No. 06–Unlawful Strikes and Lockouts

Information Circular

PDF Printable version

The following is one in a series of information circulars prepared by the administration staff of the CIRB. The circulars are designed to provide employees, trade unions and employers with general information and a clearer understanding of Board processes. This information circular is an informal tool and is not binding on the Board.


UNLAWFUL STRIKES AND LOCKOUTS

The Collective Bargaining Framework

A strike or lockout is a legitimate part of the collective bargaining process.

The Canada Labour Code (Part I–Industrial Relations) recognizes that employees can lawfully engage in a strike against employers, and employers can lawfully lock out their employees in an effort to compel or persuade "the other side" to agree to terms and conditions of employment, provided they do so in accordance with the provisions of the Code.

The Code contains extensive provisions to assist parties to resolve collective bargaining disputes, including the appointment of conciliation officers, conciliation boards and commissioners, and special mediators of the Federal Mediation and Conciliation Service (FMCS) of Labour Canada. Their task is to assist employers and unions to reach agreements without recourse to "economic action." It is only after these processes have been tried and the Minister of Labour is satisfied that further third party assistance would be of no value that the parties can initiate a lawful strike or lockout.

When a collective agreement has been concluded, it represents an agreement between the union and the employer on terms and conditions of employment and other matters, for a specified period of time. The agreement is binding on the union, the employer, and every employee in the bargaining unit. A collective agreement must be for a duration of at least one year, and must contain a mechanism for resolving disputes that arise concerning the application and/or interpretation of that agreement. The grievance procedure, as this process is usually known, must provide for binding arbitration by an outside third party.

Since a grievance procedure is included in the collective agreement for resolving disputes, no strikes or lockouts can take place during the term of the agreement.

WHAT IS A STRIKE OR LOCKOUT?

Section 3(1) of the Code defines strikes and lockouts as follows:

  • "strike" includes a cessation of work or a refusal to work or to continue to work by employees, in combination, in concert or in accordance with a common understanding, and a slowdown of work or other concerted activity on the part of employees in relation to their work that is designed to restrict or limit output.
  • "lockout" includes the closing of a place of employment, a suspension of work by an employer or a refusal by an employer to continue to employ a number of his employees, done to compel his employees, or to aid another employer to compel his employees, to agree to terms or conditions of employment.

WHEN IS A STRIKE OR LOCKOUT UNLAWFUL?

A strike or lockout is unlawful, at any time, if there is no union, or where there is a union and the requirements of the Code in acquiring the right to lockout or strike have not been met.

The Code recognizes the grievance arbitration process as the appropriate method for settling disputes that arise concerning the interpretation and application of provisions in a collective agreement (sometimes called "rights" disputes), during the period the collective agreement is in effect. Even though a strike or lockout is a legitimate collective bargaining tactic to put economic pressure on the other party to settle terms of a new collective agreement (sometimes called an "interest" dispute), unions and employers are not allowed to begin a strike or lockout action before the dispute settlement mechanisms in the Code have been exhausted.

The terms and conditions of a collective agreement continue to be in effect beyond its expiry date, right up to the time that the dispute settlement mechanisms under the Code have been exhausted, and 21 days have elapsed since the Minister of Labour has "released the parties." In the orderly scheme for resolving collective bargaining disputes that is set out in the Code, it is not strikes and lockouts themselves that are regulated. What is regulated is when they can occur. For details, see sections 89(1)(a) to (f) of the Code.

EXAMPLES OF UNLAWFUL STRIKES AND LOCKOUTS

The Canada Industrial Relations Board interprets each situation on its own facts and circumstances, but...

A strike by employees who are attempting to obtain recognition of their collective bargaining rights by an employer rather than going through the certification process is unlawful.

A strike or lockout arising from frustration with the slowness of collective bargaining, a "sitdown," "study session" or other concerted work stoppage by some or all employees arising from a dispute in the work place (such as contracting out, discipline of a shop steward) is unlawful if it occurs before the right to strike or lockout has been acquired.

A strike or lockout does not have to involve employees walking off the job and/or forming a picket line to meet the definition of strike or lockout in the Code.

