No. 08–Your Unfair Labour Practice Complaint and the Public Hearing Process

Information Circular

PDF Printable version

The following is one in a series of information circulars prepared by the administration staff of the CIRB. The circulars are designed to provide employees, trade unions and employers with general information and a clearer understanding of Board processes. This information circular is an informal tool and is not binding on the Board.


YOUR UNFAIR LABOUR PRACTICE COMPLAINT AND THE PUBLIC HEARING PROCESS

The complaint you filed is scheduled for public hearing and you want to appear before the Board without a lawyer, a union representative or any other type of representative. This information circular is intended for you; it will explain the various stages of the hearing and will answer the following questions.

  • When does the Board hold a hearing?
  • How do you prepare for a hearing?
  • What is the order of presentation of evidence during a hearing (that is, who goes first)?
  • What happens at the argument stage?
  • What is the role of the Board's industrial relations officers before and after a hearing is held?
  • What happens after the hearing?

When does the Board hold a hearing?

You can request that the Board hold a public hearing to deal with your complaint, but it is the Board that determines whether or not to hold a hearing, on the basis of the requirements of the Canada Labour Code (the Code) and the information on file.

"16. The Board has, in relation to any proceeding before it, power

...

(l.1) to defer deciding any matter, where the Board considers that the matter could be resolved by arbitration or an alternate method of resolution;

...

(o.1) to summarily refuse to hear, or dismiss, a matter for want of jurisdiction or lack of evidence;

...

16.1 The Board may decide any matter before it without holding an oral hearing."

The Board may refuse to hold a public hearing and decide the case on the basis of the information on file, that is, information that the parties provided or that the industrial relations officer gathered during the investigation. For this reason, it is very important that you present all relevant facts and arguments in support of your complaint in writing and attach all exhibits, as you may not have the opportunity to produce other evidence or arguments at a formal hearing.

How do you prepare for a hearing?

Once the Board has decided to hold a public hearing, it will inform the parties involved of the date, time and place of the hearing. If you need simultaneous translation services, the Board will provide them on request.

At the hearing, the single-member or three-member panel will ask you to present your evidence, which can be done in two ways. When you call a witness to testify at the hearing, you are presenting oral evidence. And documents, letters or other objects you present to the Board are known as exhibit evidence.

Be aware that documents or exhibit evidence must be introduced through a witness, who may have sent or received a copy of the document. Another approach is to agree with the other party on the authenticity of the document presented. The Board marks for identification all documents you produce. Make sure you provide a sufficient number of copies of all documents you plan to introduce as evidence to be distributed to the panel hearing your complaint and to the other parties.

If you believe that one of the persons you want to question may not appear at a hearing, it is safer to obtain a summons (subpoena) from the Board. The industrial relations officer responsible for investigating your complaint will complete the form and indicate, at your request, the documents you want the witnesses to bring with them to the hearing. However, do remember that if you request a summons, it is your responsibility to deliver it and pay all related costs (see section 118 of the Code).

HEARING PROCESS

What is the order of presentation of evidence during a hearing (who goes first)?

The order in which the evidence is to be presented to the Board during the hearing varies according to the type of complaint. Ordinarily, if you claim that the employer or union violated a provision of the Code, you are responsible for proving, to the Board's satisfaction, that the employer or union has committed acts prohibited by the Code. It is said that you carry the burden of proof and you are the first to present evidence.

If you claim that your employer or its representative violated section 94(3) of the Code, by disciplining you for union activities for example, the employer must prove it has not violated the Code, rather than you having to prove that a violation did occur. The employer would be asked to present its evidence first at a hearing. This procedure, described in section 98(4) of the Code, allows you to be informed of the employer's reasons and to respond to them.

Examination, Cross-examination and Re-examination of a Witness

If you are the first to present your evidence, you are examining the witness, that is, you ask questions relevant to your complaint. The other party then gets a chance to question that person. This is called cross-examination of the witness. Finally, you get a chance to re-examine your witness; however, you cannot during re-examination explore issues that did not come up in the initial examination and in cross-examination.

