No. 04–Board Hearings

Information Circular

PDF Printable version

The following is an information circular prepared by the administrative staff of the CIRB. The circulars are designed to provide employees, trade unions and employers with general information and a clearer understanding of Board processes. This information circular is an informal tool and is not binding on the Board.


BOARD HEARINGS

Board hearings are normally conducted by a panel of one or three members of the Board. The Board is not required to hold an oral hearing in every case. Section 16.1 of the Canada Labour Code (Part I–Industrial Relations) (the Code) makes it clear that the Board may decide any matter before it without holding an oral hearing. The Board makes the decision as to whether to hold an oral hearing on the basis of the documents on file and the written representations of the parties. It is therefore in the best interest of the parties to file full, accurate and detailed submissions in support of their respective positions. A party requesting that a hearing be held in a matter must include detailed reasons why they think a hearing is required.

If the Board determines that an oral hearing is necessary, the case is scheduled on the basis of priority; for example, applications seeking a declaration of unlawful strike or lockout are given the utmost priority. These applications are usually scheduled within a day or two, unless they are settled quickly with the assistance of a Board-appointed industrial relations officer. Complaints of unfair labour practice resulting from loss of employment will also be scheduled quickly. Other types of cases are scheduled as the circumstances of each case dictate.

PRE-HEARING PROCEDURES

The Board can, at any time, order pre-hearing procedures such as case management conferences, to inquire into any matter that may promote the timely resolution of the issues. These preliminary proceedings are considered an integral part of the hearing process and the Board may make rulings in the course of these proceedings that are binding on the parties.

ADVISING THE PARTIES

The Board Regulations provide that:

  • Parties must be notified of an oral hearing at least fifteen (15) days in advance of the hearing date;
  • Where the expedited process applies (i.e., matters identified in section 14 of the Regulations), the application itself constitutes notice that a hearing may be held at any time.

The Board also has the general power to abridge these time limits. In most cases, the Board attempts to provide as much prior notice as possible.

The parties are given written notice of a hearing or pre-hearing procedures, usually by facsimile transmission. In some urgent cases, the parties may be advised by telephone. The notice usually contains the date, location and starting time of the Board proceeding, although the specific location is sometimes communicated to the parties at a later date.

REQUEST FOR ADJOURNMENT OR POSTPONEMENT

The logistical difficulties caused by the Board's heavy caseload and its geographically widespread and bilingual community render it very difficult to reschedule dates in an orderly and timely fashion. The Board is therefore very reluctant to accede to requests for postponement of its proceedings. In Frayling, 2010 CIRB 506, the Board discusses its policy regarding requests for postponement.

The Board will not consider a request for postponement unless the party making the request has communicated beforehand with the other parties and attempted to obtain their consent to the postponement. All requests for postponement must be made in writing to the Board, with copies to the other parties at the same time, and must include the reasons for the request for postponement, the positions of the other parties to the request, and a list of alternative dates to which all parties agree and from which the Board may choose, to the extent that this may be possible. Parties should realize, however, that in those instances where a postponement is granted, they may have to wait several months before the Board can reschedule a hearing.

Upon receipt of the request for postponement, the Board will take the parties' positions under consideration. Consideration of a request for postponement does not mean that postponement will automatically be granted, even where all parties give their consent. The decision to grant a postponement rests with the panel that has been scheduled to hear the case after considering the merits of such request. Parties who do not consent to the postponement should make their views known to the Board, as soon as the party seeking the postponement has contacted them.

There may be situations of last minute urgency where it is impossible for the parties to consult one another. In such cases, the Board will only grant the request for postponement in very exceptional cases. Also, in some instances, because of circumstances beyond its control or for reasons totally unrelated to the parties, the Board may unilaterally determine that a postponement is necessary.

Requests for adjournment sine die follow a similar process, although parties are not required to identify alternative dates. The parties will be asked to provide regular updates to the Board and to keep it informed of developments that may impact the status of the matter before the Board.

It must be noted however that if the matter remains dormant for more than twelve (12) months, the Board may send notice to the parties requiring them to show cause. If the parties do not respond within the time frames established by the Board, the matter will be deemed to have been withdrawn (see section 29.1 of the Regulations).