According to the Board, the following activities may also constitute unlawful strikes:

  • a ban on, or concerted refusal to work overtime, even if in some cases the collective agreement provides for individual voluntary overtime;
  • a refusal to handle "hot goods" where not provided for in the collective agreement;
  • a refusal to cross the picket line of another trade union;
  • a work to rule, such as a "slow wheel" in the railway industry.

The Board may also declare that an unlawful lockout occurs when an employer lays off or does not recall laid-off employees and, instead, transfers their work to another company controlled by the same employer, all for the purpose of forcing employees to accept new conditions of employment.

About Picketing

While the Code contains provisions that limit the right of employees to participate in a strike, there are no provisions concerning the location, duration and manner of picketing.

The regulation of picketing activity is left to authorities in the province where the picketing occurs. The proper authority, such as a court or a labour board depending on the jurisdiction, may grant an injunction to restrain picketing, to limit such things as the number of pickets and their locations, but the Board has no authority to do so.

Approach and Role of the Board

The Board takes a remedial, non-judgemental approach in responding to applications involving unlawful strikes and lockouts. The Board's primary objective is to put an end to the work stoppage as quickly as possible, and to get everyone back on the job, rather than to punish the union and the employees, or the employer.

The Board and its industrial relations officers (IRO) will, where appropriate, look for an underlying cause, and may attempt to resolve the dispute informally in direct discussions with the parties, sometimes at the site of the work stoppage. In circumstances where the same parties continue to take part in further unlawful work stoppages, the Board will deal sternly with those parties and may use the full array of deterrents at its disposal to ensure that the law is upheld.

The Board's approach is in keeping with its overall responsibility to promote constructive and harmonious relations between unions and employers. Accordingly, the Board gives top priority to applications respecting unlawful strikes and lockouts, and expedites all proceedings, both informal and formal.

FILING AN APPLICATION

What is the first step?

A telephone call to the nearest Board office to advise of a developing situation or an impending application is a good first step. Advance notice enables the Board's regional staff to assess the situation and consider ways and means of dealing with it. An industrial relations officer may be assigned to assist the parties to resolve the matter informally, while the Registrar alerts the Board, and makes advance arrangements for the assignment of a Board panel and the scheduling of a hearing, should one be required.

When can a formal application be filed?

An employer may file an application with the Board when it believes that a union has declared or authorized a strike or that employees are participating in a strike that is prohibited by the Code. Similarly, a union may file an application with the Board alleging that an employer has declared or caused a lockout of employees in contravention of the Code.

It is not necessary to wait until a strike or lockout is actually taking place to file an application. If there is good reason to believe that a strike or lockout is likely to occur, an "anticipatory" application may be filed. A telephone call to the nearest Board office can be helpful in understanding the requirements of the Board, and it will serve to alert the Board and its staff to the situation and to the impending application.

How do you file an application?

The Board does not provide an application form. An application must be in writing, comply with Board Regulations 34 or 35, and include the following information:

  • names, addresses and telephone and telecopier numbers of the persons affected by the application, including unions, employees and their representatives;
  • details of the events giving rise to the work stoppage and reasons why the applicant believes it is unlawful;
  • remedies sought from the Board;
  • copy of the relevant collective agreement.

An application may be delivered by hand, by messenger or by facsimile transmission to the Registrar at the closest Board office.

Where the applicant is seeking an immediate public hearing, the applicant must also deliver a copy of the application to the persons affected. The Board must then receive confirmation from the applicant as to the date, time and manner of delivery. This important procedure enables the Board to schedule a hearing on very short notice.

What happens next?

When a formal application is filed, the Board will acknowledge receipt and will ensure that a copy of the application and of the documentation is provided to any union, employer or person named in the application. Parties named are given an opportunity to file written submissions in response to the application, within the time period set by the Board.

Where it appears that the parties or the situation may benefit from the involvement of an industrial relations officer, the Registrar will appoint one. The IRO assigned will, where appropriate, attempt to uncover the underlying cause of the work stoppage, and work with the parties on an informal basis to seek an accommodation that will result in an end to the work stoppage, and avoid further more formal proceedings.

While the informal process is going on an assessment is made of the degree of urgency involved. Arrangements are made for a Board panel to be assigned and a date for a hearing is set. The hearing is usually held in the community where the work stoppage is taking place.

