No. 05–Filing an Unfair Labour Practice Complaint

Information Circular

PDF Printable version

The following is one in a series of information circulars prepared by the administration staff of the CIRB. The circulars are designed to provide employees, trade unions and employers with general information and a clearer understanding of Board processes. This information circular is an informal tool and is not binding on the Board.


FILING AN UNFAIR LABOUR PRACTICE COMPLAINT

What is an unfair labour practice complaint?

An unfair labour practice complaint is an allegation that an employer, a trade union or an individual has engaged in an activity that involved prohibited conduct under the Canada Labour Code (Part I–Industrial Relations).

For example

  • An employer can be alleged to have altered conditions of employment after notification of an application for certification has been made (section 24(4)), bargained in bad faith (section 50), interfered in union affairs (sections 94(1) and (2)), or committed prohibited acts (section 94(3)).
  • A union can be alleged to have breached its duty of fair representation (section 37) or its duty of fair referral section 69), bargained in bad faith (section 50), committed prohibited acts (section 87 or 95), or not having provided a financial statement to a member (section 110).
  • And any person can be alleged to have forced another person to become or cease to be a union member (section 96).

Who may file a complaint?

Pursuant to section 97(1), any person or organization may file a complaint. If a complaint is filed on behalf of another person or an organization, it must be signed by the appropriate officer or by a person authorized in writing by the complainant in accordance with section 6 of the Board's Regulations.

How do you file a complaint?

The Board does not provide complaint forms; therefore, a complainant may simply file a complaint by way of a letter, addressed to the Registrar at one of the Board's offices. The complaint must be signed and should contain all relevant information and documentation that the complainant, the person making the complaint, has available, i.e. names, addresses and telephone and telecopier numbers of the persons involved, provisions of the Code affected, the date of the incident giving rise to the complaint, a complete statement of facts and particulars, and the remedy requested (see Board Regulation 32).

Note: In order to avoid unnecessary delays in processing the complaint, the information provided should be as complete as possible.

When should you file a complaint?

Pursuant to section 97(2), complaints should be filed no later than 90 days from "the date on which the complainant knew, or in the opinion of the Board ought to have known, of" the incident leading to the complaint.

Time frames for filing a complaint against unions dealing with the discriminatory treatment and discipline of members (sections 95(f) or (g)) differ and are governed by sections 97(4) and (5) of the Code.

If a complaint involves several alleged violations of the Code, it may be subject to both sections 97(2) and 97(4). Complainants should therefore make sure they comply with the appropriate time limits when filing a complaint.

Where do you file a complaint?

Complaints may be filed at any of the Board's offices listed in this Circular. The complaint may be sent by hand, by courier, by mail or by telecopier. It will be considered filed as of the date the Board receives the complaint, or under Board Regulation 8, the date of filing is the date the complaint was mailed to the Board when registered mail is used.

What happens when a complaint is filed?

When a complaint containing sufficient information is filed, a Registrar of the Board will acknowledge receipt of the complaint and forward a copy to those persons who are affected, i.e. an individual, a trade union or an employer. The Registrar will give these persons instructions for replying and a deadline to file the reply (Board Regulation 33). When dealing with complaints identified by the Board's staff as a priority, the Registrar will speed up the process in order to deal with any issue that may be causing serious harm to a complainant.

The Registrar usually appoints an industrial relations officer, who will contact the parties in order to assist them in resolving the complaint. If the parties are unable to reach a settlement, the officer must refer the complaint to the Board for adjudication. The officer will only provide the Board with details regarding the settlement efforts if the parties so request.

In any complaints that remain unresolved, the officer will file a detailed report with the Board and will send a copy of the report to the parties. The report to the Board will not include any confidential information provided to the officer by any of the parties during the settlement attempts.

If a complaint is not settled, the Board may schedule a hearing, in a convenient location, and advise the parties of the time and place. However, any complaint filed may be decided without holding a public hearing, if the Board feels that a hearing would not be consistent with the objectives of the Code. Should the Board decide not to hold a hearing, it will base its decision on the officer's report, the evidence and submissions filed by the parties and the requirements of the Code. This is one of the reasons why the complaint, the replies and the submissions must be as complete and as detailed as possible.

Moreover, the Board can refuse to hear complaints dealing with matters that could be referred to arbitration through the grievance process (section 98(3)) and, under section 16(o.1), it "may summarily refuse to hear, or dismiss, a matter for want of jurisdiction or lack of evidence."

Once a Board panel has considered the evidence and arguments presented either at a hearing or by way of written submissions, it will arrive at a decision. That decision will then be sent to the parties in writing. In some cases, the Board may choose to give its decision orally at the conclusion of the hearing, to be confirmed in writing shortly afterwards.