Once you have presented your evidence, the Board will ask the other parties to present their evidence, following the same procedure. When all witnesses have been heard, the presentation of evidence is completed and we proceed to the argument stage.

What happens at the argument stage?

At this stage, the Board is aware of all the facts of the case, but it does not know how the parties interpret these facts. You and the other parties, in the same order that the evidence was presented, take turns trying to convince the Board, through arguments, to allow your complaint.

To support your case, you can, in your arguments, refer to past decisions (case law or jurisprudence) of the Board or of other labour boards and courts, where similar issues were examined. You need not be intimidated by your lack of knowledge of established jurisprudence. Board members are well aware of the Code's provisions and of past decisions, and base their decision on the information on file and their appreciation of the witnesses' testimony.

What is the role of the industrial relations officer before and after a hearing is held?

After receiving a complaint, the Board appoints an industrial relations officer to investigate the complaint and try and help the parties settle the matter. This process is called mediation. All that is discussed during mediation between the officer and the parties is confidential. The Board will not be told of what transpired from these discussions. Board officers can help you and the other parties organize the facts and issues so as to zero in on exactly what is in dispute. They can also provide you and any other party with copies of past Board decisions dealing with similar issues.

Experience has shown that it is better for the parties to find a solution on their own. However, if the parties cannot reach an agreement, the officer will inform the Board and will write a report describing the areas of disagreement. The report is filed with the Board and distributed to the parties for their comments. The Board then determines whether it can deal with the complaint on the basis of the information on file or whether it must schedule a hearing.

Board officers remain available at all times to assist you and the other parties in reaching a settlement even after a hearing is scheduled. As mentioned above, they also provide assistance with respect to obtaining summonses. Since they are fully acquainted with the Board's practices in conducting a hearing, feel free to consult with them on any matter related to the hearing. However, they must remain neutral, and cannot act or be seen to act as advocates.

What happens after the hearing?

At the conclusion of a hearing, the Board will make every effort to transmit its decision to the parties as soon as possible.

In some cases, the Board will appoint an industrial relations officer to assist the parties in implementing the decision. If a party refuses to comply with the decision, the Board will on request take additional steps to ensure compliance with the terms of the decision.

For more information about the Board, refer to circulars concerning the role of the industrial relations officer and the scheduling of hearings.

Revised 2001

Date modified:

No 08 – Votre plainte de pratique déloyale de travail et le processus d'audience publique

Circulaire d'information

PDF Version imprimable

Le présent document est une circulaire d'information préparée par le personnel duCCRI. Elle fournit des renseignements généraux aux employés, aux syndicats et aux employeurs, pour les aider à mieux comprendre le fonctionnement du Conseil. La présente circulaire est un outil informel et, par conséquent, elle ne lie pas le Conseil.


VOTRE PLAINTE DE PRATIQUE DÉLOYALE DE TRAVAIL ET LE PROCESSUS D'AUDIENCE PUBLIQUE

Si vous déposez une plainte qui doit être entendue au cours d'une audience publique et que vous désirez vous présenter devant le Conseil sans représentant (avocat ou autre), la présente circulaire est pour vous. Vous y trouverez une explication des divers stades de l'audience, de même que la réponse aux questions suivantes.

  • Quand le Conseil tient-il une audience?
  • Comment se préparer en vue de l'audience?
  • Dans quel ordre la preuve est-elle présentée pendant l'audience (qui passe en premier)?
  • À quoi faut-il s'attendre au stade de l'argumentation?
  • Quel rôle les agents des relations industrielles sont-ils appelés à jouer avant et après la tenue d'une audience?
  • Que se passe-t-il après l'audience?

Quand le Conseil tient-il une audience?

Vous pouvez demander que votre plainte fasse l'objet d'une audience, mais il appartient au Conseil de déterminer si, oui ou non, une telle audience aura lieu, compte tenu des exigences du Code canadien du travail(le Code) et des renseignements au dossier.