The informal process may continue right up to the time of the hearing, if it still seems that a settlement is possible. If a settlement is reached, the hearing will not take place. If no settlement is reached, the IRO will not give any information to the Board concerning the informal discussions.

The Board gives its highest priority to dealing with unlawful strike and lockout applications. When the local Board office receives advance notice of the application, the Board and its staff can get a head start on making arrangements for both the involvement of a IRO and the more formal hearing.

About the hearing

If a matter cannot be settled informally, the Board will normally conduct a public hearing before making a determination.

The Board will hear evidence and argument as to whether a strike or lockout within the meaning of the Code is taking place or about to take place, whether it is unlawful, and what remedy is appropriate in the circumstances. This will normally include the nature of the work stoppage, such as a work to rule, a ban on overtime or a refusal to cross a picket line, whether a collective agrement is in effect, and whether the dispute settlement provisions of the Code have been exhausted, and the criteria set out in section 89 of the Code have been met. The Board may seek the agreement of the parties on certain facts to expedite the hearing. The Board takes a non-technical approach.

In keeping with the urgency associated with this type of application, the Board will normally continue the hearing process without interruption until the parties have presented their cases and the Board has all required information to make a decision. The Board will then withdraw to deliberate and may wish to make its decision known to the parties orally within hours of the conclusion of the hearing. If a formal order is required, it is usually issued shortly after the hearing.

Remedies

The Code gives the Board the power to make specific remedies where it finds that an unlawful strike or lockout is taking place.

The Board may make a declaration that a strike is unlawful, that the union has declared or authorized a strike, and that employees are participating or are likely to participate in it. The Board may also issue a "cease and desist" order:

  • requiring the union to revoke its authorization for the strike and to notify the employees;
  • enjoining employees from participating in the strike;
  • requiring the employees to perform their duties;
  • requiring the union to give notice of the order to its members.

The Board may also make a declaration that the employer has declared or is about to declare or cause a lockout. The Board may also issue a "cease and desist" order:

  • forbidding the employer to declare or cause the lockout;
  • requiring the employer to discontinue the lockout and permit the employees to return to work;
  • requiring the employer to give notice of the order to its employees;
  • compensating employees for remuneration lost during the unlawful lockout.

In considering remedies in unlawful strike and lockout cases, as in the more informal processes that precede the hearing, the Board adopts a problem-solving approach, keeps in mind the labour relations realities unique to each situation, and does not always come up with a purely legal remedy. For example, the Board has refused to issue an order when the strike or lockout had already ended. If the union is found not to have authorized or declared a strike, the Board may simply order the employees to perform their duties. In one case, where the union voluntarily revoked its authorization of activities that the Board found to be an unlawful strike, no order was issued. In another, the Board declined to issue an order, but it assigned a IRO to monitor events following a finding of an unlawful strike. Where a union or an employer continue to cause unlawful work stoppages, the Board will consider using stronger measures to ensure compliance with its orders.

Enforcement of Board Orders

The Board's approach to tailoring the terms of formal orders to meet the circumstances in each case has resulted in a high degree of acceptance by the parties and persons affected.

Where an order is not complied with, however, a party may apply to the Board to file the order in the Federal Court of Appeal, where it has the same weight as an order of that Court. Enforcement of the order then becomes a matter for the Federal Court, not for the Board, and failure to comply with that order can result in contempt of court proceedings.

Unlawful strikes and lockouts are offences under the Code, punishable on conviction by substantial fines. However, no prosecution can be initiated against unions, employers, or their representatives, unless the prior consent of the Board is obtained. The Board will inquire into the reasons for non-compliance, and may or may not consent to prosecution, depending on the circumstances.

Revised 2001

Date modified:

No 06 – Grèves et lock-out illégaux

Circulaire d'information

PDF Version imprimable

Le présent document est une circulaire d'information préparée par le personnel du CCRI. Elle fournit des renseignements généraux aux employés, aux syndicats et aux employeurs, pour les aider à mieux comprendre le fonctionnement du Conseil. La présente circulaire est un outil informel et, par conséquent, elle ne lie pas le Conseil.


GRÈVES ET LOCK-OUT ILLÉGAUX

La négociation collective

Les grèves et les lock-out sont des éléments légitimes du processus de négociation collective.