If the Board upholds a complaint, it may order a remedy that is not aimed at punishing the party that committed an infraction, but rather at putting the complainants in the position they would have been in had the infraction not occurred. The remedies could include compensation to the employee for remuneration lost, reinstatement of the employee, or revocation of disciplinary action taken. However, in the case of section 37 complaints (duty of fair representation), the Board may allow the grievance to be pursued according to the collective agreement. The Board does not have the power to fine a party who has been found to be in violation of the Code. The Board's remedial powers are described in sections 99 and 99.1 of the Code: section 99(1) deals with violations of specific sections; section 99(2) provides for general alternatives or additional remedies; and section 99.1 deals with certification of trade unions despite lack of evidence.

Burden of Proof

Normally the person filing the complaint with the Board is expected to provide the evidence to demonstrate that a violation of the Code has occurred. However, there is an exception: where an individual alleges that a person has violated section 94(3), the respondent party must assume the burden of proof if it challenges the allegation (section 98(4)). For example, this would include an allegation of unlawful dismissal of employees for union activity whereby the employer, as respondent, would have to lead evidence as to why the individuals were fired.

Revised 2001

Date modified:

No 05 – Dépôt d'une plainte de pratique déloyale de travail

Circulaire d'information

PDF Version imprimable

Le présent document est une circulaire d'information préparée par le personnel du CCRI. Elle fournit des renseignements généraux aux employés, aux syndicats et aux employeurs, pour les aider à mieux comprendre le fonctionnement du Conseil. La présente circulaire est un outil informel et, par conséquent, elle ne lie pas le Conseil.


DÉPÔT D'UNE PLAINTE DE PRATIQUE DÉLOYALE DE TRAVAIL

Qu'est-ce qu'une plainte de pratique déloyale de travail?

Une plainte de pratique déloyale de travail est en fait une allégation selon laquelle un employeur, un syndicat ou un particulier a pris part à une activité qui est interdite par le Code canadien du travail (Partie I – Relations du travail).

Exemples

  • On peut prétendre qu'un employeur a modifié des conditions d'emploi après notification d'une demande d'accréditation (paragraphe 24(4)), a négocié de mauvaise foi (article 50), est intervenu dans les affaires du syndicat (paragraphes 94(1) et (2)) ou a commis des actes qui lui sont interdits (paragraphe 94(3)).
  • On peut prétendre qu'un syndicat a manqué à son devoir de représentation juste (article 37) ou à son devoir de placement juste (article 69), a négocié de mauvaise foi (article 50), a commis des actes qui lui sont interdits (article 87 ou 95) ou n'a pas fourni d'états financiers à l'un de ses adhérents (article 110).
  • Enfin, on peut prétendre que n'importe qui a contraint quelqu'un d'autre à adhérer ou à cesser d'adhérer à un syndicat (article 96).

Qui peut déposer une plainte?

Conformément au paragraphe 97(1) du Code, toute personne ou organisation peut adresser une plainte au Conseil. Si la plainte est déposée au nom d'une autre personne ou d'une organisation, elle doit être signée par le représentant autorisé de ladite organisation ou par une personne que le plaignant a autorisée par écrit à déposer la plainte, conformément à l'article 6 du Règlement du Conseil.

Comment faut-il faire pour déposer une plainte?

Le Conseil n'a pas de formulaire particulier dont on doit se servir pour porter plainte. Par conséquent, le plaignant peut simplement lui envoyer sa plainte dans une lettre adressée au greffier de l'un des bureaux du Conseil, qu'il doit signer. La plainte doit contenir tous les renseignements pertinents et tous les documents dont le plaignant (c'est-à-dire la personne qui dépose la plainte) dispose, à savoir les noms, adresses et numéros de téléphone et de télécopieur des personnes en cause, les dispositions pertinentes du Code, la date de l'incident qui a donné lieu à la plainte, un exposé complet des faits et du redressement demandé (voir l'article 32 du Règlement du Conseil).

Nota :Afin de permettre au Conseil d'éviter tout retard inutile dans le traitement des plaintes, les plaignants doivent lui fournir des renseignements aussi complets que possible.

Quand faut-il déposer une plainte?

En vertu du paragraphe 97(2), les plaintes doivent être déposées dans un délai d'au plus 90 jours à partir de « la date où le plaignant a eu - ou, de l'avis du Conseil, aurait dû avoir - connaissance » de l'incident qui a mené à la plainte.

Les délais de dépôt des plaintes portées contre des syndicats et leur reprochant d'avoir traité de façon discriminatoire leurs membres et de leur avoir imposé des mesures disciplinaires (alinéas 95f) ou g) du Code) diffèrent; ils sont fixés par les paragraphes 97(4) et (5) du Code.

Lorsqu'une plainte fait état de plusieurs violations du Code, son dépôt peut être régi par les paragraphes 97(2) et (4). Le plaignant doit donc s'assurer qu'il respecte les délais de dépôt prescrits.

Où faut-il déposer la plainte?

