est un outil informel et, par conséquent, elle ne lie pas le Conseil.


LE DEVOIR DE REPRÉSENTATION JUSTE

Le Conseil canadien des relations industrielles accrédite les syndicats à titre d'agent négociateur pour représenter les employés d'une unité de négociation définie. L'agent négociateur a le pouvoir exclusif de représenter tous les employés de l'unité dans leurs relations avec leur employeur. Le Code impose en contrepartie un devoir au syndicat lorsqu'il agit au nom des employés qu'il représente, le devoir de représentation juste.

Qu'est-ce que le devoir de représentation juste?

L'article 37 du Code prévoit qu'il est interdit au syndicat, en tant qu'agent négociateur d'une unité d'employés, ainsi qu'à ses représentants, d'agir de manière arbitraire ou discriminatoire ou de mauvaise foi dans le cadre de la représentation des employés de l'unité dans l'exercice des droits reconnus à ceux-ci par la convention collective. Voilà ce en quoi consiste le devoir de représentation juste.

Que signifie agir de « manière arbitraire », « discriminatoire » ou de « mauvaise foi »?

Un syndicat ne doit pas agir de manière arbitraire. Une conduite arbitraire s'entend généralement du défaut du syndicat d'enquêter convenablement sur un grief ou un problème soumis par un employé ou de l'attitude superficielle dont le syndicat a fait preuve dans le traitement de l'affaire de l'employé. Il y a aussi conduite arbitraire lorsque le syndicat n'accorde pas suffisamment d'attention aux intérêts de l'employé ou lorsqu'il fait preuve de négligence grave dans le cadre de la représentation de celui-ci. Cependant, cela ne signifie pas pour autant que le syndicat n'a pas droit à l'erreur ou qu'il doit toujours faire une évaluation juste du bien-fondé d'un grief d'un employé.

Un syndicat ne doit pas agir de manière discriminatoire. Par conséquent, il ne doit pas faire de distinction injuste fondée sur un motif illicite de distinction tel que l'âge, la race, la religion, le sexe ou l'état de santé. Cela signifie également que le syndicat ne devrait pas traiter les personnes ou les groupes d'employés de façon différente pour des motifs déraisonnables ou irrationnels. Cependant, un traitement différent ne constitue pas toujours de la discrimination.

Un syndicat ne doit pas agir de mauvaise foi, c'est-à-dire pour un motif répréhensible. Il a été établi que la mauvaise foi incluait les comportements ou décisions d'un syndicat qui étaient fondés sur des sentiments d'hostilité personnelle ou d’animosité envers un employé. Il peut aussi s'agir d'un comportement trompeur ou malhonnête.

Afin de déterminer si un syndicat a agi de manière arbitraire, discriminatoire ou de mauvaise foi, le Conseil évaluera la manière dont le syndicat a traité l'affaire de l'employé. Il se penchera sur la conduite du syndicat et sur le processus suivi par ce dernier pour en arriver à sa décision. Il évaluera si le syndicat s'est penché sur le bien-fondé de l'affaire, s'il a examiné les facteurs pertinents et s'il a décidé de manière objective et rationnelle de la marche à suivre pour régler l'affaire. Le Conseil ne se penche pas sur le bien-fondé d'un grief et ne remet pas en question la décision du syndicat quant à la suite à donner à un grief.

Les employés n'ont pas le droit absolu de faire porter leurs griefs à l'arbitrage. Le syndicat peut décider de ne pas donner suite au grief ou de le régler sans l'accord de l'employé, dans la mesure où il n'agit pas de manière arbitraire, discriminatoire ou de mauvaise foi.

Comment déposer une plainte?

Le Conseil offre aux employés un processus par lequel ils peuvent déposer une plainte contre leur agent négociateur. Dans la décision McRaeJackson, 2004 CCRI 290, le Conseil a exposé son raisonnement et les grands principes sur lesquels il s'appuie pour trancher les plaintes de manquement au devoir de représentation juste. Il est possible d'obtenir une copie de cette décision auprès de tout bureau régional du Conseil ou sur le site Web du Conseil. Toutefois, étant donné que la jurisprudence du Conseil évolue constamment, il peut être utile de vérifier d'autres décisions du Conseil sur son site Web.

Tel qu'il est indiqué dans la décision du CCRI no 290, un employé doit coopérer avec le syndicat en vue de tenter de régler l'affaire avant de déposer une plainte auprès du Conseil.

Si après avoir lu la décision du CCRI no 290, un employé estime qu'il est en mesure de démontrer que le syndicat a manqué à son devoir de représentation juste, il peut obtenir un formulaire de plainte auprès de tout format PDF.

Il est fortement recommandé à l'employé d'utiliser ce formulaire, dans lequel sont demandés tous les renseignements dont le Conseil a besoin pour examiner la plainte, lesquels sont exigés à l'article 10 du Règlement du Conseil. Si l'employé ne remplit pas ce formulaire, le processus risque de prendre plus de temps.

Les questions peuvent être adressées à un agent des relations industrielles d'un des bureaux régionaux du Conseil.

Une plainte peut être déposée auprès de tout bureau régional du Conseil. Elle peut être livrée en personne ou envoyée par messagerie, par la poste ou par télécopieur. On considère qu'elle est déposée dès le moment de sa réception. Si elle est envoyée par courrier recommandé, la date d'inscription et de mise à la poste équivaut à la date du dépôt de la plainte.

Quand déposer une plainte?

Une plainte doit être déposée dans les 90 jours suivant la date à laquelle l'employé a eu ou aurait dû avoir connaissance des circonstances ayant donné lieu à sa plainte (comme le prévoit le paragraphe 97(2) du Code), qu'il porte ou non sa plainte devant une autre instance.

Qu'arrive-t-il une fois qu'une plainte a été déposée?

  • Un agent des relations industrielles examine la plainte. Si des renseignements supplémentaires sont nécessaires, l'employé dispose de sept (7) jours civils pour les fournir. Si les renseignements ne sont pas reçus dans le délai prévu, le dossier sera clos sans qu'aucune autre démarche ne soit entreprise.
  • Une fois les renseignements reçus, une copie de la plainte est envoyée au syndicat et à l'employeur, à titre informatif. Le syndicat et l'employeur n'ont pas à présenter de réponse à cette étape.
  • La plainte est ensuite acheminée à un banc du Conseil qui détermine si la plainte s'appuie sur des motifs suffisants (alinéa 16o.1) du Code) pour être instruite.
  • Si la plainte n'est pas fondée, une décision sommaire est rendue et le dossier est clos.
  • Si la plainte mérite un examen plus approfondi, le syndicat et l'employeur sont appelés à présenter une réponse. Le délai de présentation d’une réponse est de quinze (15) jours civils, tel qu’il est prévu à l’article 12 du Règlement.
  • Le Conseil peut ne pas prendre en considération les réponses présentées en retard.
  • Si l'employé désire présenter une réplique à la réponse du syndicat et de l'employeur, il doit la faire parvenir au Conseil et aux autres parties dans les dix (10) jours civils qui suivent. Le Conseil peut ne pas prendre en considération les répliques présentées en retard.
  • Le Conseil convoquera ensuite une conférence de règlement.
  • Si la plainte n'est pas réglée, l'affaire est renvoyée à un banc du Conseil qui peut statuer sur celle-ci sans tenir d'audience (article 16.1 du Code).

Qu'est-ce qu'une conférence de règlement?

Il s'agit d'une réunion informelle et confidentielle tenue avec un agent du Conseil qui permet aux deux parties d'analyser les options qui s'offrent pour régler l'affaire.

Révisée 2013

Date de modification :