Le Code canadien du travail (Partie I – Relations du travail) reconnaît que les employés peuvent légalement faire la grève contre leur employeur et que les employeurs peuvent légalement avoir recours au lock-out contre leurs employés, afin de contraindre ou de persuader « l'autre partie » d'accepter des conditions d'emploi, pourvu qu'ils le fassent conformément aux dispositions du Code.

Le Code renferme de nombreuses dispositions conçues pour aider les partiesà résoudre leurs différends dans le contexte de la négociation collective, notamment la nomination de conciliateurs, de commissions de conciliation, de commissaires-conciliateurs et de médiateurs spéciaux du Service fédéral de médiation et de conciliation (SFMC) de Travail Canada. Ceux-ci ont pour tâche d'aider les employeurs et les syndicats à s'entendre sans avoir recours à des « moyens de pression économiques ». C'est seulement une fois que ces démarches ont été tentées et que le ministre du Travail est convaincu que l'aide d'un tiers ne servira plus à rien que les parties peuvent légalement faire la grève ou déclarer un lock-out.

La convention collective conclue entre le syndicat et l'employeur constitue une entente sur les conditions d'emploi et sur d'autres questions pour une période précise; cette entente lie le syndicat, l'employeur et les employés membres de l'unité de négociation. Elle doit avoir une durée d'au moins un an et doit compter un mécanisme de règlement des différends qui découlent de son application ou de son interprétation. Ce mécanisme, qu'on appelle habituellement la procédure de règlement des griefs, doit prévoir l'arbitrage obligatoire par une tierce partie indépendante.

Par conséquent, comme la convention collective prévoit une procédure de règlement des griefs pour trancher les différends, les grèves ou les lock-out sont interdits pour la durée de la convention collective.

Qu'est-ce qu'une grève ou un lock-out?

Le paragraphe 3(1) du Code définit la grève et le lock-out de la façon suivante :

  • « grève » S'entend notamment d'un arrêt du travail ou du refus de travailler, par des employés agissant conjointement, de concert ou de connivence; lui sont assimilés le ralentissement du travail ou toute autre activité concertée, de la part des employés, ayant pour objet la diminution ou la limitation du rendement et relative au travail de ceux-ci.
  • « lock-out » S'entend notamment d'une mesure – fermeture du lieu de travail, suspension du travail ou refus de continuer à employer un certain nombre des employés – prise par l'employeur pour contraindre ses employés, ou aider un autre employeur à contraindre ses employés, à accepter des conditions d'emploi.

Quand les grèves ou les lock-out sont-ils illégaux?

Les grèves ou les lock-out sont toujours illégaux si les employés ne sont pas représentés par un syndicat, ou s'ils sont représentés par un syndicat et que les conditions stipulées dans le Code concernant l'acquisition du droit de grève ou de lock-out n'ont pas été remplies.

Le Code dispose que la procédure d'arbitrage des griefs est la méthode appropriée de règlement des différends portant sur l'interprétation et l'application des dispositions d'une convention collective (qu'on appelle parfois conflits de « droits »), tant que la convention collective est en vigueur. Bien que les grèves et lock-out soient des tactiques de négociation collective légitimes, lorsque les parties veulent faire des pressions économiques sur leur vis-à-vis pour lui faire accepter les dispositions d'une nouvelle convention collective (qu'on appelle parfois conflits d'« intérêts »), les syndicats et les employeurs ne sont pas autorisés à déclencher une grève ou à déclarer un lock-out tant que les mécanismes de règlement des différends prévus par le Code n'ont pas tous été utilisés.

Les dispositions d'une convention collective continuent de s'appliquer après sa date d'expiration, jusqu'à ce que les mécanismes de règlement des différends prévus par le Code aient tous été utilisés, et que 21 jours se soient écoulés depuis la date où le ministre du Travail a « autorisé les parties à procéder ». Dans le cadre juridique du règlement des différends liés à la négociation collective prévu par le Code, ce ne sont pas les grèves et les lock-out eux-mêmes qui sont réglementés. Ce qui est réglementé, c'est le moment auquel les parties peuvent y avoir recours. Pour plus de détails, voir les alinéas 89(1)a) à f) du Code.