RECORDING

The Board's practice and policy is not to record hearings or to prepare transcripts of its hearings. The Board members presiding over a hearing will take notes of the evidence and submissions, but these notes are not made available to the parties or to the general public.

In exceptional circumstances, recording of a hearing will be permitted upon written request to the Board. If the Board grants the request, it will be the responsibility of the party requesting the recording to make arrangements for such, at his or her own expense. It will also be the responsibility of the party requesting the recording to provide the Board and the other parties with a copy of the transcription.

SIMULTANEOUS INTERPRETATION

Simultaneous interpretation in the other official language is available and is provided free of charge. It is the responsibility of the parties to advise the Board of the need for this service in advance of the hearing. A party requiring interpretation in a language other than English or French is responsible for advising the Board of this requirement and for making appropriate arrangements at his or her own expense.

Revised 2013

Date modified:

No 04 – Audiences du Conseil

Circulaire d'information

PDF Version imprimable

Le présent document est une circulaire d'information préparée par le personnel administratif du CCRI. Les circulaires d'information fournissent des renseignements généraux aux employés, aux syndicats et aux employeurs, pour les aider à mieux comprendre le fonctionnement du Conseil. La présente circulaire est un outil informel et, par conséquent, elle ne lie pas le Conseil.


AUDIENCES DU CONSEIL

Les audiences du Conseil sont normalement présidées par un banc composé d'un ou de trois membres du Conseil. Le Conseil n'est pas tenu de tenir une audience dans tous les dossiers. L'article 16.1 du Code canadien du travail (Partie I – Relations du travail) (le Code) énonce clairement que le Conseil peut trancher toute affaire ou question dont il est saisi sans tenir d'audience. Le Conseil décide de tenir ou non une audience à partir des documents au dossier et des observations écrites des parties. Il est donc dans l'intérêt véritable des parties de présenter des observations complètes, exactes et détaillées à l'appui de leurs positions respectives. Une partie demandant la tenue d'une audience doit expliquer en détail pourquoi elle la juge nécessaire.

Si le Conseil estime que la tenue d'une audience est nécessaire, l'affaire est alors mise au rôle selon sa priorité; par exemple, les demandes de déclaration de grève ou de lock-out illégal sont traitées en priorité. Ces demandes sont généralement entendues un jour ou deux après leur présentation au Conseil, à moins qu'elles ne soient réglées rapidement avec l'aide d'un agent des relations industrielles nommé par le Conseil. Les plaintes de pratique déloyale de travail découlant d'une perte d'emploi sont également entendues en priorité. Les autres affaires sont mises au rôle selon les circonstances de chacune.

PROCÉDURES PRÉPARATOIRES

Le Conseil peut à tout moment ordonner la tenue de procédures préparatoires telle une réunion de gestion de l'affaire, afin de traiter de toute question pouvant aider au règlement expéditif des questions en litige. Les procédures préparatoires sont réputées être une partie intégrante du processus d'audience et peuvent se conclure par des décisions exécutoires.

AVIS AUX PARTIES

Le Règlement du Conseil prévoit que :

  • Un préavis d'au moins quinze (15) jours doit être signifié aux parties avant la tenue d'une audience;
  • Lorsqu'une affaire est traitée selon la procédure expéditive (à savoir les affaires énumérées à l'article 14 du Règlement), la signification de la demande tient lieu d'avis qu'une audience pourrait avoir lieu sans délai.

Le Conseil a également le pouvoir d'abréger ces délais. Dans la plupart des affaires, le Conseil essaie d'aviser les parties le plus tôt possible.

Les parties sont informées par écrit, habituellement par télécopieur, des dates d'audiences ou d'une procédure préparatoire. Dans certains cas urgents, les parties peuvent être avisées par téléphone. L'avis fait habituellement mention du lieu, de la date et de l'heure à laquelle débutera l’audience ou la rencontre préparatoire; le lieu précis est parfois communiqué à une date ultérieure.