« 16. Le Conseil peut, dans le cadre de toute affaire dont il connaît :

...

l.1) reporter à plus tard sa décision sur une question, lorsqu'il estime qu'elle pourrait être réglée par arbitrage ou par tout autre mode de règlement;

...

o.1) de façon sommaire, refuser d'entendre ou rejeter toute affaire pour motif de manque de preuve ou d'absence de compétence;

...

16.1 Le Conseil peut trancher toute affaire ou question dont il est saisi sans tenir d'audience. »

Le Conseil peut refuser de tenir une audience publique et régler le point en litige en se fondant sur les renseignements au dossier que les parties ont fournis et que l'agent des relations industrielles a recueillis dans le cadre de son enquête. Pour cette raison, il importe que vous présentiez, par écrit, tous les faits et arguments à l'appui de votre plainte et joignez toutes les pièces justificatives, puisque vous n'aurez peut-être pas l'occasion de présenter d'autres éléments de preuve ou arguments s'il n'y a pas d'audience publique.

Comment se préparer en vue de l'audience?

Lorsque le Conseil a décidé de tenir une audience publique, il informe les parties de la date, de l'heure et du lieu de l'audience. Si vous avez besoin de services d'interprétation simultanée, le Conseil les fournira sur demande.

À l'audience, un banc du Conseil composé d'un seul membre ou de trois membres vous demandera de présenter votre preuve, ce que vous pouvez faire de deux façons. Lorsque vous appelez une personne à témoigner à l'audience, vous présentez alors une preuve testimoniale, tandis que les documents, les lettres ou les rapports que vous décidez de présenter au Conseil constituent la preuve documentaire.

Sachez que les documents ou les pièces justificatives doivent être présentées par un témoin, qui peut être la personne qui l'a préparé ou celle qui l'a reçu. Une autre façon de procéder est de s'entendre avec l'autre partie sur l'authenticité du document en question. Le Conseil attribue un numéro d'identification à chacun des documents ou pièces justificatives que vous présenterez. Enfin, veillez à apporter suffisamment de copies de tout document que vous comptez déposer à titre de preuve afin de pouvoir les distribuer au banc du Conseil saisi de votre plainte et aux autres parties.

Si vous pensez que l'un des témoins que vous désirez interroger ne se présentera pas à l'audience, il est plus prudent d'obtenir du Conseil une assignation à comparaître (subpoena). L'agent des relations industrielles du Conseil responsable de l'enquête de votre plainte remplira le formulaire et indiquera, à votre demande, les documents que vous aimeriez que le témoin apporte lors de l'audience. Toutefois, rappelez-vous que si vous demandez une assignation, il vous incombe de la faire signifier au témoin et d'assumer tous les coûts connexes (voir l'article 118 du Code).

DÉROULEMENT DE L'AUDIENCE

Dans quel ordre la preuve est-elle présentée pendant l'audience (qui passe en premier)?

L'ordre suivant lequel la preuve est présentée au Conseil pendant l'audience varie selon le genre de plainte. Habituellement, si vous prétendez que l'employeur ou le syndicat a contrevenu à une disposition du Code, vous êtes tenu de prouver, à la satisfaction du Conseil, que l'employeur ou le syndicat a commis ces actes que le Code interdit. C'est vous qui avez le fardeau de la preuve et qui devrez présenter le premier votre preuve au Conseil.

Si vous prétendez que votre employeur ou son représentant a violé le paragraphe 94(3) du Code, en vous imposant une sanction disciplinaire en raison de vos activités syndicales par exemple, c'est l'employeur qui doit prouver qu'il n'a pas violé le Code, et non pas vous qui devez prouver qu'il y a eu violation. C'est l'employeur qui doit présenter sa preuve en premier lors de l'audience. Cette procédure, décrite au paragraphe 98(4) du Code, vous permet d'être informé des motifs de l'employeur et d'y répondre.