Exemples de grèves et de lock-out illégaux

Le Conseil canadien des relations industrielles interprète chaque situation dans son contexte, mais...

Il est illégal que des employés fassent la grève pour tenter de faire reconnaître leurs droits de négociation collective par l'employeur, au lieu d'avoir recours au processus d'accréditation.

Les grèves et lock-out découlant des frustrations causées par la lenteur de la négociation collective, les journées d'occupation ou d'étude ou les autres arrêts de travail concertés par tous les employés ou un certain nombre d'entre eux, en raison de différends du travail (sous-traitance, mesures disciplinaires contre un délégué syndical, par exemple) sont illégaux s'ils se produisent avant que le droit de grève ou de lock-out ait été acquis.

Pour qu'il y ait grève ou lock-out au sens du Code, il n'est pas nécessaire que les employés quittent leur travail ou qu'ils dressent une ligne de piquetage.

Le Conseil peut aussi considérer les activités suivantes comme des grèves illégales :

  • l'interdiction ou le refus concerté de faire des heures supplémentaires, même si dans certains cas la convention collective contient une disposition prévoyant le surtemps volontaire;
  • le refus de manipuler de la « marchandise visée par une grève », quand ce refus n'est pas prévu par la convention collective;
  • le refus de traverser la ligne de piquetage d'un autre syndicat, quand ce refus n'est pas prévu par la convention collective;
  • la grève du zèle, par exemple le ralentissement du trafic dans le secteur ferroviaire.

Le Conseil peut également juger qu'il y a lock-out illégal quand l'employeur met des employés à pied ou qu'il ne rappelle pas au travail des employés mis à pied, en transférant leur travail à une autre de ses entreprises, et ce, afin de les contraindre à accepter de nouvelles conditions de travail.

Piquetage

Le Code renferme des dispositions limitant le droit des employés de participer à une grève, mais il ne prévoit rien quant au lieu, à la durée et à la manière de faire du piquetage.

La réglementation des activités de piquetage relève des autorités de la province où ces activités ont lieu. Les autorités compétentes, telles qu'un tribunal ou un conseil des relations du travail selon la juridiction, peuvent rendre une injonction restreignant le piquetage afin de limiter le nombre de piqueteurs et les endroits où ils peuvent circuler, mais le Conseil n'a pas ce pouvoir.

Approche et rôle du Conseil

Le Conseil répond aux demandes de déclaration de grèves et lock-out illégaux de façon à corriger la situation, sans porter de jugement de valeur. Il a pour principal objectif de mettre fin à l'arrêt de travail le plus vite possible et de ramener tout le monde au travail, plutôt que de punir le syndicat et les employés, ou l'employeur.

Le Conseil et ses agents des relations industrielles (ARI) cherchent au besoin à découvrir la cause sous-jacente du conflit, et ils peuvent tenter de le régler sans formalités par des discussions directes avec les parties, quelquefois sur les lieux mêmes de l'arrêt de travail. Dans les cas où les mêmes parties continuent de participer à des arrêts de travail illégaux, le Conseil transigera avec ces parties de façon sévère et pourra prendre tous les moyens à sa disposition pour que la loi soit respectée.

L'approche du Conseil est compatible avec sa responsabilité globale, qui consiste à favoriser des relations constructives et harmonieuses entre les syndicats et les employeurs. Par conséquent, le Conseil accorde une priorité absolue aux demandes de déclaration de grèves et lock-out illégaux et mène les procédures de ce genre le plus rapidement possible, qu'elles soient officielles ou non.

PRÉSENTATION DE DEMANDES

Quelle est la première étape?

Il est préférable que les parties téléphonent au bureau du Conseil le plus proche pour l'avertir de ce qui risque de se produire ou de la présentation imminente d'une demande. Une fois prévenu, le personnel du bureau régional du Conseil peut évaluer la situation et envisager des moyens d'y faire face. Un agent des relations industrielles peut être chargé d'aider les parties à régler leur différend, sans formalités, pendant que le greffier informe le Conseil et prend des dispositions pour la constitution d'un banc du Conseil et pour la tenue d'une audience, le cas échéant.

Quand une demande officielle peut-elle être présentée?