DEMANDE DE SUSPENSION OU DE REMISE

Étant donné les problèmes pratiques que posent la lourde charge de travail du Conseil, la dissémination de sa clientèle et les différentes exigences linguistiques de cette dernière, il est très difficile de modifier les dates prévues des différentes procédures de façon ordonnée, et dans de courts délais. Le Conseil hésite donc fortement à accéder aux demandes de remise. La politique du Conseil à l'égard des demandes de remise est énoncée dans la décision Frayling, 2010 CCRI 506.

Le Conseil ne prendra une telle demande en considération que si la partie qui fait la demande a communiqué au préalable avec les autres parties en vue de tenter d'obtenir leur consentement à la remise. La demande de remise doit être présentée par écrit au Conseil et communiquée en même temps aux autres parties en cause; les motifs de la remise doivent y être énoncés, ainsi que les positions qu'ont prises les autres parties à ce sujet; une liste de dates possibles sur lesquelles les parties se sont entendues doit y être indiquée, de façon à permettre au Conseil de choisir, dans la mesure du possible, une nouvelle date parmi celles-ci. Les parties doivent toutefois être conscientes du fait que, dans les cas où la remise est accordée, il peut s'écouler plusieurs mois avant que le Conseil puisse fixer de nouvelles dates.

Après avoir reçu la demande de remise, le Conseil se penchera sur les positions des parties. Le fait de prendre une telle demande en considération ne veut pas dire que celle-ci sera accordée, même si toutes les parties y ont donné leur consentement. C'est aux membres du Conseil chargés d'entendre l'affaire qu'incombe la responsabilité de décider si la demande doit être accordée, après avoir examiné le bien-fondé d'une telle demande. Il incombe aux parties qui refusent leur consentement à toute remise de faire connaître leur point de vue au Conseil dès que la partie qui en a fait la demande aura communiqué avec elles.

Il peut y avoir des cas urgents où les parties ne sont pas en mesure de se consulter. Dans de telles circonstances, il faudra des motifs impérieux pour que le Conseil accorde une demande de remise. Également, dans certains cas, le Conseil peut de son propre chef déterminer qu'une remise s'impose pour des motifs tout à fait indépendants de sa volonté ou qui n’ont aucun lien avec les parties.

Les demandes pour mettre un dossier en suspens de façon indéterminée sont traitées de façon similaire, sauf que les parties n'ont pas à soumettre d'autres dates auxquelles elles sont disponibles. Les parties auront à fournir au Conseil des mises à jour de façon régulière et devront également l’informer de tout événement qui pourrait avoir une incidence sur le déroulement de l'affaire devant le Conseil.

Il convient toutefois de noter que si l’affaire est en veilleuse depuis plus de douze (12) mois, le Conseil peut envoyer un avis à toutes les parties leur demandant une justification du fait que l’affaire ne devrait pas être tenue pour abandonnée, et à défaut de réponse dans le délai déterminé par le Conseil, la considérer comme abandonnée (voir l’article 29.1 du Règlement).

L'ENREGISTREMENT

En règle générale, le Conseil n'a pas pour pratique d'enregistrer les audiences ou d'en demander la transcription. Les membres du Conseil présidant l'audience prennent des notes sur la preuve et les observations présentées, mais ces notes ne sont pas communiquées aux parties ni au public.

Dans les cas exceptionnels, l'enregistrement de l'audience sera autorisé, sur demande écrite au Conseil. Si le Conseil accueille la demande, il incombe à la partie ayant demandé l'enregistrement de prendre les mesures nécessaires pour ce faire, à ses frais. Il incombe également à la partie ayant demandé l'enregistrement de remettre au Conseil et aux autres parties une copie de la transcription.

L'INTERPRÉTATION SIMULTANÉE

Les services d'interprétation simultanée dans l'autre langue officielle sont offerts sans frais. Les parties ont la responsabilité d'informer le Conseil avant l'audience qu'elles auront besoin de tels services. La partie ayant besoin de services d'interprétation dans une langue autre que le français ou l'anglais doit en aviser le Conseil à l'avance; elle est aussi tenue de prendre les mesures nécessaires pour obtenir ce service d'interprétation, à ses propres frais.

Révisée 2013

Date de modification :