Interrogatoire, contre-interrogatoire et réinterrogatoire de vos témoins

Si vous êtes le premier à présenter votre preuve, vous procéderez à l'interrogatoire de vos témoins et leur poserez toutes les questions pertinentes à votre plainte. L'autre partie a par la suite la possibilité d'interroger votre témoin. Il s'agit du contre-interrogatoire. Après celui-ci, vous pouvez interroger de nouveau votre témoin, mais vous ne pouvez pas aborder de sujets qui n'ont été soulevés ni dans votre interrogatoire ni dans le contre-interrogatoire de l'autre partie. Il s'agit du réinterrogatoire.

Une fois que vous aurez présenté toute votre preuve, le Conseil demandera aux autres parties de présenter leur preuve suivant la même procédure. Lorsque tous les témoins ont été entendus, la présentation de la preuve est terminée et on arrive au stade de l'argumentation.

Que se passe-t-il au stade de l'argumentation?

À ce stade-là, le Conseil connaît tous les faits de l'affaire, mais il ne sait pas comment les parties les interprètent. Vous et les autres parties prenez alors la parole à tour de rôle, dans l'ordre selon lequel la preuve a été présentée, pour tenter de convaincre le Conseil, au moyen d'arguments, d'accueillir votre plainte.

Pour renforcer votre position, vous pouvez, dans vos arguments, faire référence à des décisions antérieures (jurisprudence) du Conseil ou d'autres conseils des relations du travail ou de tribunaux, portant sur des questions similaires. Ne vous laissez pas intimider par votre manque de connaissance de la jurisprudence. Les membres du Conseil connaissent à fond les dispositions du Code et les décisions antérieures et fondent leur décision sur les renseignements versés au dossier et sur leur appréciation des divers témoignages.

Quel est le rôle des agents des relations industrielles avant et après l'audience?

Dès qu'il a reçu une plainte, le Conseil charge un agent des relations industrielles de faire enquête sur celle-ci et de tenter d'amener les parties à s'entendre. Ce processus s'appelle la médiation. Tous les propos échangés pendant la médiation entre l'agent et les parties demeurent confidentiels. Le Conseil n'est pas informé du contenu de ces discussions. Les agents du Conseil peuvent vous aider, ainsi que les autres parties, à préciser les faits et enjeux afin que la discussion porte sur les questions en litige. Ils peuvent aussi mettre à la disposition des parties des copies des décisions précédentes du Conseil ayant traité de questions analogues.

L'expérience a démontré qu'il est préférable que les parties trouvent elles-mêmes la solution à leur différend. Toutefois, si les parties ne peuvent parvenir à une entente, l'agent en informe le Conseil et rédige à son intention un rapport où sont décrits les points litigieux. Ce rapport est communiqué au Conseil et distribué aux parties pour qu'elles apportent leurs commentaires. Le Conseil détermine alors s'il peut trancher l'affaire en se fondant sur les renseignements au dossier ou s'il doit prévoir la tenue d'une audience.

Les agents du Conseil demeurent constamment à la disposition des parties afin de les aider à s'entendre, même lorsque l'affaire a été inscrite au calendrier des audiences. Comme nous l'avons mentionné ci-dessus, ils offrent aussi leur aide pour ce qui est d'obtenir des assignations. Comme ces agents connaissent à fond les pratiques du Conseil en matière d'audiences, n'hésitez pas à les consulter pour toute question se rapportant à celle-ci. Cependant, ils doivent rester neutres; ils ne peuvent se faire défenseurs ou être perçus comme tels.

Que se passe-t-il après l'audience?

À l'issue de l'audience, le Conseil met tout en oeuvre pour transmettre sa décision aux parties le plus tôt possible.

Dans certains cas, le Conseil confie à un agent des relations industrielles le soin d'aider les parties à mettre la décision à exécution. Lorsqu'une partie refuse de se conformer à la décision du Conseil, celui-ci prendra sur demande des mesures supplémentaires pour en assurer l'exécution.

Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements sur le Conseil, consultez les circulaires portant sur le rôle des agents des relations industrielles et les audiences.

Révisée 2001

Date de modification :