Un employeur peut présenter une demande devant le Conseil quand il estime qu'un syndicat a déclaré ou autorisé une grève interdite par le Code, ou que des employés participent à une grève de ce genre. De même, un syndicat peut présenter devant le Conseil une demande alléguant qu'un employeur a déclaré ou provoqué un lock-out contrevenant au Code.

Il n'est pas nécessaire d'attendre que la grève ou le lock-out ait commencé pour présenter une demande. Si une partie a de bonnes raisons de croire qu'une grève ou un lock-out risque de se produire, elle peut présenter une demande « anticipée ». Cela dit, il est préférable de téléphoner au bureau du Conseil le plus proche pour bien comprendre les exigences du Conseil; cet appel téléphonique informe le Conseil et son personnel de la situation et de la présentation imminente d'une demande.

Comment faut-il faire pour présenter une demande?

Le Conseil n'a pas de formulaire particulier à cet effet. La demande doit être présentée par écrit, conformément aux articles 34 ou 35 du Règlement du Conseil, et comprendre les renseignements suivants :

  • les noms, adresses et numéros de téléphone et de télécopieur des personnes visées par la demande, y compris les syndicats, les employés et leurs représentants;
  • les détails pertinents sur les événements qui ont provoqué l'arrêt de travail et les raisons pour lesquelles le requérant l'estime illégal;
  • les mesures de redressement réclamées au Conseil;
  • une copie de la convention collective pertinente.

La demande peut être envoyée au greffier par porteur, par un service de messagerie ou par télécopieur, au bureau du Conseil le plus proche.

Si le requérant réclame une audience publique immédiate, il doit envoyer une copie de sa demande aux personnes visées et faire connaître au Conseil la date, l'heure et le mode de signification de ces copies. Cette procédure importante permet au Conseil de fixer l'audience dans un délai très court.

Qu'est-ce qui se passe ensuite?

Quand il a reçu une demande officielle, le Conseil en accuse réception et s'assurera que tous les syndicats, employeurs ou personnes nommés recevront une copie de la demande et de tous les documents déposés. Ces personnes peuvent déposer une réponse écrite à la demande dans les délais fixés par le Conseil.

S'il semble que la situation s'améliorerait ou que les parties bénéficieraient de l'aide d'un agent des relations industrielles, le greffier en nomme un. L'agent désigné s'efforce au besoin de découvrir la raison sous-jacente de l'arrêt de travail et de collaborer avec les parties pour aboutir à une entente qui permettrait de mettre fin à l'arrêt de travail et d'éviter d'autres procédures plus contraignantes.

Pendant ces démarches, le Conseil évalue l'urgence de la situation. Il peut prendre des dispositions pour former un banc du Conseil et fixer une date d'audience. L'audience a habituellement lieu dans la localité où l'arrêt de travail s'est produit.

L'agent peut poursuivre les démarches jusqu'à l'audience, s'il semble qu'un règlement reste toujours possible. Si les parties s'entendent sur un règlement, l'audience est annulée. Par contre, si elles ne s'entendent pas, l'agent n'informe pas le Conseil du contenu de ses discussions préalables avec les parties.

Le Conseil accorde une priorité absolue au traitement des demandes de déclaration de grèves et lock-out illégaux. Si le bureau régional du Conseil a été prévenu que la demande sera bientôt présentée, le Conseil et son personnel ont plus de temps pour prendre les dispositions nécessaires à l'intervention d'un agent et à la tenue de l'audience.

Audience

Si le différend ne peut être réglé autrement, le Conseil tient une audience publique avant de prendre une décision.

Le Conseil entend des témoignages et des arguments qui doivent l'aider à décider s'il y a effectivement ou s'il y aura une grève ou un lock-out au sens du Code et si l'arrêt de travail est illégal, pour ensuite pouvoir déterminer la mesure de redressement qui s'impose. Normalement, il doit donc être informé de la nature de l'arrêt de travail, par exemple une grève du zèle, l'interdiction de faire des heures supplémentaires ou le refus des employés de traverser une ligne de piquetage, et savoir si les parties sont liées par une convention collective en vigueur, si les dispositions du Code sur le règlement des différends ont toutes été invoquées et si les critères exposés à l'article 89 du Code ont été respectés. Le Conseil peut chercher à obtenir l'accord des parties sur certains faits afin d'accélérer le déroulement de l'audience. Il évite d'adopter une approche légaliste.