La plainte peut être déposée à n'importe lequel des bureaux du Conseil, qui sont mentionnés dans la présente circulaire. La plainte peut être envoyée par porteur, par un service de messageries, par le courrier ou par télécopieur. Elle est considérée comme déposée à sa date de réception au Conseil ou, si elle est envoyée au Conseil par courrier recommandé, à la date de mise à la poste (article 8 du Règlement du Conseil).

Qu'est-ce qui se passe après le dépôt de la plainte?

Quand une plainte contenant des renseignements suffisants est déposée, un greffier du Conseil en accuse réception et en envoie copie aux personnes visées, qui peuvent être des particuliers, un syndicat ou un employeur. Le greffier donne à ces personnes des instructions sur la façon de répondre à la plainte, en précisant le délai à respecter pour ce faire (article 33 du Règlement du Conseil). Dans le cas de plaintes que le personnel du Conseil juge prioritaires, le greffier accélérera le processus afin de trancher toute question susceptible de causer de graves torts aux plaignants.

Le greffier confie habituellement la plainte à un agent des relations industrielles, qui communique avec les parties afin de les aider à régler la plainte. Si elles sont incapables de s'entendre, l'agent doit renvoyer la plainte au Conseil aux fins de décision. Dans ce cas-là, il ne donne au Conseil des détails sur ses efforts en vue de la conclusion d'une entente que si les parties en font la demande.

Dans le cas de plaintes qui n'ont pas été réglées, l'agent soumettra un rapport détaillé au Conseil et fera parvenir une copie du rapport aux parties. Le rapport présenté au Conseil ne contient aucun renseignement confidentiel qu'il a obtenu de l'une quelconque des parties pendant qu'il a tenté de les amener à s'entendre.

Si la plainte n'est pas réglée, le Conseil peut fixer une audience, dans un lieu pratique, et informe les parties de la date et du lieu où celle-ci aura lieu. Cependant, toute plainte qui est déposée peut être tranchée sans audience publique, si le Conseil estime que la tenue d'une audience est incompatible avec les objectifs du Code. Si le Conseil décide de ne pas tenir d'audience publique, il fonde sa décision sur le rapport de l'agent, sur la preuve et les observations présentées par les parties et sur les exigences du Code. C'est l'une des raisons pour lesquelles la plainte, les réponses et les observations doivent être aussi complètes et détaillées que possible.

Par ailleurs, le Conseil peut refuser d'instruire les plaintes portant sur les questions qui peuvent être portées à l'arbitrage dans le contexte d'une procédure de règlement des griefs (paragraphe 98(3)) et, aux termes de l'alinéa 16o.1), il peut, « de façon sommaire, refuser d'entendre ou rejeter toute affaire pour motif de manque de preuve ou d'absence de compétence ».

Une fois que le Conseil a étudié la preuve et les arguments des parties présentés soit à une audience publique, soit au moyen d'observations écrites, il rend une décision. Cette décision est communiquée par écrit aux parties. Dans certains cas, le Conseil peut décider de rendre sa décision oralement à la fin de l'audience, qu'il confirmera peu après par écrit.

Si le Conseil fait droit à la plainte, il peut ordonner une mesure corrective qui n'a pas pour but de punir la partie qui a commis une infraction, mais bien de rétablir la situation dans laquelle se trouvaient les plaignants avant l'infraction. Ces mesures correctives peuvent comprendre le dédommagement de l'employé pour les pertes subies au titre du salaire, sa réintégration dans ses fonctions ou l'annulation des mesures disciplinaires qu'il a subies. Toutefois, dans le cas de plaintes fondées sur l'article 37 (devoir de représentation juste), le Conseil peut autoriser le syndicat à acheminer le grief selon la procédure prévue par la convention collective. Le Conseil n'a pas le pouvoir d'imposer une amende à une partie qu'il juge coupable. Ses pouvoirs de redressement sont décrits aux articles 99 et 99.1 du Code : le paragraphe 99(1) porte sur la violation dedispositions précises du Code; le paragraphe 99(2) est une disposition prévoyant des mesures correctives à caractère général; et l'article 99.1 porte sur l'accréditation d'un syndicat sans preuve de l'appui de la majorité.

La charge de la preuve

Normalement, c'est à la personne qui dépose la plainte auprès du Conseil qu'il incombe de prouver qu'il y a eu violation du Code. Toutefois, il existe une exception à la règle, lorsqu'une personne allègue qu'une autre a violé le paragraphe 94(3) : dans ces cas-là, c'est la partie intimée qui doit assumer la charge de la preuve, si elle conteste la plainte (paragraphe 98(4)). C'est ce qui se produit par exemple lorsqu'on allègue que des employés ont été injustement congédiés en raison de leurs activités syndicales; l'employeur, en tant qu'intimé, doit alors prouver qu'il ne les a pas congédiés pour ces raisons.

Révisée 2001

Date de modification :