Compte tenu de l'urgence des demandes de ce genre, le Conseil poursuit normalement l'audience sans interruption jusqu'à ce que les parties aient fini de présenter leurs positions et qu'il ait obtenu toute l'information dont il a besoin pour rendre sa décision. Il se retire ensuite pour délibérer et il peut faire connaître sa décision aux parties oralement quelques heures après la fin de l'audience. Lorsqu'une ordonnance en bonne et due forme s'impose, elle est normalement rendue peu de temps après l'audience.

Mesures de redressement

Le Code donne au Conseil le pouvoir de prendre diverses mesures de redressement lorsqu'il conclut à l'existence de grèves ou de lock-out illégaux.

Le Conseil peut déclarer qu'une grève est illégale, que le syndicat a déclaré ou autorisé une grève et que les employés y participent ou y participeront vraisemblablement. Il peut aussi rendre une ordonnance « de ne pas faire » :

  • enjoignant au syndicat d'annuler sa décision d'autoriser la grève et d'en informer les employés;
  • interdisant aux employés de participer à la grève;
  • enjoignant aux employés de s'acquitter de leurs fonctions;
  • sommant le syndicat de porter l'ordonnance à la connaissance de ses membres.

Le Conseil peut aussi déclarer que l'employeur a déclaré un lock-out ou qu'il est sur le point d'en déclarer ou d'en provoquer un. Il peut aussi rendre une ordonnance « de ne pas faire » :

  • interdisant à l'employeur de déclarer ou de provoquer le lock-out;
  • enjoignant à l'employeur de mettre fin au lock-out et de permettre aux employés de retourner au travail;
  • enjoignant à l'employeur de porter l'ordonnance à la connaissance de ses employés;
  • accordant aux employés un dédommagement pour les pertes subies au titre de leur salaire pendant le lock-out illégal.

Comme dans toutes les démarches qui précèdent l'audience, le Conseil se concentre sur la solution des problèmes, lorsqu'il doit décider des mesures de redressement nécessaires après avoir conclu à l'existence de grèves ou de lock-out illégaux; il tient compte dans chaque cas du climat des relations du travail et n'opte pas toujours pour un redressement d'ordre purement juridique. C'est ainsi, par exemple, qu'il peut refuser de rendre des ordonnances une fois les grèves et lock-out terminés. Lorsqu'il constate qu'un syndicat n'a ni autorisé, ni déclaré une grève, il peut simplement ordonner aux employés de s'acquitter de leurs fonctions. Dans un cas où le syndicat avait volontairement annulé son autorisation de participer à des activités qui, selon le Conseil, constituaient une grève illégale, aucune ordonnance n'a été rendue. Dans un autre cas, après avoir conclu à l'existence d'une grève illégale, le Conseil n'a pas rendu d'ordonnance, mais plutôt chargé un agent de suivre la situation. Par contre, dans les cas où des syndicats ou des employeurs continuent à provoquer des arrêts de travail illégaux, le Conseil est prêt à envisager des mesures plus radicales pour s'assurer qu'on exécute ses ordonnances.

Exécution des ordonnances du Conseil

L'approche que le Conseil a adoptée pour formuler des ordonnances adaptées à chaque cas l'assure que presque toutes les parties et personnes visées les acceptent sans se faire prier.

Toutefois, quand l'ordonnance n'est pas respectée, les parties peuvent demander au Conseil de la déposer à la Cour d'appel fédérale, où elle a le même poids qu'un arrêt de la Cour elle-même. L'exécution de l'ordonnance relève dès lors de la Cour fédérale plutôt que du Conseil, de sorte que, si elle n'est pas exécutée, les responsables sont passibles de poursuites pour outrage au tribunal.

Les grèves et lock-out illégaux sont des infractions prévues au Code passibles de lourdes amendes sur déclaration de culpabilité. Toutefois, nul ne peut intenter de poursuites contre des syndicats, des employeurs ou leurs représentants sans avoir obtenu le consentement du Conseil. Le Conseil fait alors enquête sur les motifs de l'infraction et peut ou non consentir aux poursuites, selon les circonstances.

Révisée 2001

Date de modification :